PURCHASED FOR THE
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO LIBRARY
CANADA COUNCIL SPECIAL GRANT
. . . THE . . .
HISTORY OF BLAIRQOWRIE
(TOWN, PARISH, AND DISTRICT)
BEING AN ACCOUNT OF
The Origin and Progress of the Burgh from
the Earliest Period
WITH A DESCRIPTION OF THE
Antiquities, Topography, Civil History,
Ecclesiastical and Parochial Records, Institutions, Public Works,
Manufactures, Legends, Sports, Statistics, and
Biographical Sketches of Eminent
Persons, &c., &c.
... BY ...
JOHN A. R. MACDONALD,
C.E. and Architect
PRINTED AT THE ADVERTISER OFFICE.
" The Barony of Blairgowrie a gift fit even for a Queen
to bestow." Queen Mary to Ronald Grceme.
THE volume now published has been the work of my
leisure for many months, but the collecting and
compiling has been the labour of nearly fifteen years.
During that period the MS. has been revised, condensed,
and re-written five times. It was undertaken more
from regard to the necessity of meeting a want long felt
to exist than from any sense of fitness for the task.
The Rev. James Johnstone's contribution to the Statis-
tical Account of Scotland is very valuable, and is repro-
duced in its entirety, yet up to 1865, when Ireland's
handbook was issued, no History of Blairgowrie existed.
In supplying the want referred to, I have endeavoured
to collect and compile, as far as possible, the historical
facts, records, and traditions, in the hope that they will
interest and gratify the sons and daughters of " Rest
and be thankful," especially those scattered abroad, with
the memories of the good old town.
I desire to express my obligations to those writers (a
list of whom is given) of whose labours I have availed
myself, and also to many townsmen who have kindly
afforded me the use of materials in their possession, or
communicated information tending to make the volume
more complete : To Rev. Robert Kemp, M.A., for the
" Parochial Registers " ; to Mr G. S. Duncan, F.S.A., Scot.,
for " Church Records " ; to Mr William Davie, for " Notes
on Blairgowrie " ; to Mr A. Davidson Smith, C.A., Edin-
burgh, Secretary of Royal Caledonian Curling Club, for
permission to reproduce the illustration, " Curlers of
Blairgowrie " ; to Messrs C. & R. Anderson, publishers
of " North British Agriculturist," Edinburgh, for block
of " John Panton " ; to Mr John L. Ford, merchant, for
blocks " At Blairgowrie," " The Square, Wellmeadow,"
"Keith Falls," and "Craighall"; to Mr J. E. Butchart,
litho. artist, and Mr Robert Blackwood, lithographer,
Dundee, for the excellent litho. portraits and sketches ;
and to Mr Alex. Allan, of the " Blairgowrie Advertiser,"
for all other blocks reproduced in the volume.
My thanks are specially due to Mr John Christie, of
the " Blairgowrie Advertiser," for his valuable assistance
in the correction of proof sheets, and in the supervision
of the work while passing through the press.
I trust that the volume (imperfect as it may be) now
submitted to the indulgent consideration of the public,
will promote an intelligent and healthy interest in all
that pertains to the Town, Parish, and District.
J. A. R. M.
16 NEWTON STREET,
BLAIRGOWRIE, 3rd March, 1899.
Situation of the Town Extent of the Parish Topography
Latitude and Longitude Etymology of Blairgowrie Tradi-
tions Description of the Town Origin of Street Names-
Soil Geology Quarries Fossils Wood Arboriculture
Piscatorial Zoology, - - 15
Authentic Records Roman Invasions Suetonius Paulinus
Julius Agricola Galdus Mons Grampius Site of the Battle
A Bone of Contention Opinions of Eminent Men Tacitus
Description of the Battle A Disputed Victory Sad Ex-
perience of the Romans False Reports V espasian
Evidences of the Struggle Tulina Emperor Severus
Bridge of Lornty St Xinian's Well Invasion of Northmen
Kenneth M'Alpiri Regner Lodbrog Inchtuthil Battle
of Stentpn Craig Bloody Inches Church and Lands of
Blair Kinclaven Castle taken by Wallace Robert the
Bruce at Stormont Loch Highland Caterans Battle of
Glasclune Drunimond Feud and Massacre Queen Mary's
Summons Offers by Murderers Their Trial and Execution
Bond of Manrent, - - 25
King Charles I. Charter of Burgh of Barony Barony Court
Gallows Knowe Montrose Sacking of Newton Castle
Donald Cargill John Erskine The Ghost of Mause : Full
Description Prince Charlie and the Curlers' Dinner Duke of
Cumberland at Woodlands Division of the Muir of Blair
Coble Pule Boat Brae Muckle Mill Erected Purchase of
Blairgowrie Estate Military Service in Blairgowrie En-
rolment Returns, 1803 A Rifle Corps A Distinguished
Officer Burgh Charters Erection of Parish Church Stage
Coach Introduction of Gas and Printing Visits of the
Queen Auld Brig o' Blair An Incident of the French
Revolution The First Newspaper Introduction of the
Railway Service A Good Story Burns Centenary Celebra-
tion Inauguration of Volunteer Movement, 1859, - 42
Founding of Public Hall Earl Russell at Meikleour Address
from Inhabitants Public Banquet Address by Meikleour
Tenantry Earl Russell's Speech Opinions of the Press A
French view Introduction of Water Supply Report and
Analysis of Water Drainage of Town Erection of New
Schools Opening Up of Commercial Street Planting Trees
in Wellmeadow Franchise Demonstration County Council
Boundary Commission Public Park: a Generous Gift
Burgh Seal Macpherson Memorial Fountain New Sewage
Works Visit of Lord Wolseley The Bailies of Blair-
Magistrates Provosts, 57
Original Inhabitants of Scotland Druids and Druidical Re-
mainsStanding Stones Haer Cairns Tumuli Store Mount
Blairs Buzzard Dykes Bloody Inches Steed
Roman Relics Local Antiquarian Collections Relics in
Scottish Antiquarian Museum French Bell Hirchen t
Agreements and Charters Interesting Map Seals of
Families Pedigree of Drummonds of Blair Copy of Two
Letters by King James the Seventh Notes from Rental
Book of Coupar Abbey Cally Murtoun Blair Old Parish
Tokens, - -76
Ecclesiastical State Parish Church and Ministers Associate
Antiburgher Secession Church Brown Street Chapel St
Mary's Church First Free Church Free South Church
St Catherine's Church St Stephen's Church Congregational
Church Extracts from Parochial Registers Shearing on
Sabbath Selling Aile in time of Sermon English Army in
Scotland Collection in Aid of Glasgow No Session Ap-
plicant for Schoolmaster An Indigent Baronet Act Anent
Brydals In the Jouggs The Boatman of Blair Admini-
stering the Lord's Supper Irregularities Sabbath Breach-
Communion Cups New Schoolhouse Poor's Rates Estab-
lishedSunday Shooting Match for a Sow Population-
Schools and Schoolmasters Parish School James Street
School William Street School New Public Schools-
Episcopal School Dames' Schools Adventure Schools St
Stephen's R. C. School Sextons of Parish of Blair, -
Statistical Account of the Parish, 1796 Population and Statis-
tical Table Conditions and Professions Births, &c.
Religious Persuasions Stock, Rent, &c. Population-
Character Origin Extent, Surface. Situation, Soil, &c.
Cattle Prices of Provisions and Labour Bleachfleld, Cloth,
Stamp Office Climate and Diseases Rivers, Cascades,
Fish, Birds, Scenery, &c. Lakes, Islands, &c. Minerals
and Mineral Springs Woods Manufactures, Mills. &c.
Ecclesiastical State. Schools. &c. Poor Village and
Markets State of Property, Inclosures, &c. Agriculture,
Produce, &c. Improvements, Farm Rents, &c. Roads and
Bridges Gentlemen's Seats Eminent Men Antiquities-
Castles and Mansions Legends, Ballads. &c., - 129
Institutions, Societies, &c. Banks Barty Mortification Blair-
gowrie and District Photographic Association Choral
Society Constitutional Club Dramatic Society Dundee,
Blairgowrie and District Association Edinburgh Blairgow-
rie Club Evening Classes Free Masonry Horticultural
Society Literary Societies Mechanics' Institute Post
Office Press Shepherds Volunteer Rifle Brigade, - - 147
Manufactures Lornty Mill Brooklinn Oakbank The Meikle
Mill Ericht Linen Works Greenbank Engineering Works
Millwright Works Brewing Ancient Trade Recollec-
tions of the Past A Merchant's Rhyme The Whisky
Roadie and its Associations Duncan Watchie Posty Reid
The Toon's Officers The Guard House The Bell o' Blair-
Lily Harris Matthew Harris Tammy Mann Daft Hary
John Couper Quoit Club Candy Betty Smith Lament
Voluntary Constables Abram Low and the Welltown
Brownies Isaac Low, the Ingenious Blacksmith, - 165
Sports, Pastimes, &c. Angling The Ericht as a Salmon River-
Fish ways on the Ericht Fish Ladders for Loch Benachally
Ardle Blackwater Ericht Lornty Lunan Tay Isla
Drimmie Burn Fyall Burn Lochs Benachally, Butterstone,
Clunie, Marlee, Loch o' the Lowes, Stormont, Rae, Fengus,
White, &c. Bowling Cricket Curling Cycling Fair o'
Blair The Fair o' Blair 50 Years ago Football Golf-
Gymnastics, - - 183
Eminent Men, &c. Druuimond of Newton George Drummond
May Drummond Blair of Ardblair Mercer of Meikleour
Admirable Crichton Thomas Graham (Lord Lynedoch)
Rattray of Rattray and Craighall Grimond of Lornty
Professor Adams Rev. John Baxter Macpherson of Blair-
gowrie Allan Macpherson Dr James Neilson William
Geddes David C. Robb John Bridie Dr Robert Lunan
Thomas S. Bisset John Pan ton, &c., &c., - 206
Walks and Drives around Blairgowrie To Lornty and the
Heughs Round Knock-ma-har Round the Golf Course
Places of Interest near Blairgowrie Distances from Blair-
gowrie The Royal Route Blairgowrie to Dunkeld To
Alyth To Coupar Angus, ...... 233
Curious, Interesting, and Amusing. A Blairgowrie in America
A Curious Despatch from India A Blair Chiel' Mayor
of Dunedin A Blair Highlander in Russia Pennant's
Description of Blair Copy of a Burgess Circular Waterloo
Heroes connected with Blairgowrie An Interesting Opera-
tion on the Ameer Blairgowrie in 1800 Blairgowrie 50
Years Ago Statistics of Death Rate " Blair Watter
Curlin' Stanes " Blairgowrie Instrumental Band The
Hymn Tune, " Blairgowrie " Forest of Clunie Farms The
Catty Mill Carsie Scutching Mill Baldornoch Slate-
Merchants' Pic-Nic St Fink Benachally Monument
Parish Kirk Elders Copy Letter from the Young Chevalier
The Bridge of Craighall The Priest's House The Ash
Trees Parish Church Illuminated Clock Athletics An
Inducement to Feuars on Blairgowrie Estate Montrose
Disbands his Army near Blairgowrie Genealogy of the
Family of Blair Blairgowrie Volunteers in 1804 Interest-
ing Despatches from India, 1858 A Local Violin Maker, &c., 244
At Blairgowrie, ... ... ... ... Frontispiece
The Square, Wellmeadow,... ... ... ... ... ... 11
The Beech Hedge, .. ... 47
Blairgowrie in 1860,
Meikleour Cross, ...... 58
Burgh Seal, 70
Macpherson Memorial Fountain, ... ... ... ... ... 72
Churches Established, St Catherine's, ) gg
First Free, South Free,
Rev. William Fraser, M.A.,
St Mary's Parish Church, ...
Clunie Loch and Castle,
Shepherds' Badge, ...
Volunteer Badge, ...
Curlers of Blairgowrie, 1888,
The Lansdowne Golf Course,
Admirable Crichton, Provost Drummond,\
Thomas Graham, Hon. Mrs Graham, /
Dr James Neilson, Alexander Robertson,
William Geddes, ......... 216
Rev. John Baxter, D.D., Thomas S. Bisset,
Allan Macpherson, ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 222
John Bridie, First Provost of Blairgowrie, ... ... ... 225
Robert Lunan, Surgeon, ... ... ... ... ... ... 226
John Panton, ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 228
Keith Falls, .. ... ... ... ... ... 233
Bridge of Cally, ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 239
Spittalfleld,... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 240
Tron and Jouggs, ... ... ... *... ... ... ... 241
Church Tokens, ... 264
LIST OF AUTHORITIES.
Acts of the Parliaments of Scotland.
Advertiser, The Blairgowrie.
Advertiser, The Dundee.
Annals of Scotland, - Hailes
Ancient Criminal Trials, R. Pitcairn
A Tour in the Highlands, 1819.
Biographical Dictionary of Eminent Scotsmen, - - Rev. J. Thomson
Burgh Records of Scotland.
Blairgowrie as a Pic-nic Resort, J. Ferguson
Blairgowrie Annual, The.
Blairgowrie News, The.
Caledonia, - Chalmers
Cronykil, - Wyntoun
Crests of Families of Scotland, J. Fairbairn
Coupar Angus. Abbey Register, - Dr C. Rogers
Oail College Church Register, Do.
Courier and Argus, The Dundee.
Domestic and Castellated Architecture of Scotland, M'Gibbon and Ross
Domestic Annals of Scotland, R. Chambers
Drummonds of Blair-Drummond, - W. Frazer
Fasti Ecclesia Scoticanae, - - Dr Scott
Gazetteer of Scotland, 1803.
Guide to Perthshire, - - T. Hunter
Genealogy of Craighall Family, - Balfour
Historic Scenes in Perthshire, Dr Marshall
History of the M'Combies, - - Wm. M'Combie Smith
History of Dundee, - - James Maclaren
History of the Scottish Nation, - W. Anderson
Historical Castles and Mansions, - A. H. Miller
History of Scotland, - J. H. Burton
History of Scotland, - - Buchanan
Industries of Scotland,- Bremner
Linen Trade, - - Warden
Linnsean Transactions, - - A. Bruce
New Statistical Account, of Scotland.
Parochial Registers of Blairgowrie.
Prehistoric Annals of Scotland, - Dr Wilson
Reminiscences of Flax Spinning, - Brown
Strath more, Past and Present, Dr M'Pherson
Scots Magazine, 1773.
Sportsman's Guide, - - J- Watson Lyall
Statistical Account of Scotland, - - -Sir J. Sinclair
10 LIST OP AUTHORITIES.
Seats of Scotland, Maitland Club
Transactions of Blairgowrie Angling Club.
Transactions of Blairgowrie Bowling Club.
Transactions of Blairgowrie Curling Club.
Transactions of Scottish Antiquarian Society.
Transactions of Perthshire Society of Natural Science.
Transactions of Royal Caledonian Curling Club.
Theatrum Scotite, Slezer
Tours in Scotland, -*. Pennant
Topography of the Basin of the Tay, Knox
The Red Book of Menteith, - Wm. Frazer
Wallace, Life of, Blind Harry
The History of Blairgowrie.
NO recreation is generally more delightful than that of
viewing a stretch of country in which the large
extent of its fertile lands and the number of its villages,
cottages, villas, and homesteads bear ample witness to
the skill and the industry, the wealth and contentment
of human beings.
A large city, with its crowds, its commerce, its works
of art, its exhibitions, and its splendour, dazzles and
attracts many individuals, yet there is something more
pleasing, more calm and sedative*, in viewing from an
elevated position a highly-cultivated district stretched
out, as it were a map, to the gaze of the spectator.
How delightful and glorious the prospect of the
luxurious and verdant valley of Strathmore, viewed from
the summit of the slope of hills (the southern range of
the Grampians) to the north of Blairgowrie, known as
Knock-ma-har, locally termed " Knocky."
The quiet and peaceful town of Blairgowrie " Rest
and be Thankful " lies at the foot of the slope, with
its red -tiled and purple-slated roofs, the tall and pointed
spires of the churches, and the dull red stalks of the
public works; the whole beautifully interspersed with
different specimens of trees the hazel, the beech,
and the poplar being predominant. Away beyond we
gaze on fields crowned with plenty, the grand tract of
country the Howe of Strathmore stretching between
Forfar and Perth, clothed in the beautiful garb of
autumn, the varied hues of the woods showing distinctly
against the dark serried ridges of the Sidlaw Hills.
"We gaze upon the spreath unshorn
In Autumn garb of tree and corn ;
Strathmore, that labour's arts adorn,
And plenty ftlls,
And Ericht vale, where we were born,
'Atween the hills.
" The wilderness behind outgrew,
Of moor and moss, where peesweeps flew
And joyous screamed the slow curlew
The scene that crossed ;
On this we gaze, till 'wildered too
In thought, and lost.
" We gaze upon the delta sweet,
Where Ericht and the Isla meet,
That ' pretty carse ' before our feet
To see, a joy;
Where Xerxes' host, again complete,
Might free deploy.
" We gaze upon the rivers, three
The Ericht and Isla and the Tay
The Ardle kythes not to oor e'$
For banks between,
Tho' weel we ken far it sud be,
Not sinnle seen.
" We gaze on towns not unrenowned,
That held their ancient sites around,
Seen, or by their tokens found
Of hoverin' reek,
Frae Forfar east, twin steeple crowned
Wi' skyward peak,
"Tae Perth fair city on the green,
By winding Tay, that sits serene ;
Scone, Stanley, Coupar, these between,
Burrelton and Woodside,
Newtyle exposed, by Sidlaw seen,
An' Meigle hid.
"Dunkelcl, proud Celtic city sraa',
Blairgowrie and the Rattrays twa,
An' Alyth by the Grampians a'
Sae snugly placed ;
An' Kirrie, tae complete the raw,
Far in the east.
"We gaze in venerative mood
On classic spots, seen whence we stood ;
On Glamis, yet red wi' Duncan's blood,
And Biriiam, and where dwelt the good,
Yea great, Cargill.
" We gaze on many a cherished scene,
Familiar, where our feet had been,
On'mony auld-kent fairm o' frien'
Wi' memories showered
Wi' yearnin' heart an' lovin' e'en
On them we glowered.
" We gaze on mills, and wish them weel,
Of industry that tend the wheel,
On kirks, an' Scottish fire did feel,
An' hoped the day
We yet shall a' bend in one bell',
An' truth have sway.
" Frae labour's piles in kirks an' mills
We gaze upon the woods an' rills,
Theme tender bard with rapture fills ;
Frae these we turn
An' kindlier gaze upon the hills
An' mony a cairn.
" Mons Grampius near, full an' compac'
That may be nae mountaineous trac',
But just the hill of our Gormack
As 'twas away
Far 'mid the scenes an' ages back
And is this day.
" The Lomonds, Wallace' bow-shot famed,
The Sidlaws and the Ochils named,
On Ben-a-chally, stubborn framed
Wi' ribs of rock
On Ben-y-ghloe, in Perthshire claimed
The highest block."
We gaze ... on the Hatton Hill and Glower-
ower-im, on Mount Blair and Kinpurnie, on the beautiful
windings of the Ericht and the Tay ; on the placid
waters of Stormont Loch, White, Black, Fengus, Marlee,
and Clunie ; on
"Deep waving' fields an' pastures green,
With gentle slopes and groves between."
All around there are spots dear to a patriotic breast
as the scene of peaceful industry in these modern times,
or of deeds of heroism and renown in those that have
long gone by; and as we hear the splash of the wheel,
the birr and clang of machinery, and the shrill piercing
shrieks of the locomotive, we can in fancy picture to our-
selves the scenes of the past. Here, where we stand, were
marshalled the squadrons of Caledonia (Caoill daoin the
people of the woods) under Galgacus to oppose the
Roman legions -under Julius Agricola encamped by ' Meik-
leour and Delvine ; and here our countrymen, the Caoill
daoin, inflicted a heavy defeat on their enemies, though
with terrible loss to themselves (A.D. 84).
Once more we hear in fancy the victorious shout of
M'Alpin's warriors pursuing the fierce Norse Vikings at
Inchtuthil on the Tay, A.D. 847 ; there, along the Howe,
march the Highland host to free their country at
Bannockburn, 1314 ; behind us, the pipe of the clansmen's
slogan at the Battle of Glascluue, 1392; from the
castles of Glasclune, Drunilochy, and Gorrnack, behold the
murderous lairds and their retainers march to the Drum-
mond Massacre at the " Peroche Kyrke," 1554 ; on the
Haughs of Rattray, the great Montrose disband his army,
1646; Cromwell, the Protector of the English Common-
Avealth, at the sack of Newton Castle, 1650 ; the dragoons
of Claverhouse pursue Donald Cargill, the Covenanter, who
made his wonderful escape by leaping the cascade of the
Keith, 16 ; the young Laird Drumniond of Newton (1700)
(the future founder of the Royal Infirmary in Edinburgh)
romp about ; Prince Charlie and his Highlanders feast
at the curlers' expense in Eppie Clark's ale-house at
the Hill o' Blair, 1745; the "Butcher" Cumberland en-
camped on the Muir of Blair, 1746 ; the future hero of
Barossa Thomas Graham engage at agricultural pur-
suits at Newton, 1780 ; Sir Walter Scott wander amid
the wild sylvan grandeur of Tullyveolan (Craighall),
1793 ; the Royal entry of Her Majesty the Queen through
the town in 1842 and 1857 ; the introduction of the rail-
way, 1855 ; the banqueting of Earl Russell in 1863, with
the tumults, bickerings, and excitement prevailing in these
To the . native of Blairgowrie and district wandering
amid the llanos and prairies of America, the wilds of
Africa, the jungle of India, the bush of Australia, the
isles of the South, or the snows of the North, these old
associations cling tenaciously and lead him to think of
home, and he naturally carries with him the feeling so
beautifully expressed by Sir Walter Scott :
" Breathes there a man with soul so dead
Who never to himself hath said,
This is my own, my native land?"
Situation of the Town Extent of the Parish Topography Latitude and
Longitude Etymology of Blairgowrie Traditions Description of
the Town Origin of Street Names Soil Geology Quarries Fossils
Wood Arboriculture Piscatorial Zoology.
THE town of Blairgowrie is situated at the base of that
part of the southern range of the Grampian Moun-
tains cut by the River Ericht. On the left the valley and
burn of Lornty give a double breast to the (Jut. The
heights to the north are the Heughs of Mause, Knock-
ma-har, and the Hill of Blair. On the east side of the
river are the " Ceimethy," or the Hatton Hill, and the
higher one " Glower-ower-im," possibly so termed because
the spectator from its summit can survey a huge tract of
country. Behind Knock-ma-har is the valley of the
Lornty, and away further north, on the heights beyond,
the Muir of Cochrage and Forest of Clunie. Immediately
to the south of Blairgowrie is the famous strath the
Howe of Strathmore with its streams, and lakes, and
woods, and pastures.
As regards beauty of situation and salubrity of climate
the town enjoys peculiar advantages. Situated on the
banks of a pure and rapid river, on the confines of the
Highlands, it possesses the advantage of highly-picturesque
and diversified scenery, both highland and lowland. Shel-
tered by the wooded heights to the north from the cold
northern winds, snow seldom falls to any depth, and soon
melts from the southern slope on which the town is
situated, while its openness to the south, east, and west
gives free circulation to the winds from these directions.
Blairgowrie is situated between north latitude 56 degs.
35 mins. 6 sees, and 56 degs. 35 mins. 44 sees., and be-
tween west longitude 3 degs. 20 mins. and 3 degs. 20 mins.
The extent of the parish of Blairgow T rie is about eleven
miles from north to south, and about eight miles east and
west, irregular in figure, and frequently intersected by
16 ETYMOLOGY OF BLAIRGOWRIE.
the parishes of Rattray, Kinloch, and Beudochy.
The town is situated at a good altitude from the mean
sea level at Liverpool, according to the data of the
Ordnance Survey of 1863. At the Beeches, west-end of
town, the height in feet is 264-5; Greenbank Engineering
Works, 258; Bankhead Toll, 229-75; Bridge of Blair,
197-75 ; foot of Allan Street, 216 ; Royal Hotel, 243 ; Bank
of Scotland, 245 ; First Free Church, 279-75 ; Parish
Church, 331-62 ; and Hill of Blair, 337'5.
Regarding the origin of Blairgowrie and the derivation
of the name there have been suggested many definitions,
but they are not very certain. The first half of the name
may be traced from the Celtic "Blair," signifying a
battlefield; the latter part, however, "Gowrie," is difficult
to trace. One derivation, according to the following
tradition, if not certain, is at least plausible. The great
valley of Strathmore was, at one time, a vast forest in
which the kings of Scotland were wont to hunt. At
intervals here and there in the forest were considerable
patches of ground or crofts cultivated by woodmen, in the
pay of the sovereign, to raise the crops necessary for the
Court. These woodmen had also, when called upon, to
attend the King during the chase, and join his bodyguard
in the event of war. We are not informed who this
royal personage was, who, like the Gudeman o' Ballingeich,
used to disguise himself in the chase so that he might
better see the condition of his people. On one of these
occasions alone, save with an attendant and a pack of
hounds, the King had got separated from the rest of the
party, and, drawing near to one of the clearings from
which they saw a column of smoke ascend, heard the sound
of music. A nearer approach revealed to their astonished
gaze the sprightly trippings of a lovely maiden dancing a
reel to the spirit-enlivening music of the pibroch played
by an old piper. The maid, not the least shy when she
discovered the stranger gazing at her, told him to
" glower aye," and the old piper, removing the chanter
from his mouth, invited him to join in. Nothing loath
the stranger accepted the invitation, perhaps not unwilling
to be recognised. At the finish he politely asked the
maiden's name, and with a captivating smile she muttered,
though scarcely audible, " Gow." Then the stranger, clasp-
DESCRIPTION OP THE TOWN. 17
ing her hand in his own, addressed the old piper : " Thy
name is ' Gow ' and I am ' Righ,' and now
" This muir shall be my huntingfleld ;
This p'easant hen my queen shall be ;
Of twenty miles ye'll get the yield ;
An' be the laird of 'Gow-an-Righ.'"
Gow, a smith ; Righ) a king Blairgowrie, the field of the
king's smith. Another derivation, however, may be the
more correct one. Slain, a battlefield ; and Gowrie, a
hollow or between the hills the battlefield in the hollow 7 ,
probably so called from the Battle of Mons Grampius
reputed to have been fought in the valley between
Knock-ma-har and the ridge along by the Heughs of
The town in its present state takes the form of a
square, and by its streets is formed into squares. The
streets are of the ordinary breadth, with side footways
paved with asphalte, granolithic, or gi^avel, and are kept
very clean. In the north and western districts of the
town a small plot of ground in front of the houses gives
a healthy openness to the town, combined with seclusion.
In the disposition of its principal thoroughfares, the old
roads which formed the means of communication with
the neighbouring districts still form the main arteries of
the b'urgh. Dividing it into two almost equal divisions,
the old turnpike from Perth to Kirriemuir is still the
main street, though termed in its different sections
Allan Street, High Street, and Perth Street. From the
south the turnpike from Coupar Angus intersects again,
leading across towards the north over the Hill of Blair.
Of the numerous streets running parallel south by west,
the furthest south is Terminus Street. This has its end to
the west running into the Coupar Angus Road, and ter-
minating at the east in Welton Road. This street bounds
the Gas Works on the south and the Railway Station on
the north. The Station Buildings have within recent
years been entirely remodelled and reconstructed, and
present a very handsome appearance. Gas Brae bounds
the Gas Works on the north, running from foot of
Reform Street to Wellmeadow. Leslie Street, with continu-
ation of Union Street lies to the west. On the south side
of Leslie Street is the North of Scotland Bank, formerly
18 DESCRIPTION OF THE TOWN.
Bleaton House; on the south side of Union Street is the
Volunteer Drill Hall, opened 1898. High Street runs west-
wards, with continuation of Perth Street and Perth Road.
At the Cross the site of the old Mercate Cross of Blair is
the Royal Hotel, built on the site of a house in which a
former proprietor (Brown of Marlee) was born, as recorded
by a tablet over the entrance door. In the High Street are
the Queen's Hotel, immediately opposite which stood John
Tyrie's brew-house ; the Mechanics' Institute and Working
Men's Club, erected in 1870 at a cost of 800 ; the Bank
of Scotland. On the south side of the street, nearly
opposite the Institute, stood a small house in which
Prince Charlie is said to have passed a night on his way
to the south, and which was known long afterwards as
George Street, in the same parallel, extends from Dunkeld
Road on the -west, alongside of the " Lochy," with access
to Bowling Green, and terminating in James Street with
a two-branch way, the left leading to the First Free
Church and the right to Upper Allan Street, the Parish
Church, Public Schools, and Hill of Blair.
Lochy Terrace, Emma Terrace, and Newton Terrace are
in a way of being opened up.
From the east end of the Station the Welton Road,
leading up the west side of the River Ericht, enters the
"Tannage," now known as Tannage Street, a tan work at
one time having been in operation there. Commercial
Street, opened up in 1882 through what used to be the
garden of the Station Hotel, leads from the front entrance
of the Station Buildings to the Wellmeadow and heart of
the town. The north side of the Meadow is bounded by
a handsome block known as the " Bank Buildings,"
containing principally a branch of the Union Bauk^
and the BlairgoAvrie Arms and the Constitutional Club,
erected on the site of what was formerly Jackson's
Inn. Nearly opposite this building was St Ninian's Well,
from which the square took its name Wellmeadow
having its source in a spring, led some years ago into the
town drainage. In former times this area was a marsh,
and, having been improved and drained, was, within the
memory of some of our old worthies, a public park where
the nomadic drover, and shepherd pastured their flocks.
DESCRIPTION OP THE TOWN. 19
The square presents rather an ornate appearance if only
it was kept in better condition, a row of trees having
been planted round it over a dozen years ago, and which
are thriving luxuriantly. At the south-east corner is a
memorial fountain, erected in 1893, to commemorate the
life and work of the late Superior, Allan Macpherson,
Esq. of Blairgowrie. The fountain is of red stone, beauti-
fully carved and finished. On the south side of the
Meadow are the Gas Works, erected in 1831; the Auction
Mart and cattle sale stores ; the Crown Inn and Railway
Hotel a very busy rendezvous for farmers and dealers on
market days. On the east side are the Temperance Hotel
and the Bridge of Blairgowrie ; the Ogilvy Arms ; Victoria
Hotel, built on the site of an old hostelry ; the
Commercial Bank ; and the intersection of Leslie and
Allan Streets. The latter (Allan Street) leads from the
Meadow to the " Cross," with continuation of Upper Allan
Street to Hill of Blair. Immediately to the right are
Blairgowrie Brewery, belonging to Messrs Ogilvy, and
Upper Mill Street leading to the Meal Mill, Ericht Linen
Works, the old Plash Mill, and to Oakbank up the river
side ; opposite is the Royal Bank, and Ericht Lane leading
west to the Croft. On the left of this street is a hand-
some block of buildings which give some appearance. The
site they occupy was in former years held by a block
considered, in its day, the best in town, but burned down
in 1890. Near by stood also a public-house, and a bye-
path leading thereto was known as the " Whuskie Roadie."
On the other side of the street, at " Davie's Pend," over
80 years ago stood the old " guard house " of Blair or
jail for the retention of prisoners; adjoining the gable,
strung up between two posts, was the % 'auld bell o'
Blair," tolled on high days and market days. The Croft
connects west end of Wellmeadow with Leslie Street and
High Street, with continuation of Bank Street and David
Street to Newton Terrace. From the west end of Gas
Brae, Reform Street leads up to Perth Street and is set
off on the left by the South Free Church, St Mary's
Parish Church, Mission House, and "Advertiser" Office; an
off-side continuation is John Street, leading to the Roman
Catholic School, formerly the old Parochial School.
Further west is William Street, running from Bankhead
20 DESCRIPTION OF THE TOWN.
Toll to Perth Street, in which are South Free Church School
and Congregational Church. Jessie Street leads from Emma
Street to Perth Street. Side streets further west, but
still unformed, are Castle Street, opposite Lochy Street,
leading to the Lochy and Bowling Green ; Athole Street,
opposite the intersection of the Dunkeld Road with Perth
Road. On the Dunkeld Road are the famous Agricultural
Engineering Works of Messrs Bisset & Sons, Limited. The
west-end of Blairgowrie, from Athole Street onwards out
to Falcon House, is well laid out and enriched with
cottages and villas of the upper class. East of Lochy
Street and mid-way to John Street is Ne\vton Street lead-
ing from Perth Street to Mary field. In this street are, for
the most part, many fashionable and desirable residences
The Parsonage, Viewfield, The Feu, and Newton Castle
being most prominent. Newton Castle is an interesting
historical pile, and is frequently mentioned in history. It
was sacked by Oliver Cromwell and by Montrose ; occu-
pied by Royalist troops in \ 745 ; was the birth-place of
George Drummond, six times Lord Provost of Edinburgh,
and founder of the Royal Infirmary (died 1766) ; and of
Thomas Graham, the hero of Barossa and Vittoria (Lord
Lynedoch), died 1843.
Newton Terrace extends from west-end of Gallowbank
east to Upper Allan Street, and is for the most part
unformed though rather a pleasant promenade in summer.
Upper Allan Street leads from the Cross, at Royal
Hotel, northwards past the site of the earliest Parochial
School the Parish Manse where it divides into two,
that road to the right, the Little Hill, leading to the
Parish Church and. Parish Burying-Ground. The church
was erected in 1824 on the public bowling green of a
former generation, and where the laird of Newton was
massacred by his neighbours in 1554. Almost adjoining
are the Maltings of Mr** William Panton, who carries on
an extensive business in this line. The road to the left,
the Hill, leads north, passing the Public Schools of Blair-
gowrie, erected in 1879 on part of the parish glebe, but
used for many a year as "The toon's park."
This road joins on to the Little Hill at Stormout
Lodge, and leads northward over the Bridge at the
" Cuttle " ravine to the " Board of Health," Knoch-ma-har,
Lornty, and the Heughs of Mause.
The names of a few of the principal streets throughout
the town are derived thus : " Allan Street," after Col.
Allan Macpherson, Superior of the Burgh in 1800; "Brown
Street " and " John Street," after John Brown of Marlee
(born in a house on the site of which the Royal Hotel
now stands) ; " Bank Street," formerly Constable Lane,
changed when the Bank of Scotland was built ; " Leslie
Street," after James Leslie, proprietor of the Leslie Feus ;
" James Street," after James Geddes, mason ; " Keay
Street," after Miss Keay, a feuar there; "Mitchell Square,"
after Thomas Mitchell of Greenfield ; " Newton Lane " and
" Newton Street," as the lane and street leading to
Newton Castle ; " Chalmers Street," after Provost Chal-
mers ; " George Street," after George Drummond of
Newton ; " Tannage Street," from a tannery which existed
there; "Terminus Street," the terminus of the railway
system; "Mill Street," as leading to the Mill, &c.
The alluvium \vhich covers the strata around Blair-
gowrie is a species of till of very irregular thickness and
At a place known as the Heughs of Mause, a mile or
so north of the town, it forms a precipice of a very
singular and picturesque appearance, rising from the bed
of the river to a height of over 200 feet.
To the north-west the grey wacke formation is covered
with moss, forming the great moss of Cochrage, an exten-
sive tract of barren moor covered with heath and marsh.
South of this, on the slopes of the ridges rising to the
north of the town, the soil is a stiff brown clay of
considerable fertility, and in the south of the parish, it
is a strong black loam intervened by the Muir of Blair, a
large extent of barren, unproductive . gravel, part under
cultivation of strawberry and other fruits, part under
plantation, and the remainder covered with whins and
All the rocks in the parish are of the conglomerate or
About four miles north of the town there is a quarry,
now discontinued, of clay slate. This formation seems to
stretch across the parish in a south-westerly direction,
but it is not visible at any other point till it reappears
at Forneth. Its thickness is supposed to be about 40 feet.
A stratum of whinstone is found along the summit of
the ridge at the back of the town known as Knock-ma-
har. The strata is nearly horizontal, with a slight
inclination to the north-west. All along the southern
slope entending into the lower ground to the south and
west, there is a very extensive stratum of coarse red
sandstone of great thickness running in a north-westerly
direction across the parish.
About a mile south-east of the town this red sandstone
assumes a finer grain and darker colour, and forms a
perpendicular cliff of a considerable height on the bank
of the river.
Scarcely a mile south of this there is another very
regular and beautiful stratum of fine grey sandstone of
excellent quality for building, and apparently of great
On both sides of the bed of the Ericht, about half-a-
mile north of the town, there is a fine dyke of columnar
basalt in horizontal layers.
All the rocks which are of any height are of the con-
glomerate, the strata being intersected by occasional
fissures at right angles to the planes of their stratification.
The only kinds of stone found in extensive beds in the
parish, and which are at all adapted for building, are the
coarse red sandstone and a species of whinstone of a
very dark colour. This latter has been used only to a
limited extent in building, owing to its sombre and
gloomy colour, and its almost impracticable hardness. It
is mostly used for macadamising the streets and roads
in the neighbourhood.
There are two quarries of grey-wacke stone in the
north-west of the parish, but the use of them has been
discontinued owing to the hardness of the stone. There
is a quarry of the coarse red sandstone, south of Alta-
mont, in full working operation. This stone is of very
coarse quality, not easily dressed, but is very durable.
Another quarry of red sandstone of fine quality, but
softer texture, was opened several years ago and worked
on the grounds of Rosemotmt, in the face of an almost
perpendicular cliff rising out of the bed of the river, but
it has now been abandoned. There is also another quarry
of fine grey sandstone at Parkhead, but it has not been
worked to any considerable extent of late years.
The district around Blairgowrie is very interesting to
geologists, as large and distinct specimens of fossil plants
are to be found in the old quarries and rocks, particularly
at Mayriggs, near Rosemount, and Gellyburn, Murthly.
Notices of the most frequent plants have been given by
Dr Geekie in his famed "Text-book of Geology." Several
of the more frequent finds are : Psilophyton princeps, very
abundant, represented by profusion of fragments of stems
and branches, and more rarely by specimens of the
rhizomata and of the sporocarps ; P. robustius, by fragments
of steins, less abundant ; and Arthrostigma grarile, by some
portions of stems. From the Sandstone beds of Murthly,
several specimens of rounded objects, referable to Pachy-
theca, have been found.
In the southern division of the parish there are exten-
sive plantations of Scotch fir, on ground which had
previously been a barren moor covered with heather and
broom. A great part of this moor still remains in a waste
and unproductive state, although the soil seems congenial
to the growth of larch and fir. The face of the country
generally is embellished with clumps and belts of oak,
elm, ash, and beech.
In the south-western part of the parish the wood has
suffered much from being blown, and from rooting out
for the purposes of fruit cultivation. The northern
division is comparatively bare and destitute of trees,
except the banks of the river, which are richly covered
with wood, such as birch, hazel, alder, mountain ash, and
oak coppice. There is reason, however, to believe that
the face of the country had once been much more densely
wooded than at present from the fact that the peasants,
in excavating for peats, have frequently discovered
fossil remains, chiefly of oak, in a perfect state of
The species of trees most generally planted are larch
and Scotch fir. Of the latter there are large plantations
in the southern division of the parish. There are no
plantations of hardwood to any great extent, but there
is a considerable quantity of ash, elm, and beech, which
appear to thrive well. The kinds which are indigenous
are the alder, birch, hazel, and mountain ash. The first,
especially, grows in considerable quantities along the
banks of the rivers and burns in the parish.
The rivers are abundantly stocked with trout and
salmon ; the lochs with pike, perch, eels, &c., one of them
containing a few large trout.
There are no rare kinds of the quadruped or feathered
tribe in the parish, with the exception of the falcon,
which breeds among the precipices of Craighall. The
Stormont Loch, about 2 miles south of the town, is in
summer frequented by immense flocks of gulls, which
build their nests among the reeds and rushes.
These birds thrive well, and arrive from the sea coast
about the beginning of March, and take their departure
for the coast again in the end of autumn. Their eggs are
highly prized, and are annually gathered for the benefit
of the proprietors and tenants. The loch is also fre-
quented by a large number of swans.
A species of the great northern bulldiver was shot
several years ago on the Lochy.
The kingfisher is frequently to be seen on the lower
reaches of the Ericht ; pheasants, partridges, and water-
fowl are abundant.
There are abundance of hares, rabbits, weasels, squirrels,
&c., in the vicinity, but none of the larger animals,
although the wild cat has been shot frequently in the
northern part of the parish.
There are also large numbers of moles, which destroy
the land with their numerous burrowing.
Authentic Records Roman Invasions Suetonius Paulinus Julius
Agricola Galdus Mons Grampius Site of the Battle A Bone of
Contention Opinions of Eminent Men Tacitus Description of the
Battle A Disputed Victory Sad Experience of the Romans False
Reports Vespasian Evidences of the Struggle Tulina Emperor
Severus Bridge of Lornty St Xinian's Well Invasion of Northmen
Kenneth M'Alpin Regner Lodbrog Inchtuthil Battle of Stenton
Craig Bloody Inches Church and Lands of Blair Kinclaven Castle
Taken by Wallace Coupar Abbey Robert the Bruce at Stormont
Loch Highland Caterans Battle of Glasclune Drummond Feud
and Massacre Queen Mary's Summons Offers by Murderers Their
Trial and Execution Bond of Manrent.
THERE are no authentic records to inform us whether
Blairgowrie existed prior to the Christian era, but in
the early days of the Roman invasions, when these ruth-
less foreign marauders waged war with our countrymen,
we have the knowledge that Suetonius Paulinus, in com-
mand of the Roman legions about 61 A.D., finished his last
expedition to Caledonia, choosing as the scene of his
operations the valley of Strathmore. In this campaign he
had but little success until, in progress of his march
south wards through the provinces of Albin, he encountered
a formidable force under Caractacus, a British King, who
for nearly ten years had waged successful war against the
Roman arms. After a long and bloody fight the Roman
legions triumphed, and the British King, being betrayed,
was carried to Rome.
In 84 A.D. Julius Agricola, one of Suetonius Paulinus'
successors, and the last of the Roman Generals in Britain,
entrenched his army to the east of the Tay in the
Stormont, along that sward now known as the Haughs of
Delvine. The country at this time, and for some years
previous, was oppressed by Roman invaders, but an
attempt was now to be made by the Caledonians, under
Galdus (the Galgacus of Tacitus), to free their country
and sweep their foes out of it. It has long been a bone
of contention amongst antiquarians and historians to
locate the site of this battle, " Mons Grampius," but the
researches of eminent men, amongst others Lieutenant-
Colonel Bayly, R.E., Superintendent of the Ordnance
Survey, 1863. and Mr Knox, author of "The Map of the
Basin of the Tay," prove conclusively that the site of
" Mons Grampius," the historic battle between the Cale-
donians and Romans, was around Blairgowrie.
The Caledonians occupied the ridge of heights to the
north of Blairgowrie, and extending from Mause to
Forneth, a distance of about five miles. Their left flank
was protected by the steep and lofty banks of the Ericht,
their right by the deep ravine beyond Forneth and
Loaning ; Lochs Clunie, Marlee. Ardblair, and the Lunan
Burn, strengthened by fortifications, which in parts can
yet be traced, protected the front, a position which
military judges have said was admirably chosen. The
Romans were encamped along the banks of the Tay from
Inchtuthil at Del vine eastwards as far as Meikleour, where
their entrenchments can yet be traced. Tacitus, the
Roman historian, who was present at the battle, thus
describes it :
"Galgacus (Galdus), the Commander of the Caledonians,
harangued his host in one of the noblest speeches
any General ever addressed to his soldiers. He con-
cluded with these words : ' Your enemy is before you,
and in his train heavy tributes, drudgery in the mines,
and all the horrors of slavery. Are these calamities to be
entailed upon us, or shall this day relieve us by a brave
revenge? There is the field of battle, and let that
determine. Let us seek the enemy, and, as we rush upon
him, remember the glory delivered down to us by our
ancestors, and let each man think that upon his sword
depends the hope of all posterity.' This speech was
received, according to the custom of the Barbarians, with
war songs, savage howlings, and a wild uproar of military
applause. Their battalions began to form the line of
battle, the brave and warlike rushed forward to the front,
and the field glittered with a blaze of arms.
"Agricola. the Roman General, also harangued his troops
in most impassioned and eloquent strains, and concluded
thus : ' Here you may end your labours and close a scene
of fifty years by one great, one glorious day. Let your
country see, and let the Commonwealth bear witness, if
the conquest of Britain has been a lingering work, if the
seeds of rebellion have not been crushed, that we, at
least, have done our duty.' As soon as the General ended,
the field rung with the shouts of applause, and, impatient
for the offset, the soldiers grasped their arms. Agricola
restrained their ardour till he formed his order of battle.
The auxiliary infantry, in number 8000, occupied the
centre ; the wings consisted of 3000 horse. The legions
were stationed in the rear at the head of their entrench-
ments to support the ranks if necessary, but otherwise to
remain inactive, so that a victory obtained without the
effusion of Roman blood might be of higher value. The
Caledonians kept possession of the rising ground, extend-
ing their ranks as wide as possible to present a formidable
show of battle. Their first line was ranged on the plain,
the rest on a gradual ascent on the acclivity of the hill.
The intermediate space between both armies was filled
with the charioteers and cavalry of the Britons rushing
to and fro in wild career and traversing the plain with
noise and tumult. The enemy being greatly superior in
number, there was reason to apprehend that the Romans
might be attacked both in front and flank at the same
time. To prevent that mischief, Agricola ordered his
ranks to form wider range. Some of the officers saw that
the lines were weakened into length, and therefore
advised that the legions should be brought forward into
the scene of action, but the General was not of a temper
to be easily disuaded from his purpose. Flushed with
hope, and firm in the hour of danger, he immediately
dismounted, and, dismissing his horse, took his stand at
the head of the colours. The battle began and at first
was maintained at a distance. With their long swords
and targets of small dimensions, the Caledons had the
address to elude the massive weapons of the Romans and
at the same time to discharge a thick volley of their own.
To bring the conflict to a speedy decision, Agricola ordered
three battalions of Bavarians and two Hungarian cohorts
to charge the enemy sword in hand. To this mode of
attack these troops had been long accustomed, but to the
Britons it was in every way disadvantageous. Their small
targets offered no protection, and their unwieldy swords,
28 DESCRIPTION OF THE BATTLE.
not sharpened to a point, could do but little execution
in a close engagement. The Bavarians rushed to the
attack with impetuous fury, they redoubled their blows,
and with the bosses of their shields bruised the enemy on
the face, and, having overpowered all resistance on the
plain, began to force their way up the ascent of the hill
in the order of battle. Incited by their example, the other
cohorts advanced with a spirit of emulation, and cut their
way with terrible slaughter. Eager in pursuit of victory,
they pressed forward with determined fury, leaving be-
hind them numbers wounded, but not slain, and others not
so much hurt.
'The Roman cavalry in the meantime was forced to give
ground ; the Caledonians in their armed chariots rushed
at full speed into the thick of battle where the infantry
were engaged. Their first impression struck a general
terror, but their career was soon checked by the inequal-
ities of the ground and the close embodied ranks of the
" Nothing could less resemble an engagement of the
cavalry. Pent up in narrow places the Barbarians crowded
on each other, and were dragged or driven along with
their horses. A scene of confusion followed. Chariots
without a guide, and horses without a rider broke from
the ranks in wild disorder, and, flying every way as fear
and consternation urged, overwhelmed their own files, and
trampled down all who came in their way.
" Meanwhile the Britons, who had kept their position on
the hills, looking down with contempt on the scant
numbers of the Romans, began to quit their station.
Descending slowly, they hoped, by wheeling round the
field of battle, to attack the victors in the rear. To
counteract their design, Agricola ordered four squadrons
of horse, which he had kept as a body of reserve, to
advance to the charge. The Britons poured down with
impetuosity and retired with equal precipitation. At
the same time, the cavalry, by direction of the General,
wheeled round from the wings and fell with great
slaughter on the rear of the enemy, who now perceived
their own stratagem was turned against themselves. The
field presented a dreadful spectacle of carnage and de-
struction. The Britons fled, the Romans pursued ; they
wounded, mangled, and gashed the runaways, seized
their prisoners, and butchered them on the spot. Despair
and horror appeared in various shapes. In one part of
the field the Caledoiis, sword in hand, fled in crowds
from a handful of Romans ; in other places, without a
weapon left, they faced every danger and rushed on
certain death. The field was red with blood. The
vanquished Britons had their moments of returning
courage, and gave proofs of virtue and brave despair.
They fled to the woods, and, rallying their scattered
numbers, surrounded such of the Romans as pursued
with too much eagerness. Agricola saw the danger,
and ordered the light cohorts to invest the woods.
" The Britons, seeing the pursuit was conducted in com-
pact "and regular order, dispersed a second time in
consternation, each seeking his own personal safety.
Night coming on, the Romans, weary of pursuit, desisted
from the slaughter. 10,000 Caledonians fell in the en-
gagement and about 5000 Romans. The Roman army,
elated with success and enriched with plunder, spent the
night in exultation ; the Britons, on the other hand,
wandered about helpless and disconsolate.
" The following day displayed to view the nature and
melancholy silence all around, the hills deserted, houses
at a distance involved in smoke and fire, and not a
mortal discovered by the scouts ; the whole a vast and
" Agricola was at length informed by those who were
sent out to explore the country that no trace of the
enemy was anywhere to be seen, and no attempt made
in any quarter to muster their forces."
Tacitus the historian, and soii-in-law to Agricola, the
Roman General, in the narrative of the battle just
described, naturally gives his powerful father-in-law the
advantage of any disputed victory to gild his illustrious
Tacitus, moreover, gives the speeches of the Roman
and Caledonian Generals before leading their armies to
battle. It may have been the custom with the Roman
Generals to address their soldiers, but if Galgacus
delivered a speech, it was when he could be neither
seen nor heard by any save his own soldiers, for it
30 EMPEROR SEVERUS.
is recorded by other historians that the Caledonians
attacked the Romans in the night, nearly seized their
canip, but were prevented by the advance of other
legions. Further, if we consider the limited boundaries
of the Caledons, and the internal dissension prevalent
in the country at the time, it is difficult to accede to
the number of the army, Instead of 30,000 men, it is
more likely that 15,000 would be the utmost figure. We
are also informed by the Roman historian that the
Caledonians were defeated. If this was so, why did the
Roman army not keep possession of the field, and how do
other historians inform us of the Romans' sad experience
of the Barbarians ? " The Barbarians drive us to the sea,
and the sea drives us back to the Barbarians, leaving us
only the choice of being put to the sword or be drowned ;
nor have we any defence against either."
The reports of the campaigns in Britain, sent and
carried to Rome, must have been beyond measure false
and designing on the Emperor and the people, insomuch
as Josephus, another historian, says of Vespasian : " This
was he who finished the conquest of Britain, which before
was neither perfectly subdued nor known.''
An eminent historian visiting these fields, and surveying
the numerous evidences of the severe struggle, says :
" Virtuous men will revere the memory of Galgacus and
the Caledonians who here bravely drew their swords for
religious liberty. In this field 10,000 fell resisting the
reckless ambition of Rome, and while we surveyed the
mouldering cairns raised above their graves, we felt we
were treading amongst the ashes of heroes and of patriots
in righteous battle slain."
Another historian, speaking of the place, remarks: "For
miles around every yard of ground marks a soldier's
sepulchre, and every inch of turf has been dyed with the
best blood of Scotland."
Boetius, another historian, says that "the Picts had a
town called Tulina on the elevated tract of land at
Delvine, which they deserted and burnt on the approach
of the Romans."
In 138 A.D. the Romans again traversed the district,
and once again, in 207 A.D., Severus, the Roman Emperor,
and his legions encamped at Meikleour. It is generally
REGNER LODBROG. 31
supposed that the lower arch of the bridge at Lornty was
built at this time, the work being ascribed to the
St Ninian, one of the earliest Christian Celtic mission-
aries, on his tour through Scotland, pitched his camp
where the Wellmeadow now is, and quenched his thirst
at an old well or spring which ever afterwards bore the
name of "St Ninian's Well," until it was covered in and
the water led into the town drains.
History is silent regarding the events of the district
for many hundred years, until about the year 831 A.D.,
when Alpin became king of the Scots. As grandson to
Huiigus, king of the Picts, he (being the only male
survivor of the family), laid claim to the kingdom of the
Picts. After a number of reverses, the Picts chose as
their king, Brude, who immediately took active measures
against Alpin. He levied a large army, crossed the Tay
at the Castle of Caledonia (Dunkeld), and marched with
all speed he could eastwards to the country of Horestia
(Angus), where he was met by King Alpin with 20,000
men. At the time the armies joined battle Alpin was
viewing the scene from a vantage point, and, observing
one of the wings of his army to give way, he went forth
with great force till, giving a fresh charge on his enemies,
he was unfortunately taken prisoner. The Scots no sooner
saw their king taken than they betook themselves to the
mountains, while the Picts, remaining victors of the field,
beheaded Alpin, and affixed his head to a pole which they
erected in the centre of their chief city. Before the ac-
cession of Kenneth (or Kenneth MacAlpiu, son of Alpin,
as he is properly termed), at Dunkeld, in 843 A.D., the
country was terribly ravaged by the Danes or Norsemen.
Kenneth, making peace with the Scots of the West,
engaged them in a common defence against their mutual
foes. Daily incursions were made against the Danes, who
had taken possession of and fed upon the rich lands of
Regner Lodbrog then ruled over the nations on the
shores of the Baltic a man who made every throne in
Europe tremble. Word having been brought home of the
doings in Scotland, he resolved in person to punish
Kenneth for his audacity in interfering with his country-
men. Lodbrog landed an army in the Tay in 847, and at
once advanced and took possession of the old Roman
encampment at Inchtuthil (on the Delvine estate). The
Vikings as these sea-kings were called first fortified
their position by forming a camp on the south side of
the Tay, to guard a ford of the river near the present
Bridge of Caputh, in order to provide against surprise
from that quarter, and then at once proceeded against
the outworks provided by Kenneth for the defence of his
capital, the principal of which were on Steuton Craig,
where very considerable works had been executed, part
of the remains of which exist to this day. After much
hard fighting these advanced positions fell, and Lodbrog
found himself with his army looking into the steep gorge
leading to Dunkeld, with MacAlpin and his men strongly
posted on the top and sides of the mountain, ready to
dispute the passage. A more uninviting outlook than the
Vikings had before them could scarcely be presented.
Nevertheless, Lodbrog led his men to the assault, when a
dreadful carnage ensued. Kenneth and his men were
wholly victorious, and drove the Northmen out of the
pass, when hundreds of them were drowned in the river
Tay attempting to escape from the swords of the Scots
and the rocks that were rolled down upon them. A
tradition exists that, after the battle, Kenneth caused a
cross to be erected near the spot where the bulk of the
Danes were buried, on the little haugh near the river
side, and by which the road then led. History also well
records that in the following year Kenneth and his men
signally defeated the Danes, led by Lodbrog, who lost up-
wards of 4000 of his men, vainly trying to ferret Kenneth
out of his stronghold by approaching past Butterstone
and Cairnie, at which places the brunt of the fighting
After this disaster the Danes fled to their encampment
at Inchtuthil followed by Kenneth and his victorious
army, who, after a time, compelled Lodbrog and his men
to quit their camp and take refuge on the islands of the
Tay, a little lower down than their former camp at
Inchtuthil. Here the Scots sat down before them until
the river had sufficiently fallen to enable them to attack
with success, and they had not long to wait before the
KINCLAVEN CASTLE TAKEN BY WALLACE. 33
assault was made, when Lodbrog was driven out with
immense slaughter. In the old maps of the country these
islands are called " The Bloody Inches." From them the
Danish King was carried to his ship wounded, and he has
referred to this fatal day in an epicidum, or death-song,
still extant, for, along with his fighting propensities, he
was also a poet.
The valley of Strathmore was a very favourite hunting-
ground of Malcolm Canmore, who is accredited with the
building of Kinclaven Castle, about the year 1080, as a
hunting seat. The building of the Castle of Ardblair in
1175 is also credited to Alexander de Blair, one of the
favourite courtiers of William the Lion.
It is recorded in the papers of the Monastery of St
Marie, at Coupar Angus, that " an agreement was entered
into between the churches of Blair and Coupar Angus, at
a Synod held at Perth, on 1st of May, 1201," and on the
1st of June, 1235, Alexander II. granted, at Traquair, "lands
in Meikle and Little Blair to the Abbey of Scone, except-
ing a small portion in the feu of Meikle Blair, which he
gave to the monks of Cupar (Coupar) in exchange for the
common Muir of Blair, of which they had the use."
The Church of Blair was consecrated by David de
Bernham, the Bishop of St Andrews, on the 13th Sep-
The Castle of Kinclaven was held as a Royal residence
by Alexander II., and is mentioned in the year 1264, when
payments were made for the carriage of wine to Kinclaven
and for the repairing of a boat.
The Scottish patriot, William Wallace, in his early
years received his education at Dundee, where he formed
an attachment to John Blair (of the family of Ardblair),
a Benedictine Monk, who afterwards became his chaplain,
and compiled a history in Latin of the Scottish hero's
In June, 1297, King Edward I., in his progress north-
wards, visited Kinclaven, and stayed there one night.
Shortly afterwards, with a handful of men, Wallace
besieged and took the castle "a castell wondyr wycht"
putting the entire garrison to the sword, including Sir
James Butler, the Governor. Blind Harry, the Minstrel,
describes an engagement between the English garrison
34 ROBERT THE BRUCE AT STORMONT LOCH.
and Wallace, some little distance from the castle, the
defeat and flight of the former, pursued by the Scots,
toward their stronghold, where
" Few men of fenss was left that place to kepe,
Wemen and preistis upon the wall can wepe,
For weill thai wend the fleais was their lord,
To tuk them in thai maid thaim redy ford,
Leit doun the bryg, kest up the yettis wide,
The freyit folk entrit, and durst nocht byde."
Here Wallace and his followers stayed seven days, spoiled
and wrecked the place, and, under cloud of night, betook
themselves to the neighbouring woods, and
" The contre folk, quhen it was lycht of day,
Gret reik saw ryss, and to Kinclewyn thai socht :
Bot wallis and stane, mar pud thai fund thai nocht."
"In till Kinclewyn thar duelt naiie agayne
Thar was left nocht hot brokyn wallis in playne."
In 1309, at Dundee, King Robert I. confirmed a charter
to the Abbey of Coupar, bestowing the lauds of Muir of
Blair upon it. There can be little doubt that the Blairs,
Herons, and Drummonds, the three powerful families in
the district at the time, with their retainers, such as
were able to bear arms, assisted the Bruce, and rendered
him yeoman service in the grand engagement at Bannock-
burn in 1311.
In the chartulary of the Abbey of Scone is a letter,
dated Clackmannan, 26th of March, 1326, from King
Robert the Bruce to the Sheriff of Perth, commanding
him to take charge of the Loch of Blair (Stormont Loch)
in view of the King's arrival in the neighbourhood. In
the chartulary is a second letter on other matters, dated
Clunie, 4th August, 1326, and a third and fourth are
dated Alyth, 5th and 6th August the same year. It is
reasonable to suppose that in August, 1326, King Robert
fulfilled his intention and fished the Stormont.
From another document in the Scone Chartulary, dated
February, 1356, it appears that in the reign of David II.
the ownership of the church lands of Blair was in
dispute. The Bishop of St Andrews laid some claim to
it ; the Abbey of Cambuskenneth stretched out a ghostly
hand ; and the Abbey of Scone retained its hold. In the
document referred to the question is settled. All the
BATTLE OF GLASCLUNE. 35
lawful rights to the lands and pertinents of the Ch.urck
of Blair are finally and elaborately made over, by William
the Bishop of St Andrews, to the Abbey of Scone. It
is ordained that a payment of money shall be made or
continued to the Abbey of Cambuskenneth, and as for
the Bishop himself, the church of Carrington (in the
Lothians) with the rights and pertinents, presently the
property of Scone, shall be transferred to him. The
Church of Blair, then, with it revenues, was given over
to the Abbey of Scone in 1356, and confirmed to the
Abbey in a Bull by Pope Gregory XI. of the year 1373.
The Bull narrates " that Carrington, though it ' abounded
in revenues,' was distant from Scone, and the way was
difficult; whereas, Blair was close at hand, although its
revenues were but small." A Bull of Benedict XIII., a
duplicate Pope, dated 1390, in the reign of Robert III.,
narrates that " the Abbey of Scone had been put to great
expense, and had suffered serious loss, by many different
meetings of the nobility and magnates concerning the
affairs of the kingdom." The Bull, therefore, confirms
to the impoverished Abbot and Convent several churches,
including that of Blair.
In 1384 an Act was passed for the suppression of
masterful plunderers, who get in the statute their High-
land name of cateran : ' Qui transierint ut Katherani,
tomedendo patriam et consumendo bona comitatum et capiendo per
vim et violenciam bona et victual ia." By this statute all men
might seize caterans and bring them to the Sheriff, and,
should they refuse to come, might kill them without
having to answer for the act. This is the first of a long
succession of penal and denunciatory laws against the
Highlanders, on whom, no doubt, there was ample pro-
vocation to retaliate.
King Robert the Third's brother, Alexander, named
the Wolf of Badenoch, had an illegitimate son, also named
Alexander, who made, during his life, a considerable
figure both in Scotland and France as Earl of Mar.
Whether or not he obtained any of the Highland pro-
perty, he succeeded to his father's propensities and his
influence over the Highlanders. With a large following
he descended from the Braes of Angus on a grand
plundering expedition against the agriculturists of the
36 BATTLE OF GLASCLUNE.
lowland districts of Forfar and Perth. The landed gentry
of this district gathered for its defence, and met the
invaders near Glasclune. They fought, of course, and the
affair, though a small one, was sharpened by the hatred
to each other of two races whose antipathy was all the
more bitter that they were near neighbours and nomin-
ally under the same government.
It is the earliest recorded example of the method of
Highland warfare such as it continued down to the
latest of our civil wars. The method was a simple rush
or bound upon the enemy, and a reliance upon the
impetuosity of the blow breaking his defences. If it
failed to do so, the assailants instantly turned ; if strong
enough they might make another rush, but if not they
would disperse their several ways, and the war was at
an end for a time.
In this instance, at Glascluue, 1392, the rush was
successful : the Lowlaiiders, mounted men * and footmen,
were swept before the torrent. Sir David Lyndsay,
" that worthie was and wycht,"
in command of the Lowland force, trying to make head
against the torrent, as a mounted man, had trodden
several of the Highlanders down, and had one of them
pinned to the earth with his long lance. Thereupon, in
the words of Old Wyntoun, the chronicler
"That man held fast his own sword
Into his neive, and up thrawing
He pressed him, not again standing
That he was pressed to the earth ;
And with a swake there of his sword,
Through the stirrup-leather and the boot
Three-ply or four, above the foot,
He struck the Lyndsay to the bone.
That man no stroke gave bot that one,
For there he died."
Sir Walter Scott could not but see the value of such
an incident in heroic narrative, and accordingly, in the
poem "Lord of the Isles," he brings it in at the death
of Colonsay's fierce lord :
' ' Now then,' he said, and couched his spear,
' My course is run, the goal is near ;
One effort more, one brave career
Must close this race of mine.'
Then in his stirrups rising high
He shouted loud his battlecry,
DRUMMOND FEUD AND MASSACRE. 37
'Saint James for Argentine! '
And of the bold pursuers, four
The gallant knight from saddle bore;
But not unharmed a lance's point
Has found the breastplate's loosened joint,
An axe has raised his crest ;
Yet still on Colonsay's fierce lord,
Who pressed the chase with gory sword,
He rode with spear in rest,
And through his bloody tartan's bored
And through his gallant breast,
Nailed to the earth : the mountaineer
Yet writhed him up against the spear
And swung his broadsword round !
Stirrup, steelboot, and cuish gave way
Beneath that blow's tremendous sway,
The blood gushed from the wound ;
And the grim lord of Colonsay
Hath turned him on the ground ;
And laughed in death pang, that his blade
The mortal thrust so well repaid."
In 1430 one of the Blairs of Ardblair was Abbot of
Coupar Abbey. In 1500 Bishop Brown of Dunkeld erected
Cluiiie Castle, and in it (in 1560), was born James
Crichton, afterwards so well known as the Admirable
Crichton, the greatest Scotsman of any age.
About this time, throughout Scotland, family feuds
were very prevalent, and one very remarkable example
of one of these deeds of violence, connected with the
locality, is recorded in " Pitcairn's Criminal Trials" under
the year 1554. On the third day of June of that year,
the Lairds of Gormack, Ardblair, Drumlochy, Clayquhat,
and Knockmahar all places in the vicinity of the town
and their retainers, to the number of eighty, waylaid
and attacked George Drummond and his son, William
(of Newton Castle), " in ye hie mercate gate, behynde
ye Kirke of Blair," and barbarously murdered them both.
The trial is fully reported in " Pitcairn," and will be
found well worth perusal, not only on account of the
peculiar circumstances attending the murder, but also in
connection with it, the Laird of Drumlochy, one of the
delinquents, entered into one of those extraordinary
obligations called " Bonds of Manrent," which bound the
granter to serve the grantee, and fight on his side in
any quarrel, just or unjust, in which he might be en-
gaged with any of his neighbours, or, as the document
38 QUEEN MARY'S SUMMONS.
expresses it, " againis all and sindrie personis, our
Soveraine Ladye and ye auctoritie of this realm allenarlie
excepit." This extraordinary conspiracy and deliberate
murder afford a most illustrative picture of the lawless
condition of the country at the period, and the inveteracy
and ferocity with which each petty laird took the law
into his own hands, and, either with his retainers or the
assistance of his friends and neighbours, fought out his
particular feuds or quarrels. It was also too frequently
the case that, in place of meeting the enemy in a fair
field, every advantage was taken to surprise him unawares
and unprepared ; and that those outrages were but too
common, little regarded, and very leniently dealt with, is
proved by the fact that, for this shameful and deliberate
murder, an attempt to compound it "by pilgromaigis,
doing suffrage for the soule of the deid," and a certain
money payment, although, as it happened in this case,
"the wyf an' bairnis" of George Druinmond could nowise
be content with the offer, and so, at least, two of the
guilty persons suffered the penalty of their crime by
George Drummond, who apparently purchased the lands
of Newton of Blair, about 1550, is the first whom we
understand to have been styled George Drummond of
Blair. He married Janet Halliburton of Buttergask, who
bore to him two sons, George, who succeeded, and William.
The following is the summons for apprehending and
bringing the Laird of Gormack and his accomplices before
the Queen and Privy Council :
" Marie, by the Grace of God, Quiene of Scottis to our own Shireff of
Perth and his deputis and to our deputis and lovittis, Archibald Camp-
bell, Thomas Drummond, messengeris our scheriffs, speciale constitute,
grating and forasmeikl as it is humlie menit and complenit to us be ou
lovittis the wiffe, bairnis, kin and friendis of umqle George Drummond
of Leidcrief and William Drummond his sone, upon William Chalmer
of Drumlochie, William Rory, George TullydufF, etc. : George M'Neskar,
fldlar, his householdmen, Robert Smith (and cottars) tenantis to ye
laird of Drumlochie, John Blaire of Ardblaire, Andro Blair, Thomas
Blair his sones, David M'Raithy his householdman, Patour Blair (and
two others) tenentis to the said Laird of Ardblair, William Chalmer in
Clayquhat, Alexander Buttir, half-brother to John Buttir of Gormack,
William Blair, David Blair of Knockmahar, John Blair, Patrick Blair,
his sones, William Young of Tornence, and Thomas Robertsone, tenentis
to ye said Laird of Gormok, quhilk is with thair complices with con-
Tocation of our leigis to the nomer of 80 personis bodin in feir of weir
OFFERS BY MURDERERS. 39
with jakkis, coittis of mailye, steil bonnetis, lance staffis, bowis, lang
culverings with lichtit luntis, and utheris wappinis, invasive recentlie
upone Sounday, ye thirde day of June instant, before none, of ye
counsalling, devysing, causing, sending, command assistance, fortefeing,
and ratihabitioun of ye said John Buttir of Gormack, come to ye said
umqle George Drummondis, Perroche Kirke of Blair, to half slane him,
the said William, his sone, and utheris being with him in company
and, becaus they could nocht cum to -thair perversit purpois, they
passed to the Laird of Gormokis place of Gormok and thair dynit with
him, and send furth spyis that he was cuming furth of his place, thai
with thair complices with ye said Laird of Gormokis householdmen
and servantis bodin in feir of weir of his causing, sending, devysing as
said is with convocation of our leigis to ye nomer of 66 personis, ye
samin day at twa houris or thairby efter none ischit further of ye said
Laird of Gormokis place foirsaid and imbeset ye gait to ye saidis umqle
George and William his sone, where they were doublate alane at thair
pastyme play and at ye rowbowlis in ye hie mercate gait behynde ye
kirke of Blair in sober manner, traisting na truble nor harm to haif
bein done to them, but to haif levit under Goddis peace and ouris, and
thair crewellie slew them upon aid feid and forethocht felonie, set
purpois, and provisioun in hie contemption," &c.
The murderers, finding themselves in an awkward pre-
dicament, and believing they were likely to obtain their
deserts at the hands of the hangman, appeared to have
endeavoured to compromise the matter with the family
of the murdered men, and the following is the offer they
made with that view :
"The offeris offered be the laird of Gormok, etc., to young George
Drummond of Blair for the slauchter of his father Thir ar the offeris
quhilk the Lordis of Gormok, Drurnlochye, and Ardblair, and their
collegis, offeris to my Lord Drummond and to ye sone of umquhile
George Drummond, his wyf and bairnis, kyne and friendis item :
"Inprimis: To going or cause to gang to the four heid pilgromaigis
" Secondlye : To do suffrage for ye saull of ye deid at his Paroche
Kirke or what uthir kirk they pleis for certaine yeiris to cum.
" Thirdlye : To do honour to ye kyne and friendis as effeiris as
"Ferdlye: To assyth ye partye is content to gyf to ye kyne wyf
and bairnis Imp. 1000 merks.
" Fyfthlie : Gif thir offeris be noch suffeycent thocht be ye partye and
ye friendis of ye deid, we ar content to underlye and augment or pair
as reasonabil friendis thinkis expedyent in so far as we may lefsumlie."
It appears that the foregoing " offeris " were not con-
sidered adequate by Lord Drummond and the other
parties concerned. The first, second, and third offers were
considered of no value, therefore " Chalmer of Drumlochye
and otheris, his friendis," made an amended offer :
40 BOND OF MANRENT.
" To offer to his Lordship and ye partye ane nakit sword be ye point,
and siclike to do all uthir honour to my lord, his hous, and friendis
that sail be thoucht reasonabil in siclike caisis to give my lord and
his airis his Bond of Manrent in competent and dew form sic as may
stand in ye Actis of Parliament and lawis of this realme because
throu extrame persecutioun be ye lawis of this realme ye said William
has nother landis, gudis, nor money, he thairfor offeris his son is
marriage to be mareit upon George Drumniondis dochter frelie without
onie tocher and siclike ye marriage of ye said Williame Chalmer his
cousing to ye said George sister to offer any uthir thing quhilk is
possabil to him as pleis my lord and friendis to lay to his charge
except his lyfe and heretage."
It does not appear whether or not the above modest pro-
posal to marry the son and cousin of the " murderer " to
the daughter and sister of the "murdered" man, "without ,
ony tochir," was carried into effect ; but the promised
" Bond of Manreut " was duly executed, for which the
said William Chalmer was freely pardoned by the said
George Drummond, but although one of the principal
murderers thus escaped the gallows, others of them met
their due deserts.
" August 4, 1554. John Buttir of Gormok, denounced rebel and put
to the horn for not underlying the law for art and part of the cruel
slauchter of George Drummond of Ledcrief and William, his son.
" John Crechton of Strathurd and James Hering of Glasclune, his
cautioners, were accordingly amerciated."
" 16th Nov., 1554. George Gordon of Scheves, James Gordon of
Lesmore and Gilbert Grey of Scheves found caution to underlye the
law at the next aire in Aberdeen, for resetting, intercommuning, and
supplying William Chalmer of Drumlochye and his accomplices, rebels,
and at the horn fore the aforesaid slauchter and for affording them
meat, drink, and otheris necessaries in the months of July and August
"12th Dec., 1554. Patrick Blair, in Ardblair, and Robert Smyth,
in Drumlochye, alias Henry, convicted of the slaughter of George
Drummond and William, his son. Beheaded."
The following is a copy of the extraordinary document
known as the " Bond of Manrent " :
"THE LAYRDE OF DRUMLOCHE. BOND OF MANRENT."
"Be it kend til al men be thir present letteris me Williame Chalmir
of Drumlochie that fforasmeikill as ane noble and michty lord David
Lord Drummond and certaine utheris principalis of the four branchis
and maist speciale and neirist of ye kin and friendis of umqle George
Drummond of Leidcrief and Williame Drummonde his sone for thame-
selfls and remanant kin and friendis of ye said umqle George and
Williame, hes remitet and foregevin to me thair slauchteris, and gevin
and deliverit to me thair letteris of slanis thairupone : and that I am
BOND OP MANBENT. 41
oblist be vertew of ane contract to gif ye said noble lord my Band of
Manrent as ye said contract and letter of slanis deliverit to me fullie
proportis Thairfore to be boundin and oblist and be thir present
letteris bindis and obligsis me and my airis in trew and awfald Band
of Manrent to ye said noble and michty Lord as chief to ye saidis
umqle George and Williame his sone, and ye saidis Lordis his airis,
and sail take thair trew and awfald part in all and sundry thair actions
and causis, and ride and gang with thame therein upon thair expenses
when they require me or my airis thairto, againis all and sindry
personis, our Soveraine Ladye and ye auctoritie of this realme allenarlie
exceptit. And heirto I bind and obliss me and my airis to ye said
noble and mychty lord and his airis in ye straightest form and sicker
style of Band of Manrent that can be devisit na remied nor exceptioune
to the contrary.
" In witness of ye quhilk theng to thir present letteris and Band of
Manrent, subscrivit with my hand, my seil is hanging at Edinburgh yn
fift day of December ye zier of God ane thousand five hundreth fiftie
aucht zeiris befoir thir witnesses Andro Rollock of Duncrub, James
Rollock his sone, John Graham of Gormok, Maister John Spens of
Condy and Lawrance Spens his bruthir with utheris divers.
" Willzam Chalmir of Drumloquhy."
From this time, 1558, for a period of nearly eighty years,
we have no records, civil or political, regarding the
King Charles I. Charter of Burgh of Barony Baronj r Court Gallows
Knowe Montrose Sacking of Newton Castle Donald Cargill John
Erskine The Ghost of Mause : Full Description Prince Charlie and
the Curlers' Dinner Duke of Cumberland at Woodlands Division of
the Muir of Blair Coble Pule Boat Brae Muckle Mill Erected
Purchase of Blairgowrie Estate Military Service in Blairgowrie
Enrolment Returns, 1803 A Rifle Corps^A Distinguished Officer
Burgh Charters Erection of Parish Church Stage Coach Intro-
duction of Gas and Printing Visits of the Queen Auld Brig o'
Blair An Incident of the French Revolution The First Newspaper
Introduction of Railway Service A Good Story Burns Centenary
Celebration Inauguration of Volunteer Movement, 1859.
DURING his first visit to Scotland, 1633-1634, Kiiig
Charles I. granted a charter, dated 9th July, 1634, in"
favour of George Drummond of Blair, by which Blair-
gowrie was erected into a Burgh of Barony, whereby
Barons or Lairds were empowered to hold Courts in their
own districts for the trial of thiev 7 es and other characters
disgraceful to society. A Barony Court was established
at Blairgowrie, and held sittings for a considerable time.
The Courthouse is supposed to have been on the
" Hirchen Hill," where the offices of the Parish Church
Manse are now erected, the place of execution being the
" Gallows Knowe," immediately to the west of Newton
Castle. Traces of the mound might have been observed
till within a few years ago, when the ground was
ploughed up. The fields still bear the name " Gallowbank."
King Charles, seeking to establish the Episcopacy of
Scotland, as his father James I. vainly endeavoured to
do, roused the people of the land to form together an
Association for the Protection of Religious Liberty. A
" Solemn League and Covenant " was entered into in 1638,
and none was more enthusiastic in its support than
James Graham, Marquis of Montrose, who ultimately be-
came its bitterest enemy.
Montrose, for the gratification of his own passions, as
THE GHOST OF MAUSE. 43
much as for the sake of the religious liberties of the
people, conceived the idea of subduing the kingdom, and
pursued for a number of years an excursive warfare
against those who had so bound themselves against
Descending suddenly where least expected, Montrose
achieved many a victory, and took up residence for some
time at Duukeld. Here he was informed that the army
under Generals Urrie and Baillie had crossed the Tay
against him, but he thought it advisable to " hie " out of
the way, and on his march to Dundee sacked Newton
Castle, 1644. Urrie and Baillie, following up, encamped
on the Blairgowrie estate, passing eastwards through
Forfarshire to Dundee, where Montrose had posted him-
self, but the historian records that no engagement took
place between the rival armies at this time.
Newton Castle must have been rebuilt again shortly
after this, as it was once more burned down by Oliver
In the year 1658 the soldiers of Glencairn were ranging
through the parish. In 1679 the famous Rattray Coven-
anter, Donald Cargill, while on a visit to his parents at
the Hatton of Rattray, was pursued by dragoons, and
only escaped by leaping the Keith above Blairgowrie.
In 1726 a Blairgowrie gentleman, John Erakine, was an
unsuccessful candidate to represent Perthshire in Parlia-
The year 1730 was a memorable one for Blairgowrie,
the whole parish being in a commotion regarding the
extraordinary proceedings caused by Soutar, one of the
tenants of Middle Mause, declaring he had been ordered
by a supernatural being to seek for human bones in a
certain place. The place was known as the " Isle," situ-
ated between two or three small streams on the estate
of Rochalzie, near the south-east march adjacent to the
old turnpike road from Blairgowrie to Cally which passes
up by Woodhead.
Soutar declared that the apparition was in the form of
a dog, but spoke with a human voice, declared itself to
be a David Soutar who had left the country over a
century ago, and that he (David) had killed a man at
the " Isle " 35 years before, whose bones must now be
44 THE GHOST OF MAUSE.
disinterred and receive burial in a churchyard, assigning
as a reason for his bestial form that he had used his
dog as an instrument in the murder.
There is a tradition that the man was murdered for
his money ; that he was a Highland drover on his return
from the south ; that he had arrived late at night at the
Mains of Mause and wished to get to Rochalzie ; that he
stayed at the Mains of Mause all night, and left it early
next morning, when David Soutar, with his dog, accom-
panied him to show him the road, and that, with the
assistance of his dog, he murdered the drover and took
his money at the place mentioned ; that there was a
tailor at work in his father's house that morning when
he returned after committing the murder, and that his
mother, being surprised at his absence and appearance,
asked him what he had been about, but he made no
answer ; that he did not remain long in the country
afterwards ; that he went to England and never re-
turned ; that the last time he was seen he went down
the Brae of Cochrage ; and that in answer to the question
by William Soutar why the apparition troubled him, the
apparition said, " Because, after I killed the man, yours
was the first face I saw in your mother's arms."
An old woman who died near the end of last century
used to say that " the siller of the drover paid for the
wood with which the west loft in the old Kirk of Blair
was made," but she gave no explanation of her meaning.
About midnight on Wednesday, 23rd December, 1730,
being in bed, " I (William Soutar) heard a voice, but said
nothing. The voice said, 'Come away.' Upon this I rose
out of bed, cast on my coat, and went to the door, but
did not open it, and said, 'In the name of God, what do
you demand of me now?' It answered, 'Go, take up
these bones.' I said, 'How shall I get these bones?' It
answered again, ' At the side of a withered bush, and
there are but seven or eight of them remaining.' I asked,
' Was there anyone in the action but you ? ' It answered,
' No.' I asked again, ' What is the reason that you
trouble me more than the rest of us?' It answered,
'Because you are the youngest.' Then I said to it,
' Depart from me and give me a sign that I may know
the particular place, and give me time.' The voice
THE GHOST OF MAUSE. 45
answered as if it had been at some distance from the
door, 'You will find the bones at the side of a withered
bush ; there are but eight of them, and for a sign you
will find the print of a cross impressed upon the ground.'"
On the 26th of December, William Soutar, his brother,
and seven or eight men met at the "Isle," and on digging
at a particular spot, as indicated by the apparition,
several human bones were found, the unearthing being
witnessed by the parish minister, the laird, and other
persons to the number of forty.
The bush described by the apparition was found to be
withered about half-way down, and the sign was about a
foot from the bush. The sign was one exact cross,
thus X, each of the two lines of which was about 18
inches long and 3 inches broad, and impressed into the
ground, which was not cut, for an inch or two.
The following is the " Account by William Soutar,
being extracts from the original MS. written by Bishop
Rattray, taken down at the time from William Soutar's
mouth " :
" In the month of December, 1728, about the skysetting, I and my
servant, with several others living in the same town, heard a shrieking,
and, I following the horse with my servant a little way from the town,
we both thought we saw what at the time we judged to be a fox, and
hounded two dogs at it, but they would not pursue it.
" About a month after that, as I was coming from Blair alone about
the same time of the night, a big dog appeared to me, of a dark grayish
colour, betwixt the Hilltown and Knowhead of Mawes on a lie ridge a
little below the road, and, in passing me, touched me sensibly on the
thigh at my haunch bone, upon which I pulled my staff from under my
arm and let a stroke at it, and I had a notion at the time that I hitt
it. and my haunch was painful all that night; however, I had no great
thought of its being anything extraordinary, but that it might have
been a mad dog wandering.
" About a year after that (to the best of my memory), in December
month, about the same time of the night and at the same place, when I
was alone, it appeared to me again just as before, and passed by me at
some distance, and then I began to have some suspicion that it might
be something more than ordinary.
"In the month of June, 1730, as I was coming from Perth from the
cloth market, a little before skysetting, being alone at the same place,
it appeared to me again and passed by me as before. I had some sus-
picion of it then likewise, but I began to think that a neighbour of
mine in the Hilltown having ane ox lately dead, it might be but a dog
that had been at that carrion, by which I endeavour to put that
suspicion out of my head.
"On the last Monday of November, 1730, as I was coming from
Woodhead, a town in the ground of Drumlochy, it appeared to me
46 PRINCE CHARLIE AND THE CURLERS' DINNER.
again at the same place, and after it had passed by me, as it was near
getting out of my sight, it spoke with a low voice, but so as I
distinctly heard it, these words, " Within eight or ten days, do or die,''
and it having then disappeared no more passed at that time.
" On the morrow I went to my brother, who dwells in the Nether Aird
of Drumlochy, and told him of this last and all the former appearances,
which was the first time I ever spoke of it to anybody. He and I went
that day to see a sister of ours in Glenballow, who was a-dying, but
she was dead before we came. As we were returning home, I desired
my brother (whose name is James Soutar) to go forward with me till I
should be past that place where it used to appear to me, and just as
we were come to it, at ten o'clock at night, it appeared to me again as
formerly, and, as it was passing over some ice, I pointed to 'it with my
finger and asked my brother if he saw it, but he said he did not nor
did his servant who was with us. It spoke nothing at the time, but
just disappeared as it crossed the ice.
" On the Saturday night thereafter (5th December, 1730), as I was at
my sheep cotes putting in my sheep, it appeared to me again at day-
light, betwixt day and skylight, and upon saying these words, ' Come
to the spot of ground within half ane hour,' it just disappeared,
whereupon I came home to my own house and took up a staff and also
a sword with me, off the head of the bed, and went straight to the
place where it formerly used to appear, and after I had been there
some minutes, and had drawn a circle about me with the staff, it
appeared to me, and I spoke to it, saying, ' What are you that troubles
me ? ' and it answered me, ' / am David Soutar, George Soutar's
brother; I killed a man more than five-and-thirty years ago, when you
were but new born, at a bush be east the road as you go into the isle ; '
and as I was going away I stood again and said, ' David Soutar was a
man, and you appear like a dog,' whereupon it spoke again and said,
' '/ killed him with a dog, and am made to speak out of the mouth of
a dog and tell you, and you must go and burry these bones.'
" When breaking up the ground at the bush we found the following
bones, viz. : the nether jaw with all the chaft teeth in it, one of the
thigh bones, both arm bones, one of the shoulder blades, one of the
collar bones, and two small bones of the fore arm."
The bones were carefully wrapt in linen and placed in
a coffin made by a wright, who had been sent for from
Clayquhat, and they were deposited in a grave in the
Kirkyard of Blairgowrie the same evening.
It has generally been supposed that this William
Soutar was labouring under a delusion, or that it was a
trick played on him by one of his neighbours. As for the
bones found, they have been supposed to be the remains
of a calf which had been buried there some years before.
The story is, even to this present time, believed as true
by a few credulous and superstitious beings.
The winter of 1745 was hard, and the ice was keen,
and the curlers of Blair, taking a day on the ice at the
DIVISION OF THE MUIB OF BLAIR.
"Lochy" (now a thing of the past), had a dinner of beef
and greens preparing for them at Eppie Clarke's Inn, at
the Hill o' Blair, when Prince Charlie and some of his
Highlanders invaded the place, ate up everything, and
departed, refreshing themselves again and washing the
dinner down at a small well near Lornty Cottage, now
known as " Charlie's well."
The army of the Duke of Cumberland, on the march to
the north against the rebel forces, encamped on the Muir
of Blair, the Duke, with his officers, occupying the old
house of Woodlands, while his cavalry and outposts were
garrisoned at Newton Castle.
THE BEECH HEDGE.
Early in the spring of 1746 the now famous Beech
Hedge of Meikleour was planted.
About the year 1770 there were large muirs some of
48 DIVISION OP THE MUIR OP BLAIR.
them many hundreds or thousands of acres in extent
attached to many parishes both in the Highlands and
Lowlands of Scotland, and, with a general belief, with
the object of promoting draining, cultivation, and the
general improvement of the country, it was highly
desirable that these muirs should be divided amongst all
persons having any interest in them, in proportion to the
extent of their respective interests.
The law of the time favoured this view of the question
by empowering the Sheriffs or the Sheriffs'-Depute of the
various counties of Scotland to make such partitions on
submissions or applications being made to them by all
persons having any interest whatever, either large or
small, in any particular muir, and to apportion and
divide it accordingly.
In terms of a submission to, and a decreet-arbitral by,
John Swinton, Sheriff-Depute of Perthshire (proceedings
with reference to which were commenced in 1770 and
concluded in 1774), it appears that all persons having any
interest in " The Common Muir of Blair " made applica-
tion to have it divided among them in proportion to
their legal interest therein.
It was accordingly so divided, in terms of the decreet-
arbitral referred to, amongst the then proprietors of the
estates of Meikleour, Rosemount, Ardblair, the two Well-
towns, Parkhead, Carsie, and the then proprietor of
Blairgowrie and his feuars. At this time the feuars
numbered eleven in all, who (together with the minister
of the parish, who got his share) represented the village
of Blair congregated around the Parish Kirk.
The block allotted to and subdivided among them con-
sisted of nearly fifty Scotch acres, divided into twelve
lots of different sizes in proportion to their respective
rights of each person concerned. On this block now stand
the villas of Woodlands, Heathpark, Brownsville, Shaw-
field, and a number of smaller cottages. Leaving the
glebe out of the reckoning there is not one of those eleven
separate holdings now belonging to the descendants of
the original feuars of Blair from whom, or their assignees,
the present owners have acquired their rights to purchase.
The above described block was what the then feuars of
Blair got for their interests, in terms of their charters, in
PURCHASE OF BLAIRGOWRIE ESTATE. 49
exchange for their " servitude of pasturage, fewal, foull,
divot, &c., in the ' Great Common Muir ' of Blair recently
In accordance with the terms of their Charters they had
also similar servitudes on certain parts of the Blairgowrie
Estate proper, and, for the convenience of themselves and
the then proprietor, they jointly petitioned the Sheriff
that these rights should also be valued, and that another
block (or., blocks) of land should be taken out of the
Blairgowrie Estate and divided, in terms of law, amongst
those having claim. Accordingly, on the 21st January,
1777, another submission was made and a decreet-arbitral
was issued thereon by John Swintoii, Sheriff-Depute of
It is described as being between Thomas Graham, Esq.
of Balgowan (then the Superior), and William Raitt,
feuar, Hill of Blair, and others, "the vassals of the town
of Blairgowrie below the Hill."
To William Raitt and another were allotted eight acres
on the Lornty Road, and to the vassals below the Hill
" fourty acres " on the Perth Road, divided into different
lots, as in the case of the feuar's share of the " Common
Before 1777 there was no bridge over the river at
Blairgowrie, all vehicular traffic having to cross by a
ford where the " weir " is now erected, access being had
from Lower Mill Street, down by where Mr Fell's
slaughter-house is, while foot-passengers were taken across
in a small coble or boat, which ceased to ply when the
bridge was built. The part of the river where the boat
crossed was known as the " Coble Pule," and the ascent
on the Rattray side as the " Boat Brae," which name it
retains to this day.
The year 1778 saw the "Muckle Mill" erected, in which
flax was first spun here by machinery.
On the 'ZOth September, 1788, the estate of Blairgowrie
was purchased by a predecessor of the present proprietor,
Col. Allan MacPherson (17 1817), from Thomas Graham,
Esq. of Newton and Balgowan, the purchase, of course,
including Graham's share of the " Common Muir " of Blair,
in terms of the decreet-arbitral of 1774, situated immedi-
ately to the east of the feuars' share of the same.
50 A RIFLE CORPS.
At the time of the threatened invasion of Britain by
Napoleon in 1804, service in the British Army was
compulsory, and those drawn for it could only obtain
exemption on paying either a penalty or finding a
substitute. In the following list of the "Military Service
in Blairgowrie, 1803," the first name in each couple is
that of the principal, where a second name is given it is
that of the substitute, whose age is stated :
"SUBDIVISION OP THE BLAIRGOWRIE DISTRICT IN THE
COUNTY OF PERTH.
" Return of Enrolment, dated the eleventh and twenty-
eighth days of February, eighteen hundred and three
James Duffus, merchant, Blairgowrie.
William Blair, shoemaker, do. (39).
James Duncan, weaver, do.
Henry Henderson, weaver, do. (22).
John Fleeming, weaver, do.
James Dowuie, weaver, do. (24).
John Donaldson, weaver, East Banchory.
George Robertson, weaver, Dundee (24).
William Isles, weaver, Weltown.
David Yeaman, weaver, Rattray (18).
Robert Straiten, weaver, Blairgowrie.
Thomas Bog, weaver, do. (36).
John Playfair, saddler, Blairgowrie, was found
unfit, and there was balloted in his room
Duncan Keay, weaver, Blairgowrie, who paid
the penalty of 10.
William Cowan, wright, Blairgowrie, paid penalty
Patrick M'Pherson, surgeon, Blairgowrie, did not
In 1804, a corps of Volunteers was raised in the town
to assist, if required, the regular army against invasion.
ERECTION OP PARISH CHURCH. 51
The corps comprised 8 officers, 65 privates, and 1 drummer.
One of the officers of this corps (2nd Lieut. James Dick)
rather distinguished himself one morning by showing his
readiness for action. It happened during a wet and
stormy night that the meal mill took fire, and the
flames rapidly spreading threatened to destroy the whole
In order to alarm the inhabitants and obtain assistance,
the Volunteer drum was beaten through the streets. The
rattle of the drum and the confused noise suddenly awoke
the Lieutenant from his sleep, and, hastily getting out of
bed, he seized his sword, rushed out into the street in
his trousers and, shirt, and, flourishing his sword to the
passers-by, exclaimed, " Where are they landed, boys !
Where are they landed ? " the gallant officer being under
the delusion that the French had really crossed the
Early in the beginning of this century (18 ) the
Superior of the town, " by reason of the great increase
of the town, judged it necessary to put the police and
government thereof under proper regulations, and for
this purpose selected and made choice, from among the
most respectable inhabitants, of a Bailie and four Council-
lors, with a Treasurer, Clerk, and other officers of Court,
by way of trial, for the management of the funds and
common good of the Burgh, administration of justice, and
maintenance of peace and good order."
This system was further extended in 1809, when Colonel
MacPherson granted a charter conferring certain privileges
on the burgesses holding feus or building-stances in the
village under him as Superior, and empowering the Bailie,
who should be elected in terms of that charter, to hold
Baron Courts for the trial of offences not exceeding 2
in value, and petty criminal offences. This charter held
good until further extensions were made in 1829, and
again in 1873.
Under the Charter of 1809, James Scott was elected the
first Bailie of the town in 1810.
In 1824 the present Parish Church on the Hill of Blair
was erected on the site of the old "mercait gate," the
foundation stone being laid with great ceremony by
William MacPherson, Esq. of Blairgowrie.
52 AN INCIDENT OF THE FRENCH REVOLUTION.
For a number of years, beginning in 1831, a stage coach,
named " Baron Clerk Rattray," ran twice a- week between
Blairgowrie and Coupar Angus.
In 1833 the householders resident in the Burgh adopted
part of the Police Act III. and IV., William IV., cap. 46,
by which certain powers were vested in the Chief
Magistrate and four Commissioners for the management
and regulation of the Police Department of the town,, and
the jurisdiction of the Chief Magistrate in criminal
matters was enlarged.
The town in 1834 was first lit up with gas, when the
present gas works were erected, and 1838 marked another
epoch when the first printing press was introduced.
The temperature, in common with all districts bordering
on the Highlands, is subject to frequent and sudden
variations. On the 23rd October, 1839, a most severe
shock of earthquake was felt throughout the district
about 10 p.m., and was accompanied by a noise resembling
distant thunder, or the rapid passage of a heavily-loaded
vehicle over a newly-metalled road. The motion at the
commencement of the concussion was of a waving or
undulating nature, and, terminating in a vibration or
tremor, becoming gradually less distinct imtil it ceased
In 1842 Blairgowrie was first honoured by a visit from
royalty in the person of Her Majesty Queen Victoria on
her way to Balmoral. On her progress through the estate
of Glenericht, then possessed by General Chalmers, a
Peninsular hero, she conferred on him the honour of
Knighthood (Sir William Chalmers of Glenericht).
During the great spate of October, 1847, one of the
arches of the "Auld Brig o' Blair " gave way, but was
speedily and substantially repaired.
About the time of the outbreaking of the French
Revolution in 1848, the village of Blairgowrie, obscure and
insignificant as it then was, shared in the general excite-
ment of the nation. At the time that the Militia Act
first came into operation the class of persons Avho were
liable under its enactments, and the lower ranks in general
throughout the country, were greatly discontented with
the measure, and on the day when the Justices of the
Peace for the district met in Blairgowrie for the purpose
INTRODUCTION OF RAILWAY SERVICE. 53
of balloting for those who should serve, this discontentment
broke out into open violence. Great crowds from this and
all other parishes collected in the district, made prisoners
of Colonel MacPherson of Blairgowrie, Sir William Ramsay
of Bamff, and other gentlemen assembled, and confined
them in the Inn until they got hold of the only writer
in the village, whom they compelled to draw out a bond,
to be executed by the Justices, by which they should be
bound to abstain in future from any measures for
enforcing the obnoxious Act. This document was sub-
scribed by the captives under the threats of the mob.
Satisfied with this, in the belief that they had effectually
extinguished the Militia Act, they allowed their prisoners
to go free, and themselves dispersed peacefully to their
respective homes. But a week had not passed over their
heads when a body of the Sutherland Fencibles made
their appearance and seized on the most active rioters.
This vigorous proceeding quelled the disturbance, and the
provisions of the Act were thenceforward carried into
effect without further trouble.
On the 28th of April, 1855, the first number of a local
newspaper was issued by Messrs Ross & Son from a very
small office in the High Street. The paper bore the title :
" Ross's Compendium of the Week's News, to be issued
occasionally," and consisted of a single sheet, 12| inches
long and 8| inches wide, printed on both sides. Occasion-
ally the week's news was so scant that one side was
sufficient both for news and advertisements.
On the 28th July of the same year another epoch
in the history of the town was the opening of the
Blairgowrie branch of the Scottish Midland Junction
Railway. Up to this time all cartage of goods had to
> be done from the neighbouring town of Coupar Angus
or from Perth and Dundee. For passenger traffic the first
train started at 8 a.m., consisting of two first class, one
second class, and two third class cars. There was a rush
to secure tickets long before the hour of starting, and
[ the train was well filled.
There had been a pretty general impression that the
line would be inaugurated by several excursion trains,
gratis, but, as hope turned to disappointment, "no demon-
stration was made, no flags were waving, 110 shouts were
54 VISITS OP THE QUEEN.
heard, and no wish was expressed that the Blairgowrie
branch railway would flourish."
A good story is told regarding the railway on its first
introduction to the town. One day a party of clergy
had been in town from Dundee attending a Presbytery
meeting, dressed in black, with " white chokers." They
arrived at the Station just before the 4.30 p.m. train
should start, for the purpose of taking their places to
return to Dundee. Suddenly, one of them recollected he
had forgotten something, and the others promising to
wait for him, he started to get the forgotten article.
Train time was up, and the Station officials tried to get
those who remained into the carriages, but they would
not stir until their friend had returned. In vain they
were told the train would start without them. They knew
better; the train would not go off and leave a dozen
well-dressed individuals standing on the platform. The
guard's patience being exhausted the train did start.
Just as it was leaving the platform, the individual ap-
peared running down the bank at the foot of Rorry
(Reform) Street, and, seeing the train on its way, took a
slanting direction across the fields as if to intercept it.
On seeing this, the whole party jumped upon the line
and started in pursuit. The railway officials and the
guard had some amusement watching them, but the pur-
suit of the " iron horse " was fruitless, the whole party
losing the train.
Once again, on 29th August, 1857, did Her Majesty
Queen Victoria and suite honour Blairgowrie by passing
through it en route to Balmoral. The Royal train arrived
at Blairgowrie Station at half -past twelve. A company of
soldiers, partly of the 1st and partly of the 21st Royals,
many of them decorated with medals, were in waiting at
the terminus, and presented arms on Her Majesty':
On alighting from the carriage, Her Majesty was re
ceived by Captain Campbell and Lady of Achalader an<
a numerous party of the principal farmers. After receivin ;
a beautiful bouquet from Captain Campbell's six-year-oL
son, Her Majesty retired to the waiting-room, which was
beautifully fitted up under the direction of Mrs Campbell.
After a stay of a little over five minutes, during which
BURNS CENTENARY CELEBRATION. 55
she partook of biscuits and fruit, the Queen entered her
travelling carriage and drove off at an easy pace for her
Highland Home. The road from the Station to New
Rattray was lined with a crowd of spectators, who wel-
comed Her Majesty and Consort with enthusiastic cheers,
which were gracefully acknowledged. Along the route,
more especially at Glenericht, floral arches and banners
were very abundant. The Royal party partook of lunch
at Spittal of Glenshee, and reached Balmoral at six o'clock.
The morning of Tuesday, 25th January, 1859 " a red-
letter day " in the history of Scotland dawned bright
and beautiful in Blairgowrie. This day, long looked
forward to by Scotsmen in all parts of the world, had
come round, and Blairgowrie prepared to celebrate the
centenary of the birth of Scotland's own Poet in its own
In celebration of the centenary of the birth of Burns,
a party of 40 gentlemen, belonging to the town and
district, met in the hall of MacLaren's (Royal) Hotel,
about 4 p.m. The hall was decorated with evergreens,
arranged upon the walls in various tasteful figures. The
instrumental band, under Willie Scrimgeour, was in attend-
ance for some time, and the music added greatly to the
effect and enjoyment of the meeting. Mr Alexander
Robertson, banker, presided, and, after a sumptuous
supper, gave the toast of the evening, " The Memory of
Robert Burns, Scotland's Immortal Bard," which was
drunk to in solemn silence. A most enjoyable night was
spent, enlivened with song and sentiment.
A demonstration was also held in the Malt Barns at
"The Hill," which was perhaps the most successful
meeting ever held in Blairgowrie up to this time. Be-
tween four and five hundred persons were present, from
the youth of tender years to the sire of grey hairs, drawn
from all ranks of society. Mr Allan Macpherson occupied
the chair, and spirited addresses were given by the Chair-
man, Messrs Thomas Mitchell of Greenfield, William Davie
of Millbank, John Bridie, and Thomas Steven, while a glee
party and the Westfields Flute Band delighted the
audience with music, the whole concluding with the sing-
INAUGURATION OF VOLUNTEER MOVEMENT.
ing of "There was a Lad was born in Kyle."
The year 1859 also saw the inauguatiou of the Volunteer
movement ; and the first meeting for the formation of a
Rifle Corps in Blairgowrie Avas held 13th December, 1859.
They were embodied under duly approved officers, 16th
March, 1860. The corps was present in Edinburgh on
the 7th August, 1860, at the review of the Scottish
Volunteers by Her Majesty the Queen.
Founding of Public Hall Earl Russell at Meikleour Address from In-
habitants Public Banquet Address by Meikleour Tenantry Earl
Russell's Speech Opinions of the Press A French View Intro-
duction of Water Supply Report and Analysis of Water Drainage
of Town Erection of New Schools Opening up of Commercial
Street Planting Trees in Wellmeadow Franchise Demonstration
County Council Boundary Commission Public Park A Generous
Gift Burgh Seal Macpherson Memorial Fountain New Sewage
Works Visit of Lord Wolseley The Bailies of Blair Magistrates
SINCE the year 1824, when the foundation-stone of the
Parish Church was laid, no event excited so much
general interest in the town and neighbourhood as the
laying of the foundation-stone of the Public Hall, on the
20th October, 1860, by His Grace the Duke of Athole,
Most Worshipful Grand Master Mason of Scotland. A
grand banquet afterwards took place in the Queen's
(Macdonald's) Hotel, upwards of 100 gentlemen being
present. Alternately, during dinner, selections of music
were given by the Duke of Athole's Flute Band and the
Blairgowrie Brass Band.
The year 1863 was a memorable one for Blairgowrie.
On the 10th of March it was en fete, the occasion being
the marriage day of the Heir-Apparent to the Throne.
Flags waved from the housetops ; bells pealed forth
merrily ; processions were the order of the day, and illu-
minations of the night.
A banquet, attended by 80 gentlemen, was held in the
Queen's Hotel, when Bailie Thomas Steven occupied the
chair; another banquet, attended by 50 Volunteers, under
Sergeant William Crockart as chairman, was also held in
the Queen's ; the shoemakers, to the number of 40, sat
down to dinner in MacGregor's Temperance Hotel, Mr
William Lauder in the chair ; a public festival took place
in the Free Church School, James Street ; and the re-
joicings were concluded by a grand ball in the Public
EARL RUSSELL AT MEIKLEOUR.
Hall iu the evening. Everything passed off with great
eclat, and a wish was expressed that such another pleasant
reunion would be arranged ere many years would pass.
This wished-for occasion came round very soon, and
Blairgowrie once more assumed holiday appearance. On
the 26th September, 1863, it did honour to itself by
honouring one of Britain's noble men. Earl Russell, having
chosen Meikleour House as a quiet retreat to enjoy a
brief repose from his arduous Parliamentary duties and
recruit his strength, a number of the Meikleour tenantry
proposed to show their respect to his lordship by inviting
him to a banquet, in the Public Hall, Blairgowrie, on the
26th September, 1863.
The authorities of the town entered heartily into the
movement, and fraternised with the originators in order
to make the demonstration worthy of the noble guest.
At a meeting of the inhabitants of Blairgowrie, on the
Tuesday evening previous, it was arranged that a public
demonstration should be made, and that an address should
be presented to the Earl.
At half -past one o'clock a procession started from the
Wellmeadow, under the leadership of Capt. George B.
ADDRESS FROM INHABITANTS. 59
Anderson, of the Blairgowrie Rifles, to meet the Earl and
bring him in honour to the town. The procession was
led by the Volunteers and Brass Band, followed by the
Masonic and Operative Bodies of the place, and a coach
containing Bailie, Steven and the Town Council. On
arriving at the " Dark Falls " the procession stopped, and
the Volunteers presented arms, the band playing, "Saw
ye Johnnie coming ? "
Earl Russell's carriage, which also contained Lady
Russell and daughter, then took up position, and the
procession returned to the Cross. On arriving in front
of the Royal Hotel the Volunteers formed three sides of
a square, and the carriages of Earl Russell and the
Council drove into the open space, after which Bailie
Steven presented the following address from the inhabi-
tants of Blairgowrie :
" Unto the Right Honourable John, Earl Russell, one of
Her Majesty's principal Secretaries of State.
"May it please your Lordship I have the honour, as
representing the inhabitants of this burgh, to convey to
your Lordship their sincere respect for your character,
and their high appreciation of your long and distinguished
"We are grateful for this opportunity so courteously
afforded us, of publicly acknowledging our high sense of
your Lordship's character and ability as a statesman, and
of your consistent unremitting efforts throughout all your
public life in the cause of popular rights and privileges.
"It would ill become us, who enjoy the substantial
fruits of your Lordship's labours, to refrain, at a time
like this, from a hearty acknowledgment of the noble
service it has been your fortune to render to your
Sovereign and your country; for we feel assured that on
the broad foundation of those Liberal principles so con-
sistently advocated by your Lordship, the truest patriotism
and the most intelligent loyalty are based. And, while it
cannot but be gratifying to see that your labour has not
been in vain, we trust it will be no less gratifying for
you to know that it has not been forgotten or unappreci-
ated by a grateful and intelligent people.
"We recognise the growing intelligence of the people,
60 PUBLIC BANQUET. ,
their increasing interest in public questions, and their
loyal attachment to the Constitution of their country, as
the genuine fruits of that liberal and enlightened policy
to which your Lordship, throughout your whole Parlia-
mentary career, has so consistently adhered.
" While we are fully alive to the momentous interests
involved in the right and able discharge of the duties of
your high and responsible position, we feel assured that
your Lordship's firm and consistent foreign policy will
uphold the dignity of this great country throughout the
world, and preserve the nation in peace and prosperity,
whatever contingencies may arise.
" As a public servant, long tried and ever faithful to
the great interests of civil and religious liberty, we desire
to convey to your Lordship our high and grateful
acknowledgment of the honourable and distinguished part
you have acted throughout, and to express our utmost
confidence that your Lordship, actuated by lofty princi-
ples and guided by the light of a long experience, will be
found equal to any emergency, and will be enabled by
your wise and judicious counsels to guide the country
safely through every possible peril.
(Signed) "THOMAS STEVEN, Chief Magistrate."
Earl Russell, in replying to the address, said :
"Gentlemen, I beg to thank you for the very gratifying
address which you have presented to me. It has been
my good forture, in co-operation with many others, to
promote the civil and religious liberties of my countrymen.
The enlightened state of public opinion and the progress
of political knowledge have caused the success of measures
which in former years had been obstructed by selfish
interests or defeated by ignorance and apathy. Let us
hope that, with the increased interest which is felt in
public questions, loyalty to the Throne, attachment to the
Constitution, and zeal for all useful reforms will pervade
every class of the community."
In the evening a banquet was held in the Public Hall,
attended by upwards of 160 gentlemen. The hall was
beautifully decorated for the occasion by Mr John Bridie,
painter. On the wall above the platform were displayed
three heraldic coats of arms. In the niche in the centre
OPINIONS OP THE PRESS. 61
was placed the arms of the County of Perth, and on each
side the arms of Meikleour and Ramsay of Bamff. The
Meikleour arms displayed two naked figures as supporters,
and four stars on centre of shield " The Grit Pool " and
" Crux Christi Nostra Corona." The Ramsay arms had two
griffins rampant as supporters, and spread eagle in centre
of shield " Spernit Pericula Virtus."
At the bottom of the hall, facing the Chairman, was
an enormous " R," beautifully painted and having in
several parts of it spaces in which the words " Reform,"
" Emancipation," " Free Trade," and " Neutrality " ap-
peared. Slightly above and on the right and left of the
letter were the arms of Earl Russell and the Earl of
Airlie, with the Blairgowrie arms in the niche above.
The Russell arms had a lion and an elk rampant as
.supporters, and a red lion rampant in centre of shield,
three oyster shells, and Earl's crown above " Che sara
sara." The Ogilvy arms displayed two bulls rampant as
supporters, and red lion passant quadrant in centre of
shield, a figure of Lady Ogilvy on top throwing down the
Harrow ".4 Fin." The Right Hon. the Earl of Airlie
took the chair, with Earl Russell, Lord Amberley, Provost
Parker, Dundee, and Rev. Mr Marshall, Coupar Angus, on
his right ; on his left sat the Lord Provost of Perth, Dean
of Guild Dewar, Perth, the Hon. Mr Elliot, &c.
At this banquet an address was presented by the Rev.
Mr Marshall to Earl Russell from the tenantry on the
Meikleour estate. Thereafter Earl Russell delivered a
speech which echoed throughout the world, and Blair-
gowrie found itself to be famous above all places of the
earth, and, what was thought of the banquet by the out-
side world, a few extracts from judicially competent
authorities will show.
From The Globe. "Earl Russell's speech at Blairgowrie
will be read with deep interest in other lands besides
our own. The organ of a powerful Government in all
that relates to foreign affairs cannot well speak at length
on great 'topics which move the passions and affect the
interest . of the nation, and demand the full judgment,
without having a large circle of readers ; still less one,
; who, for many years in the van of political life, has his
name blended with the history of all great modern
62 OPINIONS OF THE PRESS.
From The Scotsman. "Blairgowrie has this year been
blessed above all places in the three kingdoms with what
is beyond doubt the speech of the recess. The addresses,
indeed, in which his hosts complimented and congratulated
him, were remarkably good, both in substance and
expression, and supply several texts on which he might
or might not have preached as he felt inclined. Waiving
the past he entered quickly into the present, and spoke
to his Blairgowrie audience words whose scope and might
will be estimated with eager interest over all Europe
From The Witness," The speech of Earl Russell at
Blairgowrie is one worthy of a statesman, spoken as it
is at an hour of more than ordinary interest in the history
of the world. The topics of his speech are far from
being commonplace ; they have a wider range than even
an Imperial speech ; they belong to the world, and are
such as fix at this moment the attention, and involve the
interests of the leading nations of the earth. It is full
of noble, generous, and just sentiment ; its tone is manly
and dignified ; it is redolent of liberty, and there is about
it a calm consciousness of strength, such as becomes the
Minister of a great nation, which feels that it is strong
and is determined not to abuse its strength by the per-
petration of a wrong."
From the Manchester Guardian. " Blairgowrie is not a
place towards which the attention of mankind was strained
in pursuit of political enlightenment, but that was because
the honour designed for it was not generally known. This
accidental circumstance is sufficient to elevate it from
its natural condition to a centre of attraction for English-
men and Frenchmen, Russians and Germans, Americans
and Poles. It is evident that Earl Russell was not in a
reticent mood ; he was willing to regard the Meikleour
tenantry as the representatives of a far wider circle of
auditors, and came prepared to speak with authority of
the affairs of state under his control."
" This morning " (says the Dundee Advertiser) " the spruce
little village on the rocky banks of its romantic Ericht
wakes up and finds itself famous, and feels that its name
is to be carried to all ends of the earth. Such is faixu
INTRODUCTION OF WATER SUPPLY. 63
Never before did this little manufacturing town do so
ambitious a piece of business in the finer qualities of
The following is a French view of the banquet, from
the Revue des Deux Mondes, by M. Eugene Fercade : " Is
it not a lucky occurrence for us that the farmers of
Meikleour had the idea of entertaining Lord Russell in
Blairgowrie? To the convivial humour of these honest
men we are indebted for the first official disclosure of
the impression produced on English policy by the last
despatch of Prince Gortschakoff. Let us picture to our-
selves these honest inhabitants of Blairgowrie, this pretty
little town in Scotland, hastening to do honour to the
illustrious veteran of British liberty. They walk forth
in procession to meet the noble Lord, his Countess, and
the family, a league from the town: a detachment of
Volunteers serves as an escort, and gives to this half
rustic fete a sort of military air, which is the fashion in
our day. The Bailie presents an address to Lord Russell.
At the dinner hour they enter the hall of the Town House,
which is gaily decorated, where a table for a hundred-
and-fifty guests is laid. The farmers of Meikleour entrust
to their minister the reading of their address, and this
composition gives a fair notion of the literature of the
Scottish farmer. The classical allusion to the House of
Russell is most happy the blood of Russell moistened
the plant of British liberty while it was yet young and
weak : and the noble career of Lord Russell is traced
in appropriate language. They sit down to dinner, and
in that stands out the speech of the principal Secretary
of State for Her Britannic Majesty a speech simple,
honest, spoken within the walls of a Scottish village,
but is to England, Europe, and America."
For a long number of years the town was supplied with
water from force pumps, erected in different parts of the
district over sunk wells.
The water supply being generally of a bad quality
and insufficient for the increasing population, the wells
were gradually filled up on the introduction of a water
system direct from Loch Ben-a-chally, about eight miles
north-west from the town.
The plans in connection with this work were prepared
64 INTRODUCTION OP WATER SUPPLY.
by Mr Leslie, C.E., Edinburgh, and a regular and complete
inspection of the Lornty was made, the water from the
burn being analysed by Professor Macadam, who pro-
nounced it to be very pure, and above the average quality
for domestic or other uses.
Several schemes were . suggested as to the supply. At
first the Lornty Burn was looked to as the probable source,
and various small streams and tributaries of the Lornty
were also believed to be sufficient, and the situation of
the ground at Nether-Aird was considered likely to be
turned into a natural basin or reservoir for the reception
and distribution of the springs so to be collected.
The Glasclune burn was also speculated upon, but all
these schemes were, after due consideration, set aside,
and it was resolved to take the water supply direct from
Loch Ben-a-chally, thereby getting rid of all vegetable
and other impurities, and securing a permanent and
thoroughly sufficient supply direct from the fountain
Loch Ben-a-chally lies a little over seven miles to the
north-west of the town in a cavity at the eastern base
of the hill Ben-a-chally, from which it takes its name.
It lies 760 feet above the lower part of Blairgowrie ; the
reservoir at Burnhead, about half-a-mile north of the
town, being 500 feet lower than the loch, and 260 feet
higher than the lowest part of the town.
The gradient of the fire-clay in all the seven miles is
not less than 1 in 200. In some parts it is as much as
1 in 35.
The extent of the loch, according to the Ordnance
Survey, gives 131 acres of average area. In some parts it
is over 30 feet in depth. By arrangement with the Duke
.of Athole, or his representatives, liberty was obtained
to raise the loch five feet and lower it other five, thus
giving ten feet additional storage. Prom the loch to
the reservoir at Burnhead there are upwards of seve
miles of fire-clay piping, and through the town and neigh
bourhood are over ten miles of cast-iron pipes as wate
mains for domestic and other supply.
The whole of the work, except furnishing of material
was performed in a substantial manner by local contractors
at a cost of nearly 6,000, under the superintendence o
REPORT AND ANALYSIS OP WATER. 65
Mr Fenwick, a gentleman of skill and experience, acting
as Inspector on behalf of Mr Leslie, C.E. ; Mr David Tod
acting as Engineer for the contractors.
The work was begun on the 14th March, and finished,
after considerable delay in procuring iron pipes, on the
27th October ; and the water was turned on with much
ceremony on the 5th November, 1870.
Since 1870, the requirements of the district which now
includes a large portion of Rattray, &c. have increased
so rapidly, that a new reservoir, of four times the
capacity of the old one, was built in 1893. In 1890 it
was thought advisable to have a full report on the entire
water system by an expert, and Mr George Baxter, C.E.,
Dundee, was engaged. After a most thorough survey
from the reservoirs to Loch Ben-a-chally, Mr Baxter drew
up and submitted a very elaborate report. On his recoin--
niendation new filter-beds and measuring boxes were laid
down, with new screens at the loch. The whole system is
now in first-class order, under the personal superintend-
ence of a practical man.
The following is a copy of Professor Mac Adam's report
and analysis of the water :
" ANALYTICAL LABORATORY, SURGEONS' HALL,
"EDINBURGH, 26th May, 1869.
" I have made a careful chemical analysis of a sample
of water forwarded to me by the Local Board of Blair-
gowrie through James Leslie, C.E.
" The general characteristics of the water were excel-
lent ; as received for analysis, the water was clear and
transparent, free from visible contamination, evolved no
odour, and possessed an agreeable taste. On evaporation
the water yielded the following results, calculated to one
imperial gallon :
Chloride of Sodium (common salt), ... 1'36 grains.
Sulphate of Lime (stucco), ... ... 0'83
Chloride of Magnesium, ... ... ... 0'21
Chloride of Potassium, ... ... trace
Carbonate of Lime (chalk), ... ... 0'87
Carbonate of Magnesia, ... ... ... 0'43
Carbonate of Iron and Phosphates, traces
Soluble Silica, 0'19
Organic matter of vegetable origin, ... 0'53
Total matter dissolved in one imperial
gallon, 4'42 grains.
Hardness, 2 degrees.
66 ERECTION OF NEW SCHOOLS.
" The foregoing results demonstrate that the water from
Blairgowrie is of first-rate quality for domestic use. It
is free from the presence of any impurity, and the saline
and organic constituents dissolved therein are character-
istic of all wholesome waters. The quality of the
ingredients in solution is comparatively small, being
decidedly below the amount found in domestic waters
generally, and in this respect the water under examina-
tion ranks in the very highest scale. The degree of
hardness is very small, and, indeed, the water is practically
" I consider that the inhabitants of Blairgowrie would
be extremely fortunate in securing a water for domestic
supply, which, alike as a beverage, for culinary purposes,
and in washing operations, is eminently suitable, and
ranks in the highest class.
(Signed) " S. THOMSON MACADAM, M.D."
Under a Charter granted by the Superior of the Burgh,
dated 10th September, 1873, the burgesses' privileges were
extended, and they were empowered to elect twelve,
instead of five, Councillors, with three Bailies instead of
one ; but the powers of local government possessed by
the towns-people were still found to be unsatisfactory,
and the General Police and Improvement (Scotland) Act,
1862, was adopted. The Burgh then had a Police Com-
mission of twelve, including a Senior and two Junior
Magistrates. Under this Act, Dr James Neilson was
elected the first Chief Magistrate, and, during his term of
office, a sewerage system was laid throughout the town,
at a cost of 3000.
Some time after the introduction of School Boards for
the management of school affairs and superintendence of
education, the old denominational Church schools were
closed, and new Public Schools were opened on the 19th
of August, 1879, by Mr Allan Macpherson, Chairman of
the School Board.
The Schools were built on the field immediately to the
north of the parish manse garden, being part of the
glebe belonging to the Established Church. The Schools,
COUNTY COUNCIL. 67
as originally built, cost <6000, but considerable alterations
and additions have since then been made.
In 1882 a great improvement was made on the lower
part of the town by the formation of Commercial Street.
Prior to this, all foot and vehicular traffic to the Railway
Station had to be done by Tannage Street. . The new
street was formed by subscription, and runs almost in
line with Allan Street at north end of Wellmeadow, and
down by the west side of Station Hotel, through what
was formerly the hotel garden.
The square, still known by the old name of Well-
meadow, was also adorned with trees, after the fashion of
the squares in our large towns.
During the autumn of the year 1884 the whole country
was astir with demonstrations in protest against the
Government urging that the franchise should be extended.
Blairgowrie, like its neighbours, contributed to the
excitement. A processional demonstration, made up of
over 1000 persons and 50 horses, was marshalled by Major
D. Chalmers in a field at the east end of Old Rattray,
and paraded through Old and New Rattray and Blair-
Towards the end of 1889 an Act was passed the Local
Government (Scotland) Act, 1889 which provides for the
establishment of a County Council, to be entrusted with
the management of the financial and administrative
business of the county. Blairgowrie, by reason of popu-
lation, was entitled to elect two representatives to this
Council, wherefore the Burgh was divided into two wards
The first ward includes all that is contained to the east
of the boundaries, as follows : " Up the east side of Well-
meadow crossing to Leslie Street, west north side of same
to Croft Lane, up east side of same to High Street, along
north side of same to John Street, and up east side of
same to old Parochial School. The second ward embraces
all contained to the west of said boundaries."
In January, 1890, Chief Magistrate Bridie and Mr James
Ogilvy were nominated to contest the first ward ; Mr
James Stewart being nominated for the second ward ;
and for the landward part of the parish of Blairgowrie,
Mr Allan Macpherson and Mr James Scott were nominated.
68 PUBLIC PARK.
The election of the various representatives took place
within the Public Schools, 4th February, 1890, when Mr
James Ogilvy was elected representative of 1st ward by a
majority of 6. Mr James Stewart was elected, unopposed,
as representative of the 2nd ward ; and Mr A. Macphersou
was elected to represent the landward division by a
majority of 36.
About the 25th of June, 1890, the Boundary Commis-
sioners under the Local Government Act issued their
proposals for the consolidation of parishes. The following
were their proposals regarding the parish of Blairgowrie:
" Annex to this parish the detached part of Bendochy
at Drimmie and the part of the parish of Kinloch known
as Cochrage Farm, thus uniting the detached part of
Blairgowrie, at Cochrage and Blackcraig, with the main
part of the parish ; detach from Blairgowrie and annex
to Bendochy the detached part of Blairgowrie at the
Welltown of Bamff and the part of the main parish of
Blairgowrie lying to the east of Rosemouiit (Parkhead
In the beginning of August, 1890, the Boundary Com-
missioners issued orders relating to Blairgowrie : " That
a detached part of the parish of Bendochy, containing
904 acres, situated at Drimmie and adjoining the parishes
of Rattray, Blairgowrie, and Alyth, shall form part of
the parish of Blairgowrie ; and that a detached part of
the parish of Blairgowrie, containing 1742 acres, situated
at Creuchies and adjoining the parishes of Rattray. Ben-
dochy, and Alyth, shall form part of the parish of
Bendochy. That so much of the parish of Kiiiloch as lies
to the north of the march between the lands of Cochrage
and Blackcraig on the north, and Millhole Farm, Middleton
Farm and Muir, and Glascluiie Farm on the south, shall
form part of the parish of Blairgowrie."
Blairgowrie gave away, as foresaid, a detached part and
a part of the main parish valued at 602 and 200
respectively, while it received a detached part of Bendochy
renting at 656, and the farm of Cochrage from Kinloch.
The total rental of the parish was therefore reduced from
28,009 to 27,888. (1890.)
On the 26th of March, 1892, a special meeting of a
Committee elected in 1887 in connection with the proposal
A GENEROUS GIFT. 69
to have a Public Park for Blairgowrie, as a memento of
the Queen Victoria Jubilee, was held in the office of the
Secretary (Mr J. B. Miller). Mr Thomas Steven presided,
and the following letter was read :
"BLAIRGOWRIE, 10th March, 1892.
"DEAR SIR, At the first meeting of the Public Park
Committee kindly intimate that, conjointly with my sister,
Mrs Nicoll, we will have much pleasure in conveying by
a deed of gift, in favour of the public body they may
appoint, that field belonging to me at the Loonbrae as a
public park for the inhabitants of Blairgowrie and Rattray,
and hope that the Committee may now see their way to
carry out successfully the very desirable object which
they have been endeavouring to promote. I am, yours
faithfully, " WILLIAM DAVIE."
It was stated that it was Mr Davie's wish that the
field should be conveyed to the Police Commissioners of
Blairgowrie and Rattray, and be administered by a Com-
mittee consisting of three from each, with six elected by
these bodies from the general public, preferably, in the
first instance, from the Public Park Committee, the Chair-
men to be alternately the Chief Magistrates of Blairgowrie
and Rattray ; and that part of the field be so utilised
that the upkeep of the whole should necessitate no tax
upon either of the two parishes.
The Chairman submitted the following resolution :
" That this Committee accept, on behalf of the communities
of Blairgowrie and Rattray, of the offer of Mr William
Davie and his sister, Mrs Nicoll, of a field for a public
park ; and tender them their united and cordial thanks
for their most liberal gift, so freely and ungrudgingly
given ; and that a Committee be appointed to meet Mr
Davie and his sister, and arrange the necessary pre-
liminaries so that their intention may be carried into
effect with as little delay as possible."
This was seconded by Mr James Isles, and a Committee,
consisting of Messrs Thomas Steven, John Bridie, Thomas
Doig, and the Secretary, was appointed.
In a second letter Mr Davie suggested the purchase of
a field adjoining his, belonging to Mr James Thorn, a
letter from whom was read offering the same at 650.
This field comprises about nine acres, Mr Davie's being
eleven acres and costing 700.
A public meeting of the ratepayers of both burghs was
held in Public Hall, Blairgowrie, on the 29th April, 1892,
for the purpose of considering Mr Davie's generous gift.
The chair was taken by Chief Magistrate Bridie, who,
along with Mr James Isles, ex-Chief Magistrate Steven,
Chief Magistrate Doig, and Junior Magistrate Stewart,
spoke in the highest terms of the offer of Mr Davie in
giving of his means to help the public of Blairgowrie and
Rattray in their recreation and amusement. Upwards of
thirty gentlemen were thereupon appointed a Provisional
Committee to carry out the scheme and endeavour to
raise funds to purchase the adjoining field.
The park was afterwards handed over by Mr Davie to
Trustees who are empowered to let it until they accumu-
late funds sufficient to warrant them in opening it to the
On the loth of May,
1893, the Burgh Police
(Scotland) Act, 1892,
came into operation,
under which our
was honoured with
the title of " Pro-
vost " (John Bridie
being the first to have
the honour). Om
section of this Act
declares " that the
Burgh shall have
Common Seal bear-
ing a device to
fixed on by the Com-
design by Mr John A. R. Macdonald was approved of, tl
component parts being : " A very ornate escutcheoi
entwined with the leaves of the strawberry (that luscioi
fruit so abundant in the district). The escutcheon
MACPHERSON MEMORIAL FOUNTAIN. 71
divided into three divisions, each having a crest emblem-
atic of different periods in the history of the town. The
one on the left is a sheaf, the crest of the old family of
Blair of Blair, now extinct ; on the right a nest of young
ravens, the crest of the Drummonds of Blair, one of whom,
while proprietor of the estate and resident in Newton
Castle, obtained a Charter, 9th July, 1634, from King
Charles I., whereby the town was erected into a Burgh of
Barony. The lower part has that well-known object of
interest portrayed, the Brig o' Blair, with the motto
underneath, ' Bhlair-gobhainn-righ,' the whole circum-
scribed with a buckled band bearing the inscription
' The Commissioners of the Burgh of Blairgowrie.' "
An artistic fountain, erected by Mrs Macpherson and
family in memory of the late Mr Allan Macpherson, was
gifted to the town on the 8th of May, 1893. The
structure has been set up in a prominent position at the
south-east corner of the Wellmeadow, opposite the Bridge,
is of elegant design, and forms a pretty enhancement to
the locality. The base and basin are of red Aberdeen-
shire granite, while the superstructure is of fine red
freestone from Dumfries, the whole rising to a height of
nearly 18 feet, richly ornamented with gablets, crockets,
gargoyles, and other architectural devices with harmonious
effect. The upper part, in the form of a spire, is sur-
mounted by a cross, with lightning conductor attached.
The whole work was designed and carried out by Messrs
Hicks & Charlewood, Newcastle-on/Tyiie. All the different
parts were fully prepared before being forwarded, all
that was required where it was to be put up being pre-
paration of the site, piecing the sections together, and
fixing up the water arrangements.
On the east side of the fountain, from which the water
flows over a shell design into the basin, the pedestal
bears the following inscription :
[ " In memory of Allan Macpherson of Blairgowrie, who
entered into rest 6th November, 1891, aged 73."
[ On the three other sides are: "Whatsoever thy hand
findeth to do, do it with thy might." "Not with eye
j service as men pleasers, but in singleness of heart, fearing
God." " For the righteous Lord loveth righteousness, His
I countenance doth behold the upright."
MACPHERSON MEMORIAL FOUNTAIN.
the fountain to
the town was of
a simple nature.
and others con-
nected with the
public bodies as-
Mr Alan Mac-
phersoii said :
"Mr Chief Magis-
trate and gen-
tlemen, as some
of you know,
my eldest bro-
ther being in
India, Mrs Mac-
pherson has asked me to read to you a letter expressing
her views and wishes as to this fountain."
" To the Police Commissioners of Blairgowrie, the
Bailies and Town Council, and the Water Commissioners
for the town and district of Blairgowrie.
" GENTLEMEN, I have much pleasure in handing over to
you, for the use of the people of Blairgowrie, the fountain
just put up by me in Wellmeadow, in memory of my
husband, the late Mr Macpherson of Blairgowrie. I may
mention that I am anxious to be permitted to retain
during my lifetime the privilege of doing anything that
may be deemed necessary for the due preservation of the
memorial, and I trust you will kindly accede to this
request. I take this opportunity of thanking you for the
site you have given for the fountain, and for the interes
MACPHERSOX MEMORIAL FOUNTAIN.
NEW SEWAGE WORKS. 73
you have taken in its erection. I am, gentlemen, yours
faithfully, " E. MACPHERSON.
" BLAIRGOWRIE HOUSE, May 8th, 1893."
Chief Magistrate Bridie, on behalf of the Police Com-
mission, the Town Council, and the Water Commission,
and other bodies in the public service, accepted of the
gift, and expressed the hope that nothing would be done
to mar the memorial in the least degree, and assured
the family (Macphersoii) that the town would take the
greatest care of it, as it deserved.
Master Alan D. Macphersoii, son of the Laird of Blair-
gowrie, then turned on the water, and the proceedings
When the burgh was thoroughly drained in 1876-77,
up till 1893 the whole of the sewage had been allowed
to flow into the Ericht, unfiltered, at two outlets one
near the Bridge, the other opposite the Railway Station.
Various complaints had been made against this treat-
ment, and the Board of Supervision more than once
pressed upon the Commissioners the advisability of
remedying the state of affairs. In 1891 a crisis was
reached, negotiations were entered into with Mr Mac-
phersoii of Blairgowrie, and plans were prepared for
carrying the whole sewage down the river a distance of
1600 yards beyond the Railway Station. The sewage was
to be filtered there, and the effluent allowed to flow into
the river; but objections were raised, and various actions
by different proprietors, who held that it would destroy
the amenity of their land, &c., obliged the Commissioners
to carry the sewage works further down the river. Ground
to the extent of 1| acres having been acquired from Dr
Rattray's Welltown estate, the filter-house was erected
at the lower end of the ground. Constructed (after a
model supplied by Mr Mackay, County Sanitary Inspector),
of brick, it measures 40 feet long by 21 feet broad.
The sewage enters at one end of the building, is carried
| along one side in a channel, returns back again nearly
I to where it entered, and is again finally carried to the
I opposite end. In the channel a number of " interceptors,"
formed of whin pavement stones, are placed with angle
deflected stones, the bed of the channel having a slight
74 THE BAILIES OF BLAIR.
rise towards the point of exit, so as to cause the sediment
to settle within the channel as much as possible.
At the extremity of the channel a filtering well is
formed about four feet deep, the cover of which lies at
an angle of about 45 degrees, and is formed by a hinged
frame, about seven inches deep, covered on both sides
with galvanised steel wire-cloth, the space between the
two sheets of wire-cloth being filled in with fine gravel,
the seAvage having to force its way through this filtering
medium. The whole apparatus is fitted up in duplicate,
so that while one set is in operation the other is being
allowed to settle for a few days, and the sediment is
then cleaned out. Adjoining the filtering screens are two
sludge wells, about nine feet deep, into which the sludge
is allowed to pass by means of valves ; this can then be
lifted out by means of pumps fitted up for that purpose.
The filtered effluent goes into a channel beyond the
filters, carried to the outside of the house, passes through
pipes for about 30 yards, and for a further 450 yards,
through rough pasture and uncultivated ground, in a
channel formed through a bed of sand and .fine gravel,
to the river.
All the works were carried out at an estimated cost of
1500, including 200 to proprietors for compensation.
The works were first put into operation under the direc-
tion of the " City Fathers "Provost Stewart, Bailies
Clark and Lamb, and other members of Commission, 16th
During the night of the 17th and morning of the 18th
November of that year, a fearful hurricane of wind swept
over the district, devastating whole forests, and changing
the general aspect of the country entirely.
On the 7th and 8th December. 1896, Lord Wolseley,
the Commander-in-Chief of the British Army, honoured
the town by a visit (staying over night at Craighall, the
seat of Lieut. -Gen. (now Sir) James Clerk Rattray), and, on
the 8th December, unveiled a monument on the North
Inch at Perth to commemorate the deeds of the gallant
90th (Perthshire) regiment, which was raised in 1796 by
Thomas Graham of Newton, afterwards Lord Lynedoch.
Under the Charters of 1809, 1829, 1873, &c., the follow-
ing gentlemen have been elected Bailies of Blairgowrie :
WILLIAM J. AYSON,
JOHN BRIDIE, 1873.
JAMES CHALMERS, 1874.
DAVID CHALMERS, 1879.
JOHN BRIDIE, 1884.
JAMES STEWART, 1887.
JOHN BRIDIE, 1893.
GEORGE BROWN, 1894.
1811 and 1823.
1825 and 1829.
1831 and 1835.
1839 and 1843 and 1847
1849 and 1853.
1851 and 1857.
1859 and 1863.
1861 and 1865.
1869 and 1873.
1st Dr JAMES NEILSON, 1873.
2nd THOMAS STEVEN, 1873.
WILLIAM CRAIGIE, 1879.
JAMES CHALMERS, 1879.
WILLIAM CRAIGIE, 1884.
JAMES CHALMERS, 1884.
GEORGE BROWN, 1890.
DAVID CHALMERS, 1890.
GEORGE BROWN, 1893.
THOMAS Low, 1893.
THOMAS Low, 1894.
JOHN D. FELL, 1894.
Dr JAMES NEILSON, 1873-75 and 1876-78.
THOMAS STEVEN, 1878-1887.
JOHN BRIDIE, 1887-1893.
JOHN BRIDIE, 1893.
JAMES STEWART, 1893-1896.
JAMES CHALMERS, 1896-1897.
DAVID TEMPLEMAN, 1897.
Original Inhabitants of Scotland Druids and Druidical Remains
Standing Stones Haer Cairns Tumuli Store Mount Blairs Buzzard
Dykes Bloody Inches Steed Stalls Roman Relics Local Anti-
quarian Collections Relics in Scottish Antiquarian Museum French
Bell Hirchen Hill Agreements and Charters Interesting Map-
Seals of Families Pedigree of Drummonds of Blair Copy of Two
Letters by King James the Seventh Notes from Rental Book of
Coupar Abbey Cally Murtoun Blair Old Parish Tokens.
IT has since the beginning of this century up to the
present time been a vexed question among archaeo-
logists who were the first discoverers and occupiers of
the kingdom ? Evidences have been found from time to
time which antiquarians believe to be the remains of
several distinct races who inhabited those regions many
thousand years ago. According to some, the Druids, a
very learned and enlightened people from the borders of
the Caspian Sea, traversed Europe nearly along the 45th
parallel of north latitude, crossed the Channel, and were
the first discoverers and occupiers of the country.
How long that nation peopled the land, or where their
descendants migrated to, is mystery alike, but the monu-
ments they have left behind attest their genius and
The unhewn stones found in Hindostan and the East
are attributed by the natives there to a fabulous being
named Pandoo and his sons ; and, with a similarity of
character attesting their common origin, they are also to
be found in many parts of Europe, on the shores of, and
in the interior of, Britain. About a mile south-west of
the town, near the Darrach Wood, on the Essendy Road,
are the remains of one of these Druidical monuments.
It is in the form of a hexagon, and is supposed to be
one of the earliest erected in this part of the country.
Further examples are to be found at Glenballoch and
STORE MOUNT. 77
Many of these monoliths, as at Glenballoch, show cup
markings and grooves, which, according to the traditions
of the Celts, are in honour of departed heroes. When in
stones singly they represent only one distinguished hero,
but when in great numbers, many heroes fallen in battle.
The stone at Glenballoch shows thirteen of these cups,
while one unearthed in 1897 at Aikenhead shows a large
number of various sizes. The last has, unfortunately, been
The parish contains few remains of antiquity possessing
much interest. Among those deserving of notice are the
" Haer Cairns," marking the scene of mortal conflict and
last resting-place of the slain.
Most of these cairns have now been wholly removed to
allow of agricultural improvements, and in process of ex-
cavation, stone coffins, formed of four flat slabs, have been
discovered, containing, in many instances, human bones,
urns, &c. Two Roman cinerary urns, containing burnt
bones, were found in a field at Cottershade, but they were,
unfortunately, broken and thrown away as being of 110
value. At the same place a stone cist containing human
bones was uncovered, but the bones crumbled to dust on
exposure to the air.
In a moor a few miles west are 8 tumuli or cairns,
termed the Westerly Cairns. There are also in the neigh-
bourhood Kincairney, the head of the Cairns ; Balcairn, the
town of Cairns (that is, the resting-place of the dead) ;
Cairnmoor, the moor with the cairns ; Pitcairn, the cairn
of graves ; and Cairnbutts, the ridge of cairns. There is a
cairn at Morgan stone in which stone cists were found, and
a cairn to the north of Netheraird, where a bronze celt
was found ; there are also numerous cairns west of Middle
Mause and on the Muir of Gorniok. Urns have been found
in tumulus near Milton of Drumlochy ; two bronze swords
, were found near the Teuchat Knowe, west of Nether
I Aird, and urns were found at Meethillock, Gowanbrae,
Blairgowrie. A Roman spear was found in the Moss of
Cochrage, and another near the bed of the river. Coins
of the Emperor Hadrian were found in a cairn near Green-
bank, and also in a cairn near Dark Falls.
On an island in Stormont Loch (Loch Bog), there are
traces of a building, to which, tradition states, the in-
78 RELICS IN SCOTTISH ANTIQUARIAN MUSEUM.
habitants of the surrounding district removed their effects
for safety in times of dispeace hence its name, Store
There are also the " blairs " Blairgowrie, Ardblair,
Blairhill, Blairloch, Gormack (Gorblair) ; the " Buzzard
Dykes " near Lornty Burn, and the " Cleaven Dykes " at
Meikleour ; the Roman camps at Meikleour and Delvine,
and the Caledonian camp at Knockrnahar ; the " Bloody
Inches " on the Tay, and the " Steed Stalls " at Gourdie
the tombs of the Roman cavalry; Craig Roman, a mile
north-west of the town, where the Romans left off pur-
suing the Caledonian army.
In the moss of Cochrage the body of a Roman soldier,
in full armour and in an upright position, was found,
besides other Roman relics, human teeth and bones mixed
with charcoal, doubtless the remains of Caledonians or
Romans who were slain there.
From a mound near Greenbank, several years ago, a
large quantity of human bones were found, together with
several flint arrow heads and flint knives.
An old Roman pot was found about six feet below the
surface in the peat moss at Blackioch, near Clunie. It is
supposed to have been one of the camp pots of the
Roman army, and is made of a compound metal some-
thing like our brass or bell-metal. It stands upon three
feet, is about 17 inches high, 40 inches in circumference,
and is capable of holding about six Scotch pints. It
in the possession of Mr James Isles, St Niniaus, whc
has numerous antiques from this and other districts.
Mr G. S. Duncan, Dunmore Villa, has also an interesting
The Antiquarian Museum in Edinburgh contains rnarn
relics from this neighbourhood, including " Flint Knife,'
3 inches in length, presented 10th March, 1890 ; " Don*
tion of a Medal of George Drummond of Blair, Loi
Provost of Edinburgh, with bust," 8th May, 1882; "Ok
Brick from Clunie Castle," 14th April, 1884.
The proceedings of the Scottish Antiquarian Society,
13th May, 1878, page 624, vol. XII., contains tl
" Notice of a small urn of the so-called ' Incense Cup
type, found within a large urn at Blairgowrie in Marcl
HIRCHEN HILL. 79
last, and presented to the Museum by (the late) Rev. Win.
Fraser, M.A., minister of Blairgowrie.
"About a fortnight ago, that is, in the last week of
March, there was found, on a detached field of my glebe
in the Moor of Blairgowrie, and about a mile and a-half
from the Parish Church, a circular goblet-shaped ui-n con-
taining bones. It was about a foot in diameter and a
foot deep. It lay on gravelly soil on a large stone, which
seems to have been hollowed out, probably by the action
of the water of the Ericht, which flows near by, and the
bed of which contains many stones of similar size, on
which the action of water is very marked. Over the urn
(slanting) was a large flattish unhewn stone. The urn
rested about two feet below the surface of the ground,
and, unfortunately, it was much broken in being removed
from its bed. The fragments have been almost all given
away by the feuar in whose feu of the glebe it was
found ; but it has been my good fortune to secure for the
Museum the small vessel which was found along with the
"The interior of the large urn was black as if from the
burning of some substance in it, or from the substance
within it having, in long process of time, inparted some
of its blackness to the urn. The small vessel is not
darker on the inside than on the outside, although it
bears on the inside at the bottom the prints of the
thumb-nail of the person who made it."
A considerable number of stone weapons have been
found in this neighbourhood.
About a hundred years ago a very ancient tumulus,
locally known as " The Hirchen Hill," stood at the side
' of the Kirkwynd to the north of the Parish Manse. The
outbuildings close to the roadway have been built near
to what was originally its western base, and part of the
site is now used as a bleaching green.
Tradition has it that the Earls of Gowrie held baronial
courts there for administering justice to vassals and re-
tainers, and a ridge less than half-a-mile west still bears
the name of "Gallow (Gallows) Bank," where the unfor-
tunate victims were strung. The ridge in its original
state had a flat space on the top, which was surrounded
with a rampart of earth, but the levelling and squaring
of the fields have obliterated all traces of it.
80 AGREEMENTS AND CHARTERS.
There is a bell, preserved in the Mechanics' Institute,
which is supposed to have belonged to a French man-of-
war. It is about 12 inches high, 14 inches wide at the
mouth, heavy, of good tone, and bears the inscription :
" Messire Georges Francois de Cheverne Viconte de Mor-
tain, 1724." A companion bell was in use many years
ago at the Auction Mart when a sale was to begin, but
it has unaccountably disappeared.
In the papers of the Monastery of St Marie, at Coupar
Angus, dated 1st May, 1201, is an "Agreement between
the Churches of Blair and Coupar."- On the 1st June,
1235, Alexander II. granted at Traquair " lands in Meikle
and Little Blair to the Abbey of Scone, excepting a
small portion in the feu of Meikle Blair, which he gave to
the monks of Cupar (Coupar) in exchange for the Common
Muir of Blair, of which they had the use."
" Carta donatiouis regis Alexandri 2ndi monachis de
Cupro de duabus carvatus (sic) terrae cum dimedio in
feodo de Magna Blare in excanibiuu commuuis more
de Blar quod visi fuerant, &c. Testibus: Villielmo, Epis-
copo Glasquensi Caucellaris ; Patricio, Coinite de Dunbar ;
Waltero filio Alaui Seuescalli, Justiciario Scotiae. Apud
Tresquere, primo die Juini anno regni domini regis xxi.
By a Charter granted at Forfar, William the Lion gave
to the Abbey of St Marie, at Coupar Angus, the marsh
of Blair : " Carta regis Villielmi eisdem monachis facta tie
toto maresio meo in territorio de Blair, quod pertinebat
ad doniinium nieum de Blar, die qua marescum illud iis
dedi, et Comes Duucamis, et Heugo de Kaledone, et
Rogerus de Mortuomari, et Mackbeth Judex de Goury, et
Duncanus filius Douenaldi, et alii probi homines per pre-
ceptuni meum eiis tradiderunt, &c. Testibus ; Rogero,
Episcopo St Andrex ; Comite Dauide, f ratre meo ; Dun-
cano Justiciario ; Comite Gillebryd ; Phillipe de Walloun,
Camerario meo ; Roberto de Quinci ; Malcolmo filio Coiniti
Duncani ; Villielmo de Cumyn ; Johann Hasting, &c."
In 1309 King Robert I. confirmed a charter to the Abbe
of Coupar, bestowing the lands of Muir of Blair upon i
In the Chartulary of the Abbey of Scone is a letter,
dated Clackmannan, 26th March, 1326, from King Robe
INTERESTING MAP. 81
I. to the Sheriff of Perth, commanding him to take charge
of the Loch of Blair in view of his arrival in the district.
There are also other letters on like matters, dated Clunie,
4th August, and Alyth, 5th and 6th August of the same
year. There is also a letter, dated February, 1350,
referring to the dispute as to ownership of the church
lands of Blair.
There is a Bull by Pope Gregory XI., of the year 1373,
confirming church lands of Blair to Abbey of Scone,
again confirmed in a Bull by Benedict XIII., dated 1390.
" At the fest of Whitsonday, the zere of God a
thousand v. hundredth and viij. zeiris, the hale muir
of Blair above the wood of Campy (Carsie) is set to
Patrick Bell, in assedacioun for the term of v. zeris."
" Campy (Carsie) Blayr, Whitsoiiday, 1517, the quarter
of the muir of Blare is set to David Pullar."
The family papers of Drummond Moray of Blair-
Drummond contain a fac-simile copy of the " Bond of
Manrent " (page 40) between Chalmers of Drumlochie
and Drummond of Newton, dated 1558.
In the original Feu-charter, of date 7th September,
1568, the family of MacCombie are referred to. This
charter was given at Abbotshall, and was witnessed,
among others, by George Drummond of Blayr ; the
sasiue was given by George Drummond of Blayr in
presence of witnesses.
An " Instrument of Tollerance," in favour of John
Makcomas, for pasturing on the lands of Torridone
(Corrydon), bearing date llth November, 1577, was
witnessed by George Drummond of Blair, &c. ; and an
" Instrument of Renunciation," of date 9th August, 1583,
for the same, was given at Fimiegand, and witnessed by
George Drummond of Blair.
In the Register House, Edinburgh, is preserved the
original Charter, granted on 9th July, 1634, by King
[ Charles I. to George Drummond of Blair, erecting Blair-
gowrie into a Burgh of Barony. It is a very interesting
document, nearly ten feet long and ten inches wide,
closely written throughout in Dog Latin character.
A map of the Mid Provinces of Scotland, published by
Gordon of Straloch in 1654, and reprinted by Messrs
Shearer of Stirling, 1894, is very interesting to anti-
82 AGREEMENTS AND CHARTERS.
quartans and others with the original spelling, &c. There
is no Blairgowrie shown only Blairgowrie K. (meaning
kirk). Several of the places marked are Newtouu, Gor-
mack, Rowchaille, Kochredge, Ercochy, Pitcharmik, Stron
Calie, Bamilie, Dryomie, Rattray K., Bandoch, Coupar-
In the Acts of the Parliaments, 1701, there is a grant
to James Ramsay of a yearly fair at the Newtoun of
Blairgowrie, on the Tuesday preceding Michaelmas.
In the Court records of Perthshire is the decreet-arbitral,
of date 21st January, 1777, as to the division of lands of
Common Muir of Blair, by Sheriff-Substitute Swinton,
between Thomas Graham of Newtouu and the Blair Feuars.
On the 5th December, 1809, Mr Allan Macpherson,
Superior of the town, granted a Charter to put the police
and government of the Burgh of Barony under proper
regulations. Its principal provision was " the election of a
Bailie and four Councillors, with Treasurer, Clerk, and
other officers of Court, from among the burgesses of the
town, with powers to manage the funds and common
goods of the town and burgh; to suggest rules and statutes
for the advantage of the burgh ; orders and regulations
for granting relief from the town's funds to burgesses or
their families ; to receive and admit all feuars, sub-feuars,
long lessees, respectable householders, merchants, manu-
facturers, and tradesmen to be free burgesses upon pay-
ment of certain fees ; ... to erect a Town and Court
House, and to erect a Market Cross, &c."
This Charter was further extended by another one,
granted by Mr William Macpherson in 1829. A meeting
of the burgesses, held 29th October, 1825, petitioned the
Superior " to alter the mode of election as granted in
1809," which he accordingly did. "A new Bailie was to
be elected every two years from among the four Coun-
cillors, one of whom was to retire and a new Councillor
take his room," &c., all as set forth fully in said Charter.
This Charter was again extended by Mr Allan Macpher-
son, by a Charter dated October, 1873, at the request of
the Bailie and Council, to enlarge and confirm their
authority. It enacted that "the number of Councillors
be increased to twelve ; that a Senior and two Junior
Bailies be elected from among the said Councillors; that
PEDIGREE OF DRUMMONDS OP BLAIR. 83
one-third of the whole Council Board retire annually, but
be eligible for re-election," &c.
In the family papers of Balthayock there are numerous
charters bearing seals connected with the district:
" S ' Johannis de Drumunt, 1407. Seal of John Drum-
mond. Couche three bars wavy ; crest on a helmet an
eagle's head and wings ; supporters two savages. This
seal is very imperfect, which gives the shield the impression
of being wavy, but there can be no doubt of the blazon.
" Lord Drummoud of Cargill, bearing date, 1465. Eagle
displayed, bearing on its breast a shield with four bars
wavy. A label with three points the inscription is
"Seal of John Drummond, ' de Cargil.' Couche three
bars wavy; crest on a helmet a goat's head, the back-
ground ornamented with foliage.
" S ' Johannis Drummond ' de Cargil,' 1491."
" Seal, bearing date, 13th May, 1496, of William Chalmers
of Drumlochie, appended to ' obligation by William
Chaumer of Drumlochy to Thomas Blair of Balthyak '-
three pheons." The seal, however, is very much damaged,
and the inscription is illegible.
" Seal, bearing date, 1558, of William Chalmers of
Drumlochie, appended to ' Bond of Manrent ' Chalmers
of Drumlochy to Drummond of Newton (Blair Drummond
Charters). Per fess, in chief a demi-lion rampant ; three
pheons in base ; at the top and sides of the shield, a
scroll ornament. ' S ' Vilelmi Chalmer.' "
" Seal (official) of Bishop Rattray of Dunkeld. An apos-
tolic person seated with hands uplifted, on his left three
crossed crosses, or crosses of Jerusalem, with the inscription
' Sigillium Thoma3 Rattray Episcopi Brechinensis.' "
The following pedigree of the Drummonds of Blair
appears in Eraser's "Drummoud of Blair Drummond":
I. SIR WALTER DRUMMOND, Lord of Stobhall and
Who lived in the reigns of King James I. and King
James II., and was killed by the latter. He succeeded
1428, died about 1445. Issue: Sir Malcolm, Sir John,
84 PEDIGREE OF DRUMMONDS OF BLAIR.
II. WALTER DRUMMOND,
Who, in 1486, received from his grand-nephew John,
first Lord Drummond, a Charter of the lands of Ledcrief,
and was thereafter designed of Ledcrief. Living 1508.
Issue: John, James.
III. JOHN DRUMMOND, Second of Flaskhill and
Who, with his brother James, was a bailie-depute to
his uncle Sir Malcolm Drummond of Cargill, in 1447.
Issue : George.
IV. GEORGE DRUMMOND, Third of Flaskhill and
He and his son William were killed by William Chalmer
of Drumlochy and an armed party, near the Kirk of
Blair, on Sunday, the 3rd June, 1554, as they were
" playand at the rowbowlis in the hie marcate gait," near
the said church. The marauders were afterwards com-
pelled to make submission, and to give manrents, &c., to
David, Lord Drummond. Issue :
V. GEORGE DRUMMOND of BLAIR, Fourth of Flaskhill
Sold Ledcrief and bought Newton of Blair in the
Stormont (15 ), from Patrick, Bishop of Moray and
Commendator of Scone. He was a Sheriff-Depute of the
County of Perth to John, Duke of Athole, in 1566, and a
Curator to John, fifth Earl, in 1581. He died 4th January,
William Drummond slain with his father, 3rd June,
Janet Drummond married George Rattray of Craighall.
VI. GEORGE DRUMMOND, Second of Blair,
Who succeeded his father. He died llth August, 1596.
Issue : 4 sons, 4 daughters.
VII. JOHN DRUMMOND, Third of Blair,
Who succeeded. He married Agnes, daughter of Sir
David Herring (Heron) of Lethnide and Glasclune. He
died 2nd May, 1620.
LETTERS BY KING JAMES THE SEVENTH. 85
George Drummond married Grizel, daughter of Daniel
Cargill of Haltown (Hatton). Issue : Daniel and Patrick.
VIII. GEORGE DRUMMOND, Fourth of Blair.
He married, 17th August, 1633, Marjory, daughter of
George Graeme, Bishop of Orkney, Laird of Gorthy.
Jean Drummond married, about 1630, Henry Drum-
mond, son of Andrew Drummond, minister of Panbride,
fourth son of George Drummond, first laird of Blair.
IX. GEORGE DRUMMOND, Fifth of Blair,
Born 29th November, 1638. He sold the lands of Blair
1682, and in 1684 purchased the lands of what was after-
wards called the barony of Blair Drummond. He died
24th June, 1717.
The following is copy of "Precept by King James the
Seventh to James, Earl of Perth, Chancellor, and the
Lords of the Treasury in Scotland, to pay George Drum-
mond of Blair the fifth part of the Royal duties uplifted
by him on behalf of the King, and also the fifth part of
all compositions," 10th November, 1687.
" James R.
" Right trusty," &c., " wee greet you well.
Having by our Commission, dated the 16th day of April,
1686, granted power unto George Drummond of Blair to
pursue for and uplift all wards and non-entries simple or
taxt, with the reliefes thereof, which are fallen due to us
or our dearest royall brother (of ever blessed memory) of
all yeares and termes bygone since the first day of
August, 1674, by the decease in that time of any of our
vassals holding their lands off us or our dearest royall
brother aforesaid, as Kings, Princes, or Stewards of Scot-
land, in simple or taxt ward, with the availles, marriages,
simple or taxt, of all lands holdeii of us in simple or taxt
Iward, or few cum maritagiis, fallen due as aforesaid, and
;,in time coming, during our royal pleasure ; by which
Commission wee did allow unto the said George Drum-
pnond a fifth part of what he should recover, and compt
for by vertue thereof, for his paines in lifting the said
casualities which fifth part wee did appoint to be allowed
unto him in the first end thereof, together with his
86 LETTERS BY KING JAMES THE SEVENTH.
necessary charges in recovering the same. And by our
new Commission to him, bearing date the 8th of this
instant, wee have not only ratified the former Commis-
sion, but also impowered him to receive the non-entries
of all lauds holden of us in blench or few ferine, with
the non-entries of all annual rents fallen due to us since
the first day of August, 1674, and in time coming, during
our royall pleasure, which formerly he received as having
commission from our right trusty and right well beloved
cousin and councellor, James, Earl of Perth, our chan-
cellor, to whom wee did assigne the same untill he shall
be paid of the summe of eight thousand pounds sterline,
granting hereby unto the said George Drummond the
same allowance for recovery thereof as is contained in the
first commission. And considering the good and faithful
service done to us by the said George Drummond in dis-
covering and pursuing for the said casualities (whereof
formerly small benefite did arise to us) and which by
his industry is increased to more than wee could reason-
ably have expected, severalls, by his discovery and
dilligence, being obleidged to present gifts of the said
casualities, which otherwise would have lyen latent (as
they have been heretofore) to be componed by you, the
compositiones whereof he receives without any allowance
from the parties ; wee, to take off all scruples that may
hereafter arise . as to our intention of allowing unto the
said George Drummond a fifth part of the said composi-
tiones, have now thought fit to order and allow unto him
a just fifth part of the same, as well as of what shall
otherwise be received by him either from the vassals or
other intromitters with the said casualities.
" Requiring you in the accompts that are to be fitted
by the said George Drummond to allow unto him, in the
first end thereof, the fifth part of the said compositiones
received by him from time to time, as well as of what
otherwayes shall be received by him of the said casualities
together with his necessary charges aforesaid, the re-
mainder being always allowed unto the said Earl of
Perth, our chancellor, until he shall be paid of the sai
suinme of eight thousand pounds sterline, free of al
expenses conforme to the gift thereof granted by us unt
him. For all which this shall be to you, and all othei
LETTERS BY KING JAMES THE SEVENTH. 87
respectively who may be therein any way concerned, a
sufficient warrant. And so wee bid you heartily farewell.
"Given at our Court at Whitehall, the 10th day of
November, 1687, and of our reigne the 3rd year. By his
Majesties Command, "MELFORT."
The following is copy of " Precept by King James the
Seventh to James, Earl of Perth, and the Lords of the
Treasury in Scotland, for payment of an annual salary of
100 to .... and George Drummond of Blair, keepers
of the Signet," 17th July, 1688.
" James R. Right trusty," &c., " \vee greet you well.
Whereas a good while agoe wee have taken into our
consideration the paines and charges that
and George Drummond of Blair (keepers of our Signet
there under our Secretaries of State) have been and still
are at about their receiving the black box thrice every
week, and as often sending the same; and wee being fully
satisfied with their care and diligence in that matter, and
'being resolved to bestow a constant yearly allowance
hereafter upon them for the same. It is now our will
and pleasure, and wee doe hereby authorise and require
you, out of the first and readiest of our rents, revenues,
customes, and casualities whatsoever of that our ancient
kingdome, to pay or cause to be paid yearly to the said
and George Drummond the sum me of
one hundred pounds sterline money to be equally divided
betwixt them, and to be paid at two termes every year,
Whitsunday and Mertimes, by equal portions, whereof
the first termes payment is to be at Mertimes next,
ensuing the date of these presents, and so forth, to con-
tinue yearly and termely thereafter during our royall
pleasure, which yearly allowance of one hundred pounds
sterline wee doe hereby authorize and require you to
adde to the list of fees formerly granted by us to our
servants there, and to be constantly paid at the same
times and in the same manners as our said servants are
I usually paid of the respective allowances granted by us
a* aforesaid unto them. And in regard it is long since
wee were graciously pleased to settle the foresaid yearly
allowance of 100 sterline upon the said
and George Drummond. It is now our further will and
88 NOTES FROM RENTAL BOOK OF COUPAR ABBEY.
pleasure, and wee doe also hereby authorize aud require
you presently to pay or cause to be paid unto them the
suuime of fifty pounds money foresaid, as an halfe year's
allowance from us unto them preceding the terme of
Whitsunday last past in this present year of God. For
all which these presents (together with their respective
receipts for what shall be paid unto them from time to
time) shall be to you, and all others respectively, who
may be therein any way concerned, particularly to the
Lords Auditors of your accompts for allowing the same
as sufficient warrant. And so wee bid you heartily
" Given at our Court at Whitehall, the 17th day of
July, 1688, and of our reigne the 4th year. By his
Majesties Command, " MELFORT."
The following are Notes from Rental Book of Coupar
Abbey : " Willelmum Blair de Bargillo " (a cadet of the
house of Ardblair), was one of four bailies of the Monas-
tery at Coupar.
Of the family of Chalmers, which lately owned tht
lauds of Glenericht, the predecessors were husbandmei
on the Abbey estate. To Thomas de Camera was let
about 1444, the town of Calady (Cally) ; he is, in 1403,
described as Thomas Chamer. By the Abbot, in 1477,
Robert Cbawmyr obtained a life lease of the quarter oi
Murtoun, which was also to be enjoyed by his sor
William ; and, on the 2nd October, 1510, John, " son of
William Chawmer of Drumlochy," had a lease of the
land of Mydilbait.
At Pentecost, 1457, Thomas Soutar obtained from th
Abbey a lease of a portion of the lands of Murton
which he and his three sons were afterwards liferented.
" CALADY WITH TIEND SHEAVES.
" 18. This town with tiend sheaves is let to Thoim
" 41. Is let to the same Thomas for 40 merks, six kids
his surety being Donald Robertson of Drwmy."
" FISHINGS OF DRWMY AND CALADY.
" 42. Are let to the same Thomas for same period fc
yearly rent of fourscore salmon."
NOTES FROM RENTAL BOOK OF COUPAR ABBEY. 89
" CALADY AT PENTECOST (1464).
" 110. A fourth part of Calady is let to Finlay Make-
den, and a quarter to Donald Makedeu, a fourth part to
Nagel Makeden, an eighth part to John Rede, and another
eighth part to Donald Raiidale, for five years, for usual
payment of 10 merks and 10 kids, with usual service."
"372. At Pentecost, 1488, a half of the town of Calle
is let for five years to Henry Neylson for 8 merks yearly,
with 3 dozen salmon, and 40s to the fabric of the
monastery ; and he shall keep the wood from all others
as forester, under penalty."
" 516. At Pentecost, 1508, Cally is let to the tenants
dwelling therein, for five years."
"105, 119. At Pentecost, in 1457 and 1464, Mwrtoun is
let to Thomas Page, Thomas Sowtar, and John Thomson
for five years, for yearly payment of 10 merks, three
dozen capons, and 12 hens, with carriage corresponding
and usual service."
" 262. Be it keud til al men be thir present letres ws
Dauid be the permissioun of God Abbot of the Abbey of
Coupar, and our conuont of that ilk ... til haf
grantyt, &c., the quartar of our landis of the Murtoun,
with al pertynens, profitis, and eyementis, to Robert
Chawmyr as he lachfally brukyt obefor for al the days
of his lyfe ; and to Wilzam his soun, eftyr his fadris disses,
for al the days of his lyfe ; tha payand tharof yerly to
ws twa pundis xs of vsual mone at ij vsual termes of the
zere, a bol of hors corn, &c. ... In witness of the
quhilkis to this present wryt we haf put our common
sele at our forsad Abbay, the tend day of Septembre, the
zere of our Lord, Jm iiije seuyiiti and seuyn."
"549. At the fest of Witsonday, the zere of God a
thousand v. hundreth and viij. zeris, the hale Blair abone
the wod of Campsy is set to Patrick Bell, in assedacioun
for the terme of v. zeris, with the pastour of xxx. sowmys
in the mour of Monkquhell, and he sal haf pastour to vj.
ky and a hors in our forest of Campsy . . . and he
90 OLD PARISH TOKENS.
sal superintend til our fischin of Campsy, and warne ws
lawtefully quhen that he knawis any fait with the fissaris,
with all odir dew seruice aucht and wont."
" 574. Precept of sasine by William, Abbot of the
Monastery of Cupar, addressed to Master Antonio Dwly
. . . for infefting John Chawmer as heir to his father,
William Chawmer of Drurnlochy, in the Mydilbait and
lands thereof, lying in the Sheriffdom of Perth, for pay-
ment of 20 shillings Scots in name of yearly rent of few
ferme. (Dated 2nd October, 1510.)"
"648. Whitsunday, 1517, 'the quartar of the Blayre is
set to Dauid Pullour.' "
"649. Whitsunday, 1513, 'the thyrd onder the wod and
the quartar bown the wod of Campsy is set to John of
Crago with the forstar land for . . . fif zeris .
he payand thairfor xviij. bollis of meil and bere, ij. bollis
of horse corn, xxij. cok and hen, and to hald wp the
thyrd of the net of Campsy,' " &c.
" 650. The quarter of Blare is set to Dauid Pullour."
OLD PARISH TOKENS.
There are only four examples of the old Communion
tokens now to be found, viz. : those in use 1723-1768
Rev. James Lyon ; 1769-1786 Rev. William Dow; 1787-
1836 Rev. James Jolmstone; and 1839-1852 Rev. A. O.
Ecclesiastical State Parish Church and Ministers Associate- Antiburgher
Secession Church Brown Street Chapel St Mary's Church First
Free Church Free South Church St Catherine's Church St
Stephen's Church Congregational Church Extracts from Parochial
Registers Shearing on Sabbath Selling Aile in Time of Sermon
Fasts Ordered English Army in Scotland Collection in Aid of Glas-
gow No Session Applicant for Schoolmastership An Indigent
Baronet Act Anent Brydals In the Jouggs The Boatman of Blair
Administering the Lord's Supper Irregularities Sabbath Breach
Communion Cups New Schoolhouse Poor's Rates Established
Sunday Shooting Match for a Sow Population Schools and School-
masters Parish School James Street School William Street School
New Public Schools Episcopal School Dames' Schools Adventure
Schools St Stephen's R. C. School Sextons of Parish of Blair.
ECCLESIASTICAL STATE PARISH CHURCH.
HPHE situation of the town determined that of the
1 Parish Church, which is situated close to it, yet, in
a parish of such extent as Blairgowrie, it follows that
the church is inconveniently situated as regards some of
the congregation, but as its site is nearly equi-distant
from the northern or southern extremity of the parish,
it is quite accessible to the majority of the inhabitants.
The Parish Kirk was erected in 1824, the foundation-stone
being laid by Mr William M'Pherson of Blairgowrie on
the site of the old Church, which had become much too
small for the accommodation of the rapidly-increasing
population. It has within recent years been considerably
improved by end porches, alteration of the seats, and
general renovation. The church is calculated to hold
about 800 people.
The parish manse was built 1771, but in 1838 the whole
house and offices, with the exception of the wing con-
taining the dining and drawing-rooms, were taken down,
rebuilt, and several additional rooms added to the house.
The glebe, including 5 acres, which were given in lieu
of a right of pasturage formerly enjoyed by the incum-
bent, extends to about 9 acres.
92 PARISH CHURCH AND MINISTERS.
The stipend about the year 1840 was partly of money
and partly " victual " in the following proportions :
Money stipend, 100 Is 7d ; meal, 71 bolls, 2 lippies, 2
pecks; barley, 62 bolls, 3 firlots, 1 lippy, and 3 pecks,
convertible into money at the highest fiars' prices of the
The Parish Kirk prior to the Reformation belonged to
the Abbey of Scone.
The following are the ministers who have been placed
there since the Reformation :
16 . John Ross, A.M., graduated at the University of
St Andrews in 1599 ; pres. to the Parsonage and Vicarage
by James VI., 25th January, 1603. He went with a view
to attend the Assembly at Aberdeen, 2nd July, 1603, but
arrived three days after they had met, yet he approved
of their proceedings ; was summoned before the Privy
Council, 3rd October, and confined to the Castle of Stirling;
joined with 13 others in declining the authority of the
Council, 24th October ; was one of seven who were not
again called, and liberated soon after. He continued llth
16 . John Ramsay, A.M., was laureated at the Univer-
sity of St Andrews in 1634, admitted prior to, 19th April,
1649, and died in October, 1663, aged 49.
1664. Thomas Blaire, A.M., second son of James Blaire
of Ardblair, took his degree at the University of St
Andrews, 28th July, 1656, presented by Charles II., passed
trials before the Presbytery, got a testimonial for ordina-
tion, 26th January, and was admitted 23rd March, 1664,
and translated to Bendochy in 1668.
1688. Gilbert Blair, second son of John Blair of Balude,
presented by James VII., 25th May, and admitted 12th
August, deprived by the Privy Council, 10th October,
1689, for not reading the Proclamation of the Estates, not
praying in terms thereof, nor observing the Fast. He
still continued there, 17th April, 1701, and was alive 1731.
1702. William Stewart, A.M., studied at St Salvador's
College, and had his degree from the University of St
Andrews, 23rd July, 1697, licensed by the Presbytery of
Perth, 21st November, 1700, called 5th August, 1701, and
ordained, 3rd February, 1702, translated to Perth, 2ne
charge, 9th April, 1721.
PARISH CHURCH AND MINISTERS.
1723. James Lyon, licensed by the Presbytery, 9th
November, 1720, called 14th August, 1722, and ordained
4th September, 1723. He got a new church built in 1767,
and died 22nd December, 1768, in the 46th year of his
1769. William Dow, A.M., obtained his degree at the
University of St Andrews in 1755, called 5th January, and
ordained, 20th April, 1769. Died on 13th May, 1786, in
the 18th year of his ministry.
1787. James Johnstone, licensed by the Presbytery of
Perth, 29th March, 1786, pres. by Thomas Graham of Bal-
gowan, in October, 1786, and ordained, 26th April, 1787.
He got a new church built in 1824. He wrote a Statis-
tical Account of the Parish in 1796. A marble tablet to
his memory is placed in the Parish Church. He died 12th
October, 1836, aged 78, and 50th year of ministry.
1837. Robert Macdonald, licensed by the Presbytery of
Perth, 8th June, 1836, pres. by Mrs Oliphant of Gask and
Ardblair, in February, and ordained, 15th February, 1837.
On joining in the Free Secession and signing the Deed of
Demission, he was declared no longer a member of this
Church, 19th June, 1843.
Ochiltree Greig, from
Brown Street Chapel,
inducted 4th August,
1843, and died 1852.
Fraser, licensed by
the Presbytery of
Perth, educated at
Paisley and Univer-
sity of Edinburgh,
taking degree of
M.A., 1845. Occupied
chair of Moral Philo-
sophy, 1845-46, at
1852, and died 24th
1881. Robert Kemp,
M.A., from Glasgow.
REV. WILLIAM FRASER.
94 BROWN STREET CHAPEL.
ASSOCIATE-ANTIBURGHER SECESSION CHURCH.
There are few records remaining regarding this church,
except from the Statistical Account of 1796; it seemed to
be a small body of 100 members.
It must, however, have flourished considerably during
the early years of this century, from the fact that, about
the year 1829, it was thought advisable to proceed with
the erection of a new place of worship. In 1830 that
stance of ground situated at corner of Brown Street and
George Street was feued by John Brown, Writer, Edin-
burgh, to John Lawson and others as trustees of the
Antiburgher congregation. A plain, substantial building
of hewn stone was erected, with sitting accommodation
for about 430 persons.
For a few years it continued to do well, but, owing to
diminishing numbers, the body ultimately became extinct
in October, 1837. Mr Smith, minister.
The church was therefore disposed of for 399 to the
congregation of the Parish Church.
BROWN STREET CHAPEL.
In 1837 the Parish Church at Hill of Blair having been
found to be too small for the accommodation of the
parishoners, and the chapel of Antiburgher congregation
being then for sale, subscriptions to the amount of over
400 were raised, and the chapel was purchased in Novem-
ber, 1837, for 399.
The titles were disponed and assigned by John Lawson
and others, trustees of Antiburgher congregation, in
favour of Sir James Ramsay of Bamff and others, as trus-
tees of subscribers of new congregation, 14th March, 1838.
The chapel was first opened as a preaching station, in
connection with Parish Church, in December, 1837, Mr
Smith being asked to continue his services as minister,
3rd April, 1838, at an accepted salary of 20 to begin.
While the congregation of the Parish Church, at the
Disruption, 1843, left the Establishment almost to a man
along with their minister, Robert Macdonald the Brown
Street congregation continued to adhere, and so prevented
the entire disappearance of the Establishment.
Mr A. O. Greig being elected successor to Mr Macdonald
of the Parish Church (deposed 1843), he and his hearers
ST MARY'S CHURCH. 95
removed to the Parish Church, where he kept alive the
almost extinguished sparks of Established fire in the
In March, 1840, a request was made by the Sheriff-
Substitute of Perthshire for the use of the chapel to hold
Quarterly Small Debt Courts, but refused. It was, how-
ever, granted on 19th June, 1845.
In consequence of the Disruption, and the congregation
removing to the Parish Church at the Hill, the chapel
was for a number of years shut up. In course of time,
however, it was reopened after thorough investigation, as
a separate and distinct charge, the constitution being ob-
tained from the General Assembly in May, 1870.
The records of the chapel from 1844 to 30th April,
1870, are awanting.
About the year 1882 the chapel was found to be rather
small for the increasing congregation, and means were
taken to have another church built and endowed. By the
beneficence of friends of the church, &c., this object was
ultimately attained. It was further found desirable that
the parish of Blairgowrie should be subdivided into
another distinct parish allocated to this Church.
This was also carried into effect by powers from the
higher Church Courts, and on the 17th April, 1879,
Brown Street Church gave place to the quoad sacra Parish
and Church of St Mary.
ST MARY'S CHURCH.
A splendid site for the new Church was obtained in
Reform Street. Building operations were commenced early
in 1884, and, towards the end of that year, the founda-
tion-stone was laid with full Masonic honours by the
Right Honourable the Earl of Breadalbaue. The new
church, of the early English style of architecture, is in
the form of a cross, the head being towards the west. It
is comfortably seated for about 800 persons. The windows
in the alcove behind the minister's desk are filled in with
beautiful figures symbolical of New Testament doctrine,
executed in stained glass.
At the north-east angle is a massive tower, square,
about 40 feet high, whence above this is an octagonal
spire, executed in stone, about 50 feet high, small columns
96 FIRST FREE CHURCH.
with pyramidal caps being at each square corner of the
base. Altogether, both external and internal, it presents
a fine appearance, and, besides being an ornament to, is
one of the distinguishing landmarks of the town. In
1885, having no further use for their old chapel, the
trustees, acting for the congregation, sold it, and it was
converted by an enterprising tradesman into a dwelling-
house and furniture saloon.
Mr Smith (of Autiburgher Secession Church), continued
3rd April, 1838 ; died July, 1839.
Mr Cowans (interim), 1839.
Archibald O. Greig, elected 23rd October, 1839, resigned
29th July, 1843, and appointed to Parish Church, August,
Alex. S. Willison, from Auchniithie, elected November,
1870, resigned September, 1876.
Robert D. Hutchison, from Glasgow, elected 23rd April,
1877, translated to Persie, June, 1878.
Robert Stewart, from Glasgow, elected 27th August, and
inducted 29th October, 1878. First minister of new parish,
FIRST FREE CHURCH.
In 1843, during the struggle of the Church with the
State for religious liberty, the Disruption took place, many
hundred ministers leaving their manses and the Establish-
ment, and many thousands of the people the Church of
their forefathers. At this eventful time Robert Macdon-
ald was minister of the parish, but he cast in his lol
with the Free Church (so the new section was termed), as
also did many of his congregation.
For some time they worshipped in a large tent, which
was erected in the Glebe Park where the Public Schools
are now situated. Early in June of 1843 the Church was
commenced to be built, and it was opened for public
worship in November of that year, although not quite in
a finished state. It is a very plain structure, oblong on
plan, with a square tower, and spire about 80 feet high,
at the south end. Internally it is arranged similarly to
all other old Disruption churches, the pulpit being to one
side and the seats circling round with radiating passages.
To the south of the church are the old Free Church
Schools, now used as Sunday School, Prayer Hall, &c.
ST MARY'S PARISH CHURCH
FREE SOUTH CHURCH. 97
The manse is a very large and commodious building,
situated in Newton Terrace, behind the church, and com-
mands an extensive view over the town and strath.
1843. Robert Macdouald, deposed from the Parish Church
(Avhich see), 19th June, 1843. Called after the Disruption
by the Free Church Presbytery of Meigle, he was ordained
minister of First Free Church, November, 1843. He was
indefatigable in getting Schools erected in this community.
He was admitted to the Free Church of North Leith,
12th March, 1857. Had D.D. from University of St
Andrews, 12th February, 1870, retired 1886, and died 1893.
1858. John Baxter, M.A., licensed by the Established
Church Presbytery of Meigle, 4th April, 1831, ordained to
Persie Chapel, August, 1831, and translated to Hilltown
Church, Dundee, 8th November, 1838. Cast in his lot
with the Free Church, at the Disruption, 1843, followed
by most of his congregation, to whom he ministered till
1858, when he accepted a call to the First Free Church,
Blairgowrie, where he was inducted 1st September, 1858.
He had the honour of D.D. from the University of St
Andrews, 1881, and in 1887 was proposed for the Modera-
torship of the Free General Assembly. He died in 1892,
in his 84th year and the 61st of his ministry.
1894. William Muir, B.D., B.L., from Glasgow.
FREE SOUTH CHURCH.
The Free Church (South) is a chaste, although com-
paratively plain, Gothic structure, consisting of a principal
nave about 85 feet in length by 44 in breadth, and from
the floor to the ceiling about 50 feet. It has a tower at
the left angle 16 feet square and 60 feet high, with clock
gables on each square, and, rising 50 feet above all, is a
tapering octagonal spire. The church as a whole, in its ex-
ternal aspect and its internal arrangements, is such as
secures in a high degree the comfort of the congregation.
The church was opened, on 2nd December, 1858, by the
Rev. Dr Guthrie, of Edinburgh.
1858. Robert Taylor, transferred to London (now Dr
Robert Taylor, Regent's Square).
18 -. Charles G. M'Crie, transferred to Ayr (now Dr C.
. M'Crie, Ayr).
1874. Malcolm White, M.A.
98 ST STEPHEN'S CHURCH.
ST CATHERINE'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH.
According to the " Statistical Account " of 1796 there
were 12 Episcopalians in the parish. There are, however,
no further records until 1841, when a congregation in
connection with the Scottish Episcopalian Church was
formed. Its founder, James Marshall, chiefly at his own
expense, erected St Catherine's Church, at the east end
of George Street. It is a handsome Gothic edifice, built
in the early English style, and was opened in 1842.
Being intended as a model of the style and form of
ecclesiastical edifices previous to the Reformation, it con-
sists of a nave and chancel, the latter containing a beauti-
ful window of stained glass, ornamented with various
devices relating to sacred subjects.
To the east end is a building once used as a school in
connection with the church, latterly as a Drill Hall and
Armoury of the Volunteers, and now as the' rooms of the
1841. John Marshall, from Forf'ar : published two dis-
courses on " Christian Priesthood " at the particular request
of Very Rev. Heneage Horsely, Dean of Brechin, Pre-
bendary of St Asaph.
18 . J. Abbey, from Ireland. Got a chaplaincy abroad.
18 . John Burton, removed to Alyth and Meigle, and
then appointed Provost of St Ninian's, Perth.
18. Mr Minniken.
1869. Mr Richardson, from England, educated at Cum-
brae College, translated to Rothesay and Bletchley.
1870. F. W. Davis, from Yorkshire.
ST STEPHEN'S ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH.
About 70 years ago the Roman Catholics in Blairgowrie
numbered about a dozen. James M'Kay, then stationed
at Perth, came once a month, and they met in the old
Mr M'Kay was the first priest known in Blairgowrie
since the Reformation, and such was the prejudice against
Papists in those days that he was mobbed on the street
About the year 1835, finding the numbers increasing,
Mr M'Kay purchased the ground in Bank Street, where
the church now stands. Two house's were built, and the
ST STEPHEN'S CHURCH. 99
upper flat of one was used as a church until the present
church was built. Mr M'Kay officiated for a good few
years, coming once a month from Perth and Murthly.
He was succeeded by John (now Dr) Carrnont, who
served the mission most successfully and efficiently for
about 30 years. It was through his zeal and energy the
new church and schools were built, and when he resigned
his charge, in 1882, the congregation numbered over 600,
the same as it is now.
Dr Carmont was succeeded by Thomas Crumley, who
was afterwards translated to Doune and Dunblane. Mr
Crumley had a very able assistant for two years Michael
M'Manus ; but the congregation was too poor to keep
two, and that arrangement was given up.
Services were given occasionally at Alyth, and at "Wood-
hill, in Strathardle, in a private chapel, the property of
Mr Charles Trotter.
The present incumbent is John Malcolm, a talented
priest, who served a short time in Perth and Montrose.
He studied first at Blair's College and finished at Douay,
in France, being sent to Blairgowrie in 1889.
St Stephen's Church was built by Dr Carmont, and
opened with great ceremony, in 1856, by Bishop Gillies,
of Edinburgh, and Mr William Smith, afterwards Arch-
bishop of Edinburgh, preached the opening sermon.
The interior of the church is Gothic, and consists of
nave and two aisles ; the High Altar is in the centre,
and the Lady Altar in one of the aisles. In the other
aisle a door leads into the vestry, and the choir is at
the south end of the church.
Several years ago, at his death, Mr Charles Trotter of
Woodhill bequeathed that magnificent estate of about
3000 acres, with mansion-house, policies, chapel, &c., to
the Diocese of Dunkeld.
18 . James M'Kay came from Perth once a mouth
and officiated till a resident priest was ordained.
1853. Dr John Carmont appointed resident clergyman.
He built the Church of St Stephen's in 1856, and resigned
1882. Thomas Crumley, translated in 1889 to Douiie
and Dunblane ; was assisted for two years by Michael
100 EXTRACTS FROM PAROCHIAL REGISTERS.
1889. John Malcolm, from Perth and Montrose, studied
at Blair's College and finished at Douay, in France.
THE CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH.
About the commencement of this century many good
men throughout Scotland were led to think that some
special effort should be made to stimulate and advance
vital godliness in the country. Among the others, a few
in Blairgowrie banded themselves together for this
After various labours they formed themselves into a
small Congregational Church, and at length called Mr
Peter Grant, a student of Divinity in Edinburgh, to be
their pastor. -. Mr Grant and his congregation speedily
erected a chapel, which, though somewhat rustic, answered
its purpose, and he laboured faithfully and zealously in
the village and country round about.
1807. Peter Grant, from Edinburgh, died 1817.
1817. Mr Lyall, from Glasgow, resigned 18 .
1834. John Tait, studied at King's College, Aberdeen;
ordained in December, 1834 ; translated to Newport-on-
Tay, 1866; died 1896.
1867. Mr Dobson, resigned 1869.
1869. John Miller, from Inverurie, died 1878.
1878. E. M. Tennant, from Alexandria,
EXTRACTS FROM PAROCHIAL REGISTERS.
The earliest Parochial register now extant belonging
to the parish commences in the year 1647, and continues on
to August, 1658. There is no register from this date
down to 1702, from which time to the present the books
are complete and appear to have been very accurately
The book or books in which the register betwixt 1658
and 1702 was kept have been lost. In the more ancient
Session records there are several rather curious entries,
illustrative of the strictness of discipline enforced in the
Presbyterian Church, the internal discord and conten-
tions which then distracted the kingdom, and the rude
and ignorant condition of the population.
SELLING AILE IN TIME OF SERMON. 101
SHEARING ON SABBATH.
" 15th Oct., 1648. The minister asking if there was
any new scandal, the session declare that George Clyde,
Andrew Keay, and Walter Butchart were shearing come
the last Sabbath, and George Watson did thresh on the
last Sabbath. The kirk officer ordained to summon them
against ye next day."
" 29th Oct., 1648. The above parties called, compearit,
quho, after long denying, at last being convinced, con-
fessed ye breach of ye Sabbath, as they alleged, after
sunsetting. After ye minister had aggravated yair sinne
by shewing yat ye whole Sabbath is religiouslie to be
observit not only in ye kirke but in yair private families,
the sessione ordain them to satisfie ye next Lord's day
before ye pulpit in humbling themselves and acknow-
ledging their breach of Sabbath before ye congregation."
SELLING AILE IN TIME OF SERMON.
" 27th Nov., 1648. Sundrie people fined and ordained
to satisfie before ye pulpit, and ye sessione, for ye suppres-
sing of this sinue, upon the Lord's day, doe also hereby
ordain that every tavern-keeper or seller of aile, who
runs aile in tyme of sermon, or ye whole day, in ane ex-
cessive manner to any, sail pay hereafter as much as ye
drinkers, toties quoties, it sail be found they are guilty
" 5th Aug., 1649. An ordinance of sessione was made
that the elders should search the taverne houses during
the afternoon service for contemners of the word."
" 12th Aug., 1649. The elders being required to give
3count of yair diligence anent searching ye taverne
houses for contemners of God's worship, reported that
two of them had gone through the town and searched
and had found sundrie in their awin houses, quho declared
to them that they were presentlie going to ye church,
jefore yair coming to them. The sessione, therefore, to
lis end that the wicked prevaricatione of these persons
lay be better detected, ordaine that hereafter they search
lot immediately at ye beginning of afternoon service, but
)etwixt ye closure of ye sermon and ye blessing, or be-
twixt ye last blessing and ye Psalm, that such persons as
len sail be found may be clearly rendered inexcusable."
102 FASTS ORDERED.
16th Jan., 1654. One George Ambrose having been called
before ye sessione to answer a charge of being absent
from church and " selling of aile " on the preceding Sab-
bath, appeared and gave the following curious account
of the cause of his absence from church : " The said
George Ambrose denyed that he sold any aile that day
in tyme of Divine service, and that the trow cause of his
absence was that he had but ane playd betwixt him and
his wife, and that she had the use thereof that day and
was in church. Notwithstanding this naive excuse, how-
ever, the sessione reprove him of his sinne and ordaiue
him to keepe the kirke in tyme cummand under ye pain
The records also contain numerous entries of historical
interest, such as intimations of fasts on account of
national occurrences, &c., of which the following are a
few of the most curious :
" 16th Dec., 1648. The Covenant and ane publick
acknowledgment of the shines of the land were publickly
read before the blessing, and a fast for this effect inti-
mated to be keeped on Thursday first and the next
Sabbath immediately following ; and ye Covenant inti-
mated to be renewed on ye said Lord's day according
to ye ordinance of the Commission of ye General Assemblie."
" 16th Aug., 1649. The same day there was intimat and
read causes of a solemn fast appointed be ye General
Assemblie to be kept throughout all the congregations of
the kingdom upon the last Sabbath of thir instant."
The causes thereof were, inter alia, the following :
" 1. We are to mouriie for the continuance and increase
of siune and profanity, especially of the abominable sinne
of witchcraft, which abounds in ye laud, as appears
from ye frequent discoveries thairof in all corners and
quarters of the countrie.
" 2. We are to afflict our souls before ye Lord for the
sad interruption of the Lord's work in England and
Ireland, and for the sore oppressions of his people and
such as ar steadfast in his cause in these kingdoms b
a prevailing partie of sectaries in ye one and of malig
nauts in the other.
APPLICANT FOB SCHOOLMASTERSHIP. 103
" 3. It is a matter of humiliatione to us that our king
had not as yet granted the just and necessarie desires
of this kirke and kingdom for serving of religioun, and
that he hath made peace with Irish rebels who have shed
so much blood of ye Lord's people and hath granted
them the full liberty of Poperie," &c.
" 14th Nov., 1649. Again another fast was intimated,
one of the causes of which was stated to be 'ye preg-
nant scandall of witchcraft and charming within this
part of the land.' "
" 26th May, 1650. A solemn thanksgiving is intimated
to be keepit upon the 2nd of June, the next Lord's
day, for that wonderful victorie over James Grahame and
his associates, in the north, of late."
ENGLISH ARMY IN SCOTLAND.
"28th July, 1650. Thar was read from ye pulpit a
declaratione of the General Assemblie in answer to a
declaratione of the army of England upon their march
into Scotland, and intimatione of a fast given for the
shines of ye land and for the great danger the cause and
work of God are into by the invasione of sectaries."
COLLECTION IN AID OF GLASGOW.
" 28th Oct., 1652. Intimation is given of a collection ' for
the sadd condition of the towne of Glasgow, being half
" 12th Dec., 1653. It is intimated that ther was ' na
sessione, in respect the elders were withdrawin in attend-
ing some of Glencairn's soldiers who were ranging throw
the paroch.' "
There are also several curious entries respecting par-
ochial matters and discipline, and of a miscellaneous
nature, a few of which are here noted :
APPLICANT FOR SCHOOLMASTERSHIP.
24th Dec., 1648. A schoolmaster being required for the
parish school, a person of the name of Fittie had pre-
sented himself to the sessione as a candidate for that
office, and attended on them for several Sundays to obtain
their decision on his application.
104 IN THE JOUGGS.
The following rather naive minute at last occurs under
the above date, from which it may be inferred that the
applicant had at length become rather importunate, and
that the sessione stood somewhat in awe of the bold
" Compear Mr Patrick Fittie desyriug ane answer. The
session (he being removed) declare yt he was presentlie
a troupier before he presented himself, and yt he was
cashiered as being upone ye unlawful engagement. The
sessione resolve, calling him in again, to discharge him
in a fair way, in respect ther was not a competent pro-
vision yet agreed on, and ordained to give him ' twenty-
foure shillings Scots. ' '
A TWENTY-FOURTH APPEARANCE.
" 12th Aug., 1649. Compeared James Ireland (adult) in
ye public place of repentance (for the twenty-fourth
time), and his minister aggravating his sinne and exhort-
ing him to sorrow and grief of heart for the same, was
continued to give further evidence of the truth of his
AN INDIGENT BARONET.
" 17th Feb., 1650. Given this day to Sir Robert Moubray,
sometime laird of Barnbougal, now become through* ' indi-
gence ' ane poor supplicant, twenty-foure shillings."
ACT ANENT BRYDALS.
"24th Feb., 1650. The Presbytery Act anent brydals,
ordaining thair suld not be above eight persons in ye
side, that thair sauld be no debaucht pypars, nor fiddlers,
nor promiscuous dancing, nor excessive drunkennesse, like-
wise intimate out of ye pulpit."
IN THE JOUGGS.
" 19th July, 1650. The minister inquiring if thir was
anie new scandall, it was declared be some yat Andro
Malchre had most dispytefullie and devilishlie railed
against ye sessione, cursing minister and elders. The said
Andro ordained to evidence his repentance in face of the
congregation, but proving refractory and contumacious
was put ' into the jouggs ' till he agreed to obey the
ADMINISTERING THE LORD'S SUPPER. 105
THE BOATMAN OF BLAIR.
" llth Oct., 1713. Robert Bennet, boatman at Blair, re-
ceived moneys from the collection bag for mending his
boat, in. regard he gets much trouble from the people of
the paroch and others passing to the Church."
ADMINISTERING THE LORD'S SUPPER.
" llth March, 1719. Session constituted according to
appointment. And taking into consideration how to go
about this work in administering the Sacrament of the
Lord's Supper, and how to demean ym selves in this
weighty affair, do hereby order yt up the Sabbath day
" (1). Tho. Spankie and William Sou tar take care of
the elements and serve ym up to the table.
" (2). James Chalmers to take care of the Isle door.
" (3). Yt William Turnbull and Tho. Gilruth wait upon
the High Church door.
"(4). Yt David Gellatly and Tho. Soutar attend the
collection at the churchyard style.
" (5). Thorn. Soutar is appointed to take care yt none
come into the churchyard but at the ordinary entries.
" (6). Tho. Sauuders and John Fferqusone are to wait
upon the east door.
" (7). Pat. Mackie and James Reid to wait upon the
collection at the tent, upon the Sabbath day, on the west
side, and Andrew Chaplin on the east side.
" (8). Charles Robertsone to wait upon the collection
;att ye east end of the churchyard dyck.
" (9). James Skinner to take charge of the west door.
"(10). The collection is ordered to be gathered att the
churchyard style and east of the churchyard, if sermon
be in the church upon the rest of ye days, and if in the
tent the elders are to take yr posts timeously.
"These to gather the collection on the Fast day are
John Fferqusone, Tho. Saunders, Tho. Spankie, Wm.
" Upon Saturday David Gellatly, Tho. Gilruth, Ja. Chal-
.mer.s, Ja. Skinner.
" Upon Monday Ja. Reid, Andrew Chaplin, Tho. Soutar,
106 NEW SCHOOLHOUSE.
" 20th Dec., 1743. The session being informed that
Isabel Cirkgill in Skermic had been guilty of some irregu-
larities on the Lord's day, and, understanding that she
was waiting on, desired their officer to call her, who, on
being called, compeared and confessed herself guilty of
some indecencies about one of her sheep that was worried
on Sabbath morning, for which she was rebuked and ex-
horted to repentance and dismissed."
" 18th Nov., 1744. John Cochran. in ground of Gormak,
compeared and confessed himself guilty of Sabbath breach
by turning over peese which were rotting with the great
rains they had got, whereupon the minister seriously ex-
horted him, rebuked, and dismissed, with certification.
" 6th Oct., 1745. William Owlar and Margaret Lammer,
in ground of Drumlochie, ' confessed themselves guilty of
Sabbath breach by scolding and fighting with each other
in the fields,' were ' sharply ' and ' gravely ' rebuked by
the Moderator, and exhorted to repentance and better
31st Aug., 1746. Reported that " on our late Fast Day
before the Sacrament, Donald Scot, in "Woodsyde, did, with
his shearers, employ the whole day in cutting down his
corn, which gave great offence to all around him."
14th Sept., 1746. Scot appeared, "confessed he had
sinned and given offence, and resolves never to be guilty
of any such practices for the future," was rebuked and
16th Sept., 1771. Gift of two silver cups for the use of
the Church at the Communion, with the following in-
scription on each : " This cup was gifted to the Church
of Blairgowrie by George Soutar, merchant in Blairgow-
rie, Sept. 6th, 1771."
llth Sept., 1772. The plan of new school and teacher's
house was laid before the session, which the schoolmaster
offered to build (except the plaster work) and finish for
POORS' RATES ESTABLISHED.
1776. The heritors agreed that poors' rates be estab-
lished, and that, after applying the interest of the poors'
funds, the sum necessary should be levied, one half from
the heritors and the other half from the tenants accord-
ing to their circumstances. The levying of the tenants'
portion was found extremely difficult and, in course of
time, had to be abandoned.
SABBATH SHOOTING MATCH FOR A Sow.
24th Dec., 1780. Reported "James Duncan Mair, officer
in Hill of Blairgowrie, proclaimed last Lord's Day, after
the dismission of the congregation, that there was a sow
to be shot for on same day of the week thereafter, and
that James Rattray, at the Mills of Rattray, was the
owner thereof, which thing the session considering as a
breach of the Lord's Day, and that it gave general
offence, they hereby appoint both persons to be summoned
against next Lord's Day, that the matter be enquired
Next Lord's Day accordingly, both parties " compeared,
confessed they had done wrong, were seriously exhorted,
and promised not to be guilty of the said crime again,"
and were dismissed.
llth Aug., 1801. " On account of the great scarcity of
provisions for the last two years, and its having been
alleged by persons of high station that the proportion of
land in the kingdom, under cultivation, was not able to
support the increasing population in commumbus annis, to
ascertain this fact and for other important considerations,
the Legislature passed an Act for taking an account of
the population of the kingdom.
" An abstract of the population of the parish was given
by me. this day upon oath; a copy of which abstract is,
by said Act, ordered to be kept by every schoolmaster
and delivered to their successors in office, therefore I have
stitched a copy of my abstract in this place that it may
be preserved along with the book.
(Sgd.) " PETER FORBES, Session Clerk."
The abstract is endorsed by Thomas Whitson, Clerk of
the Peace, and shows there were in the parish 396 houses,
108 SCHOOLS AND SCHOOLMASTERS.
occupied by 447 families ; and 28 unoccupied houses, only
two of which were in the village ; that the population of
the parish consisted of 882 males ;
Of these, 322 were engaged chiefly in agriculture; 281
chiefly in trade, manufacture or handicraft ; " all other
persons," including all the women in the parish, number-
SCHOOLS AND SCHOOLMASTERS THE PARISH SCHOOL.
The earlier parish registers being lost, there are no
authentic records about the school and its masters until
the beginning of the 18th century. The schoolhouse for a
long period of years was situated where the smithy in
Upper Allan Street now stands, end to end with the
teacher's house. In 1710 we have it recorded that the
schoolhouse was repaired, and on 3rd July, 1714, there is
a notice of " ane account ordered to be paid to David
Reid of Blair, ten shillings, to subscribe a disposition of
the school and schoolmrs house," which the session had
bought from a Joseph Watsone for one hundred pounds
Scots, out of the poor box. The schoolmaster had to
undertake to keep the school and house in proper repair
unless relieved by the session. In 1717 it was rethatched
by order of kirk session, at a cost of nearly 20 pounds
Scots, and again in October, 1721. it seems to have got
a new roof, as the following account notes :
To Thomas Saunders, Wright in Loch Blair, for the great
and small timbers thereof, ... ... ... ... 04 00 00
To Alexr. Duncan there for putting on the thack, ... 01 04 00
To James Blair, Officer, for his carriages, the timber
lying at Eastmiln, and his own pains about the same, .. 03 00 00
For two thwaws of thack, ... ... ... ... 01 04 00
To John Butter, in Bankhead, for four days work, meal,
and wages,... ... ... ... ... ' ... ... 01 12 00
To David Waker, in Blair, for two days work,... 00 16 00
To the schoolmr for maintaining a 6oy for leading the
earth, the old rotten timber,
To Thomas Donaldsone, in Hill of Blair, for four days
wages, meal, and drink, notwithstanding of his precorded
engagement to assist at the work, ... ... ... 01 00 00
Summa, 11 16 00
(The error in the " Summa " is due to the Session Clerk.)
PARISH SCHOOL. 109
On the llth September, 1772, a new school and school-
master's house was built, 32 feet long and 15 feet wide,
within the walls, two stories high, the schoolmaster
building the same, except the plaster work and lath, for
forty-five pounds, getting the use of the materials from
the old school and upholding the new buildings at his
own expense during his incumbency.
On the 4th November, 1803, the schoolmaster's salary
was fixed at 400 merks Scots, with 1 Is yearly for a
garden, besides a small garden possessed by him, with
schoolhouse and close belonging thereto.
The school continued to be held in Upper Allan Street
until the year 1840, when the kirk session built and
opened a new Parish School at top of John Street, which
continued to be used as a parish school until it was
closed in 1879, after the opening of the new schools. The
Parish School was latterly sold to the congregation of
St Stephen's Roman Catholic Church, who still conduct
it as a school.
16 Thomas Blair, schoolmaster.
1st March, 1702 Mr Oliphant, schoolmaster.
24th March, 1706 John Anderson, schoolmaster.
25th September, 1709 Alexander Stoddart, schoolmaster,
from Dumbarnie, removed to Dunkeld 19th September, 1714.
19th December, 1714 Patrick Rae. from Ely, removed
to Edinburgh March, 1716.
llth March, 1716 William Gelloch, resigned 9th Novem-
22nd November, 1719 David Ogilvy, from Bendochy,
25th August, 1742 Alex. Badenach, from Kingoldrum,
appointed minister of St Martins, 1750.
llth February, 1750 David Kermock, resigned 1st
^"lOth December, 1752 Andrew Haly, from Methven, re-
signed 17 .
4th December, 1760 William Dow, elected minister of
the parish, 20th April, 1769.
21st June, 1769 Thomas MacGlashan, from Bendochy,
resigned 17 .
9th July, 1798 Peter Forbes, from Murroes, resigned
110 NEW PUBLIC SCHOOL.
16th November, 1804 Thomas Soutar appointed [went
to College 1806], assisted by David Wilkie, Robert John-
ston, A. Hislop, James Douglas.
1806 Interim teacher, Robert Robertson, student of
Edinburgh University, started business as lawyer, ap-
pointed first Bank agent in the town, 17th August, 1832.
PARISH SCHOOL JOHN STREET.
1811 Robert Johnston, deposed 1843 on joining the
Free Church at the Disruption.
-James Douglas, left to be a minister.
1846 Peter Sturrock, from Fife, continued till 1879,
when Parish School closed, He retired with a yearly
pension of 60, and died 1895.
JAMES STREET SCHOOL FIRST FREE. (First year at top
of Jessie Street.)
1843 James Macdouald.
18 Mr Reid.
18 Mr Donald Sinclair.
1851 Mr John Inch, from west of Scotland, died 1867.
1867 Mr John Geddes (left to be a minister), a few
1867 Mr John Malcolm, from Kilbirnie.
School closed in 1879; Mr Malcolm transferred to new
schools as Headmaster, 1879.
WILLIAM STREET SCHOOL SOUTH FREE.
Several gentlemen in Blairgowrie banded together and
procured a teacher who taught for some time here, but,
ultimately, during Rev. C. M'Crie's incumbency, it was
opened in connection with the church.
1865 Mr Binnie ; retired after 9 months ; appointed
Inspector of Schools.
August, 1866 John Barbour.
School closed in 1879; Mr Barbour transferred to new
NEW PUBLIC SCHOOL.
Some years after the introduction of School Boards for
the management of school affairs and the superintendence
of education, the schools originally in connection with the
various churches the Parish, First Free, and South Free
were shut up, and new School Buildings were erected, and
opened on 19th August, 1879, at a cost of over 6000.
Since that time considerable additions and improvements
have been effected on the buildings, and they are now
considered a well-equipped educational institution.
1879 John Malcolm, from James Street School.
1879 John Barbour, from William Street, School.
1884 John Malcolm, resigned.
1884 D. H. Lowson, M.A., removed to Perth, 1887.
1887 D. S. Calderwood, M.A.; appointed in 1896 Princi-
pal of Established Church Training College, Edinburgh.
W. Hamilton Bell, M.A., B.Sc., from Fort William,
Commenced by Mr Burton, followed by
Mr and Miss Lothan, from Northumberland.
Miss Thomson, from Edinburgh.
Miss Anderson, from Craighall.
1836 Miss Kennedy, Granada Cottage, Perth Street, now
occupied by Mr E. Geddes, artist.
112 SEXTONS OF PARISH OF BLAIR.
1838 Jeannie Mackie, Rorry Street.
18 Miss Murray, Meadow Bank Cottage, went to
Australia and married there.
18 Miss Robertson, High Street.
18 Miss Amelia Brodie, above J. L. Ford's shop,
18 Miss Jeannie Brodie, in same place, and after-
wards in James Street.
18 Misses Chalmers, at Erichtside, now the Station
Hotel, removed to Greeugait, Rattray.
1833 James Macfarlaue, school in Gas Brae, went to
1838 Rev. Mr Buttar, school at Tannage.
1839 John Hunter, High Street. This building still
remains, opposite 61 High Street, and till within a few
years past the name Hunter was to be seen painted on
the stone front.
1840 A. M'Donald, Gas Brae.
1842 James Johnstone was a grocer in shop in Allan
Street (John Maclaren's property, now demolished) ; kept
a school in Martin's Lane ; delivered lectures on astro-
nomy in old Parish School ; for many years teacher of
half-timers at the Haugh.
18 Wyllie, in Jessie Street, built Wyllie's land,
now Kinloch Place.
18 Campbell, in Gas Brae, was previously rector
of Grammar School, Dunkeld. He mysteriously disap-
1869 P. Grant, M.A., Brown Street.
ST STEPHEN'S R. C. SCHOOL.
The schools beside the church, now used as a hall, wei
built by Dr Carmont in 1856. During Father Crumley's
incumbency the congregation purchased from the School
Board the Parish School at top of John Street, whei
education in all its branches is carried on under certi-
ficated teachers, the Government Inspector's report beinj
TOWN CRIERS. ll3
SEXTONS OF PARISH OF BLAIR.
17 Walter Rodger.
28th June, 1713 James Blair, Murtown of Ardblair.
1714 Jaines Blair.
17 John Blair, resigned 23rd November, 1774.
23rd November, 1774 William Curr, Muirton of Ardblair.
1780 James Duncan, Mair.
28th October, 1798 John MacLachlan.
1818 John MacLachlan (son of),
1849 John MacLachlan (son of).
1880 Robert Reid (in office at present date).
28th October, 1798 John MacLachlan, died 1818.
1818 John MacLachlan (son of), died August, 1848.
August, 1848 Francis Law, died February, 1849.
January, 1849 Alex. Reid (Posty), for three weeks.
9th February, 1849 John MacLachlan (in office at pre-
Statistical Account of Parish, 1796 Population and Statistical Table-
Conditions and Professions Births, &c. Religious Persuasions
Stock, Rent, &c. Population Character Origin Extent, Surface,
Situation, Soil, &c. Cattle Prices of Provisions and Labour Bleach-
field, Cloth, Stamp Office Climates and Diseases Rivers, Cascades,
Fish, Birds, Scenery, &c. Lakes, Islands, &c. Minerals and Mineral
Springs Woods Manufactures, Mills, &c. Ecclesiastical State,
Schools, &c. Poor Village and Markets State of Property, In-
closures, &c. Agriculture, Produce, &c. Improvements, Farm
Rents, &c. Roads and Bridges Gentlemen's Seats Eminent Men
THIS chapter is devoted to the " Statistical Account of
the Parish of Blairgowrie, by Rev. James Johnstone,
POPULATION AND STATISTICAL TABLE.
Resident in the country, 261 of 590
Resident in the village, 133 183
Majority of Females, 105
Population in 1755, =
CONDITIONS AND PROFESSIONS.
Shoemakers, . . .
Bakers, ... ...
Ale and spirit sellers,
Annual average of births for 7 years past, ...
Annual average of deaths for 7 years past, ...
Members of Established Church, ... ... ... 1507
Members of Presbytery of Relief, ... ... ... 30
Members of Autiburgher Seceders, ... ... ... 100
Members of Episcopalians, ... ... ... ... 12
Members of Roman Catholics,... ... ... ... 2
STOCK, RENT, &c.
Horses, ... 311 Sheep, ......... 1220
Ploughs, ... Ill Pairs of cart wheels, ... 233
Black Cattle, 1269.
Valued rent in Scotch money, 5515 14s
No dependence can be had on the parish registers for
the number or proportion of births and burials. This
may, in some measure, be accounted for from the large
influx of emigrants from other parishes, especially from
the Highlands, who settle here as servants, &c. By com-
paring the report made to Dr Webster, however, with
the result of an accurate enumeration made in October,
November, and December, 1793, we are enabled to state
the exact increase, which is but small in proportion to
the influx of strangers within these years.
The inhabitants of the parish are, in general, sober, in-
dustrious, attentive to their respective callings, and
exemplarily regular in their attendance on divine ordin-
ances. They are charitably disposed, and seem contented
with their condition. They enjoy in a remarkable degree
the benefits and comforts of society, and their houses,
dress, and manners of living are considerably improved.
The name of the parish of Blairgowrie, so called from
the village near which the church stands ; in old papers
it is sometimes written Blair in Gowrie. Various ety :
mologies and interpretations of it have been suggested.
Like many other names in the parish, it is probably
Gaelic. In that language " Blaar " is said to be descriptive
of a place where muir and moss abound. Thus Ardblair
is the " Height in the Muir or Moss." The Muir of Blair
abounding with moss is in the near neighbourhood of the
village. The Walton of Blair, the Lochend of Blair, Little
Blair, and Ardblair are names of places on the borders
of the muir.
EXTENT, SURFACE, SITUATION, SOIL, &c.
The extent of it is considerable, being about 11 English
miles long from S. to N., in some places not less than 8
(as may be seen from Mr Stobie's map of Perthshire).
The figure is irregular, being frequently intersected by
the parishes of Kinloch, Bendochy, and Rattray.
The connected part of it is only about 9 miles long and
from 1 to 2 broad. The parish is divided into two
districts by a branch of the Grampian Mountains which
is the north boundary of this part of the beautiful
valley of Strathmore.
The southern district, which lies in the strath, is about
4 miles long and 1 to 2 broad. In general it is flat. The
northern district, which includes the detached ground, is
high ground, very uneven in the surface. The arable
land in it is, in general, sloping, and in many places very
steep. The hills are mostly covered with heath. Some
of them may be about 600 feet above sea level. The soi
in both places as may be supposed is various. Alongside
of the Isla it is a deep rich loam, free from stones. Im-
mediately north of that is a stiff loam upon a till
bottom, wet and spoutty. This last is a prevailing soil
in the parish, and also a light dry earth full of stones on
a gravel bottom ; in many places there is a thin stratum
of a light black earth, either upon gravel or cold till.
There are considerable tracks of hill, muir, and moss, and
more than 1000 acres are covered with wood. Not above
a third part of the parish consists of arable land.
A good number of horses are reared in the parish
BLEACHFIELD, CLOTH, STAMP OFFICE. 117
They are of very different sizes and value. A consider-
able portion of them are very good draught horses, but
a still greater proportion are small and ill kept. The
former kind are worth from 15 to 25 each ; the latter
from 8 to 12.
Many black cattle are also reared in the parish. Those
in the northern district are small, but they are consider-
ably larger in the other. Great numbers are sold out of
the parish when 3 or 4 years old, particularly the stots.
The stock of sheep is much diminished. They are mostly
of the white-faced kind, of a very small size, and are sold
at from 6s to 9s each. Their wool sells about 14s per
PRICES OF PROVISIONS AND LABOUR.
A boll of oatmeal, weighing 8 stones, sells on an average
at from 14s 8d to 16s; a boll of wheat at 20s; a boll of
barley at 15s ; a boll of oats at 13s ; a boll of peas at
Beef, mutton, and pork are sold at from 3d to 4d a Ib.
Dutch weight. Little good veal is sold in the parish.
A hen sells at from lOd to Is ; a chicken at 4d ; eggs,
3d a dozen ; butter at 8d to 9d a Ib. ; cheese according to
quality and age.
A day labourer receives, during 3 months of the year,
6d per day, and 8d during the other months, with his
Masons and wrights, when they furnish their own pro-
visions, receive Is 8d.
A good ploughman receives 8 to 10 ; a maid-servant
3 with a crop of 2 lippies of lint seed sown in her
master's ground or an equivalent for it if he be not a
BLEACHFIELD, CLOTH, STAMP OFFICE.
There is a bleachfield in the parish of Rattray, about a
mile from Blairgowrie. The cloth is whitened as it is
sent from different quarters. About 50,000 may be the
average number of yards annually wove in the parish ;
the cloth sells at about 8d. Considerable quantities of
household cloth and some Hessian stuffs are also wove in
the district. There was formerly a stamp office in the
village. This was discontinued for some years, but was
again established in 1785. The following abstract was
118 CLIMATES AND DISEASES.
taken from the books containing the number of yards
stamped for the last 8 years, and refers not only to the
cloth wove in the parish of Blairgowrie, but also what
comes from the neighbouring parishes, as well as what is
whitened in the bleachfields :
ANNO. NUMBER OF YARDS.
1787, ... 128,559
1788, ... 130,602
1789, .'.. 165,364
1792, , ... 252,485
Total, ... 1,155,640 yards
Or about 144,455 yearly.
CLIMATES AND DISEASES.
The climate varies in the different parts of the parish.
It is often mild and temperate in the southern district,
while it is sharp in the northern.
A remarkable difference is felt on leaving the former
to go to the latter. In both, however, the air on the
whole is very salubrious, and the inhabitants are not
subject to any peculiar distempers. Formerly, indeed, the
lower part of the parish was much distressed with the
ague, but since some of the lakes have been drained that
disease has totally disappeared. The rheumatism is the
most common disorder, particularly among the poorer
class of people when well advanced in life. Inoculation
for the smallpox is now a good deal practised, and is
almost always successful in preventing the fatal effects of
that disease. There are no instances of extraordinary
longevity in the parish at present, yet there are many
persons living and vigorous who are above 70, and some
above 80. There is only one person above 90.
It may be here mentioned that the lady of a consider-
able proprietor in the parish died not long ago, who saw,
in her own house, 84 returns of Christmas. The mansion-
house is close to several lakes.
RIVERS, CASCADES, FISH, BIRDS, SCENERY, &C. 119
The Isla, which washes the northern part of this parish,
is the most considerable of our rivers. It has been fre-
quently mentioned in former reports. As its banks are
low in this parish, it often suddenly overflows them and
occasions considerable loss and disappointment to husband-
men. This was remarkably the case in harvest, 1789.
The next in size is the Ericht, which, from its rapidity,
has acquired the appellation of the " Ireful Ericht." It
is formed by the junction of the Ardle and Blackwater.
It runs along the east side of the parish for about 9
miles. Its channel in general is very rocky and uneven,
and it often varies in its depth and breadth.
The banks in many places are so low that the river
frequently overflows them and does considerable damage,
especially in harvest. In other parts the banks rise to a
great height, are very inigged, and often covered with
wood. About 2 miles north of the village of Blairgowrie
they rise at least 200 feet above the bed of the river,
and on the west side are formed, for about 700 feet in
length and 220 feet in height, of the perpendicular rock,
as smooth as if formed by the tool of the workman.
The place where this phenomenon is to be seen is called
Craighall, where the traveller may be furnished with one
of the most romantic scenes in North Britain. Here
hawks nestle, and their young ones have been frequently
carried away by falconers from different parts of the
kingdom. Here, also, the natural philosopher and botanist
may find ample amusement.
Two miles further down this river is the Keith, a
natural cascade, considerably improved by art. It is
so constructed that the salmon, which repair there in
great numbers, cannot get over it unless when the river
is very much swelled. The manner of fishing here
is probably peculiar to the place. The fishers during
the day dig considerable quantities of clay and wheel
it to the river immediately above the fall. About sun-
iset the clay is turned into mortar and hurled into the
1 water. The fishers then ply their nets at different
stations below while the water continues muddy. This is
repeated two or three times in the space of a few hours.
'It is a kind of pot net fastened to a long pole which is
I used here.
120 LAKES, ISLANDS, &C.
The river is very narrow, confined by rocks composed
of sand and small stones. The scenery, especially on the
west side, is very romantic and beautiful. Many gentle-
men from all quarters repair to this river for amusement.
From the Keith for about 2 miles down the river there
is the best rod fishing to be found in Scotland, especially
for salmon. The fishing continues from the beginning of
April to the 26th of August. The fishing with the pot
net is confined to a small part of the river near the
Keith. When the water is very small, which is often the
case in summer, the fish are caught in great numbers in
the different pools with a common net. They are neither
so large nor so rich as those of the Tay. The fishing on
this side of the river was long let at 100 merks ; it now
gives 30 sterling. Plenty of trout are found in the river
Ericht. The Ardle also washes this parish for a short
way on the north. Sometimes salmon are caught in it,
and it abounds with trout. Like the Ericht and the Isla,
it frequently overflows its banks.
There are two burns or rivulets remarkable only for
their excellent trout and for driving some corn and lint
LAKES, ISLANDS, &c.
The parish abounds with lakes of different sizes. Till
lately there were more, but some have been drained and
now supply the neighbourhood with peats and marl. In
digging marl out of one of these the skeleton of a large
animal was uncovered at least twelve feet below the
surface. The horns resemble those of a deer, and are of
a very large size.
In the lakes which still remain great quantities of perch
and pike are caught, partly with the rod and partly wit
nets. They are much frequented by wildfowl of differen
In the middle of one of them are the remains of an ol
building on a small island in it, in which tradition sa;
treasures were concealed in perilous times. A district i
this country is said to have acquired the appellation o:
Sto remount from this circumstance. Curling is an exer-
cise at which the inhabitants of this district excel.
MANUFACTURES, MILLS, &C. 121
MINERALS AND MINERAL SPRINGS.
There is no lime-stone in the parish, neither is it well
supplied with freestone, though there are two quarries of
this kind. Some whinstone quarries have been wrought,
and muirstone is found in great plenty. There is one
chalybeate spring in the Cloves of Mawes, which was
formerly much resorted to by persons in the neighbour-
hood. It has been used, it is said, with success in scorbutic
disorders. There are appearances of several more springs
of the same kind in different parts of the parish.
There are two oak woods in the parish, one along the
western bank of the Ericht which is now cutting ; this
cutting sold at 320. There is a smaller wood of the
same kind on the property of Ardblair, and there are
several birch woods in the head of the parish. There are
only a few ash, elm, and plane trees. In 1774 the muir
of Blair, then a common of 500 acres, was divided, and
in 1775 most of it was planted with Scotch firs and the
rest of it has been gradually planted since that time,
partly with larch and partly with Scotch firs. There are
at least 900 acres planted partly with larch and partly
with firs. It is to be regretted that similar plantations
have not been made 011 the moorish grounds in the
There are vast tracts of muir which turn to little
account in their present state. Shelter is much needed
where they abound. The mosses, the greatest source of
fuel, are nearly exhausted and every year become more
difficult of access. Coal is at a considerable distance, and
there is no water carriage.
MANUFACTURES, MILLS, &c.
The principal branches of manufacture carried on in the
parish are spinning and weaving. The women spin it with
their hands. Besides the flax raised in the parish, con-
siderable quantities of foreign flax are spun, and the yarn
is either wove in the parish or neighbourhood or sent to
Considerable quantities of household cloth are wove
here and about 50,000 yards of yard-wides, part of which
122 ECCLESIASTICAL STATE, SCHOOLS, &C.
is bleached iu the neighbouring parish of Rattray, but a
greater proportion is sold in the village of Blairgowrie
and sent green to London. There are 7 meal mills, 2 lint
mills, and 1 fulling mill in the parish. The rate of
multure paid at the meal mills is, in general, about l-12th
part of what is ground.
ECCLESIASTICAL STATE, SCHOOLS, &c.
The stipend, as fixed by a decreet of the Court of
Tiends, in 1791, is five chalders of grain, two-thirds meal,
and one-third bear, with <45 sterling, and 5 for com-
The glebe contains 9 acres, of which 4 are good
ground, the other five, lately obtained in place of grass
ground, are of an inferior quality and a considerable dis-
tance from the manse.
The right of patronage is vested in Col. Allan Macpher-
son of Blairgowrie and Col. William Lindsay of Spynie
in consequence of his marriage with one of the co-heiresses
The church stands 011 high ground about 200 yards
north from the village of Blairgowrie, having a deep
glen planted with different kinds of trees ^ immediately
behind it. It was built in 1767, and is a plain substantial
edifice, at present in good repair but cold in winter.
It would be much improved with being ceiled and
having porches at the doors which are in the ends of it.
The manse and a set of offices were built in* 1771, but
the offices were so ill executed that, after the present
incumbent was settled, it was found more expedient to
repair than rebuild the greater part of them, which was
Both manse and offices are now in good order, as also
the school and schoolhouse.
There is one established school in the parish in which
reading, writing, arithmetic, English, book-keeping, and
some branches of mathematics are taught. From 30 to 50
pupils attend, according to the season of the year. The
present teacher, who has long taught successfully, lately
obtained a small augmentation of salary, but even with
this addition it is only 200 merks.
The school fees are, per quarter, Is for reading, English,
Is 6d for writing, arithmetic, and Latin. The whole
emoluments exclusive of a free house do not exceed 22
a year, a reward by no means adequate to the abilities
and application of so important an office.
There is one charity school occasionally taught in the
head of the parish. In the winter season there are two
or three private schools kept up by the tenants in remote
corners from the parochial school.
There are no begging poor belonging to the parish.
For many years past the average number on the poor's
roll has been 14. The heritors and Kirk Session meet
twice a year to settle the roll ; from 2s to 5s are given
to each, monthly, according to their respective circum-
stances. They also receive occasional donations, especial
in winter ; occasional charities are likewise given to indi-
viduals and families not on the roll, which is attended
with good effects and often prevents them coming on to
it. The fund for the support of the poor arises from the
interests of a small stock, from the collections at the
church doors, from the dues of the mortcloth, and from
the rents of the seats in the galleries of the church,
amounting in all to about 35 sterling. The sum ex-
pended has not varied very much for these last 16 years,
except in 1783 when it was much greater than in any
other yeaa- of the period mentioned. The members of the
Kirk Session are very careful in guarding, on the one
hand, against imposition, and on the other that no
necessitous person be neglected. In 1782 the harvest was
late and the crop was much injured. In 1783 the meal
was scarce and high priced. The Kirk Session employed
the poor's stock in purchasing nieal at a distance, which
was sold at prime cost.
A small proportion of the barley meal voted by Parlia-
ment for the relief of the Highlands was sent to this
parish. Many of the heritors provided good seed corn
for their tenants where it was necessary. Though there
are no begging poor belonging to the parish, yet the
parishioners are much oppressed with beggars and vagrants
from other districts, many of whom are very worthless.
124 STATE OF PROPERTY, INCLOSURES, &C.
VILLAGE AND MARKETS.
The village of Blairgowrie is pleasantly situated on the
north side of Strathniore, almost close upon the River
Ericht. It was made a burgh of barony by a charter
from Charles I. in 1634. The whole of it belongs, in
property or superiority, to Col. A. Macpherson, who is
proprietor of about of the parish.
The situation of the village is Very healthy, and it is
well supplied with water.
There are three fairs held in it annually and some
attempts have been made to have a weekly market in it,
but with little success.
The village is well supplied with butcher meat and
other articles. As it is situated on a military road, any
of the inhabitants may retail ale and spirits on payment
of Is annually.
There are no less than 19 dram shops in it, which must
be attended with bad consequences to the morals of the
STATE OF PROPERTY, INCLOSURES, &c.
There are 22 heritors and a great many feuars in the
village of Blairgowrie ; only one of the greater heritors
resides in the parish. Many of them are possessed of
considerable estates in other parishes. Most of the smaller
proprietors reside upon and farm part of their own property.
The real rent cannot, therefore, be easily ascertained.
Good ground in farms gives from 15s to 21s and some of
it 30s per acre. The land around the village lets at from
30s to 43s. The number of acres in the parish is not
known, as part of it has not been measured. Some pro-
gress has been made in enclosing within these six years,
but still, at least, three-fourths of the parish lie open,
and very few farms have been sub-divided.
The enclosures are either stone dykes or hedges with
ditch ; probably sufficient attention is not paid to this
last kind of fence ; the young thorns should be more
cherished and better defended in order to secure good
One property at the northern district is almost com-
pletely inclosed and sub-divided and lets, from year to
year, considerably higher for pasture than it would do
IMPROVEMENTS, FARM RENTS* &G; 125
upon an ordinary lease for tillage. About four years ago
above ^th of the parish was sold at 36 years' purchase,
and is likely to turn out a good bargain. The rent of
land continues to rise in the parish.
AGRICULTURE, PRODUCE, &c.
The plows are of the Scotch make, considerably im-
proved. Within these twelve years there has been a
considerable alteration in the mode of plowing. In general
the plow is now drawn by two horses and driven by the
man who holds it. In breaking up old ley or in giving
the first plowing to stiff land 3 horses are sometimes
yoked, and in one or two corners the plough is driven by
4 horses yoked abreast and driven by a man who holds
the horses by the halters and Avalks backwards. In
general the farmers in the northern districts are very
industrious, but they are only emerging out of the old
method of culture. The distinction of outfield and infield
takes place in some degree. Turnips and sown grass are
only beginning to find their way into this district.
The want of inclosures and winter herding are great
obstacles to their progress, particularly in those places
where sheep are kept. The tenantry here labour under
many disadvantages. Much of their time in summer is
consumed in procuring fuel ; they are far from manure,
the ground lies open, is full of baulks and large stones,
and in some places is very wet and spouty. This last
circumstance, with the coldness of the climate, many plead
as an apology for not having more of their farms in
sour grass for summer feeding and hay. They allow that
white clover and ryegrass succeed with them, but com-
plain that the roots of the red clover are frequently
thrown out in spring.
Inclosing, draining, and clearing of the ground of stones
are much wanted in this district.
The crops raised in it are barley, oats, potatoes, a small
proportion of pease, turnips, sown grass, and some flax.
All the flax raised in the parish is spun in it and the
rents of many of the smaller farms are mostly paid with
the money got for the yarn spun in the winter months.
IMPROVEMENTS, FARM RENTS, &c.
Greater progress in improvement has been made in the
126 IMPROVEMENTS, FARM RENTS, &C.
southern district than in the other. Here the new method
of husbandry is more generally practised, and excellent
crops are raised of wheat, pease, barley, oats, potatoes,
turnips, grass, and also some flax. But even here suffi-
cient attention is not paid to a proper rotation of cropping.
The following rotations are most universally observed.
Where wheat is raised the rotation is thus: After grass
comes oats with grass seeds, then summer fallowing, then
wheat, pease, barley. The dung is given to the wheat.
In the division for pease, potatoes and turnips are raised
along with the pease and get a little dung ; sometimes
the grass is kept two or three years, but more frequently
only one year. On the farms where the wheat is not
sown, the following rotation takes place : After three
crops of grass the ground is broken up for oats, of which
one crop is taken. The oats are followed with turnips,
potatoes, and pease in one division. Barley with grass
seeds succeed the green crop ; the dung is given to the
In the division for oats a proportion of flax is sown,
and not infrequently a crop both of barley and oats is
taken after the green crop, and the grass seeds in that
case are sown with the oats.
The farms in both districts are of different sizes, from
10 to 130. Part of the parish is let in small possessions
of a few acres to tradespeople, and this is one reason for
the great number of ploughs and horses, as there are
often a plough and 2 horses where the possession does
not exceed 12 acres. Where the farmer does not carry on
his work with the assistance of his children, it is generally
done by servants who live in the family, except in harvest,
for which additional assistance is secured some months
before. Sometimes a house, kailyard, and an acre of land
are given to tradespeople who pay their rent by assisting
in harvest and at turnip-cleaning.
Oats are sown about the middle of March to the middle
of. April, then pease and lintseed, bear is sown in May,
and turnips in June. The harvest generally begins in the
end of Angust. It is somewhat later in the district to
the north. The parish more than supplies itself with
grain. Considerable quantities, particularly of barley, are
sold out of it.
GENTLEMEN'S SEATS. 127
ROADS AND BRIDGES.
The great road from Coupar Angus to Port George
passes through this parish. It was made at the expense
of Government, and is kept in good repair by the statute
labour of the country, with the occasional assistance of
military parties. It was regretted that a different direc-
tion was not given it after it reached Blairgowrie. Had
it been made to cross the Ericht at Blairgowrie, run
along the east side of that river, recross it near Craig-
hall, and keep lower clown in its course through Mause,
the high ground over whieh it now passes would have
been avoided, and the traveller would have been saved
many a long and steep ascent. The great road from
Dunkeld to Kirriemuir also passes through the parish,
and cuts the military road at right angles. It is kept
in tolerable repair ; the cross roads are many. Till
lately the statute labour was enacted in kind ; it is now
commuted at the rate of from 8s to 12s for every plough-
gate, or 10s for every 100 Scotch of valued rent. There
are no turnpikes. Besides many small arches over small
streams there are four bridges, two on the military road,
one over the Blackwater, and one over the Ericht. The
last two were built by subscription.
Newton House, once the seat of the Proprietor of the
Barony of Blairgowrie, and lately possessed by the pre-
sent proprietor, is an old building something in the style
of a castle.
It stands about the middle of the south slope of high
ground which bounds Strathmore on the north, and has
a most commanding view, not only of Strathmore, butr
also of parts of different counties. About half a mile
further west lies the mansion of the old family of the
Blairs of Ardblair. That family were long the proprie-
tors of a most extensive property in the parish, and are
I still possessed of a fifth part of it. The mansion-house
I seems evidently to have been surrounded with water on
I .three sides. The lake has been drained, and considerable
| treasures of moss and marl have been discovered.
The proprietor of Blairgowrie and Mause lately built a
] most substantial and commodious house, with offices, about
a fourth-of-a-mile south from the village of Blairgowrie,
on a beautiful flat near the banks of the Ericht. When
the planting has got up it will be a most delightful
George Drunimond, Esq., who long distinguished himself
as a public-spirited magistrate in Edinburgh, who was
five or six times elected Lord Provost of that metropolis,
and who had so active a hand in promoting the erection
of the Royal Infirmary, Royal Exchange, &c., was born
in Newton House of this parish.
There are the remains of several Druidical temples in
the parish. Immediately behind the manse there is a cir
cular mound or mote hill, where it is said Earl Gowrie
held his Regality Courts. It consists of strata and earth
and is surrounded on the top with a dyke of the same
materials. There are some large cairns. Besides these
there are many smaller tumuli running through the paris
in different directions from an encampment in the neig
bo tiring parish of Kinloch.
The time consumed in providing seed, corn, and turf
and in bringing coals from Perth and Dundee, is a gret
bar to improvement. The distance from these towns is
great disadvantage. This will in some measure be remove
by the proposed bridge over the Isla near its junctioi
with the Tay, and the road leading from the bridge
Perth, which will shorten the distance from this paris
to that town about four miles.
The tenants are beginning to bring lime from Pertl
they will do it more easily when the road is made ai
the bridge built.
Converting into money the services performed by the!
tenants, enclosing and sub-dividing their farms, ai
making plantations of larches and Scotch firs in
hilly and moorish grounds, would doubtless tend muc
to the cultivation and improvement of the country.
Castles and Mansions : Ardblair Clunie Drumlochy Glasclune Gor-
mack Knock-ma-har Kinclaven Lady Lindsay's Castle Tower of
Lethendy Loch Blair Murthly Newton Castle of Rattray Craig-
hall Parkhill Blairgowrie House Druidsmere Meikleour Delvine
Ballied Logic Falcon House Altamont Mount Ericht. Legends,
Ballads, &c. : "Oh! wae's me, Cluny" "Hey! an' How !" Elegaic
Poem on Bishop Rattray The Green Ladye o' Newton Ye Bailzies
o' Blair The Curlers' Dinner, 1745.
AN old building, about a mile west from Blairgowrie.
Up to 1895 (when structural alterations were made to
modernise it) it still retained its courtyard form, with a
good entrance gateway surmounted by a coat of arms,
monogram, and date-panel marked 1668. In the mono-
gram the letter " B " is distinctly visible, referring to the
family of " Blair," who long were in possession.
The dwelling-house was on the right, with cellars and
servants' accommodation on the left. The former was a
simple oblong, with vaulted cellars on the ground floor,
and a room on each of the upper floors. The staircase is
contained in a wing, which juts out to the west as well
as to the soiith. so as to command two sides of the main
block with shot-holes. The old entrance door of the
house is in the re-entering angle of the wing, and is of
a very remarkable design : the ornament and sculptured
band surrounding the recess for owner's crest, bearing a
similarity to 17th century monuments.
The estate was in the possession of Thomas Blair, son
of Blair of Balthayock, from the reign of David II., and
was of great extent. The site of the Castle was then
defended by a loch, long since diminished by drainage, so
that it is now at some distance from the building. The
j i Blairs of Ardblair were mixed up with all the local feuds,
| j and had occasionally to pay the penalty. The entrance
I to the Castle is through a beautiful avenue of trees, at
THE CASTLE OF CLUNIE.
once the glory and pride of Ardblair, said to have been
planted after the Battle of Culloden in token of the
loyalty to Prince Charlie of the Oliphants of Gask, to
whom the estate had passed, and to whose descendants
it now belongs.
THE CASTLE OP CLUNIE
Is a simple and well-preserved structure, which stands
on an island in the loch of Cluuie, about 5 miles west
of Blairgowrie. The locality was in early times dignified
with the presence of a much more imposing castle, said
to have been the summer palace or hunting-seat of
Kenneth M'Alpiii in the ninth century. As a stronghold
of some note it was occupied in 1296 by Edward I.
CLUNIE LOCH AND CASTLE.
It stood on the " Castle Hill," a level platform on the
west side of the loch. In 1377 John De Ross was ap-
pointed, by Robert II., keeper of the Castle of Clunie,
and the lands afterwards passed into the possession of
the See of Dunkeld.
The existing Castle on the island is stated to have been
built by Bishop Brown (1485-1514) as a quiet retreat. The
building has been restored and put in good order, pro-
THE CASTLE OF GLASCLUNE. 131
bably about the end of last century. At the Reformation
the Bishop was a Crichton, who disposed of the Castle
to a relative of his own, Robert Crichton of Eliock, in
Dumfriesshire. This gentleman took up residence in the
Castle, and a son was born to him in 1660 James Crichton,
afterwards known as the " Admirable Crichton." The
estate eventually passed into the hands of the Earls of
Airlie, and is now possessed by Mr Cox of Snaigow.
THE CASTLE OF DBUMLOCHY
Stood opposite Glasclune on the east side of the ravine
which separates the parishes of Blairgowrie and Kinloch.
The Blairs of Glasclune and the Herons of Drumlochy
were at constant feud, " which the proximity of their
strongholds afforded them abundant opportunity of grati-
fying by a constant and harassing system of petty warfare,
attended with considerable bloodshed on both sides, till
at length the struggle was ended in the total discomfiture
of the Laird of Drumlochy and the demolition of his
fortress." A few fragments are all that remain.
THE CASTLE OF GLASCLUNE
(The home of the Blairs of Glasclune), now in ruins,
stands on the west side of the ravine formed by a tribu-
tary of the Lornty, about 2 miles N.W. of Blairgowrie.
The foundations of the main portions are visible, but
the round tower at the north-east angle, with the north
gable and the southern part of the block, are pretty w T ell
The stonework of the central block was ruthlessly de-
molished in order to be used elsewhere on the estate.
The remains are so imperfect that the internal arrange-
ments cannot now be made out. The entrance doorway
and staircase were in the round tower connected with the
south wing, and the principal rooms were no doubt on
the first floor.
Close by, in 1392, was fought the Battle of Glasclune,
and from this Castle marched the murderers to the
Drummond Massacre, 1554.
Herring (or Heron) is half suspected of the Drummond
conspiracy, though not named. With the " Hays " of
I Gourdie also he had an unsettled quarrel, which, but for
132 THE CASTLE OF KINCLAVEN.
his pride, might have been settled by a matrimonial
alliance with the young laird. Hay was in love with one
of Heron's daughters, and on the occasion of paying her
a nocturnal visit, was shot by her father, who, feeling
his cup about full and vengeance everywhere in the rear,
betook himself to the army in the "Mar" rebellion, which
made his bitter cup to run over, as on the suppression
of the rebellion, he dared to retreat to his private strong-
hold, when they ferreted him out. Finding the Castle sur-
rounded, he jumped out at a window, escaped, and sailed
for France, where in remorse and misery he lingered out
a wretched existence.
THE CASTLE OP GOBMACK.
There are now no remains of the Castle of Gormack to
be traced, but it is supposed to have stood near the site
of the present farm-house of West Gormack.
It belonged to the family of Buttar, and was a place
of considerable strength in 1550.
THE CASTLE OP KNOCK-MA-HAR
Has, like its neighbour of Gormack, entirely disappeared,
and no trace can be got where it existed.
THE CASTLE OF KINCLAVEN
Is situated on the right bank of the Tay, about 5 miles
south-west from Blairgowrie. It consists of a square
enclosure measuring about 130 feet over the walls which
are 7i feet in thickness, and in height vary from 15 to
25 feet. Circular towers were at each of the angles,
entered from the courtyard by narrow doors. The prin-
cipal entrance was near the south end of the west side,
and is 9 feet 8 inches wide, and was provided with port-
cullis. There is a postern about 2 feet wide in the centre
of the south front, defended by a square tower of which
only part of one side now remains. The walls show
neither shot nor loop holes these probably being con-
fined to the flanking towers of the interior buildings,
not a vestige of which remains. The Castle was a royal
residence in the time of Alexander III., and is mentioned
in 1264, when payments are made for the carriage of wine
to Kinclaven, and for the repairing of a boat. Early in
LADY LINDSAY'S CASTLE. 133
1297, Edward I., in his progress northwards, visited Kin-
claveii and stayed there one night ; and, in the year 1299,
Wallace with a handful of men attacked it and put the
entire garrison to the sword. An iron plate fixed on the
Castle walls commemorates this exploit " Wallace took
this fort in the year 1299. Placed A.D., 1869."
Although demolished by the Scots, the castle was evi-
dently put in order again, and in 1335 was held by
Edward III., then master of Scotland, but in the following
year was recaptured by the Scots.
In its decay the spacious court has been turned into an
orchard, and its walls give support to innumerable creepers,
which give a touch of the picturesque to the extensive
LADY LINDSAY'S CASTLE
Stood on an impending ledge near Crag Liach the
Eagle's Crag north-west from Craighall. The crag is a
huge mass of conglomerate, a sheer grey precipice, and
ialmost as smooth as though dressed by a mason's chisel.
At the base is a cave which seems to have been cut out
by the violent removal of some masses of rock. Viewed
from the top of the crag, the spectator becomes impressed
with awe ; far below the ireful Ericht wheels round an
abrupt angle and suddenly composes itself in a great pool,
fcalm, deep, and black as night.
Xear the brink of the ledge are some uncertain vestiges
f what is said to have been a round tower, part of a
castle in which a Lady Lindsay was immured, in her
Batter days, to expiate a heinous crime.
That lady was Janet Gordon, of the noble house of
'Hvmtly, and grand-daughter of James I., and whose first
husband was Alexander, master of Crawford. He was an
unprincipled desperado, renewed a family feud with the
house of Glamis, took part against his father in his struggle
for James III., and became the leader of a lawless band
who ravaged the lands of friends and foes alike. In one
of his forays he came in contact with his younger brother
John, and, joining in single combat, the younger brother
wounded the elder.
Alexander was removed to Inverqueich Castle (east
from Alyth), where he is said to have died of his wounds
The popular belief, however, was that he was smothered
THE TOWER OF LETHKNDY.
in his bed, with the knowledge and connivance of his
wife. The family records support this view, as an M.S.,
dated 1586, says " He was smorit be his wife."
Tradition says that the murder of Lord Lindsay was
not unavenged. Although Lady Lindsay had two other
husbands, her spirit, when she died, haunted the hoary
Castle of Inverqueich, where her nightly lamentations
were heard for ages. The forms of herself and her hus-
band were often seen on the narrow cliff between the
Castle and the Isla, where, on bended knee and clad in
snowy weeds, she craved the forgiveness of her husband.
Tired of her importunities at Inverqueich, he is said
to have doomed her latterly to live out her penance to
the end of time on Crag Liach, where the unfortunate
lady was not allowed to remain idle, as her restless spirit
had to abide iu the eerie tower of her Castle until she
should have spun an unbroken thread long enough to
reach the heavens and form a ladder for her ascent to
the realms of peace, to enjoy for ever the society of
her injured lord.
THE TOWER OF LETHENDY,
The residence of Col. Gammell, is situated on the steep
banks of a small stream, about 4 miles south-west from
Blairgowrie. The original building is supposed to have
been founded about 1570, by Sir David Herring (Heron)
of the family of Herring of Drumlochy. The structure was
three storeys in height, with walls of great thickness,]
and the lower and some of the upper apartments ar<
vaulted in mason work.
The old entrance door was on one face of the block,
with the staircase to both floors on the adjoining wing.
In a panel above the door is a shield bearing the arms
of the Herrings (Heron), the family to whom the fortress
belonged, with the date 1678. Extensive additions wei
made to the old edifice in 1885, in the Scottish baronial
style, and the old " tower " was converted into the kitchei
and servants' apartments. The new additions were built
with the warm-tinted old red sandstone from a quarry 01
the estate. There is a lofty tower, surmounted by a pent-j
house and corner corbelled turrets, forming a most pictuj
esque feature in the landscape. The old tower seems
THE CASTLE OF MURTHLY. 135
have been surrounded by a moat, and there is a stately
hedge-row on the west side.
THE CASTLE OF LOCH BLAIR
Was built on a slightly rising eminence about a mile
south of Blairgowrie ; it is supposed to have been a small
structure built in a rude, rough style, early in the
fifteenth century. It belonged to a family named Coupar,
the only one of whom we have record being Andrew, who
was brutally murdered near Meigle in 1706. He is said
to have been a stubborn, morose, young gentleman, caring
little for anything save what he got in the " aile stoup "
or the saddle.
There are no vestiges to be found of this castle, and it
is supposed to have been demolished and swept away by
the ruthless destructors of property during the rebellion
of '45. The site of it is said to be near where Rose-
mount mansion is now built, a few magnificent fir trees
marking the spot.
THE CASTLE OF MURTHLY
Is a fine old building, situated on the Tay, about 7
miles west from Blairgowrie. The original Castle seems
to have been a small keep at the south-west corner of the
courtyard, with an apartment on each floor about 14 feet
square, and a staircase in a slightly projecting turret at
5he south-east corner. The structure has at different
fcimes been very largely added to, and extended into three
sides of a courtyard. The greatest extensions were pro-
3ably erected after the estate came into the possession of
|iie Stewarts Barons of Grandtully, in 1615. The central
portion of the building is evidently the latest addition,
ontaining the entrance door, hall, &c. These are on the
Hirst floor, and the entrance door is at the top of a double
light of exterior stairs. The whole series of erections
form a striking and picturesque pile. In the beginning of
lihis century the sixth baronet commenced a new mansion
in the Elizabethan style, which still stands unfinished,
lot far from the old castle. In 1891, on the death of the
mst of the Stewarts, the estates passed into the possession
>f Mr Stewart Fothringham of Fothringham, Forfarshire.
THE OLD CASTLE OF NEWTON
Is situated immediately to the north-west of the town,
and is supposed to have been built in the early part of
the 14th century.
To the south-east is an angle tower, square in form,
which contains the staircase ; the north-west tower is cir-
cular below, and brought out to the square form on the
top storey with corbelling. It was sacked by the Marquis
of Montrose in 1645, and again in 1650 by Cromwell.
Several additions have been made to the structure at
various times, 1735, 1839, and 1885. and it is now in good
repair, quite modernised but retains many of its old feat-
ures. Like many other old buildings it is said to be
possessed of a ghost in the form of a lady dressed in
green, " the green lady," who still haunts some apartments.
THE CASTLE OF RATTRAY,
All traces of which have now been lost, originally stood
on the " Castle Hill," a large mound south-east of Rat-
tray, and was built by Alanus de Rattray, a favourite
of William the Lion, about 1170. An old MS. says
" The Castle of Rattray hath a pleasant situation upon
a little green mound about a quarter of a mile in length;
the castell stood upon the east end thereof, with a chapel
lower down. The arms of that family are Shield azure,
three crosses of Jerusalem ; supporters, two serpents,
crest, above a mullet or heart proper. Motto ' Supei
siderae votum ' (' My desires are above the stars.') "
There is traditionary evidence that the Rattrays took
part in the Crusades, which would account for the crosses,
the special symbol of the Crusaders.
About the time of the Reformation the family seem
have vacated the Castle of Rattray and erected a new
fortress at Craighall, as in all records after 1650 the
family are designated as of Craighall. The estates have,
however, been in possession of the Rattray family and
their descendants for about 800 years.
The present house of Craighall is generally supposed]
to have been built about 1650, as in all family records
after that time the Rattrays are designated "of Craig-J
hall." The house is about three miles from Blairgowrie,
and the scenery is of the most picturesque description.
Pennant, the traveller, describes its position " The situa-
tion of it is romantic beyond description ; it is placed in
the midst of a deep glen, surrounded on all sides with
wide extended dreary heaths, where are still to be seen
the rude monuments of thousands of our ancestors who
fought and fell ; " while Sir W. Hooker describes the
mansion of Craighall as " clinging like a swallow's nest
to the craggiest summit of the eastern bank, and har-
monising perfectly with the adjoining rocks."
" We stand upon the dizzy height
And feel a thrill of strange delight ;
Far down below dark Ericht glides,
The tall pines towering o'er its sides,
On bank and brae wave birken bowers,
And spreading beech guard mountain flowers.
" Uprising from its rocky bed
Thy noble mansion rears its head ;
For ages it hath firmly stood
Unscathed by storm or angry flood.
And long may Heaven protect and spare
Craighall so wild and yet so fair ! "
The view from the balcony overlooking the river is
very striking. The restless and turbulent stream " the
ireful Ericht " dashes through the deep ravine with
resistless force, and its impetuous course can be traced
from this point for a considerable distance. The foliage
which clothes the naked rocks with verdure is abundant,
but despite its appearance the spectator, placed on this
giddy height, can never forget that he is standing on the
verge of a dangerous precipice, whilst he sees the river
boiling in fury far below him. From other parts of the
mansion wide stretches of sylvan scenery are visible,
though an irresistible fascination carries him always back
to this balcony as the most wildly romantic standpoint
Near Craighall the road is lined with venerable beeches,
and their bright green foliage is a welcome shade in
summer from the scorching heat of the sun. The house
itself bursts quite unexpectedly upon the visitor, afford-
ing a most agreeable surprise. There are numerous walks
among the policies around, those having the best views
being up the ravine. A short way up the higher walk
is placed a rustic seat, from which a most effective view
is obtained, and no one has an idea of the extent of
Craighall House, or the romantic beauty with which it
blends itself, until he has seen it from this point. Al-
most opposite is Crag Liach, a rock rising from the river's
side to the perpendicular height of over 200 feet, and
so smooth that it looks as if Nature had used a plumb
in its construction. A little further up and upon the
verge of a precipice is the remains of a tower Lady
Lindsay's Castle. About a mile from the entrance is a
foghouse, from which a fine view is seen down the ravine.
Further up, at Land's End, where the walk ends, there is
a beautiful cascade, formed by the waters of a burn
falling from a height of 20 feet into a natural basin,
which again discharges its waters over the rock into the
The ravine, the bottom of which is reached by numerous
zig-zag walks, along the face of, and far up the sides of
the rocks, is lined with hazel and alder, so dense that
the river in some places in scarcely discernible ; nearer
the top the birch and the rowan trees bloom in beauty,
while in summer the air is redolent with incense the
breath of many noble specimens of pinnaceae which adorn
Craighall and neighbourhood have been invested with
a new and powerful interest since the publication of the
Life of Scott by his son-in-law, Mr J. Gibson Lockhart.
During the greater part of the summer of 1793, Sir Walter
Scott enjoyed an excursion which much extended his
knowledge of Highland scenery and character, and, in par-
ticular, furnished him with the richest stores, which he
afterwards turned to account in many of his poems and
romances. After mentioning several of the places he
visited, the narrative proceeds : " Another resting-place
was Craighall, in Perthshire, the seat of the Rattrays,
a family relative to Mr Clerk who accompanied him. From
the position of this striking place, as Mr Clerk at once
perceived and as the author at once confessed to him
that of the Tullyveolan of Waverley was very faithfully
The kindness of the Craighall family, in affording the
public free access to the grounds, is worthy of the highest
commendation, and ought to inspire with gratitude all
who have the privilege of visiting them. The boon, how-
ever, like too many other public privileges, has not been
appreciated as it ought to have been indeed, it has been
frequently abused, and may lead to the grounds being
made exclusively private. Tuesdays and Fridays are free
days ; on other days a small charge is made on visitors,
the proceeds of which go to the Perth Infirmary.
Occupying one of the best sites in Perthshire, and
commanding a most extensive view of the Howe of Strath-
more, was built in 1887 by Capt. Charles Hill-Whitson,
whose ancestors first came to Parkhill about the year 1600.
This is the fourth mansion which succeeding lairds have
built, but this present one exceeds former buildings in
extent, choice of sight, substantiality, furnishing, and
The residence of the Superior of the Burgh, was built
in 1792 by Col. Allan Macpherson. It is a plain building
outwardly, but the internal arrangements are on a
magnificent scale of elegance combined with comfort. Ex-
tensive additions were made in 1890. The house is beau-
tifully situated within well laid-out policies.
The residence of Mr I. Henry- Anderson, S.S.C., and
situated a mile south of Blairgowrie, forms a very domi-
nant feature, reminding one of the old French chateaux,
so frequently met with in the south of France, with their
lofty corner turrets and high-pitched roofs.
The property of the Marquis of Lansdowne, is an ex-
tensive pile, beautifully situated on the banks of the Tay,
near its junction with the Isla. The house consists of a
centre of three storeys, with parallel wings of two storeys,
and a range in right angle behind the south wing.
Before the house, and bounded on the south by the
140 MOUNT BRIGHT.
Tay, is a beautiful lawn, on which there are some noble
specimens of the elm, beech, larch, plane, and oak. A
little to the north-east of the house, on the margin of
the lawn, is a bronze dial, on which is engraved the
Meikleour Arms. About a fourth-of-a-mile east is the
great Beech Hedge, recognised to be one of the arboreal
wonders of the world.
Is situated on a square of 160 acres, steep on all sides,
and elevated 60 feet above the surrounding plain.
There are traces of a Roman station about 500 yards
square part of a redoubt near the eastern point of the
area on the top of the bank a long line from east to
west and on the western part of the hill a strong semi-
circular fort fenced on the east side by five ramparts of
earth and as many ditches. This is recognised as one of
the stations which Agricola established before his engage-
ment with Galgacus, A.D. 84. Delvine is the residence of
Sir Alexander Muir Mackenzie.
The residence of Major Campbell of Achalader, on a
commanding site, beautifully embosomed among the trees,
is about 3 miles west from Blairgowrie.
3 miles west, is the residence of Mr David M'Ritchie,
At the west end of the town, is the residence of Lieut.-
Col. Surgeon G. G. MacLaren.
Is finely situated on the rising ground to the west of ]
Blairgowrie House, and belongs to Dr George Ballmgall.
The property of Mr James Ogilvy, is a substantie
residence on the rising ground up from the Bridge of
ELBGAIC POEM ON BISHOP RATTRAY. 141
LEGP:NDS, BALLADS, &c.
"On, WAE'S ME, CLUNY!"
There is a, legend connected with the district that the
laird of Glume shot the laird of Lochblair dead, in the
Churchyard of Caputh, in consequence of the former
marrying the sweetheart of the latter. A ballad, of
which the following are a few lines, says :
Oh, wae's me, Cluny!
WT your lia's an' your towers,
You've wedded my Jeanie
Wi' your orchards and flowers.
There's gold in my coffers
But there's nane in Lochblair.
Bonnie Andro Coupar,
His sword out he drew,
And he swore that thro' Cluny
He wad mak' it gae thro'.
"HEY! AN' How!"
Part of a refrain of another and older ballad relates
also to the neighbourhood, and to two rival families :
Hey I the Birds o' Benothy! and
How ! the Bissats o' Ferold !
Tradition says that a beautiful daughter of the former
was sent daily by her parents to the kirkyard of Ben-
dochy to walk there, to keep her in mind of her mortal
ELEGAIC POEM ON BISHOP RATTRAY.
There is preserved a Latin elegaic poem on Bishop Rat-
tray's death in Hexameter and Pentameter verse, by the
Rev. Mr Skinner, author of " Tullochgorum," :
" Dum numerat doctum renitens ecclesia prolem
Totque videt sanctos undique Iseta patres.
Dum depressa jacet, nee concutit haeresis anna,
Opprimet, heu ! subitus gaudia tanta dolor !
Cessit Rattraius fato, Rattraius et ille,
Quern timuere hostes, quern coluere boni." .
142 THE GREEN LADYE O' NEWTON.
Which may be translated in the same measure :
Now that our church again shining beholds a numerous offspring,
Now that, all around, fathers so holy abound,
Now that heresy vanquish'd lies, nor raises a weapon,
On a sudden, lo ! joys are extinguished in woe.
By the Divine decree Rattray has gone, even he whom
Enemies all did fear, good men all did revere.
THE GREEN LADYE o' NEWTON.
The ladye Jean sits in her bower,
Her cheeks are like the snaw ;
She winna work, she canna play.
Sin' Ronald's gaed awa'.
" Gae bring tae me the crimson silk, ,
Gae bring tae me the blue ;
Gae bring my siller-buckled shoon,
My satyne boddice new.
" An' busk me in my cramasie,
But an' the velvet black,
My perlin's fine, an' gowden kame,
To wile my fause love back."
Up an' spak a grey auld wife,
Was fourscore years an' mae :
" Licht, licht's the luve that can be coft
Wi' gowd an' buskins gay.
" But an' ye be young Ronald's bryde,
A sair darg ye maun dree ;
For the witchin' claith ye canna buy
Wi' the red an' white monie.
" Gae cut a bout o' the kirkyard grass,
An' a branch frae the rowan tree
That stands by itsel' on the Gallows Knowe,
Whar they hanged the murderers three.
" Gae twist an ell-lang rashy wyth,
An' tak' them doon alane
Tae the Coble Pule, 'tween the licht an' the dark,
An' sit on the Corbie Stane."
She has ta'en her a bout o' the kirkyard grass,
An' a branch frae the rowan tree,
That stands by itsel' on the Gallows Knowe,
Whar they hang'd the murderers three.
She has twisted an ell-lang rashy wyth,
An' sits in her bower alane,
Wi' her heart in a lowe, at the thocht o' her luve,
An' she waits till the day is gane.
THE GREEN LADYE O' NEWTON. 143
An' at nicht she gaed tae the Coble Pule,
The licht an' the dark atween,
An' a' that nicht, frae dark tae licht,
She sat wi' steekit een.
She hadna sat an oor ava,
Never an oor but ane,
Whan she heard the win' sough thro' the trees
Wi' an eerie, eerie grane.
An' next she heard the howlets' cry
Within the saughen wud,
An' next the water kelpies' rout
Aboon the Ericht's flood.
An' then she heard, jist at her lug,
A gruesome, eldritch lauch ;
An' then a voice cam' up the stream
Frae oot the Mill o' Haugh :
1 Warlock wabsters, ane an' a',
Weave the witchin' claith ;
Warp o' grass an' weft o' rash
Weave the web o' death."
But aye she sat, an' aye she sat,
Nor spak' the lang nicht thro',
She was deadly cauld, an' her heart was glad
Whan the early gor-cock crew.
An' at the dawin' o' the day,
Whan she oped her steekit een,
She wis dinket out frae head tae heel
In the witchin' claith o' green.
There's mirth an' daffin' in Newton Ha'
The lady Jean's a bryde ;
She's cled in a gown o' the witchin' claith,
An' she stands at Ronald's side.
Wae's me for you, my ain true love,
That ever this should be ;
But a mortal cauld is at my heart,
I fear that I maun dee.
' An' I hear a soon' that I heard afore,
Whan a' my leafu' lane,
Thro' the mirk midnicht tae the rnornin' licht
I sat on the Corbie Stane."
They hae ta'en her up tae a chamber hie,
An' sune she steekit her een ;
They hae streekit her corpse on the brydal bed,
In her brydal bed o' green.
144 YE BAILZIES O' BLAIR.
They hae streekit her oot i' the cauld munelicht,
An' tae Knockie Hill they hae gane,
They hae howkit her grave, an' happit her doon,
An' set at her head a stane.
An' every year at Hallowe'en,
That stane, whan it hears the soon'
O' the midnicht bell frae the Paroch Kirk,
Turns three times roun' an' roun'.
An' the ladye Jean comes oot frae the mools,
An' doon tae the Newton Ha'.
Frae sic a sicht. on that ghaistly nicht,
The gude Lord keep us a'.
YE BAILZIES o' BLAIR.
(By John Bridie, Bailie in 1871.)
Oh, mony a sang has been made aboot men
That never existed, or fowk dinna ken ;
But for my sang an' subjec' ye 're a' boun' tae care ;
An' why should ye no? it's ye Bailzie o' Blair.
Some names dinna fully express what they mean,
An' your technical phrases are hard to be seen ;
But this simple teetle should plainly declare
It's innerent importance ye Bailzie o' Blair !
Does ony ane question the greatness an' worth
O' this awful official that reigns i' the north ?
Jist let him get fou' an' disorderly there,
An' he'll sune ken what's meant by ye Bailzie o' Blair.
The frolicsome fellows that caper an' spree,
Excursionists starring frae Perth an' Dundee,
An' tinklers an' poachers ken hoo tae beware
O' the dread definition o' ye Bailzie o' Blair.
The laddies that pilfer the gardens o' fruit,
The carter or cadger that trachles his brute,
The bullies that fecht. an' the brawlers that swear,
A' try tae keep clear o' ye Bailzie o' Blair !
But, while evil-doers their terrors may tell,
There is praise an' protection for them that do well;
Though he punishes roguery, a' that is fair
Has aye the support o' ye Bailzie o' Blair.
I sing nae o' ane o' the lot, but them a'
Some peace to their memory dead an' awa' ;
For through saxty simmers twa dizzen or mair
Hae rejoiced i' the name o' ye Bailzie o' Blair.
YE BAILZIES O' BLAIR. 145
Even far i' the past, whan the office was new,
Whan the toon was but snia', an' the fowk wir but few,
Great honour was shown tae the poo'ers that were,
An' a special respec' to ye Bailzie o' Blair.
The urchins wad look wi" the tail o' their e'e,
An' wonder a real live Justice tae see ;
Oh ! a demi-diveenity, passin' compare,
Wis that wonderfu' body, ye Bailzie o' Blair.
But time, that tries a'thing, has altered the scene
Hoo changed is the village frae- what it has been !
Hoo grand are the buildings, the Brig, an' the Square !
Hoo wide the domains o' ye Bailzie o' Blair !
Hoo changed are the fowk, too ! they lang since began
To discover a Bailzie was only a man ;
An', if it wis possible, sune they micht dare
Tae doot the guid sense o' ye Bailzie o' Blair.
Even now some vile bodies tak' counsel thegither
Tae rail at their chief quasi-clerk o' the weather,
An' if it be stormy, ower weet, or ower fair,
It's laid at the door o' ye Bailzie o' Blair.
If dust blaws about by the wind on the street ;
If mud fyles the soles o' the burgesses' feet ;
If your drains are deficient, or dirty your stair,
Wha else gets the blame, but ye Bailzie o' Blair.
Yet it's only a few that prefer sic a chairge,
An' find their amusement in swearin' at lairge ;
The common guid feelin' aye saves frae despair
The sensitive heart o' ye Bailzie o' Blair.
What a comfort tae fowk in positions o' trust
To believe the great soul o' the world tae be just,
While dischargin' their duty but favour or fear
Frae the Queen on the throne to ye Bailzie o' Blair.
But what compensation for trouble sae fit
As tae bring up your biter to let him be bit ?
Ah ! the impudent sinner is sure o' his share
When he conies to the bench wi' ye Bailzie o' Blair.
Alas ! for oor new-fangled notions, for now
We can never get up a municipal row ;
Where noo are the cliques an' Committees ? where
The fun an' the feastin' wi' ye Bailzie o' Blair?
Hoo mony a battle again and again
Did the burgesses fecht for their favourite men ;
Aye, an' some o' the candidates, glamoured wi' glare,
Paid weel for the office o' Bailzie o' Blair.
But hoo pleasant tae think that the siller gaed doon
Wi' a singular e'e "to the guid o' the toon,"
An' tae see the recruited raw levies repair
Tae vote for ye generous Bailzie o' Blair.
146 THE CURLERS' DINNER, 1745.
Noo a' this amusement will soon be forgotten,
The ballot will alter the mode o' the votin',
An* fowk should be able tae tell tae a hair
The popular choice o' ye Bailzie o' Blair.
But mony mair changes are coming apace
Tae strengthen municipal rule i' the place ;
We'll soon hae officials enough an' to spare
For ane, we are getting three Bailzies tae Blair.
Whatever may happen may all of us "rest
An' be thankfu " to Providence, hopin' the best;
May we aye gie oor hearty guid wishes in prayer
For the toon, an' the fowk, an' ye Bailzies o' Blair.
THE CURLERS' DINNER, 1745.
There is a tradition which would lead us to believe
that as far back as 1745 the Curlers of Blair were play-
ing a keen match on the Lochy, when' some of Prince
Charlie's Highlanders invaded Eppie Clark's Inn at Hill
of Blair, where the Curlers' dinner was set ready, and
consumed all the beef and greens. Both sides on that
occasion lost the prize, and the landlord more than likely
lost the reckoning. In an "ode" written by the late Mr
Bridie, and recited at the centenary celebration of the
Club in 1883, we have this incident detailed :
Tradition tells a story of the village,
About " the forty -five " or still more early,
Of rude invasion, foraging, and pillage,
By some bold soldiers following Prince Charlie,
Who on a winter evening came to Blair
And greedily ate up the Curlers' fare.
Ah! who can faithfully depict the scenes,
How these marauders rallied in a body,
And made a mess of all the beef and greens,
And swallowed rather than discussed the toddy,
And put the innkeeper in consternation
Awed by the military occupation !
What could he do? Though in himself a "host"
He was confronted by an armed band
Of hungry fighting men, each to his post,
Obeying his superior in command ;
What wonder if he got a little nervous
So cavalierly pressed into "the service"?
Then who can realise the blank despair
Of all the Curlers, tired and hungry, too ?
Winners and losers of the game were there,
Prepared to dine as Curlers always do,
And round the festive board to meet and sink
Their petty quarrels in a friendly drink.
Institutions, Societies. &c. Banks Barty Mortification Blairgowrie and
District Photographic Association Choral Society Constitutional
Club Dramatic Society Dundee Blairgowrie and District Associ-
ation Edinburgh Blairgowrie Club Evening Classes Free Masonry
Horticultural Society Literary Societies Mechanics' Institute
Post Office Press Shepherds Volunteer Rifle Brigade.
THE WESTERN BANK OF SCOTLAND
WAS the first to open a branch in Blairgowrie, on 17th
August, 1832. A branch was also opened in Coupar
Angus about the same time, but as it did not pay it was
closed. Messengers in those days had to come and re-
turn by mail coach from Glasgow. The Bank first carried
on business at the Cross, over shop now occupied by D.
Adamson, ironmonger ; then it removed to Leslie Street,
shop now occupied by Miss Campbell, tobacconist ; and
thence to the present building in High Street. The
Western Bank was incorporated with the BANK OF SCOT-
LAND in the autumn of 1838. Robert Robertson, some
time parish schoolmaster at the Hill, was the first agent.
He was succeeded by his son, Alexander Robertson, who
also was succeeded by his son the present agent
THE COMMERCIAL BANK
Opened a branch in the town early in September, 1832.
It carried on business in that house in Brown Street
long afterwards occupied by Peter Sturrock, parochial
schoolmaster ; from thence it was transferred to Com-
mercial Bank House at top of Brown Street ; and ulti-
mately down to Wellmeadow. The first agent was James
Anderson, Solicitor, who was succeeded by his son, I.
Henry-Anderson, S.S.C., and latterly by A. W. Bennett,
transferred from Pitlochry.
BLAIRGOWRIE DEPOSIT COMPANY.
A meeting of the townspeople was held on the 5th
August, 1836, to consider the formation of a Monthly
Deposit Company. This was ultimately carried into effect
under the name of the Blairgowrie Deposit Company, the
following gentlemen being the first office-bearers : Bailie
Robert Ayson, Pres. ; Geo. Gellatly, brewer, Vice-Pres. ;
Geo. Macdouald, shoemaker, Treasurer ; and Wm. John-
stone, writer, Secretary.
The shares, limited to 150, were taken up by 116
subscribers, who had to make monthly payments as
required, the monies being lent out on obligations, bills,
bonds, and properties.
The Company seem to have got into difficulties, and
efforts were made to wind up their affairs. The last
minute recorded bears date 3rd March, 1849, when the
properties held by the Company in Rattray and the Muir
of Blair were exposed for sale.
THE PERTH BANKING COMPANY
Opened a branch of their Bank in Blairgowrie under
the charge of Wm. S. Soutar, Solicitor, 011 the llth
November, 1851. This Bank existed here until it was
bought up by the Union Bank of Scotland, in 1857.
On the retirement of W. S. Soutar, Jas. D. Sharp, trans-
ferred from Rosehearty, was appointed agent.
THE ROYAL BANK OP SCOTLAND
Opened a branch in Millbank House in 1857, and erected
the present banking offices in Allan Street in 1872. John
Panton, Solicitor, was agent from the opening till his
death in 1898, when David Mitchell was appointed.
THE NORTH OP SCOTLAND BANK 1
Opened a branch in 1882, in Bleaton House, Leslie
Street, John B. Miller, Solicitor, being appointed agent.
NATIONAL SECURITY SAVINGS BANK OP PERTH.
A meetiug of gentlemen interested in the establishment
of a branch of the National Security Savings Bank in
Blairgowrie, in connection with the Perth Savings Bank,
was held on the 12th October, 1839 Robt. Geekie, Esq.
of Rosemount, Chairman.
By intimation from the Parish Church pulpit on the
13th, a further meeting was held on the 14th October,
\vhen a branch was established, by the voluntary
association of the leading inhabitants of the town and
district as its trustees and managers, in terms of the
Acts of Parliament, and agreeably to the printed regu-
lations of the Perth Bank.
Shortly before the County and City of Perth Savings
Bank had been established, and the District Trustees
adopted as their Constitution the " Rules " formed on the
basis of those which had been duly certified for the Perth
Institution under the existing Savings Bank Statute.
The first rule noted that " this institution, formed for
the safe custody and increase of small earnings belonging
to the industrious classes of the Town of Blairgowrie and
its vicinity, shall be named The Blairgowrie and Rat-
tray Branch of the National Security Savings Bank of
W. S. Soutar, Writer, was appointed Cashier.
The minute-book finishes up very abruptly at 30th Octo-
ber, 1840, and further minutes are not available till the
3rd January, 1889, when Thomas Soutar was appointed
Joint-Cashier along with his father.
For many years before this, great discrepancies had ap-
peared in the ledgers, w^hich led to a thorough investiga-
tion of the Bank's affairs, and Messrs W. S. & T.
Soutar were relieved of their duties on 29th January,
1889. Mr John Panton, Solicitor, was appointed Cashier,
and the business thereafter removed to his offices in
Royal Bank Buildings.
Since the opening of the Branch the business has
i flourished. From 28th October, 1839 to 1st February,
11840, the sum lodged amounted to 509 8s; at 31st
October, 1855, it amounted to 11,087, 15s 7|d ; at 31st
October, 1888, it amounted to 50,410 2s 7d. During
this year it reached its greatest sum, but nearly 10,000
were withdrawn by depositors, owing to certain well-
known circumstances. On 31st October, 1892, it had,
however, regained its footing, the amount in the books
being 47,219 19s 4d. On the death of John Panton the
agency was transferred to R. Robertson Black, Solicitor,
Bank of Scotland, November, 1898.
THE CHEQUE BANK
Is represented by William Stewart, merchant, Leslie
Mr George Barty, a tobacconist in Perth and a native
of this parish, by his settlement bequeathed one-third ol
the free residue of his estate to the Dean of Guild am
Guild Council of Perth, in trust, for the purpose of laying
it out on heritable security and paying the interest there-
of annually to the Parish Schoolmaster of Blairgowrie am
his successors in office, to defray the expenses of educa-
ting " all the orphans, fatherless, and poor children "
belonging to the parishes of Blairgowrie, Rattray, Ben-
dochy, and Kinloch, in the Parish School of Blairgowrie,
the children to be recommended by the ministers anc
Kirk-Sessions of these parishes, and those bearing th<
name of Barty or Soutar to be preferred. Mr Barty diec
in June, 1838, and his bequest came into operation at
Martinmas, 1841. The fund mortified amounted to 1400,
and there were at one time upwards of 50 children en-
joying the benefit of the bequest.
They were taught the same branches and enjoyed equi
advantages in all respects with the other children at
tending the schools.
When free education was instituted throughout the]
country, the trustees of this Mortification resolved
found yearly bursaries of <4 and upwards (being the fw
interest of the capital as far as it would admit annually)
for competition among scholars attending school in this,
and the other neighbouring parishes aforementioned,
encourage them in the pursuit of knowledge and ediu
BLAIRGOWRIE AND DISTRICT PHOTOGRAPHIC
This Club was formed on the initiative of two locf
amateurs, who, finding the need for such an Associatioi
advertised a meeting to be held in the Temperance Hotel
on 13th February, 1894, and there, under the Chairmai
ship of the late Provost Bridie, the Association wi
formed, with Mr Alex. Geekie, of Coupar Angus, as il
President. The necessity of the Association having
local "habitation and a name," was at once felt, anc
THE CHORAL SOCIETY. 151
on the 17th April, 1894, club-rooms were opened the
old Masouic Hall, Brown Street. The first excursion
of the Association was to Kettins, on the llth June,
and the first competition, on 10th July, for the best
illustration of the word " Caught." In December, 1895,
the Association had the first Photographic Exhibition
ever held in the town. The result was a great success,
artistically and financially. It was truly " International "
in character - exhibits being forward from Scotland,
England, Ireland, Spain, United States, Canada, and Aus-
tralia. Since then the Association has been the pioneer
of photographic advancement in the district. On the 25th
November, 1896, they gave an exhibition of the " Rontgeu
rays," and the following night a public exhibition, in the
Public Hall, of the Cinematograph or " Animated Photo-
graphy." In January, 1898, they held their second Inter-
national Exhibition, which was also a decided success.
In 1896 a Field Club Section was instituted in con-
nection with the Photographic Association, with the object
of studying Natural Science and Archaeology by the
xhibition and preservation of specimens, the reading of
communications, the holding of lectures and excursions, and
the formation of a natural history library and museum.
In 1898 the Photographic Association opened new rooms
in the old Volunteer Drill Hall, George Street.
THE CHORAL SOCIETY.
Started in 1867, the Choral Society was, from the first,
very well supported by the music-lovers of the district,
some of them tried veterans with good voices and con-
siderable musical cultivation, who encouraged and inspired
those in the callow stage to do their best to\vards acquir-
ing a mastery over that wonderful instrument, the voice.
The first concert was given on 29th January, 1868. The
pociety were fortunate in having Mr John Smith, teacher,
Kinloch, for its first Conductor, who continued in the office
'or two years, till he left the district. In 1870 Mr Hirst
became Conductor, and so hard did the chorus study that
ihree concerts were given in 1873, including " Judas " and
* Israel." In 1879 Mr Neale was chosen Conductor, which
>osition he held for many years. With the view of
putting the Society on a more satisfactory financial basis,
152 DUNDEE BLAIRGOWRIE AND DISTRICT ASSOCIATION.
a bazaar was organised in 1881, which realised, after all
expenses were paid, about 270. In 1894 Mr Howells was
named Conductor, and continued till the Society became
defunct in 1894. It was, however, resuscitated under the
batons of Mr Fisher and Mr Parker, and again flourishes.
THE CONSTITUTIONAL CLUB
Was opened 16th November, 1891, by Lord Stormont.
Having acquired the upper flat of the Blairgowrie Hotel,
a splendid suite of rooms, comprising billiard room,
amusement room, reading room, library, &c., with rooms
for keeper, was fitted up. In the reading room all the
leading papers are to be had, while the library contains
a" grand collection of all the newest and best books
Meetings for the discussion of politics and the strengthen-
ing of the Constitution, smoking concerts, &c., are held
On the 6th October, 1875, a Dramatic Club was formed
with the object of "studying the legitimate drama and
the provision of harmless and innocent amusement during
the winter months." For a number of years the Society
was fairly successful, but members leaving the town and
getting tired of the play, with little encouragement from
the public, it became defunct. It, however, acquired a new
lease of life about 1894 under the title of the " Garricl
Club," which has also been fairly successful.
DUNDEE BLAIRGOWRIE AND DISTRICT ASSOCIATION.
A meeting of the natives of Blairgowrie and district
resident in Dundee was called by advertisement to be
held in Lamb's Hotel, on Thursday, 22nd December, 1870,,
at 8 p.m., for the purpose of forming an Association, when
25 gentlemen came forward. Mr Alex. Weddell was calle
to the Chair, after which the meeting proceeded with the
business of the evening. A draft of the rules, previously
drawn up, was submitted, approved of, and adopted.
Office-bearers and members of Committee being a
pointed, the Treasurer proceeded to enrol members, win
23 joined, forming the Association, to be called, as state
in the rules, "The Dundee Blairgowrie and District Asso-
DUNDEE BLAIRGOWRIE AND DISTRICT ASSOCIATION. 153
elation," its aim and objects being " to maintain and
promote a friendly feeling amongst the natives of Blair-
gowrie and district resident in Dundee, and to advance
their interests in every way which to the Association may
seem desirable ; " " the membership to consist of natives
of Blairgowrie and district, and of others who, from an
interest in Blairgowrie and its welfare, may wish to join
the Association " " the Association to meet on the first
Monday of every month in order to consider and carry
out measures for attaining its objects."
At the first Committee meeting, on 27th December,
arrangements were gone through for the first annual
festival of the Association, The festival, which was a
grand success, was held in Lamb's Hotel, on Tuesday,
17th January, 1871 Provost Yeaman presiding, supported
by Grimond, Tait, Weddell, &c.
Permanent meeting-rooms for the Association were
secured below St James' Church, Euclid Crescent, at a
rent of 12s a-year, with two lights but no fire, and on
the 7th February, 1871, the first literary meeting was
held, when Thomas M'Laggan read a very interesting and
instructive paper. At the other monthly meetings during
the year, debates on varkms subjects took place, papers
were read, songs and humorous stories given, with extem-
pore speeches and readings. On Saturday, 1st August,
1872, a pic-nic excursion of the members and friends to
Glamis Castle was held, starting from the High School
in machines. From this time up to 1875 there was
a gradual falling away of members, till the membership
was reduced to seven, who resolved to dispense with the
monthly meetings, but act as Committee for the arranging
of the annual festival.
On the llth January, 1875, the Association was re-formed,
with an attendance of 15, but, except for arrangements of
the festivals, the meetings proved very uninteresting, and
were held at irregular times and places, so that from the
12th February, 1876, to 28th February, 1881, the Secre-
tary's books record no minute of any meeting being held.
The Association was once more resuscitated on 28th
February, 1881, and continued for a few years, the meet-
ings being held in Mathers' Hotel, Crichton Street, until
the 19th July, 1884, when it again succumbed, only to be
154 EDINBURGH BLAIRGOWRIE CLUB.
renewed with greater life on 3rd December, 1889, the
chief object then being the annual re-union and festival,
which came off successfully on 7th March, 1890, within
the Thistle Hall, Union Street. Chief-Magistrate Bridie
presided, and speeches were given by D. H. Saunders,
John Malcolm, Rev. A. S. Inch, and others, enlivened with
songs, recitations, &c., by Esplin, Fleming, Douglas, &c.
A grand assembly followed, upwards of 50 couples taking
part. The Association is now defunct.
EDINBURGH BLAIRGOWRIE CLUB.
This Club, popularly known as the E. B. C., was formed
hi 1859 by a number of students at Edinburgh University
who had received their education in Blairgowrie or its
neighbourhood. Most of them were natives of Blairgowrie
and Rattray. The first President was D. K. Miller,
afterwards U. P. Minister in Eyemouth, and the first
Secretary was J. W. Pringle, afterward U. P. minister
in Jedburgh. The original had all, with one exception,
been for longer or shorter time pupils of John Inch in the
Free Church School of Blairgowrie, and the first intention
of the Club, in addition to that of promoting a kindly
feeling among the members themselves, was to encourage
scholarships in their old school by giving prizes to the
best pupils in certain subjects in that school. Shortly
after, however, the area of encouragement was widened
to all the schools in Blairgowrie and Rattray that would
accept of it. The meetings of the Club were held on
Saturday evening (the first of each session of College
being on the third Saturday of November), the others
following every fourth Saturday thereafter till March or
April. They were held by rotation in the lodgings of the
various members, and at each meeting an essay was read
and criticised. The session was generally wound up with
a supper, at which the President read his retiring address.
Occasionally meetings were held in summer if sufficient j
members were available to form a meeting. After a few
years the meetings began to take a more social turn, for,
in addition to the literary character of the entertainment, fl I
which was carefully kept up, the members were invited
to tea by the one in whose lodgings it was the turn of
the Club to meet. This was kept up for a long time
EVENING CLASSES. 155
very successfully until some ungracious landladies began
to find fault, and this difficulty resulted in the Club meet-
ing in Adam's Temperance Hotel in High Street, each
one paying for his own entertainment. The new atmo-
sphere did not seem to be so congenial as the old, and the
Club began from this time to decline in spirit till it sank
into an instrument for convening an annual meeting for
social purposes of a larger kind than had been formerly
held. In this capacity it did not last long, but seems to
have been merged into a wider organisation for convening
the natives of Blairgowrie and District to a soiree and
assembly once every year. Thus the Club has now ceased
to exist. Not more than half-a-dozen of the original
members, if even that number, now survive; some of the
most brilliant of them died not many years after its
formation. Among these were Thomas G. Stewart, Mathe-
matical Master in the Edinburgh Institution, who met his
death when experimenting with nitric acid preparatory
to the illuminations for- the Prince of Wales' marriage on
the 10th March, 1863. Stewart was a brilliant mathema-
tician, and bade fair to take a foremost place as a man
of science. William Cowan, one of the most cultured
Greek scholars that Edinburgh University has produced,
died in December, 1865, of typhoid fever. Dr James Neil-
son, who for many years practised medicine in Blairgowrie,
died more recently. The details of the various sessions
are accurately and, in some cases, graphically recorded in
Evening classes for the study of Science and Art sub-
jects were first instituted about the year 1878, the pupils
being taught privately and journeying to Dundee for
examination. In 1881 they were first opened in the town
under the auspices, and conform to rules, of Science and
Art Department, and managed by a local Committee.
The late George Dickson was the first teacher (Mathe-
matics) under the Department, and the writer was the
first student registered (No. 1). Since that time the
Classes have been put upon a broader basis, and there
is now scarcely a night during the session but several
subjects are being taught, embracing all subjects in
Science, Art, and Technology.
In 1885 the syllabus of the City and Guilds of London
Institute was brought out, and classes started by local
teachers. They were most successful for several years,
the students, particularly in the textile branches, carry-
ing off the highest prizes (medals and money) offered
under competition to Great Britain.
For several years, from 1887, the classes were under the
tuition of resident teachers ; but latterly they have been
allowed, through lack of energy on the part of the
management, to gradually lose heartening. Local teachers
are, however, doing their utmost to encourage and edu-
cate the pupils.
Under the School Board, in 1896, classes for Cookery
and Laundry Work were started in a special building
erected for that purpose in connection with the Public
Schools. These, however, have not been a success.
About the year 1774 a Free Masons' Lodge was first
instituted in the town, and for a considerable time it was
in a flourishing condition, but, as in other places at that
time, it gradually diminished and seemed as if it would
In 1859 Freemasonry took a fresh impetus in America
and this country ; consequently Blairgowrie was not want-
ing, and on the 12th October, 1859, the Lodge of St. John,
137, was revived. For some weeks before, a considerable
number of the inhabitants were initiated into the mys-
teries of Masonry. On this evening (12th October) the
brethren assembled in the Town Hall, at 6 o'clock, when
the Lodge was opened by David Dickson, B.W.M., and
the office-bearers of Lodge Ancient, Dundee, No. 49. The
Charter of Confirmation having been read and the various
jewels laid before the presiding brother, office-bearers were
installed. Thereafter the brethren to the number of sixty
were marshalled in procession, and marched through the
town in full regalia, headed by the Coupar Angus Instru-
mental Band playing the Masonic Anthem, the Blairgowrie
Baud bringing up the rear. The first ceremony of any
importance in which the Lodge took a part, after its
resuscitation, was the laying of the foundation-stone of
the new Public Hall of Blairgowrie on the 20th October,
LITERARY SOCIETIES. 157
1860, performed by the Right Hon. the Earl of Breadal-
bane, Right Worshipful Grand Master of Lodge of Scotland.
Since that time it has taken a part with Lodges in the
surrounding cities and towns in matters pertaining to the
Masonic craft. The Lodge has been in a highly-flourishing
condition since 1859, and it is worthy of note that a
separate Lodge was formed a number of years afterwards
to suit the convenience of members " Royal Arch Chapter,
The members of Lodge St John, No. 137, meet for the
business of the craft within the Town Hall, Blairgowrie.
This Society was first instituted in 1857, and for a
number of years was in a flourishing condition. Then it
was the custom to have an exhibition of flowers, fruit,
and vegetables twice a-year, but the want of public
interest in its proceedings caused its failure.
In 1876, however, it was revived, and it now holds an
annual display of flowers, fruit, vegetables, and works of
industry, each year becoming more interesting and popular.
THE BLAIRGOWRIE PARISH CHURCH LITERARY
("The Lit.") was inaugurated in January, 1885. The
Rev. Robert Kemp, having suggested its formation, con-
vened a meeting, which not only adopted the suggestion,
but made it assume a practical form on the spot. It has
been very successful in its works, and for a number of
years did good service to the town by introducing popular
lectures and concerts by eminent lecturers and artistes.
Under the Association's auspices Dr Moxey (Leo Ross),
Professor Blackie, Paul Blouet (Max O'Rell), C. C. Max-
well, Rev. David Macrae, Andrew Osier, Miss Imandt,
Madame Annie Grey, Dickson Moffat, and others, have
given entertainments. In 1890 an annual Burns Concert
on behalf of the Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh (founded
in 1738 by George Drummond of Blair), was started,
and with the help of local talent the Committee of
the B.P.C.L.A. have since then forwarded over 120 to that
158 MECHANICS' INSTITUTE.
noble institution. In October, 1890, the Association
extended its usefulness by issuing a monthly magazine,
while in session, continuing the same till March, 1892,
when it ceased. At Xmas, in 1892, however, it was re-
issued in the form of an " Annual," which has continued
since, and is much appreciated at home and abroad, and
speaks volumes for the energy and ability of the
B.P.C.L.A. The session begins in November and ends in
March, the members meeting every Monday evening at
8.30 in the Photographic Rooms.
THE YOUNG WOMEN'S LITERARY ASSOCIATION
Was started on the 18th February, 1892, and is in a
flourishing condition. The members meet in the Session-
House of the Parish Church on Monday evenings at 8.15.
ST STEPHEN'S CATHOLIC UNION
Was formed in 1890. Meetings are held fortnightly on
Wednesdays in St Stephen's Hall ; concerts and amateur
dramatic entertainments are occasionally given. A reading
room and lending library are also in connection with th<
Union for members' use.
THE FIRST FREE CHURCH LITERARY ASSOCIATION
Was formed on the 12th September, 1892, and has beei
very successful. The Association issued the first numbei
of an admirably got up magazine, " The James Street
Magazine," at the New Year, 1898.
MECHANICS' INSTITUTE AND WORKING MEN'S CLUB.
The Working Men's Library was first formed in 1853,
in a small room in Leslie Street, and afterwards thei
were several changes of locality, till the present handsonn
buildings in the High Street were erected in 1870, at
cost of over 850. The block comprises two shops, readini
room, library, &c. In the library there are upwards oi
3,000 volumes, and in the reading room all the chief daib
papers and periodicals are to be found.
In the autumn of 1890 it was proposed to adopt the
Free Libraries' Act, and to form the Mechanics' Institut
into a Public Library, if Blairgowrie and Rattray, tw<
THE PRESS. 159
separate burghs, could legally co-operate. It was found
that this could not be done, and the idea was abandoned.
In September of that year (1890) Andrew Carnegie,
of Pittsburg, America, made the gift of 100 towards the
purchase of books. On the 2nd November, 1896, a billiard
table was introduced into the amusement room, and has
proved an immense success.
When the Post Office was first established in Blair-
gowrie I have been unable to find out, but about the end
of last century business was carried on in a small shop
(now demolished) on the site of which Keay's buildings
in High Street are now erected. When business necessi-
tated increased accommodation, several changes were made
to No. 7 Allan Street, and latterly to 23 High Street,
adjoining the Queen's Hotel.
The first postmaster of which there is any record was
James Peters (born 1766, died 1860.)
In 1867 the staff consisted of a postmistress, 1 assistant,
1 letter-carrier for the town, and 2 rural postmen. There
were then two deliveries of letters each day, while a
third delivery was introduced in 1869. In 1870 and
onwards the introduction of halfpenny postage and post-
cards and the parcel post increased the work and required
an augmented staff, as also in 1872, when telegrams were
taken over from the Railway Company.
For the convenience of the public, receiving boxes are
placed at the foot of Leslie Street, foot of Newton Street,
and top of Dunkeld Road.
In 1898* the staff consisted of 1 Postmistress, 4 assistants,
|3 town letter-carriers, 4 rural postmen, and 3 telegraph
messengers and there are only two deliveries a-day of
letters, and one delivery of parcels.
The printing press was first introduced into Blairgowrie
In 1838, but it was not until the year 1855 that a news-
paper was produced.
The first issue was on Saturday, 2 1st April, 1855,
published at 68 High Street, by Ross & Son, under the
title " Ross's Compendium of Week's News " to be issued
occasionally, and consisted of a single sheet, 12| inches
long and 8| inches wide, printed on both sides. It was
thought at the time to be a foolish venture, the town
not being large enough to warrant such a proceeding,
yet steadily the paper flourished under various titles,
increased in demand and size, till it now consists of four
leaves, 21 inches by 16 inches, or eight pages of 6
columns each, with a weekly circulation of about 3,000
copies. It is now issued every Saturday morning, from
the office in Reform Street, under the title of " The
Blairgowrie Advertiser." Early in the 80's a mid-week
paper, commenced during a Parliamentary election, was
issued from the same office, but was, after a time, dis-
In 1876 a rival paper to the "Advertiser" "The
Blairgowrie News " was started, but it survived only
about three years. It was issued by Larg & Keir
from an office in Leslie Street.
The year 1894 witnessed another epoch in the annals
of the press in the town, by the birth on 29th September
of the "Free Press and General Advertiser," from the
office of D. C. & W. Gibson in Leslie Street. It is an
eight page paper ; size, 10 inches by 7 inches, of 2
columns each ; published every Saturday morning, and
delivered gratuitously to every householder.
SHEPHERDS (ANCIENT* ORDER OF.)
The Loyal Order of Ancient
Shepherds (Lodge Tullyveolan), was
instituted in Blairgowrie on lOtl
May, 1884, under the Dundee Dis-
trict, John Smith, painter, being
elected first Chairman.
It has a large and influential
membership, and is in a highly-
flourishing condition. In 1887 the Society revived th<
Highland Games, which had been allowed to lapse, ii
the district, and through their energy these sports ai
now considered one of the events of the season amonj
VOLUNTEER RIFLE BRIGADE.
In 1804, when this country was
at war with France and Britain was
threatened with invasion by Na-
poleon, the people of the land were
roused to embody themselves into
Companies for drill for protection
of life and liberty. In Blairgowrie
a small company of 8 officers, 65
privates, and 1 drummer was raised
as the "Blairgowrie Volunteers."
History does not record how long
this corps existed ; but, probably,
after the defeat of the French at
Trafalgar, it was disbanded.
On the institution of the Volunteer movement in the
kingdom in 1859-60, the gentlemen of. Blairgowrie resolved
to form a corps, and a meeting was held in Brown Street
Chapel, on 13th December, 1859, to make arrangements.
John L. Campbell of Achalader presided, and expressed
the hope that the movement would be successful ; that, by
having trained riflemen in the country, a stop would be
put to the periodical panics so mischievous in their effects
upon commerce ; and that, if Volunteers came forward, the
Government would be saved the necessity of increasing
the standing army.
Subscription lists were at once opened, and soon up-
wards of 200 was raised.
James Young, brewer, offered the use of his extensive
premises at Hill of Blair, in one flat of which he
thought the corps might shoulder their rifles without
interfering with the roof. James Crockart, gunmaker,
was requested to undertake the duties of armourer, which
he said he would willingly do, and a room for an armoury
was taken, at a yearly rent of 5, from Wm. Robertson,
baker, High Street. On Monday, 23rd January, 1860,
J. L. Campbell received a communication from the Lord-
Lieutenant of the County that Her Majesty had been
graciously pleased to accept the services of the corps. On
the 6th February officers were sent by Government to
inspect ground for a range, and they chose the ground
immediately behind Woodhead, near the Heughs of Mause.
Ground at the Dark Fa's was first taken for a practice
VOLUNTEER RIFLE BRIGADE.
ground. For a considerable time the range was at Wood-
head, when it was removed to the Welltown, from which
it was removed to the Darroch, near Fengus Loch, and
again to its present position at Castlehill, Rattray.
It was resolved to adopt the pattern of the Dundee
Rifle dress, and the materials of the same colour and
texture as those of Perth. The expense of the uniform
was about 3 12s Gd, including belts.
On 15th February the following gentlemen were elected
as sergeants : James Young, David Chalmers, J. L. Robert-
son, Alex. Murdoch, Thomas M'Lachlan.
On the 25th March the oath of allegiance to Her
Majesty was taken, John Fleming, Chief -Magistrate, and
John Rattray of Coral Bank attending as Justices of the
Peace ; James Anderson, solicitor, acting as Clerk to the
The Company was drawn up, forming two sides of a
square, in front of the Justices, and the oath was ad-
ministered amid profound silence. The following is an
extract from the " London Gazette " of 23rd March :
" Commissions signed by Lord-Lieutenants, March 16th,
1860. 5th Perthshire Rifle Volunteers John Livington
Campbell, Esq., to be Captain ; William Shaw Soutar, Esq.,
to be Lieutenant ; Richard Penketh, Esq., to be Ensign ;
Rev. Wm. Herdnian, to be Hon. -Chaplain ; Robert A.
Balfour, Esq., to be Hon.-Assistant Surgeon." Sergeant
In April the Government supply of rifles and ammuni-
tion arrived, consisting of 80 rifles and 25,000 rounds of
ammunition, with caps, &c., to match. 16,000 of these
cartridges were ball, whilst the remaining 9000 were
blank, and the Lochy House was turned into a magazine
for their storage.
On the 15th May, John Saunders of Bramblebank, George
Sidey, Alex. Munro, and John Cowan, Rattray, were
An Instrumental Brass Band was formed in connection
with the corps, the drum being, by permission of Allan
Macphersou, embellished with his crest and motto
"Touch not a cat but a glove."
On the 7th August, 1860, the corps was present in Edin-
burgh at the review of Scottish Volunteers by the Queer
VOLUNTEER RIFLE BRIGADE. 163
J. L. Campbell, Captain, retired after two years.
R. Penketh succeeded in command, and when he left the
district G. B. Anderson was appointed. On the death
of that esteemed officer, 1868, D. Chalmers, who had
meantime graduated from the ranks, was promoted to
the Captaincy, and latterly to the rank of Major, retiring
In 1860, on the retirement of Instructor Seaton, Sergeant-
Major Wilson, late 71st Highland Light Infantry, was
appointed Drill Instructor, which position he retained
till 1892, when he retired, and was succeeded by Colour-
Sergeant White, late of 93rd Highlanders.
In 1880 the old uniforms were cast aside and the High-
land dress adopted, with the same tunic as formerly, the
tartan being A thole tartan, which afterwards gave place
to the tartan of the 42nd Highlanders (" Black Watch "),
of which famous regiment, it, with other corps in the
district, forms the 5th Battalion.
In 1881 the corps was again present at the second
review of Scottish Volunteers by Her Majesty in the
Queen's Park, Edinburgh.
During the annual holidays in July the Volunters have
the benefit and enjoyment of a week in camp, where
they go through their drill, &c., as though in camp with
the regulars. The year 1890 saw the institution of this
movement here, when the camp was at Delvine ; it has
since been at Birnam, Aberfeldy, &c.
In June, 1895, several members of the corps were pre-
sented with long-service volunteer medals by the Govern-
ment. Those members were :
Capt. John Baxter, Ashbank, ... ... 34 years' service.
Hon.-Major D. Chalmers, 30
Band-Sergt. William Hebenton (29 years' service), joined
the corps at Brechin in 1861, and retired from the
Blairgowrie corps in 1890.
Sergt. D. Paterson, ... ... ... ... 26 years' service.
Corpl. Gellatly, Oakbank, 25
Colour-Sergt. Adam Hill, 25
Colour-Sergt. Simpson, 24
Band-Sergt. Ambrose, 24
Colour-Sergt. D. Lamont, ... 22
VOLUNTEER RIFLE BRIGADE.
Sergt. Wm. Davidson, 20 years' service.
Sergt.-Major Jas. Wilson, long-service army medal.
Sergt.-Instructor White (18 years),
In 1898 Pvt. G. Low, 23 years' service.
Corpl. B. Paterson, 22
In 1899 Pvt. H. Grant, 20
Several years ago the Instrumental Brass Band was
dispensed with, and a Pipe Band took its place.
For nearly 30 years the corps had the use of the Episco-
pal School as an armoury and drill room ; but it was
considered advisable to erect a drill hall to suit the corps,
which was done in 1897-98. The hall, opened in Feb.,
1898, by the Earl of Breadalbane, is one well adapted
for its purpose, and provides all necessary accommodation
for drill and for armoury, &c.
Manufactures Lornty Mill Brooklinn Oakbank The Meikle Mill
Ericht Linen Works Greenbank Engineering Works Millwright
Works Brewing Ancient Trade Recollections of the Past A Mer-
chant's Rhyme The Whisky Roadie and its Associations Duncan
Watchie Posty Reid The Toon's Officers The Guard-House The
Bell o' Blair Lily Harris Matthew Harris Tammy Mann Daft
Harry John Couper Quoit Club Candy Betty Smith Lament
Voluntary Constables Abram Low and the Welltown Brownies
Isaac Low, the Ingenious Blacksmith.
BEFORE 1796 a considerable quantity of flax was grown
in the parish, the produce of which was spun on the
ordinary spinning-wheel by domestic servants and women
who were not fit for any harder work, and it was quite
a common thing for them to earn 2s 6d to 4s a-week in
In days gone by the manufactures of Blairgowrie, as
in most villages and towns in Scotland, were confined to
the handloom. Over a century ago, spinning was first
introduced, and Blairgowrie shortly after that period be-
came the centre of a extensive handloom and hand-spinning
It was common in the end of last century and the
earlier part of this century for a person to possess a little
bit of land in the vicinity of the town, in which flax was
cultivated, and afterwards, by the hand of the grower,
manufactured, retted, and steeped in the neighbouring
lochs. The flax harvest of those days was quite an event,
and the strength of the domestic establishment of the
flax cultivator was often employed in gathering the pro-
duction of the earth. Now the cultivation has entirely
The founders in Blairgowrie of that important branch
3f commerce the linen trade were David Grimond,
|W. Fyfe, J. Milne, Baxter, Dick, Morrice, Cairncross,
M'Intosh, and G. Saunders all men of great force of
character, perseverance, and business energy.
Prior to 1840 the only branches of the manufacture
carried on here were the spinning of flax and tow into
yarn and the weaving of these yarns into cloth of various
fabrics. There were five spinning-mills in the parish
engaged in flax manufacture, all the machinery of which
was driven by water. The following table shows the
number of hands engaged at each of the mills :
Blairgowrie Mill, ...
9 males, 32 females 41 total.
35 36 71
8 21 29
32 40 72
The flax used at these mills was imported into Dundee
from the Baltic ports, and after being spun into yarn
was either conveyed to Dundee for sale there or disposed
of to the manufacturers in the neighbourhood and in
Alyth and Coupar Angus. The value of flax weekly
consumed in the three mills in operation in the immediate
vicinity of the town in 1840 was from 400 to 500, or
from 20,000 to 26,000 per annum, and the value of
yarn spun at the same mills, from 650 to 700 pel
week, or about from 33,000 to 36,000 per annum.
The other branch of manufacture, the weaving of yar
into cloth, employed about 370 hands. The yarns wei
purchased by the master manufacturers of the place, wh<
employed weavers to weave it into cloth, which was senl
to Dundee and sold to the cloth-merchants there. Part oi
the cloth was shipped direct, at the risk of the manufac-
turers, to North and South America and France. The
greater part of the cloth manufactured consisted of Osm
burgs and coarse sheetings, but there was also a conj
siderable quantity of fine dowlas and drill manufactured.
At an early period in the 18th century flax was growi
to a moderate extent, and continued to be cultivat
for a considerable time. During the winter months the
whole of the quantity raised was spun in the parish, the
rents of many of the smaller farmers being mostly paid
for with the money got for the yarn. The husbandry
was long of the rudest description, but in 1780 there waJ
a decided improvement in it. More land was cultivated,
and better crops were raised.
The flax was generally sown about the end of April, in
a portion of the division for oats, and when the season
was suitable a fair crop was produced. Considerable quan-
tities of foreign flax, besides the home grown, were spun.
About 1788 the two-handed wheel superseded the single
one, and thus the spinning capabilities of the workers
The weavers employed by the manufacturers were paid
for their work by the piece, and their earnings averaged,
for the men, 8s, and for the women, 5s per week, working
14 hours per day. The whole of the weaving was done
by handlooms, no machinery being employed for that
Since the erection of the " Meikle Mill" in 1798, the
banks of the beautiful and romantic Ericht have been
studded with spinning mills, and the rush of its waters
affords employment to a large population.
Throughout many parts of the country the flax spin-
ning mills driven by water power have, from a variety
of causes, been demolished or turned to other purposes ;
but this does not apply to the district of Blairgowrie.
Here the water power is sufficient to drive moderate
sized mills steadily and profitably, but it is not so large
as to admit of great extensions, and many of the mills
therefore remain as they were originally erected.
James Grimond, of Oakbank Mill, was the first spin-
ner whom Watt induced to make a trial of jute. He cut
it into lengths, heckled it, span the line into 3-lb. yarn (16
lea), the quality of which was excellent. The jute first
used by him was of remarkably fine fibre, soft and silky,
with spinning properties superior to the bulk of what is
I now imported.
Jute has now the principal place in the staple trade,
I there being a number of small manufactories engaged
I entirely in the spinning of yarns.
The proprietors are a respectable body of spinners, most
i attentive to business, and well worthy of the wealth
which they have acquired. They labour under the dis-
advantage of having to attend the markets in Dundee
once or twice a-week for the purchase of the raw
IliS BROOKLINX MILL.
material and the sale of its produce, but this is a dis-
advantage shared by the spinners and manufacturers in
other towns, and it is more than counterbalanced by the
cheap motive power supplied by the Ericht. The exten-
sion of the railway system, in 1855, to Newtyle, Coupar
Angus, and Blairgowrie, contributed greatly to the chang-
ing of the method of conducting business, and, in no less
marked degree, on account of the facilities afforded by it
for the rapid transmission of goods, to the increase of
Is situated on, and driven by, the Lornty Burn. It was
built about the year 1814 by David Grhnond, a pro-
genitor of the present proprietor. Grimond, who was
originally a millwright, observing that there was a fall
which could be advantageously turned to account for
driving flax-spinning machinery, arranged with Colonel
Macpherson, the proprietor, for a site, and built a mill
of modest dimensions, in which he had four frames, the
clear profit on which was about 5 or 6 per week. This
mill was subsequently extended, and, though it has a
quiet, retired, and rather antiquated appearance compared
with some of the other mills in the neighbourhood, a con-
siderable amount of business is still done in it.
Was built by David Grimond. It stands close on the
banks of the Ericht, but the machiuerj r is driven by
the water of the Lornty Burn, which is collected in
another dam after driving Lornty Mill. The water is
retained in the dam by a strong wooded breastwork across
the ravine, and is applied to the Brooklinn Mill by means
of a wheel about five feet in diameter. It is on the lower
end of a vertical shaft running up the gable of the mill.
The water is conveyed in a pipe to the wheel, and the
surface of the water in the dam being nearly 40 feet
above the level of the wheel, there is a pressure of about
20 Ibs. per square inch. The water is conducted to th
lower side of the wheel, which it enters at the ceiitr<
and leaves at tangential orifices at the circumference.
The w r heel takes 180 revolutions per minute, and gives
nearly 25 horse power.
THE MEIKLE MILL. 169
Was built about 1836 by John Baxter, and was
originally used for the spinning of flax and tow. New
machinery was afterwards erected for spinning jute, of
which about 5000 spindles per week were produced, in
cops and weft, principally for the Dundee trade. Several
years ago the entire mill was burned down ; it was, how-
ever, re-erected, but has not been in operation. About
100 hands were wont to be employed in the mill. It is
now possessed by John Grimond of Oakbank.
Was commenced many years ago, and was successfully
worked by James Grimond, brother of the originator of
On James Grimond's death, David Grimond (his nephew)
succeeded. The mill was burned down in the spring of
1872, the fire arising from a gas jet igniting some of
The damage done was very great, and 170 people were
temporarily thrown out of employment ; but the proprietor
soon had the mill erected and started again. It is en-
tirely driven by water power.
THE MEIKLE MILL
Has been familiar to the inhabitants of Blairgowrie for
several generations, and it must have been regarded as a
very important as well as extensive institution in its
earlier days. About the beginning of the century it be-
longed to Peter M'Intosh, who first introduced the art
of spinning by means of machinery into the district.
Subsequent to M'Intosh's time Bailie Dick had the
P'Muckle Mill" but, unfortunately, he failed in business,
i and in consequence the mill stood idle for some time. It
i has since been in the hands of numerous owners, includ-
ing John Adamson, formerly of Erichtside Works, and
jDrummond, who disposed of it to James Luke & Co., of
Ericht Linen Works, which are situated on the other
side of the road from it.
Luke & Co. had the mill fitted with new machinery
adapted for their own business. Some of their machinery
(vas also contained in a smaller building a little further
170 MILLWRIGHT WORKS.
down the river, and driven by a small turbine, where
the old " Plash Mill " used to be.
ERICHT LINEN WORKS
Were erected in 1867 from designs by Thomson Bros.,
Dundee, and form a handsome and conveniently arranged
block of buildings, which have the advantage of being
situated within the town of Blairgowrie, and therefore
near the homes of the operatives.
In 1894 Luke & Co., the proprietors of the " Muckle
Mill" and Ericht Linen Works, suspended payment, and
the works were closed. They were, however, put in opera-
tion again, with W. A. M'Intyre & Co. as managers, in
the autumn of 1897.
GREENBANK ENGINEERING WORKS.
As makers of agricultural implements of all kinds, especi-
ally harvesting reapers the Scotia, Speedwell, and Bisset
Binder the firm of J. Bisset & Sons has attained world-
wide reputation. .
It is now nearly half-a-century since the works were
started at Marlee, on a comparatively small scale, by
John Bisset. The demands of trade necessitated the
extension of premises, and about 20 years ago Greenbank
Works were erected.
Year by year additions have been made, and the works
now cover a great extent of ground. A large staff of
workmen are employed, and hundreds of reapers, binde
diggers, &c., are annually put out to all parts of the
In consequence of the death of Thos. S. Bisset, the
managing partner, the proprietorship has been converte
into a Limited Liability Company.
Since the beginning of the century a flourishing busines
of millwright work has been carried on by John Abei
cromby. The grandfather of the present proprietor erect*
the first thrashing-mill in the district at Blairgowrie
House, about 100 years ago, which proved very success
ful, and his services were much sought after for man]
ANCIENT TRADE RECOLLECTIONS OF THE PAST. 171
The Scottish brewers have long been famed for the ex-
cellent quality of their beer and ales, and the liquor
manufactured by James Ogilvy, in Allan Street, Blair-
gowrie, can bear comparison with any. It is well known
and much appreciated in town and country. The bottling
premises and brewery in Allan Street are of great extent,
and capable of storing a large stock.
The manufacture of temperance beverages is carried on
to a considerable extent by William Stewart in his
premises at Croft Lane.
ANCIENT TRADE RECOLLECTIONS OF THE PAST.
An old inhabitant, long since departed, used to relate
that he recollected when " there were only 4 slated houses
in Blairgowrie, and only 1 inhabitant for every 60 (of his
latter days) ; then it had 1 minister and 1 dominie ; it had
a brewer and a few drinkers ; a baker who lived a hungry
life ; a butcher, small of paunch, who seldom killed a
beast ; a miller not much troubled with dust ; . a smith
with too many irons in the fire ; a cloth merchant who
generally wore a very seedy coat, and came to serve his
customers after dark by the light of a rozetty stick ; a
barber nick-named Skin-em-alive the byeword ran thus :
' You are like the barber o' Blair,
Wha tak's the skin an' leaves the hair ;'
a tailor who whipped the cat at twopence a-day ; there
were some laws, but no lawyers to teach them ; broken
bones and various diseases, but no doctor to scob
and drug us ; we had no banks and little money the
Bible was the only bank for paper notes and an 'old
hugger ' for coin ; we had no brokers and nothing to
pawn ; the town's bellman used to perambulate the town
with his bell and intimate to the inhabitants that ' good
beef at fourpence a-pound is on sale at John Lowrie's
the Bailie's ta'en ae leg, an' the minister anither, but
gif nae ither person tak's a third leg the ox will no be
About the beginning of this (the 19th) century the
whole mercantile space of the town was comprised be-
tween the foot of Brown Street and the Royal Bank.
172 THE WHISKY ROADIE.
An old shopkeeper used to remark that he could recol-
lect every merchant and public man between these points
upon the shady side of the street which somehow was
never so prosperous as the other the names of whom
were introduced into a rhyme taught the children then
" Jeems Doeg rnak's shune ;
Jimmy Johnstone's saut's dune ;
Tinsmith Brisbane works the file ;
Peter tak's folk tae the jile;
John Pennycook sells beef ;
Doctor Edward gi'es relief ;
Daniel Maclaren sells dear ;
Taminas Johnstone, auctioneer ;
Saddler Sim has little sale ;
John Tyrie brews ale."
He had no distinct recollection of the shopkeepers on the
other side of the street, as they had no rhyme.
One of those buildings, long occupied as a public-house,
and tenanted by a person named John M'Gregor about
the year 1830, was demolished in 1890 to allow of im-
provements. (The property of Wm. Crockart, gunsmith,
now occupies the site, in Allan Street.)
The house was built with the gable-end to the street,
but about ten feet back from the line, and to increase
the accommodation a peculiarly-shaped addition, known
as " the coffin," was built. The sign over the house was
very interesting, painted on a ground of plaster : " John
M'Gregor, Flesher ; Ales and Whisky," with emblems of
conviviality, viz., punch-bowl, mutchkin-stoup, a large
dram-glass, a small glass, and water-jug. Though the
rooms were small many a rowdy meeting made them re-
sound with uproarious mirth.
Passing the front of the house, and through the garden
to Croft Lane, was another lane, known as "The Whisky
Roadie," which allowed drouthy neighbours to get un-
observed to "The Coffin" at all hours.
The old Newton Burn, at the beginning of the century,
ran open down through the fields to and east the High
Street, descended to Allan Street by the back of M'Gre-
gor's public-house, then down to the top of the Well-
meadow, and from thence past Lower Mill Street to the
One of the old merchants, Duncan Robertson, familiarly
THE TOON'S OFFICERS. 173
known as "Duncan Watchie," from his being a watch-
maker, occupied a shop on the east side of the Cross.
Another, William Todd, carried on a drapery business
at the corner of Brown Street. About 1820 Todd erected
a small gas work behind his house, which proved very
successful, and his brilliantly-lighted premises contrasted
strongly with the " rozetty sticks " and " cruizie " lamps
of his neighbours. Where the Public Hall now stands,
upwards of seventy years ago, Sandy Waddell carried
on a business of blacksmith and farrier. Johnnie Tarn-
son made barrels and tubs and plied his coopering
adjoining John Tyrie's brewery, where Dr Charles S.
Lunan's surgery now stands. John Bruce also carried
on business as a brewer and distiller at the west side
of the " Whisky Roadie." Honest Jamie Irvine was the
town's bellman and public messenger. John M'Lachlan
was the " kirke officer " and parish sexton. In order to
keep the peace during the Fair, or on high occasions, a
body of Special Constables were enrolled, and house-
holders were thus saved .the expense of keeping night
watchmen. The chief of the " force " was Sandy Reid,
more familiarly known as " Post " Reid. (He had been
a post-carrier in his younger days.) He was, during his
sojourn in Blairgowrie, the town officer, and was uni-
formed in a blue surtout with red collar and metal
buttons, and an old tile hat for a head-piece. Archie
Irons, for many years salmon fisher on the Ericht, was
constable as well as sheriff-officer, and Willie Mustard
rted as his assistant. David Peters was a vintner and
lessenger-at-arms. (These all carried the small baton
if authority in their pockets.) Willie Johnstone, the
writer, was Town Clerk, with guid honest men for bailies.
In addition to his civic appointments, Post Reid had
fill up spare time with scavenger work. The town
>uld not then boast of a Cleansing Department, so he
to keep the streets clean in all weathers. After a
liny season he scraped the mud with a large clatt, and
formed what the children called " Post " heaps at the
rides of the streets, where they were allowed to settle
For months before being carted away.
The business of the town was usually conducted either
John Bruce's or John Tyrie's public-house, and, a gene-
THE BELL O BLAIR.
ration later, in Gardiner's back shop. " Bookie " Robert-
son (another old worthy) used to remark " If we do the
town's business, we do it at the town's expense ;" and,
"pu'in' the hare's fit," he would call in another round.
The old " Guard-House " of Blair, demolished about
1830, occupied a site near where the shop of James
Miller, watchmaker, now stands, in Allan Street. It
stood back from the street, leaving an open space in
front. It had two compartments the guard-room and
the inner ward where the prisoners were kept. The
window sills were level with the ground, and the open-
ing was strongly stanchioned with iron bars, and at the
windows the unfortunate inmates were consoled, advised,
comforted, and fed by their friends, or scorned and
taunted by their enemies, without interference.
For a long time the ward Avas without an occupant,
and the Bailie let it to a vintner Alexander Robert-
son, known as " Moreover " for the storage of potatoes.
The Fair o' Blair coming on, it was thought advisable
to have the guard-house ready in case of need ; and ere
that day had gone a riotous Highlander was safely
lodged within its precincts. After the freshness of his
native glen, the odour of musty potatoes was too much,
and with mighty energy he forced an egress from his
prison by the window, but his freedom was of shoi
duration. Speedily recaptured, he was brought before
the Bailie (Whitson, 1827) on a charge of jail-breaking.
Fortunately, for the credit of the town and the comfort
of the accused, the case broke down with the first wit-
ness called in the prosecution.
Bailie (interrogating) "Mr Robertson, did you see this
man breakin' oot o' the jile?"
"Troth, sir, an' that is the very man 'at cam' oot o*|
my tawtie-hoose ! "
It is needless to say that the answer revealed the al
surdity of the charge.
Hung between two high wooden posts at the end oi
the guard-house was the "Auld Bell o' Blair," which
rung on stated occasions until the Han'sel Monday ol
1832. The youngsters of the town had free permissioi
to ring the bell on these festive mornings, and
violent tugging at the rope had probably so worn the
TAMMY MANN. 175
fixings that on this Han'sel Monday morning, while being
swung, it came down, and fell through the roof of an
adjoining house, landing on the clay floor, to the great
consternation of Leezie Saunders, who, fortunately for
her personal safety, was at that early hour of the morn-
ing still an occupant of her box bed. After the dust
had cleared away sufficient to show what was the cause
of such a violent intrusion, Auld Leezie was heard to
exclaim " Preserve a' livin' ! wha wad ha'e thocht ye
wad ha'e been my first fit this mornin' ! " The bell was
never hung again. It may be seen in the Mechanics'
Institute (see page 80.)
Was an eccentric being (1730 to 1807), who would
wander for days among the dens of Craighall in search
of a bairn she alleged the fairies had stolen. She sel-
dom failed to visit the house of mourning when in-
formed of the death of any one known to her ; but with
all her eccentricities she did not fail, when occasion
required, to show that she still retained a fair amount
of practical shrewdness. She regularly attended the local
fairs and markets, and if there was a calf or a stirk
from the farm to be sold, Lily undertook the bargaining,
and invariably held the best of it with the dealers.
Was the son of a crofter at the Muir, and was a
hunchback, usually employed in running messages, or
hawking goods about the country for himself. One day
he had been out at Clunie, when a fellow-traveller meet-
ing him accosted him "Hullo, Matthaw, did ye come
strecht frae Blair?"
" Weel, ye've gotten awfu' crookit on the road ! "
Was another old worthy, who kept a china shop in
High Street, and hawked his dishes about the country-
side in a bag slung over his shoulder. The Commercial
Inn of our day was formerly a pie-shop, occupied by
Tammy Mann. An eccentric couple, known as Rob and
176 DAFT HARRY.
May, lived up the hill, and also Jamie Orchar. An
old rhyme went
" Some may mind o' Tammy Mann,
Wha sell't penny pies an' sugar bools ;
The place is noo a whisky shop,
For turnin' wise men into fools.
Some may mind o' Jamie O ,
Wha carried beef sae lang tae Fell.
When he wis asked whaur he wis gaun,
' Aha ! I ken my lane.' He wadna tell."
HARRY M'!NTOSH (1799-1858).
Daft Harry, as he was better known by, was of middle
stature, round-shouldered, and considerably bent, walking
with a slouching gait. All attempts to educate him were
futile, and as he grew to manhood he was endowed with
enormous strength, and found employment in Turnie
Butter's works, turning a large fly-wheel with a crank
handle to drive a drill for boring bobbins. From this
occupation he was known to the youngsters as "Wheel,"
which never failed to irritate. Another name of equal
power to produce effect was " Burgess." referring to Annie
Burgess, a deformed and half-witted maid who was alleged
to be Harry's sweetheart. Harry had set days for going
the rounds of visiting the kitchens of well-to-do people
who were kind to him, and he usually carried a bag for
the bread and another one for bones and scraps of meat,
which earned for him the term " Greasy Pouches." Satur-
day was aye a cruel day for Harry : it was shaving day,
and the operation had to be performed 011 the stubbly
beard of a week's growth, well greased with the picking
of innumerable bones.
Oftentimes the shaving operation suffered interruption.
When the barber's shop was at the Cross, those who went
close to the window could see him at work, and the young-
sters would creep up until they saw Harry arrayed in
the white sheet and his face lathered ; they would then
suddenly shout, " Wheel ! Wheel! Burgess!" which in-
stantly brought Harry to his feet, and, if the barber
failed to detain him, he would give chase, as he was, in
his ghastly vestments.
Harry was ever in attendance at all funerals, and, judg-
ing from his own feelings, he must have regarded the
JOHN COUPER. 177
honoured remains of the occupant with feelings of envy ;
for it was always a favourite theme to speak of the
splendid arrangements that would attend on his own ob-
sequies, and how much he would enjoy the procession
on its way to the churchyard. Harry had very imperfect
ideas of the future state ; he was very decided about
keeping clear of the nether regions, but equally resolved
not to go to heaven, because the ministers sent "a' the
puir fowk there, an' ye ken I never lik'it puir fowk,"
yet in many ways Harry was no simpleton, and could
hold his own when any affront was offered him. One
day, on entering the shop of one of the leading merchants
of the town, and seeing him engaged talking with a
stranger, he advanced in his usual over-familiar way,
greatly to their annoyance. " Who is this ? " asked the
stranger. " Only a puir daft idiot," replied the merchant.
" Na, na," said Harry, " it's yersel', min ; ma faither wis
a wise man, an' dee'd in's ain bed, but yours dee'd in an
asylum." Harry knew a good deal more than was con-
venient for the merchant.
He had a curious habit when getting close to men
whether he knew them or not was all the same by way
of salutation, he began in the very best humour to pound
each on the back between the shoulders with his fist,
gentle at first, but harder and harder, until the sufferer
called out, " O, liss, man ! " when immediately the drum-
ming ceased. Harry's anticipations of a grand funeral
were realised through the kindness of David Brown, of
Another worthy, was oftener in the "ale room" than
was good for him. For a long time irregular in his habits,
illness came upon him, and he lay dying tended by a kind
sister. Rallying from a state of stupor, he asked that
the pocket-book be taken from beneath his pillow, and
the notes it contained exchanged for silver, which was
done as quickly as possible, and the book put back to its
place. After all was made right, his sister said
" John, how are ye feelin' yersel' noo ? "
"Juist wearin' awa'."
" Are ye no' a little better ? "
178 VOLUNTARY CONSTABLES.
" Ou, aye, but it canna last lang ; it's awfu' unnat'ral."
"What did ye want wi' cheengin' the pound notes?"
" Siller's aye usefu' ; it has ta'en me oot o' a' the ill
scrapes ever I've been in."
"But if ye' re no' expectiu' tae get better, what gude
can it dae ye?"
" Weel, I'm no sure whether I may tak' the richt road
or the wrang. Siller's safer and aye usefu'."
John's sister, being an economical person, found " the
siller aye usefu'," and allowed her lamented brother to
take his chance of getting credit on his unknown journey.
A Quoit Club having been formed by a few of the mer-
chants in town, about 1830, John Bruce gave a portion
of his garden adjoining the " Whisky Roadie " for prac-
tising the healthful game, and on summer evenings many,
through his kindness, were admitted to see the play.
An old woman, Candy Betty, who kept a small shop,
near the old school, for the sale of candy and treacle
beer, was frequently in trouble with her encroaching
neighbours, and her shrill screeching voice went on
When Post Reid, the Town's Officer, failed to bring her
to reason by a questionable application of the Queen's
English, the last resort was a fierce explosion of Gaelic,
which had the effect of silencing her.
" Smith Lament " was another specimen of the belli-
gerent native. One day he quarrelled with a customer,
and they came out to the close to settle the matter by
an appeal to the fists. " Posty " was at once informed
of the affray, and, while endeavouring to separate the
combatants, he received a dangerous kick in the abdomen,
which, for a time, completely disabled him.
The severe pain caused him to howl piteously, and give
utterance to all the doleful vocables of his native tongue.
He was soon surrounded by many sympathisers of al]
ages, and a little girl, who became frightened at the result,
ran home exclaiming, " Eh ! mither, a wild man kickit
Posty, an' he's greetin' in Gaelic."
The service of voluntary constables was instituted about
1840. Six householders took upon themselves the duties
of guarding the peace each Saturday night, continuing
from 11 p.m. to 3 a.m. By this plan a householder had
ABRAM LOW AND THE WELLTOWN BROWNIES. 179
only to act once a-year, and the town was saved a deal
George Constable was a wright in that shop now
occupied by the Post Office (property still owned by his
John M'Ritchie had also a wright trade in Mitchell
Square, which is still carried on by his descendants.
Colin Mackenzie carried on a general trade in a building
near the site of the Royal Bank.
Jeems Laird had an ale-house at the Royal Hotel pend.
Robbie John stone checked all merchandise at the weigh-
house opposite 61 High Street.
William Davie (the elder) was an ironmonger.
" Laird " Forbes, a manufacturer in a small way.
Jeems Ross, printer.
William Robertson, bookseller.
William Culross, sawmiller.
William Cowan, wright.
John M'Nab had the ale-house " Dreadnought," where
his curious sign may still be seen, &c., &c.
These, with other well-known characters of a bye-gone
age, have passed beyond our ken ; but familiar to this
generation have been Robbie Porter, pawnbroker ; Cripple
Colin, with his wooden leg ; Burlie Wull, the jail mason ;
John Jackson (" the General "), postboy ; John M'Lachlan,
the town bellman ; &c., &c.
ABRAM Low AND THE WELLTOWN BROWNIES.
Upwards of a hundred years ago, there was a small
village named Welltown, about a mile south of Blair-
gowrie. Very little of it now remains, except some of
the farm buildings, one part of which is in good repair,
having above the lintel of the door a curious stone which
has a peculiar history in connection with it. About the
year 1730 there lived a blacksmith at Welltown, Abram
Low (who also owned the farm). He was a very in-
genious tradesman, and the stone is said to have been
cut out by himself. He was generally believed by his
neighbours to have obtained great wisdom from the
fairies, and in his time it was a common saying, " I'll tell
ye a tale of Abram Low and the fairies."
One night Abram was walking along the braes on his
180 ABRAM LOW AND THE WELLTOWN BROWNIES.
farm, when they suddenly opened and showed him a com-
pany of these lightsome merry little elfins, with all the
mirth and dancing imaginable, and they accosted him
" Welcome, welcome, Abram,
For ever and for aye."
" Never a bit," quoth Abram,
"But for a night and a day."
And it is affirmed that during this night and day
Abram got all his superior wisdom, which was discovered
-in answering the fairies at once and prescribing his terms.
Their first word was their last, and according as they
were answered, they held the stranger in estimation or
not. So Abram became a great favourite with the fairies,
and, it is stated, that he never needed a man to strike
the forehammer. Having occasion to be from home one
day, the journeyman asked him where he could get a
man to strike the forehammer.
Abram whispered to him, " I'll tell you a secret, but
you must not divulge it, nor speak to the two little men
who will strike the hammer for you, as they won't bear
to be spoke to, and if you in any way accost them we
lose their service for ever. When you want them to
come or want them to go, instead of speaking you must
just give your hammer a purr on the studdy and they
will start up and strike as long as you please ; give your
hammer another purr and they will disappear, but no
words must be spoken." The foreman observed this rule
throughout the day, and two little men, the one with
a red cap and the other with a blue cap, started up and
struck the hammer most powerfully. But, alas, for the
faithless foreman! towards evening he exclaimed to his
" Weel strucken Red Cowl ;
Far better Blue."
They replied quickly, and disappeared never to return
" Strike here, strike there ;
We'll strike nae mair wi' you."
From that day the fairies departed from the Welltown
for ever. Some time afterwards Abram Low had been
dining with two trusty cronies his brother lairds of
ISAAC LOW, THE INGENIOUS BLACKSMITH. 181
Carsie and Gothens. On his way home, alone, lie be-
thought him to take a short cut, passing by the north
side of the Black Loch. It was an eerie, lonesome place,
covered with wood, and unfrequented save by smugglers
and poachers. Night was coming on, and most men in
those days gave such a place a wide berth. But Abram
Low feared no one, and, as he passed along the gloomy
solitude at the east end of the loch, he thought he saw,
in the gathering gloom, a queer little object, with a
blue cap on its head, sitting on the root of a fallen
tree.. Abram immediately recollected it must be Blue
Cap, one of his long-lost fairies, and, forgetting the rule
of silence, he shouted " Hilloa, Blue Gap ! " It was, in-
deed, Blue Cap, who, wroth at being recognised, replied,
in an angry voice
" Blue Cap or Red Cap,
Whae'er I may be ;
Red Cap or Blue Cap,
Ye'll see nae mair o' me "
Then vanished in the twinkling of an eye, and the fairy
of the Welltowii was seen no more.
Abram Low had a son named Isaac, who was a genius.
For some time after the rebellion of 1745 there was a
camp of English soldiery on the Muir o' Blair, hard by
the Welltowii, the soldiers under General Wade being
engaged in the construction of the military road leading
from Edinburgh to Fort George. Among the soldiers
were several English tradesmen, and it is said Isaac was
greatly indebted to them for insight to skilled workman-
iship. Nevertheless, he produced a very ingenious knife
of goose dung. The plan he adopted was to collect all
his filings of iron and steel, and mix them with leaven,
[which was given for food to the geese; then, preserving
their dung and burning it, the steel came together in
he forge. This knife he sent to London, with the fol-
>wing lines :
" I, Isaac Low, thee made
Of goose dung, heft and blade.
O 1 London, for your life,
Mak' sic anither knife."
Londoner attempted to make one like it, but Isaac,
ISAAC LOW, THE INGENIOUS BLACKSMITH.
not to be outdone, gave his knife a smart shake, and
out sprung another knife concealed in the heft, and
forced out by the heft, which made a spring that con-
cealed it give way.
Sports, Pastimes, &c. Angling The Ericht as a Salmon River Fish-
ways on the Ericht Fish Ladders for Loch Benachally (Ardle
Black wa ter Ericht Loruty Lunan Tay Isla Drimmie Burn
Fyall Burn Lochs Benachally, Butterstone, Clunie, Marlee, Loch
o' the Lowes, Stornaont, Rae, Fengus, White, &c.) Bowling Cricket
Curling Fair o' Blair The Fair o' Blair 50 years ago Football-
BLAIRGOWRIE as an angling resort is well known,
situated as it is in midst of a famed fishing district
" Salmon, trout, and pike abound
In loch, and stream, and mountain tarn."
On the 23rd March, 1840, a meeting was called for the
purpose of forming an Angling Club in the district, which
was numerously attended, and the Blairgowrie Angling
lub was instituted. Rules for the management thereof
were drawn up by W. S. Soutar, approved of and adopted.
The first competition of the Club took place on the
rivers Ardle, Blackwater, and Ericht, which were divided
into two sections each, and, drawing by lots for their
fishing ground, gave each competitor fairness and justice,
two members being spaced on each section.
According to the regulations, " the two members who
shall respectively produce the greatest weight of trout
at the annual competition shall act as Preses and Vice-
Preses for the ensuing season."
At the Club meeting on 1st May, 1840, the members
were enjoined "to prevent, as far as possible, the de-
struction of the parr, inasmuch as it is salmon fry in
one of its intermediate stages previous to assuming the
form and appearance of smolt; any member convicted of
killing such shall be fined in amount as much as circum-
stances permit or may warrant."
The first annual competition took place on the 28th
June, 1840, when the greatest weight by two members
14 dozen trout, 17 Ibs.
13 dozen trout, 16 Ibs.
On the 1st May, 1863, David Cairncross presented to
the Club a copy of his work entitled "The Propagation
of the Eel, &c."
In 1878 it was resolved to have autumn competitions
annually on Marlee Loch, all kinds of fish to count.
However, as very few members turned up to compete, it
was resolved at the annual meeting to enforce a rule,
passed on 1st May, 1848 " that every member who fails
to go out to the competitions shall pay a fine of one
shilling," while on the 1st of May, 1846, it is recorded
" that no member should be allowed to use a boat at
the competition unless he worked the boat himself with-
On the 3rd May, 1881, a proposal was made to hold
an annual competition on Loch Leven, and on the 25th
August eight members left for the loch at 4 a.m. A
greater number of members would, no doubt, have joined
in the competition had not this also been the day fixed
for the grand review of Scottish Volunteers by Her
Majesty the Queen at Edinburgh. The competition was
considered very successful, 34 trout of 41 Ibs. weight
being taken, the heaviest basket weighing 9 Ib. 12 oz.
for 6 trout.
On the 24th May, 1882, James Crockart represented
the Blairgowrie Club on Loch Leven at the National
Angling Club's competition.
There are no records in the minutes of the doings or
competitions, &c., of the Club from the 6th of May, 1882,
up till the 18th of March, 1889, one sad mishap to the
Club by the inattention and carelessness of an indolent
Secretary and unworthy member of the Waltonian art.
The annual competition takes place about the middle
of April, and the stream (open to any angler) and loch
competitions about the middle of June; rule IV. pro-
viding that " the bait shall be fly, worm, or minnow,
and all fish to be taken by rod and line and without
assistance of any kind.
THE BRIGHT AS A SALMON RIVER. 185
Various schemes have been made from time to time
suggesting that the pike should be netted from Marlee
Loch and it be formed into a trout loch on a plan
similar to that of Loch Leven, but none of these schemes
have come to anything.
THE ERICHT AS A SALMON RIVER.
The Ericht has always been noted for the variableness
of its size, caused by the great declivity of its course and
by the steepness of the hills where its branches have
their source. In winter it comes down in terrible spate,
while it summer it is nearly dry. In winter salmon
spawn in numbers about and above the bridge, and in
summer the river is swarming with parr, but from the
state of the river an adult salmon rarely finds its way
as far as Blairgowrie in the open season.
The first notice of the Ericht and its salmon fishings is
contained in a Charter, granted by Robert the Bruce to
the monks of Coupar Angus Abbey, and is as follows :
"Carta Roberti I. regis Deo, Sanctae Mariae, &ca., de
Cupro, nos de gratia speciali dedisse licentiam iisdern
monachis piscandi et capiendi Salmones temporibus per
statuta nostra prohibitis vicunque voluerint in piscariis
suis aquarum de Thay, de Yleife, de Arithe ... ad
vsus proprios et pro potagio antedicti, &c. 5 Mali, 1326."
This document may be translated thus : " Charter of
Robert 1st, King through God, to the Holy Mary, &c.
We, of our special favour, have given permission to the
same monks of fishing for and taking salmon in times,
prohibited by our statutes, whenever they wish, in their
fisheries of the Waters of the Tay, the Isla, the Ericht
. . . to their own proper uses, and for the soup of
the aforesaid convent."
In 1446 Drinimie was let for eighty salmon yearly,
along with " arriage and carriage."
About the year 1750 the Duke of Athole was in the
labit of coming to Blairgowrie to enjoy the pleasure of
salmon fishing. On one occasion, when he had secured
many fish, he sent the bellman through the town an-
nouncing that each inhabitant might have a salmon by
coming to the house he stayed in.
In an old rental-book of the estate of Craighall the
186 THE BRIGHT AS A SALMON RIVER.
following entry occurs : " Charge Hawgh Cropt, 1750.
James Falconer, Alexander Kinlock, M. Chapman, and
Isack Low of Waltown, pays for ye salmon fishing 20
with 20 salmon fishes yearly." The rent was computed
in pounds Scots, and amounted to 1 13s 4d of sterling
money. These gentlemen seem to have held the fishing
till 1754, and during their lease they never paid any rent.
In 1755, Invercauld took the fishings at the same rent,
and paid the money part of it for some years. His rent,
however, of 20 salmon was never paid. Invercauld was
tenant of the Craighall salmon fishings till 1770.
In 1804, 336 salmon and 1 trout were taken by one
haul of the net out of a pool near Erichtside Works.
A fortnight afterwards 110 salmon were secured. The
pool, which does not now exist, having been destroyed
by the great flood of 1847, commenced near the northern
extremity of Erichtside Works and continued down to
the Skermy Tree (a plane tree which grows on the
Welton Road, about 400 yards below the Bridge). From
that point a croy extended obliquely across the river to
divert the water to the lade which drove Cairncross' mill,
nearly on the site of the Ashgrove Works.
The Keith, with the rocky gorge immediately below
the waterfall, was a favourite scene of salmon netting.
Where the river widens out into Powntrail and the
Skellies, the salmon were only caught with the rod ; but
in the narrow and deep part immediately above, hand-
nets on poles were used. About thirty yards below the
waterfall, on the Rattray side of the river, there is a
bay known as the " Kleice Kirn," which juts into the
rocky bank. It was a favourite place with the salmon.
From 1740 to 1830 the Ericht was a very fine stream
for rod-fishing. The salmon taken in the Ericht are not
large. The heaviest ever known to have been captured
in it weighed 24 lb., and was taken by James Crockart,
the gunsmith. One weighing 18 lb. was secured in 1867,
and another of 16 lb. was taken out of the Dookin' Hole
above the Bridge of Blairgowrie, on the Rattray side.
The average size of the fish was from 8 lb. to 10 lb.
The old fishers seem to have been a peculiar lot of
men, and were equally ready to use the rod, net, or
leister. There were Wully Bruce a particularly good
FISHWAYS ON THE ERICHT. 187
caster ; Jamie Fenton, Peter Souter, and Rattray of Coral
Bank. Of a later generation were Archie Irons, Samson
Duncan, and Geordie Strachan ; and of a still later race
were Dr Rattray of Coral Bank and James Crockart,
gunsmith, who, in his day, was the most eminent fishing
authority of the district.
FlSHWAYS ON THE ERICHT.
In 1870, when Frank Buckland and Young inspected
the salmon rivers of Scotland, they found the Ericht
at Blairgowrie, which had once been a famous salmon
river, entirely blocked up by impassable dams, of
which there were no fewer than six in the course of
about 2 miles of water. The uppermost was not an
insurmountable barrier, but the second at Westfields was
entirely impassable, being twelve feet in height, and
The fourth and fifth dams were much lower, and the
sixth, immediately above Blairgowrie Bridge, presented
no great obstacle to the ascent of fish to the upper
streams if there had been enough water flowing over it ;
but the intake lade from it was, and is, at least 12 feet
wide and 4 feet deep, and absorbs and carries off the
larger proportion of the water in the river in a dry
season. At such times, the fine spawning bed below the
dam is quite dry, so that any spawn which may have
been deposited on it is liable to perish for want of water.
And so it happens between impassable weirs and scarcity
of water that what was at one time one of the finest
stretches of salmon water in Perthshire is now absolutely
unproductive, though about the former productiveness
there can be no doubt whatever : for, about the middle of
the 17th century, when salmon angling did not bring in a
tenth of what it now does, part of the fishings between
the highest and lowest weirs at Blairgowrie brought in a
rental of 138 6s 8d, and there was a fishing lodge
attached; and even so lately as 1835 they were worth
164 17s. There is much fine spawning ground on the
Ericht above Rattray Bridge, and still more on its chief
tributaries, the Shee and the Ardle ; so that now, as the
Tay District Board, with the consent and co-operation
of the manufacturers at Blairgowrie, have constructed
188 PISHWAYS ON THE BRIGHT.
ladders, ou the Macdonald system of fishway building,
upon the impassable weirs at Westfields aud Ashbank, it
is to be hoped that the fishing, in course of time, in the
Ericht and its tributary streams, may be restored to what
it was about a hundred years ago, when the minister of
the parish of Rattray wrote : " Sportemen look upon the
Ericht as one of the finest rivers for rod fishing, both
for trout and salmon ;" and the parish minister of Blair-
gowrie : " From the Keith for about two miles down the
Ericht there is the best rod fishing to be found in
Scotland, especially for salmon."
In the summer of 1884, the Tay Board, with commend-
able energy and enterprise, brought over Colonel Mac-
douald from the United States (whose system of fishway
building has been adopted by the Government of that
country, a grant of 50,000 dollars having been voted by
Congress for placing Macdonald fish ways on the great
falls of the Potomac river, which are upwards of 70 feet
high), who, during his visit to Perthshire, carefully in-
spected the impassable dams on the Ericht at Blairgowrie,
and furnished plans for enabling salmon to surmount them,
and these plans were fully carried out. In October, 1884,
the completed fishways were inspected by the Tay District
Board ; Young, Inspector of Salmon Fisheries ; several of
the manufacturers of Blairgowrie ; and Young, C.E., Perth,
Col. Macdonald's representative and agent in Great Britain.
Certain improvements were made by Col. Macdonald on
the three lowest weirs with the view of concentrating the
flow of water, and so facilitating the ascent of salmon ;
but the chief interest centred in the fishways which were
placed on the inaccessible weirs at Ashbank and West-
fields the former ten feet and the latter 12 feet perpen-
dicular these being the first fishways of the kind ever
placed on absolutely insuperable obstacles in a salmon
river in Scotland.
When inspected, both ladders appeared to work beauti-
fully when filled with water, and though the gradient
of that at Westfields is so steep as 4'75 horizontal to
1 perpendicular, and the gradient of that at Ashbank
is still steeper, being 4 horizontal to 1 perpendicular,
both were filled with black and comparatively smooth
water; whereas passes with so steep a gradient con-
THE ARDLE. 189
structed on any other system of fish way building which
has hitherto been applied in Scotland would have been
filled with a mass of foaming white water, which no
salmon would have been able to face. The cost of the
improvements on the three lower weirs and of the
Macdonald fishways at Ashbank and Westfields was
About half-way between the highest and lowest weirs
there is a rapid or cascade on the Ericht where the river
chafes and frets along between masses of rock, forming
a series of fine pools and streams once famed as favourite
haunts of salmon.
FISH LADDERS FOR LOCH BENACHALLY.
In the Industrial Museum, Edinburgh, there are two
model designs, by James Leslie, C.E., for a ladder for
passing fish into Loch Benachally, proposed in 1870, but
which has not been constructed. The first design is to
accomplish the purpose intended by having a series of
steps, with holes at the bottom, which are regulated by
sluices in such a manner as to keep the difference of
level of water on each side of steps constant ; the velo-
city through the hole under stop will therefore be
constant also, and if it be not greater than the velocity
at which a fish can run, it is evident that they can pass
into the loch by means of these holes. When the water
in the loch falls to the level of the water in the first
compartment, the first sluice is drawn full up and the
water is regulated by the second sluice, and so on. The
second design is intended to accomplish the same object
by leaps and pools, the divisions between the pools being
formed of stop planks, which can be taken out as the
water falls in the loch. The upper division has a move-
able sluice in front to regulate the water flowing over
the stop planks.
The following are the principal fishings in the neigh-
A first-rate trouting stream, which flows down Strath-
ardle and, joining the Blackwater at Bridge of Cally,
forms the Ericht. The Ardle is 11 miles long, and is
I generally open to all anglers. Some parts about Cally,
190 THE LUNAN.
Blackcraig, and Woodhill are preserved, The trout
average -lb., but occasionally a 1-lb. trout is met with
in the deep pools. From May to September is the best
Is a capital trouting stream, and May, June, and
August are the best months. The trout run from 3 to
4 to a lb., and 10 to 20 Ibs. may be caught in a good
day. The whole of the Blackwater is open to the public.
Formed by the junction of the Ardle and Blackwater
at Bridge of Cally, flows down Gleiiericht for a course
of about 10 miles and falls into the Isla at Coupar
Grange. The whole river is open to the public, except
opposite Craighall and in the policies of Glenericht.
The best months for the Ericht are May up to Septem-
ber. On the upper reaches the trout run about 3 Ibs.
to the dozen, and on the lower reaches from 4 to 6 Ibs.
to a dozen. The lower parts do not fish well after May ;
but from the end of March up to that time 1-lb. trout
are not at all uncommon, and sometimes a few of 2 Ibs.
or 3 Ibs. are to be met with in the early summer with
minnow. They are of the very best quality, and lovely
Formerly the Ericht was a good salmon river, now
salmon seldom come up save to spawn when they gener-
ally meet their death among mill wheels and other
obstructions. It is said that as many as 300 salmon
have been taken out at one shot from the Boat Pool
of the Ericht, near the Bridge of Blairgowrie. Salmon
are often killed in the lower part of the river after the
nets have been taken off the Tay.
Rises in Loch Benachally, and, after a run of about 7
miles, falls into the Ericht about a mile above Blairgowrie.
It contains good burn trout, about 4 to a lb., and fail-
baskets are often made. The best time is from April to
Rises in the Grampians, and flows through the lochs of
LOCH BUTTERSTONE. 191
the Stormont, and, after leaving Marlee, has a run of about
4 miles, and falls into the Isla. It is all open to the
public, and contains capital trout, which run heavy, about
an average of 1 lb., while some may be got heavier.
With a strong south-west wind ruffling the surface, good
sport may be had.
Is the chief salmon river of Scotland, and from an
angler's point of view it is a magnificent river. It affords
fair sport in spring and splendid sport in autumn, but in
summer it is hardly worth fishing. The fishings are,
however, all in the hands of the proprietors, from whom
leave may sometimes be got.
In its upper reaches is a first-rate trouting stream, and
lower down salmon and heavy trout frequent it, but both
are dour to rise. The trout in the lower reaches are of
very fine quality, and run from -lb. to 2 or 3 Ibs., and,
from the nature of the stream and feeding ground, they
come into condition early in spring.
Is a small stream, about 4 miles north, and contains
trout, though of a very small size.
Also contains trout of small size.
A good little loch for trout at the back of the hill of
same name, is about three-quarters-of-a-mile long and
half-a-mile broad. June and July are the best months.
The trout run about 4 to a lb., and from 10 to 15 lb. is
>. a good day's work. Permission to fish is usually given
| to anglers.
Contains perch and pike, but few or no trout, and is
about three-quarters-of-a-mile long by half-a-mile broad.
About 20 Ibs. of all sorts is a good basket. Permission
to fish is necessary.
192 BLACK LOCH, &C.
Lies about half-way between Blairgowrie and Dunkeld,
is about three-quarters of a-mile long and half-a-mile
broad, and contains pike and perch. Spoon bait and
phantom minnow are the baits mostly used.
MARLEE LOCH, OR DRUMELLIE,
Is about 1 mile long and half-a-mile broad, with the
river Luiian flowing through it. The Loch holds pike and
perch, and trout of large size and fine quality, running
from 1 to 4 Ibs., are occasionally got with fly during the
LOCH OF THE LOWES
Is about l miles long and half-a-mile broad, and con-
tains pike, perch, and some heavy and very shy trout.
Pike have been killed 30 Ibs. and perch 4 Ibs., and they
take well all the summer season. A large peacock fly is a
favourite bait, and phantom and spoon bait also do well.
The perch are of excellent quality, and so are the trout ;
but the latter are rarely got save when netting for pike.
STORMONT LOCH, OR LOCH BOG,
Is about 2 miles in circumference, and contains large
pike and perch. July and August are the best months,
and spoon and phantom minnow are the best bait.
RAE LOCH, OR LOCH OF THE LEYS,
Contains perch and pike.
Contains perch and pike of fine quality, but not very
Connected with Fengus Loch by a small stream,
contains trout. It was netted in 1889 by one of the
proprietors, and all perch and pike removed. The greatei
half of it is, however, preserved.
BLACK LOCH, MONKSMYRE, HAREMYRE, AND
Are dark, sluggish lochs, containing pike and perch, bu
seldom fished owing to the weeds. June, July, and
August are the best months.
In the district can be traced back to the year 1554,
when it is recorded that "Laird Drummond of Newton
and his son were playing at the ba' att ye hie mercait
green ,o' Blair," at the time they were foully set upon
For several years previous to 1868 many endeavours
had been made to get a Bowling Club formed in the
town, but all efforts had been futile until by an adver-
tisement in the " Blairgowrie Advertiser," of date 8th
February, 1868 :
" Blairgowrie and Rattray Bowling Club. The Com-
mittee will meet in the Royal Hotel, to-night, at 8
o'clock. All friendly to the movement are requested
to be present."
At that meeting, attended by a number of proprietors,
feuars, householders, &c., of Blairgowrie and Rattray, it
was unanimously agreed to form a Club. After consider-
able trouble and delay a site was chosen at the west end
of Lochy Terrace, and a bowling green and croquet green
were formed, with walks around the same and with orna-
mental borders of flowers and shrubbery ; a bowl-house
was also erected at the east end of the green.
The ground embraced in the bowling green, &c., is
about 130 poles. The green was opened on the 15th
Aug., 1868, when the first game was played and heartily
enjoyed by the members, and, on the 2nd of July, 1870,
the first match with a foreign Club was played Blair-
gowrie v. Spittalfield resulting in a win for Blairgowrie
by 28 points.
That the early bowlers were of a sympathetic nature
may be inferred from a match played in September, 1870,
on behalf of " the sick and wounded ; " the defeated
players had to forfeit Is and the victors 6d, and at the
close of the game 21s 6d was handed to the Treasurer
on behalf of the sufferers.
This purely Anglo- Australian game has been played in
Blairgowrie for a long number of years. It was insti-
tuted in 1867 by a number of gentlemen in town, mostly
professional men. The ground was at the Welltovvn Rifle
Range, where the game was played for several years ;
and their first match against the Meigle House C. C. was
a decided victory of 7 wickets and 4 runs. At intervals
Club succeeded Club until it was becoming a subject of
history that no Club could outlive a season or two. In
1879 the promoters, in resuscitating the Club after it had
been dormant for a few years, felt that the old difficulty
of acquiring a field had to be met. By the kindness of
W. A. M'Intyre, the " Haugh Park," which is the most
convenient in the neighbourhood, became the local battle-
field. In the beginning of 1881 a large piece of ground
in the centre of the park was returfed in a highly-satis-
factory manner, and is now one of the best pitches in
the kingdom. In August, 1882, with the assistance of
their lady friends, the Club got up a fancy fair, which
realised a considerable sum, and put the Club in a more
secure financial position.
For some years past it has been in the management of
a younger generation, who have been very successful.
The cricket " pitch " is beautifully situated.
The early records of the Blairgowrie Club are amissing,
but the game of curling seems to have been a favourite
winter pastime in the district over 170 years ago. The
Rev. Mr Lyon (minister of the parish from 1723 to 1768),
was so fond of curling that he continued to pursue it
with unabated ardour even after old age had left him
scarce strength enough to send a stone beyond the hog
score ; and on one occasion, having over-exerted himself
in the act of delivering his stone, he lost his balance and
fell on his back. Some of the bystanders ran to his
assistance ; and, in the meantime, one of the party placed
. the stone he had just thrown off on the centre of the
tee. While still on his back, the minister eagerly en-
quired where his stone was, and being informed it was
on the tee, exclaimed, " Oh, then ! I'm no' a bit waur I "
A minute-book of the Club, containing records previous
to 1783, is said to have been lost ; but there is recorded
in the nrinute-book of the Club, for the years 1796 to
1811, a reply to a challenge, which had evidently been
sent from Coupar Angus to Blairgowrie, and is as
"To the Reverend Thomas Hill, Coupar Angus The
Curling Society of Blairgowrie present their respectful
compliments to Mr Hill, and will do themselves the
pleasure of meeting eight of the Coupar Society on the
Loch Bog in terms of their challenge. Blairgowrie,
Thvirsday forenoon, ten o'clock, 1784."
The minute-book of the Club has been very carefully
kept by the different Secretaries from the time of James
Duffus to that of the present one, James D. Sharp.
Blairgowrie and Delvine Clubs both claim an interest
in the set of ancient stones, which had formerly been in
the keeping of Blairgowrie, but presented or sold to the
Delvine Club, in whose custody they have been for many
"The Soo " measures 16 in. by 11 in., and weighs 79 Ibs.
"The Baron" 14| in. by 14 in., V 88 Ibs.
"The Egg" 17 in. by 12 in., 115 Ibs.
"The Fluke" 12 in. by 11 in., 52 Ibs.
"Robbie Dow" 9 in. by 9 in.. 34 Ibs.
The last and least was called after one of the Baron
Bailies, a son of the parish minister of the time. They
were doubtless all taken in a natural state from the
famous Erich t channel, and did a good deal of work in
the hands of their strong masters ; one peculiarity of
them being their double handles. A metrical account
of these and others is found in John Bridie's centenary
" In early years the implements were coarse ;
Rude, heavy boulders did the duty then,
And each one had its title, as 'the Horse,'
One was the ' Cockit Hat,' and one 'the Hen,'
' The Kirk,' ' the Saddle,' ' President,' and ' Soo,'
The 'Bannock,' 'Baron,' 'Fluke,' and 'Robbie Dow.'"
The rules of the Blairgowrie Club were framed in 1796
by the Rev. James Johnstone, minister of the parish (the
President), and a Committee. An annual dinner is the
first thing to receive attention in the rules, and this
seems to have been of great importance. Members who
sent an apology and did not dine were fined sixpence.
Those who neither sent an apology nor came to dinner
were afterwards fined one shilling, and as this did not
secure a full attendance, a fine of half-a-crown was
imposed on all absentees.
"The utmost harmony and conviviality," according to
the common entry in the minutes, prevailed at these
All were not eligible, for the rule as to membership
was this :
" No person can be admitted a member of the Society
unless recommended by one of the members as a person
of good character, who has formerly played on the ice."
But notwithstanding this protecting clause, it was still
thought necessary to enact the following :
" Rules for the Regulation of the Members while on
the Ice and in Society.
" No member, while on the ice and in Society, shall
utter an oath of any kind, under the penalty of two
pence, toties quoties.
"No brother curler shall give another abusive or un-
gentlemanlike language when on the ice and in Society,
or use any gestures or utter insinuations tending to
promote quarrels : otherwise he shall be liable to be
fined for the same at the discretion of the members
The " utmost conviviality " mentioned above was
scarcely consistent with the following rules as to the
quantities of drink to be consumed on special occasions :
" The members, when playing among themselves in a
birled game, shall not spend more in a publick-house
upon drink than sixpence each for one day. If, however,
a regular challenge is given and accepted by one class
of curlers to another, the expense on such an occasion
may amount to but not exceed three shillings each to
the losers, and the gainers half that sum."
Most of the earlier minutes record sundry fines for
failing to observe the rule that each person " shall be
bound, within three months from the date of his admis-
sion, to provide himself with two curling-stones, which
must be approved of by the Society ; or in case he fail
to do this within the above period he forfeits five shil-
lings that the Society may herewith provide stones for
him, and he shall not be at liberty to carry them away
as they are understood to belong to the Society."
A supply of stones, " not less than three dozen," was
also provided and kept in repair at the expense of the
Club. These were got from the Ericht when it was "in
ply," and the work of finding them does not seem to
have been very easy, for it is recorded on 15th July,
1799, that a Committee, at the command of the Preses
" Proceeded up the water of Ericht, and they have to
report that they found and laid aside a considerable
number of stones out of which eighteen or twenty very
excellent curling stones may be picked, and the Com-
mittee request, as they have been at considerable pains
in searching out the stones, that another Committee
should be named to bring them home."
The cost of " handling " them after their home-coming
may be reckoned from the following account:
To boring 24 stones, 090
To handling do. with iron, ... 140
To lead, 026
To sorting the jumpers for boring, 20
1 17 6
An inventory of these stones is now and then recorded
the minute, and at one time their number is put
down at "fourteen dozen." They would appear for a
long time to have been protected by no covering, but
simply to have been kept together by a chain. In the
beginning of the 19th century, however, a house was
erected for them at a cost of twelve shillings and
'elevenpence, from which cost four shillings fell to be
deducted as "the price of the old chain sold." In 1819
a stone-and-lime house was built for 7. This was used
also in 1859-62 as a magazine for volunteer ammunition.
In 1881 a brick house was built, at a cost of 50.
No information is given in the earlier minutes as to
the form of play ; btit in this the rink generally con-
sisted of eight, and was presided over by a " director."
" Grips " were used for footing in delivering the stone,
and Rule 8 prescribed that
" No member shall be seen on the ice as a player
without a broom, under the penalty of twopence stg."
Prompted by a sympathetic spirit, the Blairgowrie
Curlers, in their early years, organised " a charitable
fund " for the benefit of members reqxiiriug occasional
relief and for " other charitable purpose." The " fund "
only continued for a few years, but while it lasted it
seems to have done good service.
On the 25th July, 1838, Thomas Coupar represented
the Club at a meeting of Curlers, in Edinburgh, in order
to perpetuate and connect more closely the Brotherhood
in the ancient national game. The outcome of this
meeting was a Club, composed of different initiated Clubs
of Scotland, formed under the name of the " Grand
Caledonian Curling Club," latterly changed to " The Royal
Caledonian Curling Club."
On the 25th January, 1841, on the way to Marlee
Loch, where he and other members of the Blairgoxvrie
Club were to compete for the point medal (a competition
which originated at Duddingston in 1809), Mr Anderson,
banker (President of the Club), remarked that he should
not be surprised to' see the greatest duffer carry off the
trophy. " After a keen and exciting contest," says the
Club minute of that date, " the medal was won by Mr
Anderson, by a majority of one shot."
In the Royal Caledonian Club " Annual " for 1842
there is an account of the origin of the Blairgowrie
" In the course of 1782 an inhabitant of Coupar Angus,
' white-headed Jamie Cammell,' having occasion to be in
Edinburgh in the prosecution of his trade as cattle-dealer,
went out to Duddingston to see the play of the South-
country brethren. During the game a very difficult shot
occurred, on which all the curlers present tried their
skill and failed ; and Mr Campbell, having remarked tha
he thought he could take the shot, was invited to try
which he did and was successful. He afterwards con
tinued to play during the remainder of the day with the
Duddingston curlers, who were so pleased with his skill
in the game that they invited him to dine with them,
and initiated him a member of the Club by communicat-
ing to him the " word " and " grip." On his return to
Coupar Angus he initiated the members of his own Club,
from whom the Blairgowrie Club received the sign and
secret in the following year."
The members of the Blairgowrie Club would appear
to have been " initiated," though the above tradition
finds no record in the Club's minute.
The London " Standard " of Wednesday, 6th October,
1883, thus commenced an editorial :
' Blairgowrie is not in itself one of the most notable
of Scottish towns, but it possesses a famous Curling Club,
and this Club, according to a semi-official announcement,
has just entered on the second century of its existence.
Long before Sir Walter Scott had discovered the High-
lauds in the days when a Celt in a kilt was considered
as equivalent to a cattle thief, and when not one
Englishman out of fifty thousand had ever heard the
name of the place the Perthshire villagers resolved to
form a Club for the better pursuit of what Burns long
afterwards designated ' the roaring game.' And ever
since, so long as there was ice enough, the weavers of
the Ericht braes have continued to play ' bonspiels ' and
add to their fame by feats of ' inringing ' and ' rebutting.'
" In these days of ephemeral associations, which are no
sooner formed than they begin to wane, the fact of a
remote Scottish town being able to keep alive a curling
meeting for more than a century speaks well for the
good fellowship of the burghers."
On the 24th January, 1891, at the Annual Provincial
Curling Match on Stormont Loch, Rink No. 1 Blair-
gowrie, skipped by J. D. Fell, won the silver jug, with
a majority of 26 over the opposing rink.
THE ABDBLAIR CURLING CLUB
Was in existence some fifty or sixty years ago, and
reckoned among its members many keen and worthy
curlers. Oft did the woods around Black Loch resound
with their uproarious mirth. But, alas ! the old Club is
On the 30th of December, 1891, ten prominent gentle-
men belonging to Blairgowrie and Rattray met within
the Rectory, Blairgowrie, aud formed themselves into a
Curling Club The Ardblair Curling Club. The Club
owed its existence to the fact the first in the annals
of curling of the expulsion of the Chaplain (Rev. F. W.
Davis) from the Rattray Curling Club for " doing his
The new Club started under the most favourable aus-
pices. While scarce seven months old it numbered 35
members, and possessed fourteen trophies in silver cups,
P. K. Blair Oliphant of Ardblair and his lady became
Patron and Patroness, with I. Henry-Anderson, S.S.C., as
President, and the Club was kindly granted permission
to use for curling purposes the two Muirton Ponds on
the estate of Ardblair. On the death of his father,
in 1892, Captain P. K. L. Oliphant became Patron. The
Ardblair Club was admitted into the Royal Caledonian
Club on 20th July, 1892.
The 4th of January, 1893, is a day to be long remem-
bered by the Club. On that day, for the first time
in its history, the Ardblair Club met a foreign foe on
foreign ice (Stormont Loch), to compete for possession
of the silver jug belonging to the Association of Clubs
embraced in the Province of Strathmore. Twenty rinks
entered the competition. Playing against the gallant
curlers of Newtyle, for the honour of the Club aud
their own credit's sake, the Ardblair curlers carried off
the trophy of the day by a majority of 13 points.
"... The game is lost and won,
And mighty deeds the Ardblair men have done
Recounted are at night that table round,
Where toasts, and mirth, and song, and glee abound.
Again and yet again their shots they counted o'er,
The guards, the wicks, the tees, they each bad made,
From time the stoney war began to time
When final stone by skip was laid and played.
They ran the great encounter through and through,
From gun to gun, from prime to final shot ;
Wherein they spake of most disastrous chances,
Of moving accidents by snow and ice,
Of hairbreadth 'scapes i' the imminent deadly breach,
And portance in their first great foreign war."
Out of three Caledonian medals played for, the Ard-
blair Club has won two, which is exceedingly creditable,
THE FAIR O' BLAIR FIFTY YEARS AGO. 201
This favourite exercise is very much practised here, as
elsewhere, by old and young of both sexes. Previous to
1875 the type of machine for the road was " the bone-
shaker" velocipede, which is now out of date. A Cycling
Club was formed in the town in 1884, William Robert-
son being chosen first Captain, a position he held for
nearly a decade. " Buns " are gone in for during the
season, more especially on Thursday afternoons, to the
neighbouring towns and places of interest.
In 1894, a union was formed with Alyth, Meigle, New-
tyle, Coupar, and Blair, for the annual championship of
the Strathmore District and a silver cup ; the team from
each section to be four in number, selected from among
the members after test races, and the final race (of 16
miles) to count by points. Blairgowrie has won the cup
on several occasions. The Club is in a very flourishing
FAIR o' BLAIR.
On the 1st of July, 1890, a public meeting of the in-
habitants of Blairgowrie was held in the Public Hall,
convened by the Baron-Bailie, to discuss and arrange
the midsummer holidays. As the Dundee holidays fall
to begin the last week of July, and the spinning mills
of Blairgowrie are in dependence of those of Dundee,
it was agreed that the holidays in Blairgowrie should
begin on the last Saturday of July, and that the
Annual Fair, formerly held on the 23rd of the month,
be shifted to and held on the last Tuesday of July,
which has continued to this day.
THE FAIR o' BLAIR FIFTY YEARS AGO.
On the 23rd July the annual Fair o' Blair was held,
but, however stirring a time it may appear to a younger
generation, those who can recall this great day 50, or
60, or 80 years ago are apt to make comparison generally
in favour of the " good old times." Then, from early
morn, happy parties of all grades and in all sorts of
conveyances were to be seen driving into the town from
every quarter, while crowds of pedestrians thronged the
202 THE FAIR O' BLAIR FIFTY YEARS AGO.
roads. For days before the 23rd indications of some
approaching gala day began to be manifest. Wandering
hucksters of all sorts put in an appearance and appro-
priated the best sites for their stalls and fixtures. The
great centre of attraction was the Wellmeadow, which
at that time was a meadow covered with grass and
possessing a well of pure spring water, both of which
have now disappeared.
Down the eastern side of the Wellmeadow a row of
whisky tents was pitched so close to each other that
there was scarcely room to pass between. Behind, and
next to the roadway, were the " sweetie stands," which
were continued right up both sides of Allan Street and
All sorts of merchandise were offered for sale, and the
trade done on that day was a sufficient inducement to
bring a " gingerbread man " from Kirkcaldy with his
edible wares. The general briskness of trade was shared
in by all the shops in the town, a liberal share, perhaps,
falling to the dozen or so of public-houses which sur-
rounded the Wellmeadow in addition to the whisky tents.
By noon the scene was of the most animated descrip-
tion, among the outstanding features being the white
tents the dark swinging mass of cattle the bright
dresses of the farm servants the well-conditioned and,
sonsy farmers bargaining with the shrewd, canny cattle-
dealers, and examining and judging cattle swing boats
and merry-go-rounds manned by jolly youngsters witl
shows, cheap jacks, bawling balladmongers, scrapers ol
cat-gut, acrobats, &c.
During the day the special constables were always 01
duty, and scarcely found their office a sinecure, moi
especially toward nightfall. The rough manners anc
language of those days were the natural outcome oi
hearty life and labour, of outspoken frankness, and othei
qualities which those of a later generation, in view oi
their advanced condition, do not give too ample evidence.
The times are changed, and we change with thei
and thus it shall always be. The young will prefei
their own times, while the old people will aye dwel
with most pleasure upon the recollections of theii
This has been a popular game since the days of John
Ross, ye minister of Blair (1603), who proclaimed it
from the pulpit in 1620, and afterwards joined in a
game on the Sabbath with the players.
One day John Ross repudiated a Royal mandate by
Charles I. : " After divine service the people be not
discouraged by dancing, either men or women, leaping,
vaulting, or having May games, Whitson ales, or merry
dances, or setting up Maypoles, and other sports there-
with used," &c.
It seems then to have been the habit to hold their
weekly market at the "kirke stile." With those John
Ross had to do battle ; but he found that his denunci-
ations from the pulpit did little good.
"Weel, John, gin it wirna the day it is, what wad
ye be seekin' for yer brockit quey?"
" Bein' the day it is, I canna tell ye ; bot if ye wir
tae offer me fourty shillin' the morn, I wad lat ye
" Weel, weel, I'll send the morn aboot it."
" Aye, aye, that will do, then, Jeems."
While this and such-like work was going on at the
kirk stile, on the Sabbath, among the " auld folks,"
there was a game going on by " A Young Men's As-
sociation for the Promotion of Ba'-playin' on the Sab-
bath-day," to which, as soon as the blessing was pro-
nounced, the indefatigable minister hasted to rout.
Levitically qualified, and of great muscular power and
nerve, physically he had nothing to fear ; morally, he
had already, if not wounded some, made several heavy
thrusts at them. Having divested himself of his sacer-
dotal robes, and put on his " guid un'erstanin's," staff
in hand he cleared the market-place, and straightway
proceeded to the ball-ground. His appearance quickly
dispersed the hypocrites, while there remained a num-
ber who seemed resolved to stand by their " institution."
The minister, on his part, determined if not to break
its legs at least to peel the members' shins, thrust his
staff into the ground, doffed his coat and hung it
thereon along with his hat, and thus addressed that
" Stand ye there,
Minister o' Blair,
Till I, John Ross,
At the ba' get a toss."
To John Ross it was a matter of indifference in
arranging as " to sides " who were his partners, as,
win who might, he should make some good play, and
so the game went on, John assuring his partners of
his determined purpose to play well, while the other
party were resolving to do their best for victory. The
battle having begun, John Ross was at his post and
played well. Not one opportunity did he let escape of
missing the ba', and inflicting a merciless kick at the
nearest rival in fact, he broke through all the rules of
the game, kicked right and left, chasing the cowards and
hunting them down until he completely cleared the
ground, having " routed them hip and thigh."
The first football club was formed in Blairgowrie in
1878. In April, 1881, " Our Boys " was formed, and was
admitted to the membership of the S.F.A. Between other
clubs in the district the matches were of an exceptionally
keen nature, till the institution of the Perthshire Football
Association in 1884-85, when Our Boys entered for the
County Cup. In the 2nd XI. Perthshire competition in
1893-94, the 2nd XI. of the Club won the 2nd XI. county
trophy. The Club held practice for some years on ground
at the Haugh, then at Altamont Lane, removing to the
South Haugh Park, and latterly to Cleekerinn. The 1st
XI. of the Club was fairly successful during its existence,
played some important matches with foreign Clubs, and
was several times in the semi-final for the Perthshire
A GOLF CLUB
Was formed in the district in 1889, and a course of
about 60 acres laid out in the Muir of Blair, of nine holes,
under the superintendence of the veteran Tom Morris, of
St Andrews, who gave it as his opinion that " the Lans-
downe Course was one of the best inland greens in
The course is about 1 miles from Blairgowrie and half-
a-mile west from Rosemount Station.
There are two splendid pavilions, with all conveniences,
c ^^>^j% r
- > ja< ^j^^ 9JQ>^
*. ^ ^
for the use of members, and the greens are beautifully
placed. The membership is large, and many valuable
trophies are annually played for.
THE GYMNASTIC CLUB
Was formed in the winter of 1893 as the outcome of
the evening continuation classes in Rattray Public School.
In course of the season 1895-96, the Club entered the
Dundee and District Junior Gymnastic Association, and
while very creditable results have been obtained, the
coveted honour is still out of their reach. This is ac-
counted for principally from the want of a resident In-
structor. E. M'liiroy, the present Instructor, comes from
Dundee once a-week to instruct the members. They
practised at first in Rattray Public School, afterwards
in the Public Hall, and now in the Volunteer Drill Hall.
Eminent Men, &c. Drummond of Newton George Drummond May
Drummond Blair of Ardblair Mercer of Meikleour Admirable
Crichton Thomas Graham (Lord Lynedoch) Rattray of Rattray
and Craighall Grimond of Lornty Professor Adams Rev. John
Baxter Macpherson of Blairgowrie Allan Macpherson Dr James
Neilson Alexander Robertson William Geddes David C. Robb
John Bridie Dr Robt. Lunan Thomas S. Bisset John Panton, &c.
DRUMMOND OF NEWTON.
THE family of Drummond of Newton is undoubtedly
of great antiquity, but the race is now extinct in
the district, their descendants being known by the name
of Drummond of Blair Drummond. The family is tra-
ditionally traced to a Hungarian nobleman, who fled to
Scotland in 1068, with Edgar Atheling, to avoid the
hostility of William the Conqueror.
Sir William Drummond was knighted by James II.,
and died 1455. George Drummond and his son William
were murdered in 1554 at the Paroche Kirke of Blair
(see page 37). In 1634 George Drummond received char-
ter from King Charles I. erecting Blairgowrie into a
Burgh of Barony. A special lustre attaches to
Who was born at Newton Castle, 27th June, 1687.
Receiving his education at Edinburgh, he was requested
by the Committee of the Scottish Parliament in 1705
to examine and settle the national accounts preparatory
to the legislative Union of the two kingdoms. In 1707
he was appointed Accountant-General of Excise. He
fought at Sheriff muir in 1715, and was the same year
elected to a seat on the Board of Excise. In 1717 he
was appointed one of the Commissioners of the Board of
Customs, and elected Treasurer of the City of Edinburgh.
From 1722-23 he was Dean of Guild, and in 1725 he at-
tained to the dignity of Lord Provost. He was named
one of the Commissioners and Trustees for improving
the Fisheries and Manufactories of Scotland in 1727, and
GEORGE DBUMMOND. 207
one of the Commissioners of Excise in 1737. He was
one of the chief promoters of the Royal Infirmary of
Edinburgh, and laid the foundation-stone in 1738.
He took part in the '45, joining the Royal forces under
Sir John Cope, and was present at the battle of Preston-
pans. In 1752 he was appointed one of the Committee
for the improvement of the City of Edinburgh. In 1753
he was Grand Master of the Freemasons in Scotland, and
laid the foundation-stone of the Royal Exchange. In
1746 he was elected a second time Lord Provost, a third
time in 1750, a fourth time in 1754, a fifth time in 1758,
and a sixth time in 1763, in which year he laid the
foundation-stone of the North Bridge. He died 1766,
and was interred in Caiiongate Churchyard, where a
monument has been erected to his memory. The in-
scription is as follows :
To the memory of
GEORGE DRUMMOND, ESQ.,
One of the Honourable Commissioners
of His Majesty's revenues of
Customs and Excise in Scotland
Six times Lord Provost
of the City of Edinburgh,
who died the 4th day of December, 1766,
aged 79 years.
This monument was erected
by Archibald Drummond
of Rudgeway, Esq., his eldest son,
This energetic individual was most strenuous in his
support of religion and literature ; was a member of
the " Select Society," which contained among its members
all the illustrious Scotsmen of the age.
To him the University of Edinburgh was indebted for
the institution of five Professorships, viz. : Chemistry,
Theory of Physic, Practice of Physic, Midwifery, and
Rhetoric and Belles Lettres. A few years after his
death, the Managers of the Royal Infirmary placed a
bust of Drummond by Nollekens in the hall of the build-
ing, with the following inscription written by his friend
Dr Robertson, the historian : " George Drummond, to
whom this country is indebted for all the benefits which
it derives from the Royal Infirmary."
208 MAY DRUMMOND.
During Provost Drummond's life, and especially when
he was engaged in the preliminaries of founding and
funding the Royal Infirmary, he was largely assisted by
an eccentric sister May Drummond who adopted the
tenets of Quakerism, and occasionally made tours throvigh
the kingdom, preaching to the people, who flocked in
great multitudes to hear her, and so noted did her
addresses become that Queen Caroline at length con-
descended to listen to one. In the " Scots Magazine " of
June, 1773, is a poem written on a picture in which May
Drummond of Newton was represented in the character
Full justly hath the artist planned
In Winter's guise thy furrowed brow,
And rightly raised thy feeble hand
Above the elemental glow.
I gaze upon that well-known face ;
But, ah ! beneath December's frost
Lies buried all its vernal grace.
And every trait of May is lost.
Not merely on thy trembling frame,
Thy wrinkled cheek and deafened ear,
But on thy fortunes and thy fame
Relentless Winter frowns severe.
Ah ! where is now the innurqerous crowd
That once with fond attention hung
On every truth divine that flowed
Improved from thy persuasive tongue?
'Tis gone ! it seeks a different road ;
Life's social joys to thee are o'er ;
Untrod the path to that abode
Where hapless Penury keeps the door.
Drummond ! thine audience yet recall,
Recall the young, the gay, the vain ;
And e'er thy tottering fabric fall,
Sound forth the deeply moral strain.
For never, sure, could bard or sage,
Howe'er inspired, more clearly show
That all upon this transient stage
Is folly, vanity, or woe.
Bid them at once be warned and taught
Ah, no! suppress the ungrateful tale
O'er every frailty, every fault,
Oblivion, draw thy friendly veil.
MERCER OF MEIKLEOUR. 209
Tell rather what transcendent joy
Awaits them on the immortal shore,
If well thy Summer's strength employ,
And well distribute Autumn's store.
Tell them, if virtue crown their bloom,
Time shall the happy period bring,
When the dark winter of the tomb
Shall yield to everlasting Spring.
Provost Drummond's daughter was married to the Rev.
John Jardine, D.D., one of the ministers of the Tron
Church, Edinburgh, and was the mother of Sir Henry
Jardine, at one time King's Remembrancer in Exchequer
for Scotland, who died llth August, 1851.
BLAIR OF ARDBLAIR.
The family of Blair are now extinct in the district.
They were a branch of the family of Blair of Balthayock,
descended from Alexander de Blair, who flourished in
the reign of William the Lion.
William Blair was an Abbot of the Monastery of St
Marie, at Coupar Angus, in 1430. In 1554 John Blair of
Ardblair was the chief instigator of the murder of
George Drummond and his son William, and one Patrick
Blair of Ardblair was beheaded for his share in it. Sir
Thomas Blair had the honour of knighthood conferred
on him by Charles I. Rachel Blair of Ardblair was wife
to Dr Joseph Robertson. Their only child, Christina
Robertson, married, in 1795, Lawrence Oliphant of Gask
(brother of the celebrated Lady Nairne), one of whose
descendants now owns the estate.
MERCER OF MEIKLEOUR.
Sir Andrew Mercer received a Charter for the Barony
of Meikleour in 1440, and died 1473. His son, Sir Laur-
ence, had a safe conduct to England from Edward IV.
in 1473. Sir Henry Mercer was killed at the battle of
Flodden, 1513, and regarding his son, Laurence Mercer,
there is an inventory of his stock registered 26th May,
1581" Twenty-two ky, each at 6; a bull at 3 6s 8d;
seven young calfis at 1 each; and fifty drawand oxen
at 8 each."
There is also in the glebe stocking of James Mercer,
210 ADMIRABLE CRICHTON.
minister of Clunie, included in his inventory in 1656,
"a cow valued at 118."
Colonel William Mercer died June, 1790, had a daughter,
Jane, who married Viscount Keith, a distinguished naval
commander. They, had an only child, Margaret Mercer
Elphinstone, born 1788. She married, in 1817, the
Count de Flahault de la Billarderie, in France, a General
in the army of Napoleon I., and French Ambassador
at the British Court in 1861. (This lady was grand-
daughter of the Hon. Robert Nairne, second sou of
Lord William Murray, 2nd Lord Nairne. John, the
3rd Lord Nairne, was attainted for his allegiance to
the Stuarts in 1745, but the title was restored to his
youngest son, William Murray Nairne, by Act of Parlia-
ment, 17th June, 1824. On the death of William, 6th
Lord Nairne, without issue, 27th December, 1837, the
title became extinct.)
The daughter of the Count de Flahault, Emily Jane
Mercer, born 1819, was declared heir to the title of
Baroness Nairne (dormant since 1837) by the House of
Lords, 1874. She married in 1843, Henry, 4th Marquess
of Lansdowne, in Ireland, and died 1894. The estate is
now possessed by their son, Lord Fitzmaurice, 5th Mar-
quess, at one time Governor-General of Canada.
The family of Crichton of Clunie, and Eliock in Dum-
fries, was collaterally descended from Murdoch, Duke of
Albany, third son of Robert III., and uncle of James I.
James Crichton was born in the Castle of Clunie, 1560,
his father being Robert Crichton, the Lord-Advocate of
Scotland. He received his education at Perth, and at the
University of St Andrews under the care of Professor
Rutherford, his fellow-students being Buchanan, Hepburn,
Robertson, and the future James VI. In 1572 he took his
degree of Bachelor of Arts, in 1574 that of Master of
Arts, and, before reaching the age of nineteen, had
mastered ten different languages, which he could read and
write to perfection. He practised the arts of drawing
and painting, and improved himself to the highest degree
in riding, fencing, dancing, singing, and in playing upon
all sorts of musical instruments. At the age of twenty
THOMAS GRAHAM (LORD LYNEDOCH). 211
he set out upon his travels, first directing his course to
Paris and then to Rome, where he disputed in presence
of the Pope, and refuted every argument all the pro-
fessors, masters, or doctors propounded to him. Arriving
in Padua in 1581, the Professors of that University as-
sembled to do him honour, and, journeying to Mantua, he
challenged a prize-fighter who had foiled the most expert
fencers in Europe, and who had already slain three
persons who had entered the lists with him in that
city. Crichton encountered his antagonist with so much
dexterity and vigour that he ran him through the
body in three different places, of which wounds he
immediately died. The victor generously bestowed the
prize 1500 pistoles on the widows of the men who had
been killed by the gladiator. The Duke of Mantua,
struck with his talents and acquirements, appointed him
tutor to his son, Vincentio di Gonzaga, a prince of tur-
bulent disposition and licentious manners. One night,
during the festival of the Carnival in 1582, while he
rambled about the streets playing the guitar, he was
attacked by six persons in masks. With consummate skill
he dispersed his assailants and disarmed their leader, who
begged his life, exclaiming, " I am your pupil, the Prince."
Crichton immediately fell on his knees, and, presenting
his sword to the Prince, expressed his sorrow for having
lifted it against him, saying he had been prompted by
self-defence. The dastardly Gonzaga, inflamed with
passion or wine, plunged the weapon into his heart.
Thus prematurely was cut off the "Admirable Crichton "-
(for so was he named) and his tragical end excited a
great and general lamentation.
THOMAS GRAHAM (LORD LYNEDOCH).
Thomas Graham was born in Newton Castle, the family
residence, in 1750. Succeeding to the estates of Newton
and Balgowan, on the death of his father in 1766, he
married, 1774, the Hon. Mary Cathcart, second daughter
of Charles, 9th Lord Cathcart. From this period till
1792 he remained a private country gentleman, cultivat-
ing his two estates, indulging in classical studies and
the enjoyment of elegant leisure. In 1792 his wife died,
and his grief for her loss was so overwhelming as greatly
212 THOMAS GRAHAM (LORD LYNEDOCH).
to injure his health, and he was induced to travel.
After visiting France he went on to Gibraltar and
fell into the society of the officers of the garrison, and
thenceforth determined on devoting himself to the pro-
fession of arms. Lord Hood sailing to the south of
France, Graham accompanied him as a volunteer. In
1793 he landed with the British troops at Toulon, and
served as extra aide-de-camp to Lord Mulgrave. On re-
turning to Scotland he raised from among his own
countrymen in Perthshire the first battalion of the 90th
Regiment, of which he was appointed Colonel-Command-
ant, 1794. In 1794, 1796, 1802, and 1806 he was unani-
mously elected Member of Parliament for Perthshire,
but was defeated in two contested elections of 1811
and 1812. In 1795 he was promoted to the rank of
Colonel in the army. Obtaining permission, he joined
the Austrian army, 1795, and continued in that service
till the beginning of 1797. Attached to the Austrian
army of Italy, he was shut up in Mantua with General
Wurmser. During its investment, and the siege of the
city continuing long and provisions getting scarce, a
council of war determined that intelligence should be
sent to the Imperialist General Alvinze of their desperate
situation. This perilous mission Col. Graham volunteered
to perform in person. Disguised as a peasant, he quitted
Mantua on 29th December, and, after eluding the vigil-
ance of the French patrols and surmounting numerous
hardships and dangers, he arrived at the headquarters
of General Alvinze at Bassano, 4th January, 1797. Join-
ing his regiment at Gibraltar, he assisted at the reduction
of the island of Minorca, and received high rewards from
the King of Naples for his services in Sicily. From 1798
to 1800 he blockaded Malta, then held by the French,
and obliged the garrison to surrender. The years 1801
and 1802 he spent in travelling through Europe. From
1803 to 1805 he served with his regiment in Ireland. In
1808 he acted as aide-de-camp to Sir John Moore in his
unsuccessful mission to the assistance of the King of
Sweden. He served in Spain during the campaign of
1808, and was in the disastrous retreat to Coruuna. He
was promoted in 1809 to the rank of Major-General ;
commanded a division at the siege of Flushing in the
THOMAS GRAHAM (LORD LYNEDOCH). 213
Waleheren expedition, 1810 ; and was afterwards ap-
pointed to the command of the British and Portuguese
troops in Cadiz, then blockaded by the French, with the
rank of Lieut. -General. He was General in command, and
defeated the French at the battle of Barossa, 1811, for
which he received the thanks of Parliament, and was
invested with the Grand Cross of the Order of the Bath,
entitling him to the designation of Knight. In 1812 the
siege of Cuidad Roclrigo was under his immediate direc-
tion ; and in 1813 he commanded the left wing of the
British army at the battle of Vittoria. During this
year also he besieged and reduced San Sebastian. He
commanded the left wing of the British army at the
passage of the Bidassoa river. In 1814 he was ap-
pointed Commander of the Forces in Holland, and de-
feated . the French at Merxem, for which he again
received the thanks of Parliament. He was created a
Peer of the United Kingdom by the title of Lord
Lynedoch of Balgowan, but nobly refused a grant of
j2000 per annum to himself and his heirs. In 1821 he
was raised to the full rank of General ; 1826, nominated
Colonel of the llth Foot ; in 1834, removed to the
Colonelcy of the Royals ; and in 1829, appointed Gover-
nor of Dumbarton Castle. In his latter years Lord
Lynedoch passed his time in Italy, but in 1842, when
Queen Victoria visited Scotland for the first time, so
anxious was he to manifest his sense of loyalty and his
personal attachment to his Sovereign, that, though then
in his 92ud year, he came from Switzerland for the ex-
press purpose of paying his duty to Her Majesty in the
Metropolis of his native laud. He died in London, 1843,
when the title became extinct.
In the National Gallery of Scotland, the Mound, Edin-
burgh, is a full-length portrait of the Hon. Mrs Graham,
and in the Catalogue is this notice:
' Bequeathed by the late Robert Graham, Esq. of
Redgorton, formerly of Balgowan and Lynedoch. The
Honourable Mary Cathcart, second daughter of Charles,
ninth Lord Cathcart, was born in 1757, and died child-
less in 1792, after being married eighteen years to Thomas
Graham of Balgowau, better known afterwards as Lord
Lynedoch, one of the most daring of the heroes of the
214 RATTRAY OF RATTRAY AND CRAIGHALL.
Peninsular War. Inconsolable for the loss of his beau-
tiful and amiable lady, the gallant Graham, at the age
of 43, entered on the arduous and chivalrous career in
which he achieved such high honours. He died in 1843,
at the age of 94. After Mrs Graham's death, her husband,
unable to look on her portrait, gave orders that it should
be bricked up at the end of the room where it hung,
and its existence was forgotten, and only discovered fifty
years afterwards during alterations made on the house
by another proprietor. It was exhibited in the British
Institution in 1848, where it attracted very great at-
tention, and again in 1857 at Manchester, among the
Art Treasures, of which, by the general voice, it was
pronounced one of the chief." (No. 304. by Gainsborough.)
On the 8th December, 1896, a monument to commemor-
ate the deeds of the 90th (Perthshire) Regiment, raised
in 1796 by Lord Lynedoch, was unveiled on the North
Inch at Perth,
RATTRAY OF RATTRAY AND CRAIGHALL.
The Rattrays are one of our oldest families, and it is
difficult to ascertain when first they settled in the dis-
trict. It is assured that they were possessors of the
Craighall estate before the reign of William the Lion,
and long ere that owned the neighbouring barony of
An old monumental slab above the doorway of the
place of sepulture in the Rattray Churchyard bears date,
" 1066 : Rattray of Rattray and Craighall."
It is certain that Alan de Rattrief lived in the days
of William the Lion and Alexander II., his son, Thomas,
being knighted by the latter sovereign. He got the
lands of Glencaveryn and Kingoldrum with his wife
Christian, the perambulation of said lands in 1250 being
recorded in the Registry of the Abbey of Arbroath.
Sir Thomas left two sons, Eustace and John. In 1280
Eustatius de Rattrie gave to the monks of Coupar "Ornne
nis habeo duaruni Drimmies in tenements meo de Glen-
bethlac cum omnibus ritus." Adamus de Rattrie, son of
Eustace, swore allegiance to Edward I. in 1292 and 1296,
and in 1299 likewise gave to the monks of Coupar the
third or West Drimmie.
BATTRAY OF RATTBAY AND CRAIGHALL. 215
The earliest existing charters of the Rattray family
is a charter of inspexisse by Gilbert Hay, Constable of
Scotland, dated at Dunkeld, 5th October, 1309, in which
is recited a confirmation by King Robert Bruce, to the
Abbot of Cotipar, of all grants to the convent by Adam
of Glenbathloch, of the lands of the two Drymmys, and
of one by Eustace of Rattrief, dated at Dundee on Wed-
nesday before the feast of St Clement, 1309, of right of
commonty on said lands.
Adam died before 1315, and his son Alexander was
one of the barons of Parliament held at Ayr in 1315,
which settled the succession to the Scottish crown.
Dying without issue, Alexander was succeeded by his
brother Eustace, who was, in the Black Parliament held
at Scone in August, 1320, charged with being accomplice
in the conspiracy of Sir William Soulis and Sir David
Brechin against the Bruce.
"King Robert summoned a convention, and because the
vicissitudes of a long war had confounded the rights of
property, he ordered every one to produce the titles by
which they held their possessions. This demand was
equally vexatious to the old as well as to the new ; be-
cause brave men thought they held by the best right
those estates they had taken by their arms from an
enemy and the ancient possessors, as scarcely a house
had escaped the calamity of war, had lost their written
rights if ever they had any along with their other
effects. They therefore took a bold step bold in appear-
ance, but desperate and rash in the result. When the
King in Parliament desired them to produce their titles
to their possessions, they all drew their swords, exclaim-
ing that they carried their titles in their right hands.
The King . . . concealed his anger for the time.
Many of the nobility, conscious of the audacity of the
action, entered into a conspiracy for betraying the King-
dom to the English. . . . Sir Eustace de Rattray,
who, being invited to join with thes quho upon discon-
tents against King Robert Bruce, conspyred to deliver
him up to the King of England, refused, and quhen that
treason was discovered, albeit they put- in his name
among the rest, yet his subscription and seal, being not
found with the writ, he was cleared, quhen others that
216 RATTRAY OF BATTRAY AND CRAIGHALL.
were found guiltie were punished. Sir David de Brechin
and five other knights with three esquires, Richard
Brown, Hammeline de Troupe, and Eustace de Rattray
are the only persons whose names have come down to
us as certainly implicated in the conspiracy. When the
whole conspirators were apprehended a Parliament was
summoned at Perth, where the letters were produced,
and, every one's seal being recognised, Sir David de
Brechin, along with Malherlie, Logic, and Brown, were
convicted of treason by their own confession and exe-
cuted. . . . Maxwell, Berklay, Graham, Troupe, and
Rattray were also tried, but acquitted."
Eustace was succeeded by his son, John, who was also
succeeded by a son of the same name. This latter died
about the close of the reign of James I., leaving a son
Patrick, who died in 1456, and was succeeded by his sou,
Sylvester, the most noted among his successors for
generations, who in 1463 was appointed one of the Extra-
ordinary Ambassadors sent to treat with Edward IV.
about the affairs of the two kingdoms, and who negoti-
ated with him the truce that was to last for fifteen
years. By his wife, Alison Hepburn, he had a son, John,
who was knighted by James VI., and married Elizabeth,
daughter of Lord Kennedy. There were three sons of
the marriage John, Patrick, and Sylvester. On the 18th
May, 1506, he was appointed Joint-Bailie of the Regality
of Scone, with such salary and accommodation as were
formerly enjoyed by Thomas Blair of Balthayock. John,
who died in Holland in his father's lifetime, was an
officer in the Dutch army, and, although married, left no
The second sou, Patrick, succeeded Sir John, and the
only daughter, Grissel, became the Countess of John
Stewart, 3rd Earl of Athole.
The following is an abstract from a copy MS. which
refers to a disaster, which for a time marred the for-'
tunes of the Rattray family of Craighall : " Sir John
Rattray quho was killed at Flodden (1513), with King
James IV. ; his eldest sou called John had two daughters,
bot he died before his father without heirs male. Always
Sir John Rattray married for his second marriage Dam
Elisabeth Kennadie, quho bar to him two sons, the one
RATTRAY OP RATTRAY AND CRAIGHALL. 217
called Patrick, the other called Sylvester. Sir John Rat-
tray being killed at Flodden, the Earl of Athol thought
himself entitled to an equal portion of the estates of
Rattray in right of his Countess, and this claim being
resisted by his brothers-in-law, the Earl resolved to
attain his end by force.
"Arraying a body of his clansmen, he inarched down
upon the castle of Rattray with the intention of carry-
ing it by assault; Patrick, finding his few retainers
unable to defend the place, made a timely retreat.
"The Earl broke into the old fortalice, ransacked and
seized all the family documents on which he could lay
hands. Also he took the two daughters, and married
upon his son the oldest called Dam Grissell, and the
other upon Sir James Stewart of Attemadies, in the
north, and so possessed himself of the estate of Rattray
and sundrie other lands belonging to that family."
This Dam Grissell had many children. Her son John
was Chancellor of Scotland, and she had many daughters
married to many honourable families.
" Dam Kennedie, for her and Sir John Rattray's sons,
pleaded for the ryt of the lands of Rattray, bot they
were overpowered by the Earl of Athol the eldest,
Patrick, being killed by the Leslies of Kinrorie (emis-
saries no doubt of the Earl of Athol), when he was
building a strength of his owne securitie upon a rock
that had bot on passage to enter be. Sylvester, the
other son, got a warrant under the King's great seal to
ye Lord Ruthven, Sheriff of Perth, to hold a court at
Dundie (becaus of the Earl of Athol's power), when he
was served heir to his brother and to his father, Sir
John ; but the Earl of Athol being Chancellor made
out of the way the charter of Silvester Rattray, who
could not recover his right oyet.
" This Silvester atteir with the Laird of Kinmonth of
that Ilk assist and obtened by law the lands of Craig-
hall and a fifth part of the barony of Rattray, becaus
thes lands wer provyded to the children of Dam Eliza-
beth Kenuadie by the said Sir John, whilk continue with
that family till this day.
" At length, in 1533, Silvester petitioned the King for a
'commission to have the service completed at Dundee,
218 BATTRAY OF RATTRAY AND CRAIGHALL.
narrating that for the space of 12 years he had been
hindered from getting himself served as heir to his
father's lands by the Earl of Athol and others, who
slew his brother, Patrick Rattray, in the chapel of his
house at Gleiiballoch, and he was informed that the
Earl was meditating a similar fate for himself. The
commission sought was granted under the great seal,
17th October, 1533, and the service accordingly took place
under this special authority at Dundee. No proceedings
appear to have been taken against Athol for the base
part he acted, but the passing of the service at Dundee
obviously brought about some amicable arrangement or
compromise with him, for in December following, Grizella,
Countess of Athol, granted a precept of dare constat in
favour of Silvester Rattray as heir of Patrick Rattray,
his brother, in the lands of Braidwalls and other parts
Next year Silvester was infeft at Dundee in the
barony of Craighall and Kynballoch. He died in 1554,
leaving two sons, David, his heir, and William. Both
were implicated in the death of Robert Rollack, Polcolk,
and David Donald, Grange, under circumstances which
have not been recorded, but for which they compounded
by money payment.
David had two sons, George, who lived to the begin-
ning of the 17th century, and Silvester, who was minister
of Auchtergaven and the ancestor of the Rattrays of
In 1587 George Rattray of Craighall binds himself and
his dependants " to serve the Earl of Argyle in all his
actions and adoes, against al persons, the King's majesty
only exceptit, and sail neither hear or see his skaith,
but sail make him foreseen therewith, and sail resist the
same sae far as in me lies, and that in respect the said
Earl has given me his band of maintenance."
George succeeded his father in the reign of James VI.
He was succeeded by Silvester, who was infeft in all
his father's lands by a charter under the great seal
20th October, 1604. He died in 1613, and left two sons,
David and Silvester. The latter, who was bred to the
Church, was the progenitor of the Rattrays of Persie.
The elder son, David, did not long survive his father,
GRIMOND OP LORNTY. 219
and left a son, Patrick. Upon his own resignation he got
a charter under the great seal from King Charles I., of
date 28th February, 1648, of the lands of Craighall, Kyn-
balloch, and others, containing a novodamus and erect-
ing them into a free barony to be called Craighall and
Rattray for all time coming.
By his wife, Anne Drummond, daughter of John, 2nd
Lord Madderty, he had a daughter, married to Ogilvy
of Balfour, and a son, James, who also left a son, Dr
Thomas Rattray, a man of singular piety and learning,
who was served heir to his father before the Sheriff of
Perth, 13th July, 1692. He was a Bishop of the Scottish
Episcopal Church, and distinguished himself by his
literary abilities, and especially by his writing on litur-
gical subjects. He married Margaret Galloway, daughter
of Thomas, Lord Duiikeld, and died in 1743, leaving two
sons and three daughters.
The eldest daughter, Margaret, married the celebrated
John Clerk of Pennicuik, for four years President of the
Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh, and more than
thirty years first medical practitioner in Scotland. He
died in 1757. James Clerk, his eldest son, succeeded to
the Clerk-Rattray estates in right of his grandmother,
and assumed the surname of Rattray in addition to his
own. He was an eminent member of the Scottish Bar,
and was constituted a Baron of the Scottish Exchequer.
He died 1831, and was succeeded by his son Robert, who
died 1851, leaving four daughters and two sons James,
his successor (the present proprietor), and Adam, an
officer in the Gordon Highlanders.
James Clerk-Rattray entered the army in 1851, and
served with great distinction in the Crimean and Indian
Mutiny campaigns, having been wounded in the Redan,
and engaged in the relief and defence of Lucknow. In
1871 he was created a Commander of the Bath, and has
held rank as Hon. Lieutenant-General since 1879. In 1897
he had the honour of knighthood conferred on him by
Her Majesty the Queen. (See chapter XIV.)
GBIMOND OP LORNTY.
The family of Grimond have long been resident in the
district. David Grimond was one of the pioneers of the
220 GRIMOND OF LORNTY.
flax-spinning trade. His brother, James Grimond, who
died in 1862, was the first spinner Watt got to make
trial of jute fibre. David Grirnond of Oakbank was
born at Lornty, in 1816, and received his education at
Blairgowrie. His father dying in 1835, he succeeded
him, and carried on a successful and extensive business.
In 1843 he built Brookliun Mill, and in 1862 he suc-
ceeded to the business of his uncle, James Grimond of
Oakbank, with which mill his name was mostly associ-
ated. He was extensively known as an energetic, enter-
prising, and trustworthy gentleman. He died 18th June,
Joseph Grimond, fourth son of David Grimond of
Lornty, was born in 1821, and received the rudiments
of his education at the Parish School of Blairgowrie.
While but a youth he entered the service of a company
of cloth merchants in Dundee, and, after serving his ap-
prenticeship, proceeded to Manchester, where he founded
a business one of the most successful and extensive in
Scotland. Returning to Dundee in company with his
brother, Alexander, he erected the Bowbridge Mills,
which, with Maxwelltown Carpet Factory and Dyeworks,
employ over 3000 hands. The newest machines and best
appliances were constantly added, and the comfort and
health of the work folks were always cared for as of
prime importance. He established offices in London and
New York for the sale of the varied productions of their
looms ; founded in Manchester an important industry for
the manufacture of oil cloth for packing pvirposes ; and
to have a careful selection of the raw material, he visited
Calcutta and established an office with staff for the pur-
chase and selection of the fibre. In the course of his
business he visited nearly every capital of Europe and
America, and brought home some object of beauty and
of interest. His leisure he devoted to his friends and
his flowers. In politics he was an ardent friend of John
Bright whom he knew and loved. He was for many
years a Director of the North British Railway ; a Deputy-
Lieutenant for the County of Dundee; a Magistrate for
Forfarshire, with residence at Kinnettles, and took a
warm interest in the public business of the county.
He died 2nd November, 1894.
MACPHEBSON OP BLAIRGOWRIE. 221
David Laird Adams was a native of Blairgowrie, where
he was born in 1837. He received the rudiments of his
education at the Parish School, studying afterwards at
the Church of Scotland Training College, Edinburgh,
and at the University there. He also studied abroad,
chiefly in Germany. Taking the degree of M.A., he acted
for some time as teacher in Dollar Academy, Merchistou
Castle School, and Anderson's College, Glasgow. Gradu-
ating B.D. in 1871, he was ordained to his first charge,
St David's, Edinburgh, and in 1875 elected minister of
Monimail, Fife. From 1871 to 1880 he acted as Examiner
for the degree of B.D., and in 1880 was elected to the
Chair of Hebrew and Oriental Languages in the Edin-
burgh University, which position he occupied till his
death in 1892.
JOHN BAXTER, D.D.
John Baxter was born in Blairgowrie in 1809, receiving
his education at the parish schools of Blairgowrie and
Rattray; then in Dundee under Mr Campbell (afterwards
Dr John Campbell of London) ; and subsequently at the
Grammar School of Dunkeld under Mr M'Culloch (after-
wards Dr M'Culloch of Greeuock). He matriculated at
the University of St Andrews, 1822-23, and took his
M.A. degree in 1826 ; licensed by the Presbytery of
Meigle in 1831, he was ordained to his first charge in
Persie ; transferred to Hilltown Church, Dundee, in 1838,
" came out " with his congregation at the Disruption,
1843 ; and in 1858 accepted a call to the First Free
Church, Blairgowrie, where he continued till his death
in 1893. In 1881 he received the degree of D.D. from
St Andrews University, and in 1887 was proposed for
the Moderatorship of the Free General Assembly.
MACPHERSON OP BLAIRGOWRIE.
This family is descended from Donald Macpherson of
Noid (or Nuide), who in 1635 married Isabel, a daughter
of Alexander Rose of Clova. They were the common
ancestor of the following families of Macphersons, viz. :
Cluny, Ralia or Gleiitruim, Blairgowrie, Belleville, and
Allan Macphersou, who was a Colonel in the East India
Service, bought the estate of Blairgowrie in 1792 and
built Blairgowrie House, dying in 1817. His son, William
(born in 1784 at Barrackpore, near Calcutta), succeeded
to the estate, and continued to reside at Blairgowrie
House till 1829, when he left for New South Wales,
having been appointed by Sir George Murray, then
Colonial Secretary, as Collector of Inland Revenue for
that Colony, from which he succeeded to other and
higher appointments. He died 1866.
During the time he resided at Blairgowrie he took an
active interest in the progress and advancement of the
town and district, making himself very popular by many
acts of kindness to the community, of which he was
feiidal superior. He gifted to the town the large market
square known as the Wellmeadow, along with the market
customs of the burgh, and the " Waulk Mill," besides
other properties and privileges to assist the town's
Allan Macpherson was
born at Blairgowrie
House in 1818, and jour-
neyed to New South
Wales in 1829 with his
father, and received his
education in that colony.
He came home in 1851,
and returned in 1856 to
New South Wales, where
he resided many years.
Being repeatedly elected
representative of one of
the divisions of the
colony as a member of
the Legislative Council,
he took a leading part
in the proceedings of ALLAN MACPHERSON.
that body. In 1866 he became proprietor of the estate
of Blairgowrie on the death of his father, and in 1869
took up residence in the family mansion. He was a
Justice of the Peace and a Deputy-Lieutenant for Perth-
shire, and acted upon nearly all the executive Commit-
ALEXANDER ROBERTSON. 223
tees of the County of Perth. In politics he was formerly
a Liberal, but latterly he became associated with the
Conservative party. He died 6th November, 1891. In
1892 a memorial fountain was erected to his memory, by
Mrs Macpherson and family, in the Wellmeadow.
JAMES NEILSON, M.D.
This gentleman was born in Blairgowrie in 1841, and
received his early education in the Free Church School.
After a distinguished academical career at Edinburgh
University, he assisted Professor Simpson for some time,
and afterwards was appointed resident surgeon of Mater-
nity Hospital, and while there he took his degrees of
M.D. and L.M., 1862. In that year he settled down in
In his professional capacity he had all the requisites
for a successful doctor ; his great skill in grappling with
disease and his deep knowledge of the technicalities of
his profession caused his patients to have unbounded
confidence in him.
He took a deep interest in all that appertained to the
moral and social advancement of the community. At
the election of the first School Board he was returned
at the head of the poll by a large majority ; he was
also Chief-Magistrate for more that one term. He was
an ardent and pronounced Liberal. The assiduous atten-
tion which he paid to his very large practice, and the
exposure to which he was at all times and in all weathers
subjected, hastened his untimely death, 8th February,
This gentleman was born in Blairgowrie in 1813, and
died in Edinburgh, 12th November, 1889. His father was
originally a merchant and . afterwards a banker in the
Having been educated to the law, he carried on an
extensive and successful practice, as well as the agency
for the Bank of Scotland. For many years he held the
office of Town Clerk, in which capacity he was very
useful to the burgh and the community. He was an
active and available public servant, and took considerable
224 WILLIAM GEDDES.
part in all the local affairs of his time. As a speaker
he was able and successful, and several of his happy
public appearances are still remembered.
For more than twenty years he was President of the
local curlers, and, by his skilful management and scien-
tific playing, he was perhaps the means, more than any
other, of bringing the Club into the proud position of
one of the foremost, if not actually the most successful,
Of the 22 silver medals won by Blairgowrie a large
proportion were gained under his renowned Presidency.
He was the principal promoter of the Blairgowrie Gas-
works, and to him the town was largely indebted for
enjoying this great boon of modern civilisation long
before its neighbours.
He was one of the leading members of St Mary's
Parish Church, and rendered much valuable service in
connection with the building of the new place of worship.
He was a man of much tact and good sense. He had
a generally well-stored and cultivated mind, and was
of an agreeable, genial, and obliging disposition.
This well-known artist was born in Blairgowrie in 1840,
and was trained to the house-painting business, but the
bent of his mind was always towards the Fine Arts, to
which he assiduously devoted his leisure time and ulti-
mately all his efforts. His early studies were of the
genre class, mostly figure groups illustrative of Scottish
life and manners, many of them containing fine touches
of humour. To these and kindred subjects, still life and
groups of trout and salmon, with an occasional landscape,
his time and talent were devoted, and in some of these
departments notably those of fish painting while he
had many imitators, he had no rival. His genius was
conspicuous in many directions ; as a sculptor he would
undoubtedly have excelled had he chosen, and he was
possessed of literary ability of a high order. Socially he
was a genial and brilliant spirit, original and sometimes
eccentric, a clever mimic, and kindly-hearted fellow. His
pictures were exhibited and admired for many years in
Edinburgh and elsewhere. He died 31st October, 1884.
JOHN BRIDIE: FIRST PROVOST OF BLAIRGOWRIE.
JOHN BRIDIE. 225
DAVID C. ROBB.
This gentleman was born in Blairgowrie, 7th February,
1851, and was educated at the parish schools of Rattray
and Blairgowrie. After completing a course of study at
the High School of Dundee, he entered the University
of St Andrews in 1866. Here he concluded a highly-
successful curriculum by graduating M.A. in 1870, and
at the same time gained by competition the much-coveted
honour of being appointed Guthrie Scholar, the Scholar-
ship being 250. Prom St Andrews he went to Worcester
College, Oxford, where he graduated in due course, secur-
ing first class honours in Classics ; but, though thus
proving himself an excellent classical scholar, the bent
of his mind led him towards natural science, and he
selected Chemistry. In this new work he soon distin-
guished himself so much that he was appointed Assistant
Professor of Chemistry, a post which he occupied for
about seven years. In 1879 a translation of Pasteur's
"Studies on Beer" was published for Frank Faulkner,
of the Brewery, St Helens, under Robb's editorship, and
at the time of his death he was similarly engaged
upon Dr Landolt's work, " The Optical Rotation Power of
Organic Substances." He possessed a superior knowledge
of botany and natural science generally. He died 2nd
This gentleman settled in Blairgowrie in 1855, and for
over 30 years was identified with public life. In 1867
he became a member of the Town Council, and under
the old regime he rose to the position of Baron-Bailie.
In the Police Commission he was for several years a
Junior Magistrate, then Senior Magistrate, and when
the Act of 1892 came into force he obtained the title
of Provost. In November, 1893, while re-elected a Com-
missioner he retired from the Provostship, and was
re-elected Baron-Bailie. He took a hearty interest in
everything connected with the welfare and happiness of
the community, and devoted much time and thought to
A discriminating judge of pictures who could himself
sketch and paint with no mean ability he, for several
DR ROBERT LUNAN.
years, criticised the Royal Scottish Academy Exhibition
in the columns of the "Dundee Advertiser." To the
local press he wrote much in the form of vigorous
articles on current topics, happy paragraphs and graphic
accounts of travel, and clever sketches. Of his poetical
pieces several have obtained a well-merited place in the
volume, published 1893, of Edward's "Modern Scottish
Poets." John Bridie had a keen appreciation of the beau-
tiful, and these varied qualities gave to the works of his
hands grace and beauty, and among the best painters
in Scotland he was respected. His genial temper and
bonhomie made him friends everywhere, and he was alto-
gether a man of wide and varied sympathies, and no
question of human interest came to him amiss. He died
26.th June, 1894.
ROBERT LUNAN, SURGEON.
After a highly-distin-
guished career at the
University of Edinburgh,
a few years' practice with
his uncle, Dr Smith, Pro-
vost of Forfar, and a six
months' voyage on board
a whaler in Davis Straits,
Robert Lunan came to
reside in Blairgowrie in
1836, and from the first
gave evidence of that
\l energy and independent
/ outspokenness which
he did ever after. In
his early years he was
one of the best rifle
shots of the county, and
succeeded in winning the
30 Challenge Cup for Fife and Kinross at the Stj
Andrews "Wapenschaw of 1862. In connection with his
shooting exploits he had a splendid record, trophies of;
one kind and another having fallen to his lot at nearly
every competition in which he took part. On one
DR ROBERT LUNAN.
THOMAS S. BISSET. 227
occasion when, with an ordinary Enfield rifle, he came
very nearly beating the cracks with their Winchester
rifles at Montrose, he was presented on his return with
a rifle and case. On another occasion he was presented
with a silver snuff-box, with a eulogistic inscription on
a gold plate on it, from the ladies of the Stormont.
On the 22nd January, 1891, he had special honours
paid him by the Blairgowrie Curling Club, of which he
had then completed his fiftieth year as a member. He
was entertained to a banquet in the Queen's Hotel, and
presented with a massive silver dinner service, together
with an illuminated address. The address spoke of the
Doctor's "fifty-five years of unremitting attention to
his professional duties, and the desire of the subscribers
to recognise specially his unwearying kindness to the
poor of the district, and the manner in which, without
consideration of self, he had always been ready to devote
his time and skill to those in distress." The tureen of
the dinner service bore the inscription " Presented to
Dr Robert Lunan, Blairgowrie, by the public, as a token
of the universal esteem in which he is held, and in
grateful recognition of his valuable professional services,
and his invaluable kindness to the poor during the last
55 years. Blairgowrie, 1891."
As a judge of violins Dr Lunan occupied a foremost
place, and owned a splendid collection, including a valu-
able Gaspar di Salo. His opinion on the merits of a
violin were highly valued, and the possessor of more than
one valuable violin is indebted for it to the Doctor's
discriminating judgment. He laboured for 58 years in
Blairgowrie, and died 24th April, 1894, aged 82.
THOMAS S. BISSET.
This gentleman was born at Marlee, near Blairgowrie,
in 1839. After receiving the rudiments of education at
the Parish School, he was trained to work in iron, and
early in life he gave evidence of an intellectual interest
and practical skill in mechanics. As the result of a visit
to the Exhibition in London, 1862, he designed his first
self-acting back-delivery reaping machine. In 1867 he
patented the steel-lined fingers for reapers and mowers
which are now used by every maker.
In 1868 he constructed a bicycle, and claimed to be the
first maker and rider of these machines in Britain. In
1878 the firm, finding their premises at Marlee too
remote from railway transit, acquired ground at Green-
bank, and erected extensive buildings thereon for the
carrying on of business. In this year (1878) the firm
constructed their " Scotia " mower the first machine with
enclosed gear made in Britain and in 1880 the now
famous " Speedwell " was designed. In 1887 Mr Bisset
commenced the manufacture of self -binding reapers,
realising that they would soon come into general use.
The perfecting and practical manufacture of these
machines cost Bisset much labour and attention, but he
had unlimited courage and perseverance.
He was for a number of years a member of Blair-
gowrie School Board, and took a keen interest in all
branches of education. He died 27th August, 1896.
This gentleman was
born at Blairgowrie
in 1834, his father,
William Panton, being
overseer for many
years on the Blair-
gowrie estate. Receiv-
ing his education at
the Parish School, and
choosing the law as a
profession, he served
his apprenticeship in
the offices of Duncan
& M'Lean, Perth. Re-
turning to Blairgowrie,
he commenced practice
along with Dallas,
writer, but the part-
nership was of short
duration. From this humble start his energy soon
developed itself, and he extended his operations in every
direction. He was appointed factor on Blairgowrie
estate in 1855, and retained the office till his death.
JOHN PANTON. 229
In 1857 he opened a branch of the Royal Bank at
Millbank House (transferred to present buildings on their
erection in 1872). His law offices, in connection with
the Royal Bank, were the centre of a wide and varied
activity, the moving spirit of which was " The Factor."
This term was the usual form in which he was addressed,
and arose from the large number of properties he was
agent for Blairgowrie, Bamff, Parkhill, Glenericht, Dru-
rnore, Coupar Grange, and Clayquhat estates, &c. He
was agent for the Royal Bank ; a Director and Valuator
of the Royal Insurance Society ; Director of Blairgowrie
Gas Company ; Director of Westfields Spinning Company ;
Chairman of Blairgowrie Water Commission ; a County
Councillor, Parish Councillor, and member of other bodies.
He engaged in extensive concerns as maltster at Blair-
gowrie Arbroath, Craigie, Perth, Stirling, and other places ;
and carried on a successful cattle mart in Blairgowrie.
He bought the estates of Dalnagairn in Strathardle ;
Inchmartine (2800 acres) in the Carse of Gowrie ; and
Buttergask (1250 acres), and Carsie in Strathmore. He
also farmed Blacklaw T and Gormack. He rented the
extensive sheep grazings of Glenfernate, Dalnmnzie, and
Old Spittal of Gleiishee. He was one of the leading
partners in Newtyle Chemical Works; was Superior of
Rattray; and owned a large number of properties in
Blairgowrie, Perth, Glasgow, &c.
In 1868 John Panton took an active part in the political
campaign which broke up the Tory yoke in the shire.
In recent years business rather than politics occupied
his brain, but his sympathies and his vote were in the
Conservatives' favour. He was for long a Free Church-
man, but a good many years ago he joined the Estab-
lished Church, of which he was a regular atteuder.
As a solicitor a large share of the business of the
district fell into his hands, and, in difficult arbitrations
and in the management of trust estates, his skill and
strong common sense made him an indispensable adviser.
In the midst of his extensive and varied business John
Panton found time for much kindly social intercourse.
He was a keen curler and a genial friend, and was ever
inspired by a simple desire for the public welfare and,
the general good. He died 29th September, 1898.
230 EMINENT MEN.
Of whom shall I further write ? To sketch shortly the
lives of the worthy citizens natives of the town and
district would fill a volume alone.
James Anderson of Bleaton (1797-1868), solicitor and
George B. Anderson, son of the former (18 -1868)
a banker and popular Captain of the Volunteers.
John Baxter of Ashbank (1799-1869) flaxspinner.
John Bisset of Marlee (1808-1890) farmer and agricul-
tural implement maker; the founder of the world-famous
firm of Bisset & Sons, makers of reapers and mowers.
David Brown of Thorngreen (1800-1865) lessee of the
principal hotel in town, then Brown's Hotel ; proprietor
of a coach, " Braes of Mar," which ran between Perth
and Braemar ; who also ran stage-coaches to Coupar
Angus and Dundee ; carried on distilleries at Blairgowrie,
Ballied, and Pitcarmic ; and farmed Marlee, Thorngreen,
Grange of Airlie, Auchteralyth, besides having sheep
grazings in Inverness, &c.
Peter Chalmers (1799-1887) of Gowanlea for over fifty
years leader of psalmody, first in the Parish Church and
afterwards in First Free Church.
Robert Cowpar of Falcon House (1822-1887), J.P. a dis-
tinguished officer in the service of H.M.E.I. Company,
rising gradually from Ensign to honorary rank of Lieut.-
Colonel ; who farmed Wester Essendy, Drummellie, and
William Culross, native of Welltown (1798-1889) wood-
James Leslie, the Thorn (1808-1894) (after whom Leslie
-Street is named) a very successful breeder of black
Jacob Low, of Welltown (1809-1883) an extensive sheep
farmer in Queensland, and for several years member of
William M'Farlane (1854-1886) journalist, occupied im-
portant positions on the staff of the " Scotsman," on the
press in China and Japan, published a book on Chinese
character, which was much appreciated, sub-editor of
the "Portsmouth Times."
James Peters (1766-1860) appointed first postmaster in
Blairgowrie about 1810.
EMINENT MEN. 231
William Robertson (1810-1879) boo.kseller, who set up
the first printing press in the town about 1838.
James Ross (1789-1875) bookseller, started in 1855 the
first newspaper in town, iinder the title of "Ross's Com-
pendium of the Week's News."
James Struth (18 -1894) began life as a mill lad,
with a natural bent for mechanics fostered by his em-
ployers, rising step by step until he was chief of one of
the largest and best jute industries in India.
Peter M'Intosh (17 -1831) spinner, the first to intro-
duce spinning by machinery into the district.
Thomas Clark of Heathpark publisher in Edinburgh.
William S. Soutar solicitor and banker.
James Crockart angler, gunsmith, and a crack rifle
James Chalmers of Boglea (18 1897) J.P. draper,
farmer, and Provost of Blairgowrie.
William Craigie (1821-1897) slater, Town Councillor, &c.
Thomas Mitchell of Greenfield (1820-1884) draper,
William Pantoii of Maryfield farmer and maltster.
George Saunders (1807-1873) manufacturer.
George P. Cochrane teacher.
William Cowan (1806-1989) wright.
John Fleming (1807-1876) builder, a member of Town
Council, and Bailie in 1859 and 1863.
George G. MacLaren a distinguished military surgeon,
served over 22 years in India ; for many years Medical
Supervisor of the important Civil Station of Dehra
Doon, N. W. Province, who performed in 1880 a success-
ful operation on the right eye of Yakoob Khan, ex-Ameer
of Afghanistan ; retired on a pension with honorary
rank of Lieut.-Colonel.
James F. MacLaren (brother of the above) appointed,
1881, Surgeon to Her Majesty's 2nd (Prince of Wales'
Own), Goorkha regiment, permanently stationed during
peace at Dehra Doon, N. W. Province. (It was this
regiment who so markedly distinguished itself along with
the 92nd Highlanders, at> the battle of Candahar, under
Sir Frederick Roberts, during the Afghan War.)
232 EMINENT MEN.
Charles Templeman, M.D., B.Sc., Medical Officer of
Alexander M'Farlane, M.A., B.Sc., D.Sc., LL.D. acted
as Assistant Professor of Mathematics in Edinburgh
University, 1879-1881 ; in 1885 appointed Professor of
Physics in University of Texas.
James Isles, J.P., P.S.A., Scot. wine merchant, anti-
quarian, and art connoisseur.
James Stewart, coal merchant, ex-Provost.
Isaac Henry-Anderson of Druidsmere, S.S.C. ; factor
on the estates of Ardblair, Craighall, Marlee, &c. ; Clerk
of Eastern District Road Trust ; for many years agent
of Commercial Bank.
Robert Robertson, solicitor and banker, for many years
Peter Chalmers a distinguished soldier, saw active
service in the Crimea, Adjutant of the Stirling Volun-
teers, retired on a pension with honorary rank of Major.
David Chalmers, timber and coal merchant, for nearly
30 years an enthusiastic volunteer and popular Captain.
William Davie, ironmonger and seedsman, donor of the
Public Park to Blairgowrie.
David Farquharson, A.R.S.A., artist.
William Dickson, artist.
John Craigie, M.A., LL.B., advocate.
Thomas Steven, J.P., wright, for many years a Bailie
and Chief -Magistrate.
James Ogilvy, brewer, a County Councillor, and pro-
prietor of Parkhead estate.
William Robertson, baker, first music teacher of James
Durward Lyall (Durward Lely) Scotland's famous tenor.
Thomas T. M'Laggan, M.A., teacher of Classics, High
School of Edinburgh.
James Moncur, Superintendent of Scottish Prison Stores,
James C. Anderson of Aikenhead, late Resident Magis-
trate, Bengal Civil Service, India.
James Moir, Professor of Conveyancing, Glasgow.
David Templeman, flaxspimier, Provost of Blairgowrie.
James Kynoch, Chief Engineer, Canadian General Elec-
Sir William Laird of Gartsherrie, &c., &c.
Walks and Drives around Blairgowrie To Lornty and the Heughs
Round Knock-ma-har Round the Golf Course Places of Interest
near Blairgowrie Distances from Blairgowrie The Royal Route
Blairgowrie to Dunkeld To Alyth To Coupar Angus.
To LORNTY AND THE HEUGHS.
ON a ramble up the river side we enter Lower Mill
Street from the Wellmeadow, at the Victoria Hotel.
Immediately before us, on a low-lying tract, are the
Grain Mills, belonging to the representatives of the late
John Panton. Next to them, after passing a jute store,
are the buildings long known as the " Plash Mill," now the
property and works of John Abercromby, millwright.
Next is the " Muckle Mill," and on the north side of the
road are Ericht Linen Works. On the heights to the
left are the Parish Manse and part of the Glebe, and
further up, on the summit, is " Mount Zion " - the
Parish Kirk o' Blair the back wall of which forms
almost a plumb line to the side of a grassy wooded
ravine in w r hich runs the Cuttle Burn. A short distance
from this, the Ericht rushes impetuously down a gorge,
forming a cascade known as " The Keith." Tradition
points out this as the scene of Cargill's leap, when he
was pursued by the dragoons of Claverhouse. Pleasantly
situated on the opposite side is Linnkeith house, and
further up, the residence and works of Keithbauk. "We
now pass through Oakbank, with its works, warehouses,
and workers' dwellings, while the residence of the same
name is seen nestling among the trees on the high ground
to the left. Near this is Ashbank, and on the opposite
side of the river the house and works of Braniblebank.
We now pass Brooklinn, with its mill standing on the
face of the ravine of Lornty, at its junction with the
Ericht. Turning by a curve to the left, the road leads
us to Lornty Bridge, where the north road from the
234 ROUND KNOCK-MA-HAR.
" Cross " of Blair, up by the " Hill " and Burnbead, joins
in. The bridge of Lornty has been three times built, one
structure over the other the lowest one attributed to
the Romans about the year 80. Two nice walks branch
off here one on each side of the Lornty. The one on
the left leads past Lornty Cottage and the old mill of
Lornty, through the policies of old Lornty House on to
the Dam and Falls. The Dam has been artificially con-
structed for storage of water to Lornty Mills. Beyond this,
the walk ascends gradually the rugged heights, and ab-
ruptly descends to the water's edge, where a rustic seat
has been erected overlooking the placid waters of the
Dam. The walk on the north side leads up to " Prince
Charlie's Well" and the old castles of Glasclune and
Having crossed the bridge and traversed a very rough
road for about a fourth of a-mile, we strike a path to
the right, and pursue our way to the "Heughs." The
track is a zig-zag but well-beaten one, through a deep
hollow, then ascending a steep ridge to a grassy flat,
where a rustic seat enables the traveller to rest. Near
this is the Heugh mineral well, possessed of valuable
therapeutic medicinal properties. The walk may be con-
tinued up the acclivity to the summit of the " Heughs,"
turning to the right and gradually descending along the
crest till we enter on the highway at Bridge of Craighall,
crossing which and pursuing our way southwards, we
pass through Westfields and Rattray, and re-enter Blair-
gowrie at the Bridge.
A pleasant walk may be had from the Cross of Blair,
ascending the Hill by the Parish Manse and the Hill
Kirk, through Hill Terrace the High Street of Blair-
gowrie of 200 years ago and turning to the right at
Stormont Lodge, cross bridge over the Cuttle Burn, on
to the " Board of Health." A fine stretch of country is
here brought into view, from Mount Blair in the north
to Kinpurnie in the south, and Benachally in the west.
Several seats have been erected to allow the traveller
to enjoy the scenes at his leisure.
The road to the right leads down to Lornty, passing
ROUND THE GOLF COURSE. 235
several gigantic specimens of beech trees. We pursue
the Knockie Road to the left, passing Knockie Quarry.
Right down below us, stretching east and west, is the
ravine of Lornty, while away to the north are the Car-
nashic Woods and Muir of Cochrage. To the west are
the lochs of the Stormont and the hills around Dunkeld.
By a keen eye a distant view of Glasclune Castle may
be had. Entering a wicket gate, we turn southwards,
cross the summit of Knockie, and descend by Maryfield
and Newton Castle to the town. Splendid views of the
Howe of Strathmore may be had from various points of
vantage on the descent.
ROUND THE GOLF COURSE.
This is the favourite Sunday promenade during the
summer season. Leaving the town by the south at
Bankhead, we pass the old Tollhouse and the entrance
to Altamont House. Close by is Blairgowrie Quarry,
producing a hard rough stone of gravelly formation. To
the left is the home farm of Blairgowrie, with the Man-
sion House and policies of the same the residence of
the Superior of the town. This demesne was built in
1792, and is pleasantly situated. For upwards of half-a-
mile from the Toll, southwards on the left, the path is
delightfully shaded by the overhanging branches of the
trees which, when in full leaf, presents a glorious ap-
pearance. Woodlands House on the right marks the
site where the "Bloody" Cumberland camped on his
way to Culloden. Adjoining this is Heathpark (built by
Thomas Clark, the famous Edinburgh publisher), and
Brownsville, both desirable residences. After passing
through the muirland hamlet known as the " Green Tree "
we come to the cross roads at Rosemount Station. The
main road leads south-east to Coupar Angus and Dundee.
The road to the left leads to Rosemount House, Park-
head, and Coupar Grange, also to the Welton and up
the riverside to Blairgowrie. The road to the right
leads west to the Golf Course and "Dark Fa's." By
the great storm of November, 1875, a large tract of
Rosemount Wood was blown down, but the road is still
lined with a row of beautiful silver birches which with-
stood the storm.
236 DISTANCES FROM BLAIBGOWRIE.
About half-a-mile west is the Golf Course, laid out in
1889, which extends on to the Perth Road near " Dry-
briggs" at Druidsmere. Coming to the "Dark Fa's" we
join the main road leading from Blair to Perth via
Cargill, and turning to the right, facing north, pass by
the Cemetery and Falcon House. To the left, at a dis-
tance, is the pretty little hamlet of Muirton of Ardblair
a frequent and well-known resort of artists and lovers
of the picturesque. The Essendy Road branches off here,
leading to Lethendy, Delvine, and Dunkeld, passing the
Druidical Circle about a mile down. From Cleekerinn
on the left a fine view is had of the slope on which the
town of Blair is situated.
There are many other pleasant and favourite walks
in the immediate neighbourhood, of which mention might
be made, as " Along the Loon Braes," " Round the Coont-
lie," " The Hatton Hill," " Castle Hill," the " Gallowbank,"
down by "The Welton," &c., &c.
PLACES OF INTEREST NEAR BLAIRGOWRIE.
The Hatton Hill, 2 miles east, through Rattray.
The Castle Hill, 2 miles south-east, through Rattray.
Craighall, 3 miles north, through Rattray.
The Heughs, 2 miles north, by Oakbank.
Glasclune Castle, 2 miles north, by Maryfield.
Newton Castle, at the back of the town.
Ardblair Castle, 1 mile west, via Dunkeld.
Marlee Loch, 2 miles west, via Dunkeld.
Druidical Circle, 1 mile west, Essendy.
Muirton of Ardblair, 1 mile south-west.
Golf Course, 1| miles south.
Stormont Loch, 2 miles south.
Beech Hedge, 4 miles south, via Meikleour.
DISTANCES FROM BLAIRGOWRIE.
Alyth, ... 5 miles. Forfar, ... 20 miles.
Birnam, ... 13 Forneth, ... 5
Braemar, ... 35 Glamis Castle, 15
Bridge of Cally, 6 Glenshee, ... 20
Bendochy, ... 4 Kinclaven, ... 5
Blair Athole, 32 Kirkmichael, 13
Cargill, ... 6 Kirriemuir, ... 14
THE ROYAL ROUTE. 237
Carsie, 2 miles. Lethendy, ... 4 miles.
Clunie, 6 Meigle, 8
Caputh, 6 Meikleour, ... 4J ",
Coupar Angus, 4f Persie, ... 8
Den of Airlie, 10 Pitlochry, ... 26(24),,
Dundee, ... 19 Rattray, ... 1
Dunkeld, ...12(13) Spittalfield, ... 5
THE ROYAL ROUTE.
Before the extension of the railway system by Aber-
deen to Ballater, the road from Blairgowrie to Glenshee
and Braemar was on two occasions taken by Her Majesty
the Queen, Prince Consort, and suite, on their way to
This was in the years 1842 and 1857 ; but since then
many other Royal personages have journeyed thereon,
hence its term, " The Royal Route."
On leaving Blairgowrie the road crosses the Ericht by
a handsome bridge, up the Boat Brae, and, turning to the
left, we enter Balmoral Road, passing some beautiful
cottages and villas. Now and again we have a view
of the Heughs of Mause. Passing the entrance to
Craighall House, we come to the Bridge. It was built
in 1810, and is very passable, but the accesses to it are
abrupt and dangerous. In the olden days vehicles and
passengers to the north had to ford the river by what
was known as the " Rough Ford." The building of the
bridge was followed by an advantageous and better
executed work in the cutting of a new road to Cally,
several miles of the way taking a lower altitude and
escaping the steep ascent of the old road up by Mause.
The road is cut along the face of the left side of the
Ericht, and at openings of the trees brings the eye in
more immediate command of the opposite side, with
views of the famed house of Craighall. As we journey
on for nearly a mile, the scenery is of the most
romantic and magnificent description, and can scarcely
be excelled, not only as an enchanting, but a perfect
embodiment of all that constitutes the essential elements
of beauty and grandeur. Wood, water, chasm, and rock
are finely intermingled in all the light and shade so dear
to the lover of Nature in her grandest displays of
238 BRIDGE OF CALLY.
panoramic sublimity. Through a deep ravine of savage
rock and crag, rugged and bare, or clothed with dense
foliage of hazel and oak coppice, here and there relieved
by tall and graceful trees, imparting to the view the
most delightful sylvan beauty, dark and sullen flows the
" ireful " river. In the depth of its abyss the water
rushes along its stony bed, filling the solitude with a
ceaseless roar. To those who wish to have the incom-
parable scene at its best, let them go to its enjoyment
during the summer months when it is decked by Nature
in the mantle of green. Passing onward we round the
heights of Mause, losing the track of the river and its
rocky banks, while a new panorama is exposed to view.
On the other side of the river, near the crest, is Ranna-
gulzion, and almost below, near the river side, on a
beautiful site, amid charming surroundings, stands Glen-
A former proprietor of this estate, Sir William Chal-
mers, a Waterloo veteran, was knighted by the Queen
on her first journey north this route to Balmoral in
A little further on is the Barony of Cally, which at
one time included a considerable extent of country,
from the revenues of which a monastery and nunnery
connected with Dunkeld Cathedral were maintained.
There were wont to be two Chapels in the Barony-
one with burying-ground at Wester Cally, which has
disappeared, and the other at Steps of Cally. This one
had also a burial-place attached, which has been put
in order and is still used.
Bridge of Cally, from the stone bridge spanning the
Ardle, may be regarded as a leading entrance to the
Highland Glens. The main road splits off into two
here. One, striking to the right, leads to Clayquhat
and Ashmore; to Persie; up the Blackwater and Glen-
shee to the Spittal of Glenshee ; then up Glen Beg,
round the Devil's Elbow, over the Cairn well (3039 ft.),
and down Glen Clunie to Braemar, distant from Blair-
gowrie, 35 miles. The other road strikes off to the left
up Strathardle, passing many desirable shooting lodges
and mansions Blackcraig with its house-bridge and
castellated mansion, Woodhill, &c. on through Ballin-
BLAIRGOWRIE TO DUNKBLD. 239
tuim to Kirkmichael, the capital of Strathardle, distant
from Blairgowrie, 13 miles. The road continues onwards
BRIDGE OF CALLY.
through Euochdhu, along Glenbrierachan, over the hill
at Badvo, and down thi'ough Moulin to Pitlochry.
BLAIRGOWRIE TO DUNKELD.
Distance by the Upper Storrnont 12 miles.
Distance by the Lower Stormont 13 miles.
Proceeding westward from the Cross of Blairgowrie
we diverge to the right at Stormont Inn. Near by are
the extensive agricultural engineering works of J. Bisset
& Sons, Ltd. Beautifully situated is Ardblair Castle,
an old fortress, of date 1668, but recently restored and
modernised. The Rae Loch, or Loch of the Leys, is
immediately to the west, while half-a-mile to the north
is Craig Roman (600 ft.) A short distance further on
are the Parish Church and School of Kinloch, and Marlee
Hotel, and to the left are Marlee House and homestead.
A field-breadth to the south is Marlee Loch, a beautiful
sheet of water, which abounds in trout, perch, and pike.
Proceeding along, we pass on our right Kinloch House
BLAIRGOWRIE TO DUNKELD.
and the entrances leading to the mansions of Ballied and
Logie. At the double turn of the road we pass Clunie
Cottage on the left, with the farms of Tullyneddie on the
right. We now approach Clunie Loch, having in its
centre an island, on which, it is alleged, the Admirable
Crichton was born. The scenery around the loch is ex-
tremely beautiful. On the high ground to the north
of the loch is Forneth House. Just below the road
and two miles further on is the residence of Laighwood.
Near this part, we observe to the right Benachally
(1594 ft.) A short distance from it is St Crux Well, to
which pilgrimages were wont to be made. We now pass
a succession of very beautiful lochs with a rich diversity
of scenery Lochs Butterstone, the Lowes, and Craiglush
and, turning abruptly to the left, strike south-east
down hill to Duukeld.
This town occupies a site of rare beauty on the banks
of the Tay, and is surrounded by hills one the classic
Birnam (1580 ft.) and another Craig-y-Barns, both well
worth ascending. There are many interesting sights in
this quaint old town worthy of a visit.
BLAIRGOWRIE TO DUNKELD.
The road from Dunkeld to Blairgowrie by the Lower
Stormont is also famed for its scenery. For a few
miles after leaving Dunkeld the road winds along the
romantic banks of the river Tay.
Close to the road is the mansion-house of Stenton,
with Stenton Craig to the north, while on the other side
of the river may be seen, embosomed amid the trees, the
old and new Castles of Murthly. In a short time we
pass through Caputh and Spittalfield, the latter one of
the prettiest villages in Perthshire. Near by is the
mansion-house of Del vine, with traces of a Roman
station. The picturesque Tower of Lethendy may be
seen to the north-east. The next place of interest
along the route is the charming village of Meikleour,
which was in former times a place of considerable
importance. In the
middle of the village
stands the Market
Cross, bearing date
1698, in good preser-
vation. In a field
almost opposite is the
" Tron " of former days,
with an iron necklet,
doubtless used as "the
jouggs." The entrance
to the mansion of
Meikleour is directly
off the Market Square.
On this estate, along-
side the main road from Blairgowrie to Perth,
famous "Beech Hedge," one of the arboreal wonders
of the world. The length of the hedge is about 580
yards, and it has an average height of 90 feet,
believed to have been planted in 1746. For over hal
a-century the hedge has been regularly cut on the
next the road, in order to 'keep the road clear and give
to the row a truly hedge-like character. The operation
of pruning is carried out every five years, and, froi
height and extent of the hedge, the work
ordinary labour. Turning to the left the road passes
through the woods of Meikleour, up by and through
TRON AND JOUGGS.
242 BLAIRGOWRIE TO ALYTH.
the woods of Carsie to the Muir of Blair. On the right
may be seen the Golf Course, and on the left the
beautiful residence of Druidsmere. Rounding the bend
of the road at " Dark Fa's," and passing the Cemetery
and Falcon House, we enter the west end of the town.
Pretty little cottages and villas dot the side of the
road from Falcon House right in for nearly half-a-mile.
On the road which strikes off to the west at Falcon
House, about half-a-mile away, is a Druidical Circle,
arranged as a hexagon, with a block of stone at each
angle point. The road passes directly through the
centre of two opposite sides. To the south is the
village of Muirton of Ardblair, where a famous Admiral
in the Russian service was born about the year 1769.
BLAIRGOWRIE TO ALYTH, &c.
Crossing the Bridge of Blair we climb the Boat Brae,
in Rattray, at the top of which the road divides, one
leading off to the left to Kirkmichael and Gleushee, the
other to Alyth, Kirriemuir, &c. We pursue our way
along the latter to the Cross of Old Rattray. Another
road branches off to the left to Alyth and Glenisla.
About half-a-mile along this road is the mansion of
Parkhill, commanding a magnificent view of the Valley
of Strathmore. Getting clear out of Old Rattray, in a
short time we pass through Bevershire, a small village
near the Littleton of Rattray. Immediately east of this
the road descends and again ascends the Hollymill Brae.
Driving along this road eastwards a very fine view is
had of the Howe of Strathmore, which has been com-
pared to the scenery along the banks of the Rhine.
About 5 miles east from Blair is the town of Alyth,
the old part of which is irregularly built on a steep
declivity of the Grampians. Several miles to the north-
east are the " Reekie Linn,' the Den of Airlie, and Airlie
Castle, the ancient seat of the Ogilvies, Earls of Airlie
" The Bonnie Hoose o' Airlie " of Jacobite song. South-
east from Blair about 7 miles is Meigle, a small village,
and seat of a Presbytery. In the churchyard are several
upright pillars adorned with emblematical figures, which
are of great interest, particularly to archaeologists.
BLAIRGOWBIE TO COUPAR ANGUS. 243
This route goes down Reform Street, along to the
right at Bankhead, and, turning to the left at foot of
William Street, enters on the Coupar Angus Road at
the old tollhouse. A short distance down is the entrance
to Altamont House on the right and that to Blairgowrie
House on the left. The road leads down a fine stretch
to Rosemount Station, past several interesting residences,
in a district almost given up to the cultivation of that
most luscious of all fruits the strawberry. The road
crosses the railway at Rosemount Station, goes away
south-east by Moorfield, Mayriggs, Couttie, and Bridge
of Isla, to Coupar Angus, distant from Blairgowrie about
4| miles. The chief attraction of this place is the
ruins of the once-famous abbey of St Benedict, founded
with great ceremony on Sunday, 12th July, 1164, by
King Malcolm IV. A fragment only of this building
now remains, having survived the storm of iconoclastic
fury which broke over Scotland at the Reformation.
CURIOUS, INTERESTING, AND AMUSING.
A Blairgowrie in America A Curious Despatch from India A " Blair
Chiel'" Mayor of Dunedin A "Blair Highlander" in Russia Pen-
nant's Description of Blair Copy of a Burgess' Circular Waterloo
Heroes connected with Blairgowrie An Interesting Operation on the
Ameer Blairgowrie in 1800 Blairgowrie 50 Years Ago Statistics
of Death Rate "Blair Watter Curlin' Stanes" Blairgowrie Instru-
mental Band The Hymn Tune, " Blairgowrie "Forest of Clunie
Farms The Catty Mill Carsie Scutching Mill Baldornoch Slate-
Merchants' Pic-nic St Fink Benachally Monument Parish Kirk
Elders Copy Letter from the Young Chevalier The Bridge of
Craighall The Priest's House The Ash Trees Parish Church
Illuminated Clock Athletics An Inducement to Feuars on Blair-
gowrie Estate Montrose Disbands his Army near Blairgowrie
Genealogy of the Family of Blair Blairgowrie Volunteers in 1804
Interesting Despatches from India, 1858 A Local Violin Maker, &c.
A BLAIRGOWRIE IN AMERICA.
IN a pamphlet issued in 1882 by the Scottish American
Land Company, descriptive of the State of Iowa, it
is stated that " at Blairgowrie, a farm owned by Mr
Adamson, of Pitlochry, Scotland, we saw a lot of steers,
about 600 in number, in good condition."
There is also a place named Blairgowrie near Chicago.
A CURIOUS DESPATCH FROM INDIA.
" We hereby certify that the ' Neilsonian ' cauliflower,
produce of the seeds supplied by Mr Neilson, merchant,
High Street, Blairgowrie, are very fine. These vege-
tables have of late daily graced the Worshipful Festive
Board, and their great size, beautiful whiteness, and
delicacy of taste and appearance, have invariably called
forth complimentary comment.
" Given under our Worshipful hand and holograph, at
A " BLAIR HIGHLANDER " IN RUSSIA. 245
our Castle of Tarooshek, in the province of Scinde and
Valley of the Indus, this fifteenth day of February, one
thousand eight hundred and fifty-nine.
"R. Cowpar, Captain, H. M.'s 1st Bombay
Fusileers, Dep. Commissioner of Hydra-
bad, and Her Majesty's Justice of the
Peace for the island of Bombay and
its dependencies, &c."
A " BLAIR CHIEL' " MAYOR OF DUNBDIN.
The "Otago Guardian" of 2nd July, 1874, says:
"After one of the sharpest contests ever known in
Dunedin, Mr Keith Ramsay has been elected Mayor of
this city. . . In the year 1862 Mr Ramsay emigrated
from Blairgowrie to New Zealand, and that he had in
so short a time risen to the highest municipal dignity
in the City of Dunedin speaks volumes for his industry,
perseverance, and sterling worth, and reflects honour on
his native town of Blairgowrie."
Again, the "Otago Guardian" of 29th July, 1875, re-
ports that at a meeting of the City Council, on 28th
July, the following resolution was, on the motion of
Councillor Walter, the Mayor-elect, passed unanimously:
" That this Council desire, on the eve of the retirement
of Mr Ramsay from the Mayoral Chair, to thank him
for the courtesy and impartiality he has always mani-
fested during his term of office, and wish that at no
distant period he may be found taking an active part
in the affairs of the city."
Mr Ramsay was entertained to a banquet in the Free
Church School, James Street, by his old schoolfellows,
while on a visit home in 1898.
A " BLAIR HIGHLANDER " IN RUSSIA.
On the occasion of the coronation of the Czar in
1856, at Moscow, John Saunders (MacAlister), a native
of this district, attended as piper and valet to the Duke
of Sutherland, who represented the Queen. The "Daily
News" correspondent states that "MacAlister, the Duke's
piper, was in attendance in the ante-room at Lord Grau-
ville's ball in full uniform, kilt and philabeg, it being
246 COPY OF A BURGESS CIRCULAR.
the intention of the noble host that, in some interval
of the dance, the Russian guests should be made ac-
quainted with the peculiar characteristics of Highland
music ; but the bardic soul of MacAlister was impatient
of restraint. He shouldered his pipes and, striking up
a pibroch, marched into the centre of the brilliant ring,
round which Dukes and Duchesses were at that moment
" I watched the effect (says the correspondent) of
this strange music on the unaccustomed ears of the
Russians with great interest. They were at first evi-
dently astounded, the officers putting their hands to
their ears, and the ladies crossing their hands and gazing
on the kilted Aeolus in mute surprise. But soon it be-
came evident that there was a sympathy between the
warlike race on the one hand and the warlike music
on the other ; and when the Grand Duchess Constantine,
one of the most beautiful women in Russia, retired to
another apartment, she sent for MacAlister, who played
' The White Cockade ' in a manner that elicited Her
Imperial Highness' commendation. From that moment
he became the fashion, and several times in the course
of the evening played again to admiring audiences.
MacAlister, since his arrival, has been quite a lion
among the Russians, who follow him in crowds through
the streets, thinking him to be the chief of all the
foreign ambassadors, and that, with a fastidious refine-
ment of hauteur, he prefers walking on the ground, as
none of the carriages are grand enough for his notions
of personal dignity."
PENNANT'S DESCRIPTION OF BLAIR.
Pennant, on his Scottish tour, states that in passing
through the district of Blairgowrie, it was a proverbial
remark that "the inhabitants w r anted fire in winter,
water in summer, and the grace of God all the year
COPY OP A BURGESS CIRCULAR.
"BLAIRGOWRIE, 20th Nov., 186S.
" SIR, As you are, by the Titles of your Property in
the Barony of Blairgowrie, bound to contribute to the
WATERLOO HEROES CONNECTED WITH BLAIRGOWRIE. 247
Town's Funds ; and, as you appear to be in arrear, to
the extent under-noted, I have to request that payment
of this arrear be made to me within ten days. No
further notice will be sent. One year at Is.
"I am, Sir,
" Your most obedient servant,
"Pro ALEXANDER ROBERTSON,
WATERLOO HEROES CONNECTED WITH BLAIRGOWRIE.
Lieutenant -General Sir William Chalmers, eldest son
of William Chalmers of Glenericht, served in Sicily, in
the Walcheren expedition, and throughout the Penin-
sular War, being present at seventeen engagements. He
commanded a wing of the famous 52nd Foot at Water-
loo, and had three horses shot from under him. He was
knighted by the Queen on her first journey to Balmoral
through Glenericht in 1842, was created a C.B. and
K.C.B., and Colonel-in-Chief of the 78th Highlanders.
He died in 1860.
Colonel Sir Colin Campbell, 5th son of John Campbell
of Melfort, by Colina, daughter of John Campbell of
Achalader, was educated at Perth Academy, and first
served as a midshipman on board of an East Indiaman.
Two years later he was serving as a Lieutenant in the
3rd battalion of the Breadalbane Fencibles, and in 1799
was appointed Ensign in a West Indian regiment. Again,
Campbell exchanged to the Ross-shire Buffs, and dis-
played great gallantry at the siege of Ahmednuggur,
under Sir Arthur Wellesley. He was severely wounded
at Assaye, and afterwards accompanied Wellington to
the Peninsula, where he got a staff appointment. For
his services in Spain he obtained the Gold Cross with
six clasps, and was made a K.C.B. He accompanied
Wellington to Belgium, and at Waterloo was command-
ant at headquarters.
John Young served as a trooper in the 6th Inniskilling
Dragoons, and took part in the glorious charge of the
Union Brigade at Waterloo. He had the Waterloo and
two other medals, and after leaving the army settled
248 BLAIRGOWRIE IN 1800.
down in Blairgowrie as a porter. " Watery," as he was
familiarly called, appeared occasionally at Masonic pro-
cessions bearing a rather lengthy sword. On the 18th
of June he used to decorate the windows of his house
in Tannage Street with laurel. He was buried in Blair-
gowrie Cemetery with military honours.
William Tyrie, son of James Tyrie, farmer, Milton of
Clunie, enlisted in the 42nd Highlanders and served in
Spain. At Quatre Bras, Tyrie received two severe wounds
from a Lancer, but his assailant was almost immediately
killed by a mounted British officer.
AN INTERESTING OPERATION ON THE AMEER.
In 1880 Dr G. G. MacLaren (now of Falcon House,
Blairgowrie), Civil Surgeon at Dehra Doon, India,
achieved a successful operation on the right eye of the
ex-Ameer of Afghanistan, Yakoob Khan, at Mussoorie.
A fleshy excrescence of some years' gathering was re-
moved, by which complete recovery of his imperilled
vision was secured.
BLAIRGOWRIE IN 1800.
Blairgowrie, a village and parish in the County of
Perth. The village was created into a Burgh of Barony
in 1634, of which Colonel Macpherson is Superior. The
parish extends in an irregular form, in length about
11 miles, and about 3 in breadth. It is divided into two
districts by the Grampians, which form the northern
boundary of the Valley of Strathmore. The hills are
covered with heath, and there are considerable tracts
of muir, moss, and natural wood. The arable soil is
generally a stiff loam, and part is gravelly. The Isla,
Ericht, and Ardle are the rivers, which abound with
trout and salmon. The Ericht is a very rapid river, and
has some very fine cascades ; its banks are highly orna-
mented, and many gentlemen have put down summer
quarters in its vicinity. There are many lakes of
different sizes, some of which when drained have yielded
great quantities of excellent marl. There are two free-
stone quarries, but the stone is of inferior quality; and
muirstone abounds in every part. There are several
chalybeate springs, one of which is particularly resorted
STATISTICS OF DEATH RATE. 249
to. Considerable quantities of household linen are manu-
factured. The new method of husbandry is practised
here with great success. Newton House, the birthplace
of the justly - celebrated George Drummond, Esq., six
times elected Lord Provost of Edinburgh, is a fine old
mansion, commanding an extensive prospect. There are
several cairns and druidical circles in the parish. Popu-
lation returned to Sir J. Sinclair, 1651. "Gazetteer of
Scotland," 1803 : Printed in Dundee.
BLAIRGOWRIE 50 YEARS AGO.
The old town existed at the Hill, but at the beginning
of the century a move was made to the low ground.
High Street, Allan Street, and the Croft were laid out,
and formed the first streets of the new town. There
had been many houses alongside the High Street (part
of the old turnpike road from the south country to the
north), for nearly a century before. The High Street
at this time extended from the Cross to Rorry Street.
There was nothing beyond this but land, except M'Nab's
ale-house (the Dreadnought). All north from the High
Street was land. The old Parish School was the first
building in John Street, and Geddes' house the first in
James Street. The houses in High Street and Allan
Street were small, with no mutual gables in those days,
but built with narrow slits between each. Leslie Street
was all garden ground, and the Wellmeadow in grass
for grazing purposes. From the top of what is now
David Street a broad belt of old oak, plane, and elm
trees extended west beyond the Castle of Newton to
the march of Ardblair, and returned by the Gallowbank,
where only a remnant of that sylvan grove remains to
remind us of departed scenes. An old avenue of beech
and elm, which formed the approach from Perth Road
to the Castle, has also been swept away.
STATISTICS OF DEATH RATE.
Estimated Percentage Highest Age
Year. No. of Deaths. Over 60 Years.
1891 88 50 90
1893 96 > 96
1894 88 35
1895 103 56
250 BLAIBGOWRIB INSTRUMENTAL BAND.
" BLAIR WATTBR CURLIN' STANES."
These niineralogical treasures are found in the Ericht
from the Red Brae up to the Strone Brig. Belonging
to the trap family, they usually consist of quartz, horn-
blende, and augite ; felspar and iron pyrites are also
sometimes detected. The stones are generally in small
blocks, and it is a rare occurrence to get a block to yield
a pair of stones. The colour, when freshly broken, is
dark green, with a bluish tinge running through, but
when the stone has been polished, the colour becomes
a very dark green. These curling stones, though now
not so much sought after as formerly, form a grand
tool on which a curler may rely. They possess many
virtues which every good curler wishes his own curling
stones to have ; they are hard, tough, have fair specific
gravity (neither too heavy nor too light), are not
" sookin' " stones (a grave objection open to almost all
curling stones), take a grand polish, give grand
" chappin' " blows, and receive them equally well. On the
ice they are unequalled.
BLAIRGOWRIE INSTRUMENTAL BAND.
This band was organised about the year 1829, and
was composed of the following members : William
Scrimgeour (Leader), James Heron, Andrew Davie, John
Clark, James Robertson, John Saunders, William Buttar,
William Chalmers, John Small, John Robertson, Robert
Duncan, and Andrew Mitchell. The instruments used
were : Clarionets, key bugles, flutes, French horn, bas-
soon, serpent, trombone, and bass drum. As to the
uniform, it consisted of white trousers, blue jacket with
scarlet facings, and a blue bonnet with red band, sur-
mounted by a bunch of feathers.
For nearly 30 years this band continued to exist, and
on the institution of the Volunteer force in 1859, the
members then were patriotic enough to enlist, and the
band men and instruments was at once made avail-
able for the local corps. Over these Joseph Simpson
was appointed band-sergeant, a position he held for 16
years, when he resigned. At that time there were some
four clarionets and two flutes in the band, besides the
FOREST OP CLUNIE FARMS. 251
usual brass, some 16 in all, the intention having been
to shape itinto a reed band. "Joe" Simpson played the
euphonium, at which he was a recognised adept.
Alexander Ambrose joined the corps in 1859 (although
the books only credit him at 15th September, 1861), and
was in the band up till June, 1885, when he retired,
after being band-master for eight years.
William Hebeiiton joined the band in October, 1864,
and was associated with it for nearly 30 years, 8 of
which he was band-master.
Several years ago, however, the Volunteer Band was
broken up and a Pipe Band instituted for the Volunteers.
In 1894 a Town's Band was organised, and Mr Heben-
ton undertook the duties of leader and instructor. He
is a good player of the clarionet. He continued in office
for about two years, when Mr Neill was appointed.
THE HYMN TUNE " BLAIRGOWRIE."
In "The Life and Letters of the Rev. Dr Dykes,"
published 1898, there appears the following (page 157):
" On February 22nd he wrote a tune for the marriage
of a friend, to the words
' The voice that breathed o'er Eden.' "
The friend was Rev. F. W. Davis, of the Rectory, but
the hymn tune, which Dr Dykes named " Blairgowrie,"
was written for the marriage of the Rector's eldest
sister to Lieut. A. R. Davis Tosswill, of the old 75th
Regiment of Foot, now known as "The Gordon High-
landers." Dr Dykes presented the copyright of the tune
to Rev. F. W. Davis.
THE FOREST OF CLUNIE FARMS.
Over fifty years ago there were quite a lot of farms
and crofts in that district now known as the Forest
of Glume. The old folks were wont to sum up a few in
"Easter Bog, Wester Bog,
Bog, and Bog Mill,
Whistlebare, an' Shirra' Muir,
An' bonnie Birkin' Hill."
252 THE MERCHANTS' PIC-NIC.
The farm of Dullater was tenanted by one Donald Keir,
whose daughter (Charlotte Keir), kept a public-house in
Balmoral Road, Rattray, for many years.
THE CATTY MILL.
A short distance off the main highway to Dunkeld,
near the entrance to Ballied, existed a distillery known
as Catty Mill. David Brown, farmer of Marlee, was the
last distiller in occupancy, about the year 1849. The
buildings were very . extensive, with a long range of
malt barns, several worms, and a large number of stills,
while a ganger resided permanently. Traces of the ruins
may still be seen.
CARSIE SCUTCHING MILL
Was in the occupancy of Donald M'Intosh in 1800 ;
the remains of the lade are still visible. The mill was
afterwards turned into a sawmill by William Culross.
A Farina Mill, occupied by James Ogilvy, of Blairgowrie,
now stands near its site, but 011 the other side of the
For many years prior to 1850 a famous slate quarry
was in operation at Baldornoch, in the vicinity of For-
neth. The slates were of excellent quality, and had in
large sizes. One building, at least, in Blairgowrie is
covered with them the First Free Church. One day,
while the workmen were at dinner, the sides of the
quarry fell in and covered up all the working plant,
rendering the quarry useless, as it was never afterwards
THE MERCHANTS' PIC-NIC.
In 1864 the merchants of Blairgowrie convened and
successfully carried out, along with their friends, a
pic-nic to Glamis Castle ; again, in 1865, to Meikleour ;
and the last, in 1866, to Murthly Castle. The writer
has before him an interesting photo, of the group on the
last occasion. Many of the familiar faces are with us
to-day, but, alas ! the majority have " crossed the bourne
which knows no returning."
PARISH KIRK ELDERS. 253
About half-way between Blairgowrie and Alyth, to
the north of the highway, lies a small estate known
as St Fink. About the year A.D. 720 a chapel existed
here, dedicated to Saint Fyncan, Fyncana, or Phink,
one of the nine virgin daughters of Saint Donevald of
the Den of Ogilvy. They were known as the nine
maidens, although Boece only gives seven as their
number. Boece thus writes : " Donevald had vii doch-
teris, quhilk levit with him in gret penance, on beir
breid and wattir. They eit nevir bot anis on the day :
and the residew thairof occupyit in continewal labour
and orison. Thir holy virginis efter deceis of their
fader . . . (came to) . . . Abernethy, whare thay
leiffit ane devote life, and wur bury it at the rute of
ane aik, quhilk is halden yit in gret veneratioun amang
the pepil." Saint Fincana's day was 21st August.
Several sculptured stones have been unearthed from time
to time at St Fink, but whether or not they belonged
to the chapel cannot be determined.
On the summit of Benachally stands a cairn, erected
in 1830 by Messrs M'Intosh for Sir John Bisset of
Reichip. On taking out the "found" the workmen un-
earthed a skeleton of a man over six feet in height. It
was generally believed to be the remains of an English
trooper who was reputed to have been murdered there
in 1715 or 1745. His horse was observed for several
days saddled and bridled wandering in the Forest of
Clunie. He was on his way to the north with gold
to pay the English soldiery when he met his fate, and
it is said that the gold of the murdered trooper went
to purchase an estate in the Stormont, which passed
into the hands of many proprietors in the course of a
century, every one of whom failed to prosper.
PARISH KIRK ELDERS
Ordained in 1821 : William Macpherson, Blairgowrie
House; David Kidd; *Thornas Soutar, Netheraird; *George
Chalmers, Hillton of Mause; *Thomas Soutar, school-
master; and *John Baxter. Those marked : were in
254 THE PRIEST'S HOUSE.
office at the Disruption, 1843. Ordained in 1841 : Robert
Chalmers, Nether Clayquhat ; James Low, Muirton ;
George Playfair, Parkhead ; Robert Johnstone, school-
master ; Peter Chalmers, precentor ; James Cowpar, M.D. ;
John Connacher (afterwards missionary at Constantinople).
LETTER PROM YOUNG CHEVALIER.
Copy of letter from the young Chevalier to the laird
of Craighall, dated Blair in Athol, 2nd September, 1745 :
"It is now some weeks since I arrived in this country,
with a firm resolution to assert His Majesty's right, and
as I am now got so far into the country, with a good
body of the King's loyal subjects, I now require you
may join the Royal Standard with all the expedition
possible, when you may depend upon meeting with my
favour and friendship.
"CHARLES, P. R."
The summons did not, however, meet with the expected
response from the young laird.
THE BRIDGE OP CRAIGHALL.
In 1613 Silvester Rattray, then minister of the parish
of Rattray, petitioned the Privy Council for the erection
of a bridge at Craighall. The petition was granted, and
an order was issued for a subscription to build the
bridge ; but the matter went no further. Travellers to
and from the north had to ford the river at the Coble
Pule and again at Craigmill until the bridge was built
THE PRIEST'S HOUSE.
This domicile, occupied by the hereditary beadles of
the Parish Church, stood in the south-east corner of
garden at James Street House. The low house on
opposite side of street was built for the beadle after
"The Priest's House" was demolished by Robert
Robertson, nearly fifty years ago. The old beadles, John
MacLachlan and his father, resided here many years. At
the south-west corner of the garden stood another small
house, long occupied by Allan Heron, the first letter
carrier in the town.
MONTROSE DISBANDS HIS ARMY NEAR BLAIRGOWRIE. 255
THE ASH TREES.
Before James Street was formed, there was a path
leading from the Hill of Blair westwards to Brown
Street, passing the front of "The Priest's House." The
south side of the path was marked by a high bank, and
a row of beautiful ash trees, long since removed, but
still remembered by many old inhabitants.
Rev. J. W. Foyer, elected assistant minister of Parish
Church, May, 1867; transferred to Kilry, August, 1877.
In September, 1869, a new clock with transparent dials
was set up in spire of South Free Church. It was lit
with gas at night for several years.
Early in May, 1869, the Athletic Games Association
was formed, with James Small, President; James Play-
fair, Vice-President ; James Isles, Secretary. The first
games were held in July in a park near Altamont,
which were a great success. The surplus 'revenue
amounted to over 92.
AN INDUCEMENT TO FEUARS ON BLAIRGOWRIE ESTATE.
As a special inducement and benefit to the Feuars on
Blairgowrie Estate, all parties building a dwelling-house
thereon of the value of 400 will be entitled (in terms
of an arrangement between the late Allan Macpherson
and the Railway Company), to a free first class pass
over the Caledonian Railway from Blairgowrie to Perth
and Forfar and intermediate stations.
MONTROSE DISBANDS HIS ARMY NEAR BLAIRGOWRIE.
In 1646, King Charles I., having surrendered to the
Scottish army, immediately thereafter wrote to Montrose
commanding him to disband his forces. Moutrose refused
to obey the first order, but to a second and more per-
emptory one he yielded a reluctant consent. Preparatory
256 GENEALOGY OF FAMILY OF BLAIR.
to disbanding his army, Montrose appointed it to ren-
dezvous at the Haugh of Rattray, near Blairgowrie, at
which place, on the 30th July, 1646, he discharged his
men after addressing a feeling and animated oration to
them, in which, after giving them due praise for their
faithful services and good behaviour, he told them his
orders and bade them farewell, an event no less sorrow-
ful to the whole army than to himself, and, notwith-
standing he used his utmost endeavours to raise their
drooping spirits and encourage them with the prospect
of a speedy peace, and assured them that he contributed
to the King's safety and interest by his present sub-
mission no less than by his former military attempts,
yet, falling on their knees, with tears in their eyes, they
beseeched him that he would take them along with him
wherever he should go. They were, however, disbanded
as Montrose had then enough to do to provide for his own
safety. The reason is not given why Rattray was chosen
for this last rendezvous of his army, but probably he
was actively supported by Rattray of Craighall, which
may account for the scene of his valedictory address,
and he seems to have been marching and counter-
marching between Brechin and Perth, looking for a
favourable opportunity of attacking that portion of the
Parliamentary army which was commanded by General
Baillie of Jerviswoode.
GENEALOGY OF FAMILY OF BLAIR.
ALEXANDER DE BLAIR
(Flourished in the reigns of William the Lion and
SIR WILLIAM DE BLAIR (son of)
(Steward of Fife, Knighthood conferred on him by
SIR ALEXANDER DE BLAIR (son of)
JOHN DE BLAIR (son of)
DAVID DE BLAIR (son of)
1st of Balthyock. (Progenitor of the Blairs
BLAIRGOWRIE VOLUNTEERS IN 1804.
THOMAS (son of),
2nd of Balthyock
(Received grant of lands of
(died beginning James IV.
THOMAS (2nd son),
PATRICK (3rd son)
(Progenitor of the Blairs of
Pittendriech, Glasclune, &c.)
BLAIRGOWRIE VOLUNTEERS IN 1804.
1st Lieut., James Scott. 2nd Lieut., James Dick.
Thomas Johnston, Robert Douglas, Duncan Keay.
Drummer, George Drumniond.
Corpl. John Fleming.
Pvt. Jas. Anderson.
Pvt. David M'Lagan.
INTERESTING DESPATCHES PROM INDIA.
Jas. Robertson (1st).
Jas. Robertson (2nd).
Pvt. Thos. Mitchell.
John Penny cook.
Thomas Soutar (1st).
Thomas Soutar (2nd).
W. D. Stewart.
INTERESTING DESPATCHES FROM INDIA.
Copy of despatch from Sir James Outram, India, of
17th January, 1858, in which is the following honourable
mention of Capt. (now Lieut.-Gen. Sir) J. C. Rattray of
. . . " Much credit is also due to Capt. Rattray (of
Her Majesty's 90th), commanding the infantry, to Lieut.
Gully, commanding the battery of No. 1 advanced out-
post, and to the officers and men of their post, for their
vigilance and alertness in checking and punishing the
enemy at every opportunity."
In the " Homeward Mail " of August 19th, 1858, we
find the following record of the distinguished services of
Capt. Rattray :
" We are glad to chronicle an important success gained
by Captain Rattray, on -the 5th of July, at Kusnia, six
miles N.N.E. of Dinapore, over 400 rebels led by Judar
Sing. Our force consisted of 150 Sikhs and 50 cavalry,
and, with the loss of only two wounded, cut up upwards
of 100 of the enemy.
" The present mail brings us additional particulars of
the capture of Gwalior and the pursuit of the rebels ;
we also learn that Capt. Rattray has defeated the rebels
at Kusura in the Benares district, and that General
A LOCAL VIOLIN MAKER. 259
Roberts had caused the enemy to vacate Jeypore, and
was marching in pursuit."
The following is a copy of Capt. Rattray's despatch
after the action :
" After a march of six hours I came up to Judar
Sing's force at Kusma, consisting of about 400 men;
they awaited our approach very steadily. I immediately
attacked them with 150 Sikhs and 50 cavalry. I com-
pletely routed them, killing upwards of 100 of them, a
great many of whom were sepoys. We pursued them
until nearly dark. The cavalry cut up nearly fifty.
Judar Sing escaped with difficulty. The country was
entirely under water, otherwise none would have escaped.
Only two of my men wounded."
A LOCAL VIOLIN MAKER.
James M'Intosh was born in the year 1801 at Carsie,
near Blairgowrie, at which place his father, Donald
M'Intosh, was a lint-miller. He was the grand-nephew
of Robert M'Intosh ("Red Rob"), the famous Edinburgh
violinist and composer (1745-1807). Coming of a good
stock of violin players and violin makers, it is not sur-
prising that his work should be much above average.
There is nothing of the amateur noticeable about even his
early works; the cutting is all done with a firm hand
as if the maker knew exactly what he wanted, and had
the skill necessary to produce the effect. His early
violins (1842) are rather high and Stainer-like in build,
the sizes being 14, 8, 4i, 6. The narrowness of the upper
bout is there very noticeable. These violins are marked
with imitation purfling, the scroll is well cut, and the back
generally in one piece, and cut " on the slab." The tone
is large and telling, with something of the sharpness of
the Stainer quality. His later violins (1869) are nearer
the Stradivari model, neatly purfled, and more artistic in
appearance. All his violins are covered with spirit var-
nish, thinly laid on, and of a grey colour. The wood
always good, and frequently of fine figure. Altogether
M'Intosh made 204 violins, 10 violas, and 35 violoncellos,
the last also having whole backs of well-marked maple,
and being fitted with pegs and tail-pieces of his own
260 A LOCAL VIOLIN MAKER.
making. His violins have a label printed from types on
white paper, with the last line hand-written:
Violin maker, Blairgowrie,
M'Intosh, who was a skilful violin player as well as
a violin maker, died at Blairgowrie in 1873.
His son, James, tenanted the farm of Boatlands, near
Coupar Angus, and William for many years carried on
a successful business as draper in Allan Street.
In NATIONAL MUSEUM OP ANTIQUITIES OF SCOTLAND,
EDINBURGH, from the District:
(For Letters and Numbers refer to Catalogue, 1892.)
A.F. 56. Axe of green mottled stone, 8 by 3 inches,
finely polished, found on the bank of the Ericht at
Rattray. Deposited 1873.
A.B. 480. Portion of flint knife. 1879.
B.E. 139, 140. Whorl of lead, in. diameter; of slate-
stone, 1 in. diameter; from Kinclaven. 1880.
D.G. 43. Lance head, 2f in. long, from Blacklaw. 1832.
E.Q. 1, 2, 3, 4. Fragments of urn ; small lozenge-shaped
piece of worked bone, perforated ; burnt bones ; from
sepulchral deposits at Murthly. 1870.
H.D. 61, 62-68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74. Rubbing stone of
blue granitic stone, 28 by 24 by 12 in. ; round balls
of quartz, from 3 to 5 in. diameter; whetstones or
polishers of gi-eenish stone, 3 and 5 in. long; whet-
stone of greystone, 4 in. long ; stone whorl, If in.
diameter ; circular disc of mica-schist, 2 in. diameter,
perforated ; long handled comb, 4f in. long ; from hut
circle at South Persie. 1866.
E.A. 2. Cinerary urn of clay, 15| by 12 in., finely orna-
mented, from Glenballoch. 1881.
E.C. 5, 6. Incense cup, If in. high, within larger urn (6)
1878. (See page 78.)
H.D. 75, 76, 77. Fragment of bronze pin, 5 in. long, from
hut circle; block of granite, 12 by 12 by 3 in. with
shallow cup-shaped cavity; flat, circular disc of
chlorite schist, 4 in. diameter, pierced in centre,
from the "Grey Cairn," Balnabroich. 1866.
I.E. 101. Slab of sandstone, 44 by 24 by 5 in. with
figures of men and animals in relief, from Gelly-
burn, Murthly. 1887.
M.A. 31. Brass cooking-pot, 8 in. high, lip broken, handle
7 in. long, and ornamented with double concentric
circles and central dots, found at Blairgowrie. 1856.
O.B. Medal of George Drummond of Blair. 1882.
In possession of JAMES ISLES, J.P., F.S.A., Scot.
Bronze pot from Blackloch. (See page 78.)
Bronze celt or axe, found at Ballied.
Iron door knocker, dated 1682, found at Meikleour.
Iron studs from door of Glasclune Castle.
Key found in debris at same place.
Coin tester of brass from old shop in Blair.
Tinder box, steel, and flint.
Three flint arrow heads from Marlee.
Shell found in coffin at Gourdie.
Hour-Glass from Parish Church of Lethendy.
A peer-man found near Greenbank Works.
A stone, inscribed I.R., 1617, found at Rosemount.
Stone cup from Roman camp at Delvine.
Stone seal, inscribed R.I., found at old weigh-house in
Piece of wood rafter from Donald Cargill's house at
Wood plough socket found at Rattray.
In possession of JAMES M'LEVY, Librarian,
Stone axe found near Roman camp at Meikleour.
Silver medal, ornamented and inscribed " Presented to
Parochial School, Blairgowrie, by Robert Geekie, Esq.,
of Rosemount. Annual medal. Elizabeth Gray, 1st
Class, Dux, 1869."
Silver medal, plain and inscribed as above, but no date.
Formerly in use in Blairgowrie, Rattray, Clunie, and
Kmloch, from the collections of G. S. DUNCAN,
F.S.A., Scot., and JOHN REID, Ogilvie
Arms Inn. (See Illustration.)
No. 1, 2. M. : I. L. Minister : James Lyon (1720) and (1762)
3. M. : W. D. William Dow (1782)
4. M. : J. J. James Johnstoue (1817)
5. A. O. G. : Minr. Archibald Ochiltree Greig : Miur.
6. M. : R. B. Minister: Robert Bowis (1708)
7. PARISH OP RATTRAY, 1849. William Herdman
8. M. : A.M. Minister: Alex. M'Culloch (1731)
9 - A - O. Alex. Ogilvy, A.M. (1722)
10. CLUNIE CHURCH, 1840. George Millar
11,12. M. : I. G. Minister: James Gray (1697)
13. 1751. Robert Anderson
14. L. B. Laurence Butter
A JWag-at-the-Wa' Clock, dated 1710, said to have
belonged to Lord Lynedoch, may be seen at the office
of Robert Nelson, Solicitor, Wellmeadow.
A beautiful model of the Celestial Globe, used in teach-
ing by Miss Murray in the Dames' School, Meadow Bank
Cottage, is now the property of Miss Robertson, James
William Dickson, Maybank, has a Curiously-Shaped
Stone, which was found several years ago in the Moss
of Cochragei It resembles the shape of a pike, is 28
inches in length, tapering from 4 inches to 2 inches,
from |-inch to 2 inches thick, with regular markings on
both sides, and weighs 10 Ibs. Antiquarian authorities
in Edinburgh are of opinion that it is a war-club used
by the early Britons, which supposition is borne out by
264 "CHANGE HEBE FOR BLAIRGOWRIE."
the fact that it is similar to war-clubs in use at the
present time by some of the hill tribes in India.
William Grant, Chemist, and George Cunnison, Burgh
Surveyor, have a copy of Feuing-Plan of Blairgowrie
estate, dated 1854, which shows a curious illustration of
the town at that period.
BLAIRGOWRIE COTTAGE HOSPITAL.
To commemorate the Queen's Jubilee, 1887, the erec-
tion of a Cottage Hospital was proposed, but through
lack of interest the suggestion fell flat. It was, however,
quietly worked up by the late John Pantou, and, since
his death, by Lieut.-Col. G. G. MacLaren, M.D., of Falcon
House, with such success that about 2500 has been raised
by subscription (Lieut.-General Sir J. C. Rattray, 1000 ;
Sir William Laird of Gartsherrie, 500, &c.), and ere
long the noble aim of the promoters will be accomplished.
" Blairgowrie The Royal Scotch Whisky " has had a
large consumption in and around London for the last 20
years, and was so named in remembrance of a very
pleasant visit to Blairgowrie. It took the highest
award at Rochefort Exhibition. The label is printed on a
ground of Royal Stewart tartan. The whisky is bottled
by the sole proprietors, Nicholls, Piper, & Co., Glasgow.
Another whisky known as "Blairgowrie Blend" (10
years old) is sold by J. L. Webster, wine merchant.
"CHANGE HERE FOR BLAIRGOWRIE."
As Blairgowrie is situated at the terminus of a branch
line of the Caledonian Railway, travellers have generally
to change carriages at Coupar Angus (4 miles distant).
At this station, John Robertson, porter, has been for over
40 years the most prominent figure, with his well-known
cry, "Change here for Blairgowrie."
" In " Industry and Invention," by Samuel Smiles,
LL.D., appears the following:
" From early morn till late at e'en,
John's honest face is to be seen,
Bustling about the trains between,
Be't sunshine or be't showery ;
"CHANGE HERE FOR BLAIRGOWRIE."
And as each one stops at his door,
He greets it with the well-known roar
Of 'Change here for Blairgowrie.'
Even when the still and drowsy night
Has drawn the curtains of our sight,
John's watchful eyes become more bright,
And takes another glow'r aye,
Thro' yon blue dome of sparkling stars,
Where Venus bright and rudy Mars
Shine down upon Blairgowrie.
: He kens each jinkin' comet's track,
And when it's likely to come back,
When they have tails, and when they lack-
In heaven the waggish power aye ;
When Jupiter's belt buckle hings,
And the Pyx mark on Saturn's rings,
He sees from near Blairgowrie."
With the 19th century on the wane, and the 20th
looming into view, may Blairgowrie go on and prosper.
Some day in the near future we look for the Electric Light,
Municipal Buildings, a New Town Hall, the Public Park
utilised, and many other improvements carried out, which
would tend to make this favourite resort still more popu-
lar, and not content to " Rest and be Thankful."
" FLOREAT BLAIRGOWRIE.'
Abbey of Cambuskenneth, 34, 35.
Abbey of Coupar, 33, 34, 37, 88, 89,
Abbey of Scone, 34, 35, 80, 81, 92.
Abercromby, John, 170, 233.
Aberdeen, 92, 93, 237.
A Blair Chiel', 245.
A Blair Highlander, 245.
Achalader, 54, 140, 161, 247.
Act Anent Brydals, 104.
Acts of Parliament, 66, 67, 68. 82,
Adams, Professor, 221.
Adamson, D., Ironmonger, 147.
Adamson, John, 169.
Adamson, of Pitlochry, 244.
Address to Earl Russell, 59.
A Disputed Victory, 29.
Administering the Lord's Supper
Admirable Crichton, 37, 131, 210.
Admiral, a Famous, 242.
Adventure Schools, 112.
Advertiser, Blairgovvrie, 160.
Advertiser, Dundee, 62. 217, 226.
Advertiser Office, 19.
A Generous Merchant, 106.
Agreements, 80, 81.
Agricola, Julius, 14, 25, 26, 140.
Agricultural Engine Works, 170.
Aikenhead, 77, 232.
Airlie Castle, 242.
Airlie, Den of, 242.
Airlie, Earl of, 66, 131, 242.
Airlie, The Bonnie Hoose o', 242.
Alexander II., 33, 80, 214.
Alexander III., 132.
Alexander, Earl of Mar, 35, 132.
Alexander, Wolf of Badenoch, 35.
Allan Street, 16, 17, 19, 21, 67, 148,
158, 172, 174, 202, 249, 260.
A Local Violin Maker, 259.
Along the Loon Braes, 236.
Alpin, King of Scots, 31.
Altamont House, 140, 235, 243.
Altamont Lane, 204.
Altamont Quarry, 22, 235.
Alyth, 12, 34, 68," 81, 98, 99, 133, 166,
201, 236, 242, 253.
Amberley, Lord, 61.
Ambrose, Band-Sergt., 163, 251.
Ameer, Operation on, 248.
America, 62, 63, 243.
Amusing Notes, 244.
Analysis of Water, 65.
Ancient Trade, 171.
Anderson, Geo. B., 59, 163, 230.
Anderson, I. Henry, S.S.C., 139,
147, 200, 232.
Anderson, James, of Bleaton, 147,
162, 198, 230.
Anderson, James C., of Aikenhead,
Angling Club. 183.
Annual Fair, 201.
An Old Account, 108.
Antiquarian Museum, 78. 262.
Antiquities, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 128,
A Peer-Man, 263.
Ardblair, 33, 37, 48, 78, 93, 116, 121,
122, 127, 200, 209, 232, 249, 257.
Ardblair Castle, 33, 129, 236, 239.
Ardblair Curling Club, 199, 200.
Ardblair Family, 33, 34, 38, 93, 129,
Ardblair, Muirton of, 88, 236, 242.
Arclle, The, 12, 183, 187, 189, 190,
Arms, Coat of, 61.
Army of Montrose Disbanded, 255.
Argyle, Earl of, 218.
Ash Trees, The, 255.
Ashbank, 169, 188, 189, 230, 233.
Ashgrove Works, 186.
Ash more, 238.
Associate Antiburgher Church, 94,
Athole Street, 20.
Athole, Duke of, 57, 64, 84, 185.
Athole, Earl of, 216, 217.
Auction Mart, 19, 80.
Auld Bell o' Blair, 19, 80, 174.
A Wag-at-the-Wa', 264.
Badenoch, Wolf of, 35.
Bailies, 51, 63, 66, 72, 74, 75, 82, 84,
BAILIES OF BLAIR
Ayson, W. J., 75.
Ayson, Robert, 75, 148.
Bridie, John, 75.
Brown, John, 75.
Brown, George, 75.
Buchan, Alexander, 75.
Chalmers, David, 67, 75, 161, 163,
Chalmers, James, 21, 75, 231.
Craigie, William, 75.
Constable, George, 75.
Dick, James, 75, 169.
Dow, Robert, 75.
Fell, John D., 75.
Fleming, John, 75, 162, 231.
Johnstone, Thos. ; Kidd, David ;
Low, Thomas ; Lunan, Robert ;
Mitchell, Thos. ; M'Nab, James ;
Neilson, Dr James ; Robertson,
George ; Robertson, Robert ;
Robertson, William ; Scott,
Stewart, James, 75, 232.
Stewart, William, 150, 171.
Steven, Thomas, 75, 232.
Whitson, Thomas, 75, 174.
Wilson, David, 75.
Young, James, 75.
Bailzies o' Blair, Ye, 144.
Bailie Depute, 84.
Bailie. General, 43, 256.
Balfour, R. A., 162.
Ballied. 230, 252, 263.
Ballied House, 140. 240.
Ballingall, Dr Geo., 140.
Balmoral. 52, 54, 238.
Balmoral Road, 237, 238.
Balthayock, 83, 129, 209, 216, 256,
Bamff, 53, 61, 68, 94, 229.
Bands. 55. 56, 57. 59, 156, 162.
Band of Manrent, 37, 40, 81, 83.
Bank Buildings, 18.
Banks, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 147, 148,
150, 171, 179, 223, 229, 232.
Bank of Scotland, 147, 223.
Blairgowrie Deposit Co. Bank,
Cheque Bank, 150.
Commercial Bank, 147, 232.
National Security Savings Bank
of Perth, 148.
North of Scotland Bank, 148.
Perth Banking Co., 148, 149.
Royal Bank, 148, 171, 179, 229.
Union Bank. 18, 148.
Western Bank. 147.
Bankhead, 235. 243.
Bankhead Toll. 16, 19, 235.
Bank Street, 21, 98.
Bannock. The, 195.
Baron, The. 195.
Baron Bailies, 195, 201, 225, 231.
Barony of Blair, 246.
Barony of Cally. 238.
Barony of Craighall, 218, 219.
Barony of Meikleour, 209.
Barony of Rattray, 217, 219.
Baron' Clerk-Rattray, 52.
Barony Court. 42. 51.
Barber of Blair, The, 171.
Barty. George, 150.
Barty Mortification, 150.
Battle of Glasclune, 14, 36, 131.
Baxter, John, 253.
Baxter, John, of Ashbank, 169, 230.
Baxter, Dr John. 97, 221.
Baxter. Capt. John, 163.
Bayly, Lieut. -Col., 26.
Beeches. The, 16.
Beech Hedge, 47, 140, 236, 241.
Bell G Blair. 19, 80. 174.
Bell, Patrick, 81, 89.
Benachally, 13, 64, 65, 189, 234, 240.
Benachallv Monument, 253.
Bendochy," 16, 68, 82, 92, 141, 150,
Benedict XIII., 35. 81.
Bennett. A. W., 147.
Bennet. Robert. 105.
Bernham, David de, 33.
Birds o' Benothy, 141.
Birnam. 12. 236/240.
Birkin Hill, 251.
Bishop Brown, 37, 130, 141.
Bishop of Orkney, 85.
Bishop of RattraV, 45, 141, 142.
Bishop of St Andrews, 33, 34, 35,
Bissats o' Ferold, 141.
Bisset, John, of Marlee, 170, 230.
Bisset Sir John. 253.
Bisset, Thomas S., 170, 227.
Bisset. Works of, 20, 170, 230, 239.
Blackcraig, 68, 190, 238.
Blacklaw. 229, 262.
Blackloch, 13, 78, 180, 192, 199, 263.
Black, R. Robertson, 149.
Black Parliament. 215.
Black Watch. The, 163.
Blackwater, The. 183, 189, 190, 238.
Blair, 89. 90.
Blair Athole, 236.
Blair in Athole, 236, 254.
Blair of Ardblair, 33, 34, 38, 93, 129
Blair of Balthayock, 209, 256.
Blair of Balude, 92.
Blair of Glasclune, 131, 257.
Blair of Gowrie, 116.
Blair of Pittendriech, 257.
Blair Drummond, 81, 83, 85, 206.
Blairs, 16, 17, 78.
Blair, Church of, 33, 35, 37, 44, 80,
Blair, Curlers of, 14, 46.
Blair. Estate of, 43, 48, 49, 51, 222,
228, 229, 255.
Blair, Farm of, 235,
Blair, Feuars of, 48, 82.
Blair, Muir of, 14, 33, 34, 47, 48, 49,
79, 80, 81, 82, 148, 175, 180, 204,
" Blair Watter Curlin' Stanes," 250.
Blair, .Quarry of, 235.
Blair, 50 Years Ago, 249.
Blair, Abbot, 37, 209.
Blair, Alex. de, 33, 209, 256.
Blair, Sir Alex, de, 256.
Blair, Andro. 38.
Blair, Crest of. 71.
Blair, David, 38.
Blair, David de, 256.
Blair, Gilbert, 92.
Blair, John, 33, 38.
Blair, John de, 256.
Blair, James, 92.
Blair, Patour, 38.
Blair, Patrick, 38, 40, 256.
Blair, Rachel, 209,
Blair, Thomas, 38, 216, 256.
Blair, William, 38, 50.
Blair, Sir William de. 256.
Blair, de Bargillo, William, 88.
Blairgowrie Advertiser, 160, 193.
Blairgowrie to Alyth. 242.
Blairgowrie Annual, 158.
Blairgowrie Arms Hotel, 18.
Blairgowrie Blend, 265.
Blairgowrie Chiel' in Dunedin, 245.
Blairgowrie to Coupar Angus, 243.
Blairgowrie Deposit Company, 148.
Blairgowrie District Photographic
Blairgowrie Highlander in Russia,
Blairgowrie House, 73, 139, 140, 170,
222, 235. 243, 253.
Blairgowrie in America, 243.
Blairgowrie Monthly, 158.
Blairgowrie News, 160.
Blairgowrie Parish Church Literary
Blairgowrie Volunteers in 1804, 257.
Blairgowrie Waterworks, 63.
Blairgowrie Whisky, 265.
Blairgowrie, Parish of, 67, 68, 95,
Blairgowrie, Town of, 15, 42, 49, 50,
52, 54, 57, 58, 61, 63, 64, 65, 67,
68, 69, 70. 71, 74, 77. 78, 81, 82,
91, 95, 96, 97, 99, 100, 106, 122,
124, 127, 129, 130, 131, 132, 134,
135, 137. 139, 140. 147. 148, 150,
152, 153, 154, 156, 157, 159, 160,
161, 163, 165, 167, 168, 169, 171,
173, 175, 179, 183, 185, 187. 188,
192, 193, 194, 195. 198, 199, 200,
201, 203, 204, 206, 220, 221-232,
234-239. 241. 243-246, 248, 251-253.
255, 256, 259, 260, 263-266.
Ancient Trade, 171; Angling,
183; Burgh of Baronv, 42, 66,
71, 81. 82, 124, 206. 248 ; Burgh
Charters. 42; Burgh Seal, 70;
Bailies, 51, 63, 75 ; Kanquet.s. 59 ;
Burns Centenary, 55; Bowling,
193; Curling, '120, 194, 200;
Cross of. 18, 19, 59; Description
of, 17. 137, 246 ; Distances from,
236 ; Etymology, 16 ; Ecclesias-
tical State. 91. 122 ; Evening
Classes. 154 ; Eminent Men, 128,
206 ; Earthquake. 52 ; Fossil
Plants, 23; First Bailie, 51;
French Revolution, 52; First
Newspaper. 53: Fair o' Blair,
173, 174. 201; Founding of Pub-
lic Hall. 57; Field Club. 151;
Football. 203: Franchise De-
monstration, 67 ; First Provost,
70; Gift of Public Park. 69;
Gas, 52; Golf. 204. 235; Im-
provements, 17, 66; Interesting
Notes. 244; Institutions, 147;
Macpherson Fountain, 19, 71;
Military Service in. 50 ; Mons
Grampius, 12, 17, 26 ; Ojd
Worthies. 171 : Opening of Rail-
way, 14. 53; Quarries. 23: Rifle
Corps, 56. 58 ; Situation. 11, 12,
15, 91 : Soil. 21 : Sewage System,
73 ; Schools, 106 ; School Boards,
66. 156. 228; Schoolmasters, 103;
108 ; Walks and Drives around,
Blair's College. 99, 100.
Blairgowrie Statistical Account-
Antiquities, 128; Births, 115;
Bleachfield. 117; Birds, 115;
Bridges, 127; Character, 115;
Climate, 118 ; Disadvantages,
128; Diseases. 118; Ecclesias-
tical State, 122; Eminent Men,
128 ; Farm Rents, 125 ; Gentle-
men's Seats, 127 ; Improve-
ments. 125; Islands, 120; In-
closures, 124; Labour. 117;
Markets, 124 ; Manufactures,
121: Minerals, 121; Poor, 123;
Prices, 117; Produce, 125; Pro-
fessions, 114 ; Provisions. 1
Religious Persuasions, 115;
Rent. 115; Rivers, 119; Stock,
115 ; Stamp Office. 117 ; Schools,
122; Scenery. 119; Situation,
116; Soil, 116; Springs, 121;
Surface, 116; Woods, 121.
Bleaton House, 17, 148.
Bloody Inches, The, 33, 78.
Board of Health. 20, 234.
Board of Supervision, 73.
Boat Brae, 49, 237, 242.
Boatman of Blair, 105.
Boat Pule, 190.
Bog, Thomas, 50.
Boundary Commission, 68.
Bowling, 18, 84, 193.
Braemar, 230, 236, 237, 238.
Braes of Angus, 35.
Braes o' Mar, 230.
JJraid walls, 218.
Bramblebank. 162, 233.
Brass Coin Tester, 263.
Brass Cooking Pot, 263.
Breadalbane. Earl of, 95, 157, 164.
Brechin, 83, 98, 256.
Bridge, 71, 73, 186, 187, 190, 234,
Bridge of Blair, 16, 19, 52, 71, 140,
Bridge of Cally, 189, 190, 236, 238.
Bridge of Craighall, 234, 237, 254.
Bridge of Isla, 243.
Bridie. John, 55, 60, 67, 69, 70, 73,
75, 144, 146, 150, 154, 195. 225,
Brisbane, Tinsmith, 172.
Brooklinn, 168, 220, 223.
Bronze Celt, 78, 263.
Bronze Pin, 263.
Bronze Pot, 263.
Brown, David, 177. 230, 252.
Brown, John, 18, 21, 75.
Brown, John, Writer, 94.
Brown, George, 75.
Brown Street, 21, 94, 147, 151, 171,
Brown Street Chapel, 93, 94.
Brown's Hotel, 177, 230.
Brownsville, 48, 235.
Bruce, John, 173, 178.
Bruce, King Robert, 185, 215.
Bruce, Wully, 186.
Brude, King, 31.
Buchan, Alex., 75.
Burgess Circular, A, 246.
Burgesses, 66, 82.
Burgh of Barony, 42, 66, 71, 81, 82,
124, 206, 248.
Burgh Charters, 42, 81, 206, 248.
Burgh Police Act, 70.
Burgh Seal, 70.
Burlie Wull, 179.
Burnhead, 64, 234.
Burns Centenary, 55.
Business of the Town, 174.
Butler, Sir James, 33.
Butterstone, 32, 191, 240.
Butter, Turnie, 176.
Buttir of Gormok, 39, 40, 132.
Buzzard Dykes, 78.
Cairncross, David, 184, 186.
Cairnwell, The, 238.
Calady, 88, 89.
Caledonia, 13, 25.
Caledonian Camp, 78.
Caledonian Railway, 255.
Cally, 43, 88, 89, 189, 237.
Cally, Bridge of, 189, 190, 236, 238.
Camera. Thomas de. 88.
Cammell, Jamie, 198.
Campbell, Archibald. 38.
Campbell. Captain, 54.
Campbell. Sir Colin, 247.
Campbell, John, 247.
Campbell, J. L., 161. 162, 163.
Campbell, Major. 140.
Campbell, Miss, 147.
Campy, 81, 90.
Campsy. 89, 90.
Candy Betty, 178.
Caputh, 141, 237, 241.
Caputh Bridge, 32.
Cargill, 12, 14, 43, 83, 236.
Cargill, Daniel. 84.
Cargill, Donald. 263.
Cargill Leap, 233.
Carnashic Woods, 235.
Carnegie, Andrew, 159.
Carse of Gowrie, 229.
Carsie, 48, 81, 180. 229, 237, 242, 259.
Carsie Farina Mill, 252.
Carsie Scutching Mill, 252.
Castlehill. 130, 136. 162, 236.
Castle of Rattray, 136.
Castle Street, 20.
Catty Mill. 252.
Celestial Globe, 264.
Cemetery, 236, 241, 248.
Centenary of Burns. 55.
Chalmers, David, 75, 161, 163, 231,
Chalmers of Drumlochy, 38, 39, 81,
Chalmers Family, 88.
Chalmers, James, 21, 75, 231.
Chalmers, Major P., 232.
Chalmers of Mause, 253.
Chalmers of Nether Clayquhat, 254
Chalmers, Peter, 230, 254,
Chalmers Street, 21.
Chalmers, William, 38, 41, 83, 88
Chalmers, Sir William, 52, 238, 247.
Chalmer, Thomas. 88.
" Change Here for Blairgowrie,"
Charles I., 42, 71, 81, 124, 203, 206,
Charles II.. 92.
Charlie, Prince, 14, 18, 47, 130.
Charlie's Well, 47.
Charters, 42, 51. 74, 81, 82, 83, 84
185, 209, 219.
Chawmer, John. 90.
Chawmyr, Robert, 88, 89.
Cheque Bank, 150.
Chief-Magistrates, 60, 66, 67, 69, 70,
71, 73, 75, 225.
Bridie. John, 75, 154.
Doig, Thomas, 70.
Fleming, John, 162, 231.
Neilson, Dr James, 75, 223.
Steven, Thomas, 75, 232.
Children's Rhyme, 172.
Choral Society, 151.
Choral Society Conductors Hirst,
Neale, Smith, 151 ; Fisher,
Howells, Parker, 152.
Church of Blair, 33, 35, 37, 44, 80, 81.
Church Tokens. 90, 264.
City Fathers, 74.
Clackmannan, 34, 80.
Clark, Bailie, 74.
Clark, Thomas. 231. 235.
Clayquhat, 37, 46. 229. 238.
Claverhouse, 14, 210, 233.
Cleaven Dykes. 78.
Cleekerinn. 204, 236.
Clerk-Rattray Estates, 219.
Clerk. John, "of Penicuik, 219.
Clerk-Rattray, Sir James, 219.
Cleansing Department. 173.
Cloves of Mause, 121.
Clunie. 13. 15. 34. 37, 78, 81, 141,
175. 192, 210. 237, 240, 264.
Clunie Cottage, 240.
Coble Pule, 49. 142, 143, 254.
Cochrage, 15, 44, 68, 77, 78, 82. 235,
Cochrane, George P., 231.
Cockade, The White. 246.
Cockit Hat, The. 195.
Coffin. The, 172.
Collection for Glasgow, 103.
Colonsay's Lord. 36.
Commendator of Scone, 84.
Commercial Bank, 147, 232.
Commercial Bank House, 147.
Commercial Inn, 175.
Commercial Street, 18, 67.
Commissions of Volunteers, 162.
Commissioners, 51, 52, 66, 69, 72,
73, 74, 225.
Commissioners, Seal of, 70.
Common Muir, 49, 80. 82.
Communion Cups, 106.
Communion Tokens, 90, 264.
Compendium of News, 160.
Conditions of Life. 114.
Congregational Church, 20, 100.
Connacher, John, 254.
Constable, George. 75, 178.
Constable Lane. 21.
Constitutional Club. 18. 152.
Coontlie. The. 236.
Corbie Stane, 142, 143.
Cottage Hospital, Blairgowrie, 265.
Council. County, 67. 229, 232.
Council. Parish, 229.
Count Dauide. 80.
Count Gillebryd. 80.
County of Perth. 61.
Coupar. Andrew, 135. 141.
Coupar. 12. 80. 89. 90, 214, 215.
Coupar Angus. 17. 33, 52, 53, 61, 80,
88. 127. 150, 166. 168. 185. 195,
198, 199. 201, 209. 230, 235, 237,
243. 260. 266.
Coupar Grange, 82. 190, 229. 235.
Coupar. James. M.D.. 254.
Coupar. Thomas, 198.
Couper, John. 177.
Courthouse. 42, 82.
Cowan, William, 50, 179, 231.
Cowan. William, student, 155.
Cowan. John, 162.
Cowpar. Col. Robert, 230, 245.
Craco, John of. 90.
Craighall. 14. 24, 74, 133, 136, 137,
138, 175, 185, 190, 214. 216, 218,
219. 232. 234. 236, 237, 254, 258.
Craigie. John. 232.
Craigie, William, 75, 231.
Craigliach. 133, 134, 138.
Craig Roman, 78, 239.
Crechton, John, 40.
Crichton. Admirable, 37, 131, 210,
Crichton, Bishop, 131.
Crichton of Eliock, 131, 210.
Cripple Colin. 179.
Crock-art, James, 161, 184, 186, 187,
Crockart, William, 57, 172.
Croft, 19. 249.
Croft Lane. 67. 171. 172.
Cromwell. 14. 43, 136.
Cross, 147. 176.
Cross of Blair, 18, 19. 59, 234, 239.
Crown Inn, 19.
Culross, William. 17S. 230.
Cumberland, 14, 47, 235.
Cunnison, George. 265.
Curious Despatch, A, 244.
Curious Notes, 244.
Curiously-Shaped Stone, 264.
Curlers' Dinner. The, 146.
Curling, 120, 194, 200.
Account of Origin, 198 ; Ard-
blair, 199; Blair Curlers, 14, 46,
146. 198. 224. 226; Centenary
Ode, 195; Curling House, 197;
Charitable Fund. 198; Early
Records, 194; Ericht Water
Stanes, 195, 250; Form of Play,
197 ; The Greatest Duffer, 198 ;
Jamie Cammell, 198 ; A London
Editorial, 199; Match in 1782,
198; Minute Books, 196; Mini-
ster's Fondness for, 194 ; Metri-
cal Account. 195; Prince Charlie,
14. 46, 146; Royal C. C. C., 198;
Rules of, 195 ; Supply of Stones,
197 ; Winter Pastime, 194.
Cuttle Burn, 20, 233, 234.
Cycling Club, 201.
Daft Hary, 176.
Dames' Schools, 111. 264.
Dark Fa's, The, 59, 77, 161, 235,
Darroch, 76. 162.
David II., 34. 129.
David Street, 249.
Davie's Pend, 19.
Davie. William, 179.
Davie, William, 55, 69, 70, 232.
Davie Park, 69.
Davidson, Sergt., 164.
Decreet Arbitral, 48, 82.
Deed of Demission, 93.
Delvine, 14, 30, 78, 140, 195, 236,
Den of Airlie, 237, 242.
Den of Ogilvy, 253.
Description of Seal, 70.
Description, Pennant's, 246.
Devil's Elbow, 238.
Dewar, Dean of Guild, 61.
Dick, Bailie James, 75.
Dick, Lieutenant. 51, 257.
Dickson, D., R.W.M., 156.
Dickson, George, 155.
Dickson, William, 232. 264.
Diocese of Dunkeld, 99.
Disruption, 94, 95, 96, 97.
Distances from Blair, 236.
Doeg, Jeems, 172.
Doig, Thomas, 69, 70.
Donald Cargill, 263.
Donaldson, John, 50.
Dookin' Hole, The, 186.
Douay, 99, 100.
Dow, Robbie, 195.
Dow, Robert, 75.
Downie. James. 50.
Dramatic Society, 152.
Dreadnought, The, 179, 249.
Drill Hall, 18, 164, 205.
Drimmie, 86, 185, 191, 214.
Druids, The, 76.
Druidsmere, 139, 232, 236. 242.
Druid ical Circle. 236, 241.
Drumlochy, 14, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 45,
83, 88, 131, 134, 234.
Drumlochy Castle, 131.
Drummellie, 192, 230.
Drummond of Blair, 14, 34, 37, 38,
42, 71, 81, 83. 84, 206, 209.
Drummond. Crest of. 71.
Drummond Charters, 42.
Drummond, Massacre of, 14, 37, 84,
Drummond S.ummons, 38.
Drummond of Cargill. 83, 84.
Drummond, George, of Blair, 37,
38, 42, 81, 206.
Drummond, George, Lord Provost,
78, 85, 86, 128. 157. 206, 249, 263.
Drummond, Sketch of his Life, 206.
Drummond Monument. 207.
Drummond Bust. 207.
Drummond Medal. 263.
Drummond Place Names, 20, 21.
Drummond, David. 84.
Drummond, John. 83.
Drummond. May, 208.
Drummond, Sir Walter, 83.
Drummond. William, 37 38, 40.
Drummond of Ledcrief, 38, 39.
Drummond, Millowner, 169.
Drummond, Moray, 81.
Drummond, Thomas, 38.
Drummond of Blair Drummond,
81, 83, 85. 206.
Dryomie, 82. 88.
Duffus, James. 50.
Dullater, 251, 252.
Duncan, Comes, 80.
Duncan, son of Donald, 80.
Duncan, G. S., F.S.A., Scot., 78,
Duncan, Justiciario, 80.
Duncan, James, 50.
Duncan. Samson, 187.
Dundee, 43, 50, 53. 54, 61, 65, 80, 97,
121, 128, 166, 225, 230, 231, 235,
Dundee Advertiser, 62, 217, 226.
Dundee Blairgowrie Association,
Dunkeld, 12, 37, 43. 83, 99, 130 192
215, 235, 236, 237, 239, 240 24l'
Dunkeld Cathedral, 238.
Dunkeld Road, 18, 159.
Dwly, Master Antonio, 90.
Earl of Gowrie, 79, 128.
Earl of Mar. 35.
Earl Russell, 59.
East Banchory, 50.
Easter Bog, 251.
Easter Rattray, 76.
Eavlick, Johnnie, 175.
Ecclesiastical State, 91, 122.
Edinburgh, 41, 65, 78, 81, 93, 97,
128, 184, 198, 206, 259.
Edinburgh Review, 56.
Edinburgh University, 93, 226.
Edinburgh Blairgowrie Club, 154.
Edward I.. 33, 130, 133, 214.
Edward III., 133.
Edward IV., 216.
Edward, Doctor, 172.
Electric Light, 266.
Elliot, Hon. Mrs, 61.
Emma Terrace, 18.
Eminent Men, 128, 206.
Emperor Hadrian, 77.
English Army in Scotland, 103.
Enrolment Returns, 50.
Episcopal Schools, 111.
Eppie Clark's Ale-House, 14, 47,
Ericht, The, 12, 13, 15, 18, 24, 62,
73, 79, 119, 120, 121, 124, 137,
138, 167, 168, 173, 183, 185, 186,
187, 188, 189, 190, 197, 233, 237,
248, 250, 262.
Ericht Lane, 19.
Ericht Linen Works, 19, 169, 170,
Erichtside Works, 169, 186.
Erskine, John, 43.
Essendy Road, 76, 236.
Essendy, Wester, 230.
Established Church, 66, 95, 229.
Evening Classes, 154.
Evidences of Battle, 30.
Extent of Parish, 116.
Extracts, Parochial Registers, 100.
"Factor," The, 229.
Fairies, The, 179.
Fair o' Blair, 173, 174, 201.
Falcon House, 20, 140, 230, 236, 241,
False Alarm, A, 51.
Farina Mill, 252.
Farm Rents, 125.
Farquharson, David, A.R.S.A., 232.
Fasts, 91, 102.
Fell, John D., 49, 75, 176, 199.
Fengus Loch, 13, 162, 192.
Fenton, Jamie, 187.
Fenwick, Mr, 65.
Fercade, M. Eugene, 63.
Feu, The, 20.
Feuing Plan, 265.
Field Club, 151.
Filter House, 73.
First Bailie, 51.
First Free Church, 16, 18, 96, 97,
221 230 252
First Free School, 110, 223, 245.
First Free Literary, 158.
Fishings. 88, 90, 119, 183.
Fish Ladders, 188.
Fleeming, John, 50.
Fleming, John, 75, 162, 231.
Flint Arrow Heads, 263.
Flodden. 209, 216, 217.
Floreat Blairgowrie, 266.
Fluke, The, 195.
Flute Band, 56, 57.
Forbes, Laird, 179.
Forest of Clunie, 15, 251, 263.
Forest of Clunie Farms, 251.
Forfar, 11, 12. 36, 86, 98, 226, 236,
Forneth, 22, 236, 252.
Forneth House, 240.
Fort George, 127.
Fothringham of Fothringham, 135.
Franchise Demonstration, 67.
Fraser, Sir Wm., 83.
Free Church School, 57.
Free Masonry, 57, 59, 156.
Free Manse, 96.
Free Press, 160.
Free Secession, 93.
Free South Church, 97.
French Revolution, 52.
Fyall Burn, 191.
Galdus, 25, 26.
Galgacus, 13, 25, 26, 140.
Gallowbank, 20, 42, 79, 236, 249.
Gallowsknowe, 42, 142.
Gammell, Col., 134.
Garrick Club, 152.
Gartsherrie, 232, 265.
Gas Brae, 17.
Gas Work, 17, 19, 52, 224, 229.
Gask. 93, 130.
Geddes, James, 21.
Geddes, William, 224.
Geekie, Alexander, 150.
Geekie, Dr, 23.
Geekie, Robt. of Rosemount, 148,
Gellately, Geo. 148.
Gellately, Corporal, 163.
Gellyburn, 23, 263.
Genealogy of Blair Family, 256, 257.
General, The, 179.
Gentlemen's Seats, 127.
George Street, 18, 21, 94, 98.
Ghost of Mause, 43.
Gillies, Bishop, 99.
Glamis, 12, 236.
Glamis Castle, 153, 252.
Glasclune, 14, 36, 68, 131, 234, 235,
236, 257, 262.
Glasclune, Hering of, 40, 84.
Glasclune, Burn of, 64.
Glasgow, 93, 96, 97, 229, 232, 266.
Glebe, 66, 91, 96, 233.
Glenballoch, 76, 77, 218, 262.
Glen beg, 238.
Glenericht, 52. 55, 88, 190, 229, 247.
Glenericht House, 238.
Glenshee, 229, 236, 237, 238, 242.
Globe, The, 61.
Glower-ower-im, 13, 15.
Golf, 204. 235.
Golf Club. 204.
Golf Course, 204. 235, 236, 244.
Good Story, A, 54.
Goorkha Regiment, 221.
Gordon of Lesmore, 40.
Gordon of Scheves, 40.
Gordon of Straloch, 81.
Gormack, 12, 14, 37, 38, 39, 77, 78,
82, 132, 229.
Gorthy, Laird of, 85.
Gourdie, 78, 262.
Gowrie, 16. 17, 229.
Graham of Gormok, 41.
Graham of Montrose, 14, 42.
Graham. Hon. Mrs, 213.
Graham, Thomas, 14, 20, 49, 74, 82,
93, 211, 264.
Grain Mills, 233.
Grampians, 11, 12, 15, 190, 242, 248,
Grange of Airlie, 230.
Grant, Wm., Chemist, 265.
Grant, Private, 154.
Greenbank, 77, 78.
Greenbank Works, 16, 170, 263.
Greenfield, 55, 231.
Green Lady o' Newton, The, 142.
Green Tree, The, 235.
Grey Cairn, 262.
Grey, Gilbert, 40.
Grimond, Alex. D., 220.
Grimond, David, 165, 168, 219.
Grimond, David, 169, 220.
Grimond, James, 167, 169, 220.
Grimond, John, 169.
Grimond, Joseph, 220.
Grimond of Lornty, 219.
Guard House, The, 19, 174.
Guthrie, Dr., 97.
Gymnastic Club, 205.
Haer Cairns, 77.
Harris, Lily, 175.
Harris, Matthew, 175.
Hary, Daft, 176
Harry, Blind, 33.
Hatton, 84, 262.
Hatton Hill, 13, 15, 236.
Haughs of Delvine, 25.
Haugh Park, 194, 204.
Haugh of Rattray, 14, 256.
Hays of Gourdie, 131.
Heathpark, 48, 231. 235.
Hebenton, Band-Sergt. William,
Hen, The, 195.
Henderson, Henry, 50.
Hering, James, 40.
Herring, Sir David, 84, 134.
Herons, The, 34, 84, 131.
Heron, Allan, 254.
Heughs of Mause, 15, 17, 21, 161,
232, 234, 236, 237.
Hey ! an' How ! 141.
Hicks and Charlewood, 71.
Highlands, 52, 55.
Highland Caterans, 35.
Highland Games, 160.
Highland Warfare, 36.
Highlanders, 42nd, 163, 248.
Highlanders, 75th, 251.
Highlanders, 92nd, 231.
Highlanders, 93rd, 163.
High Street, 17. 18, 67, 158, 172,
175, 179, 234, 244. 249, 263.
Hill of Blair, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19,
47, 49, 51, 55, 94, 95, 146, 147,
161, 234, 249, 255.
Hill, Colour-Sergt. Adam, 163.
Hill Terrace, 234.
Hirchen Hill, 42, 79.
Holly mill Brae. 242.
Horse, The, 195.
Horticultural Society, 157.
Hour Glass, 262.
Howe of Strathmore, 11, 235
Hugh of Caledon. 80.
Hungus, King, 31.
Hurricane. A, 74.
Hymn Tune, " Blairgowrie,"
Illuminated Clock, 255.
Implement Works, 20.
Improvements, 17, 125.
Improvement Act, 66.
Incense Cup, 78, 262.
Inchtuthil. 14. 32.
Indigent Baronet, An, 103.
Inducement to Feuars, 255.
Industry and Invention, 265.
Infirmary. Royal, 157.
Instrument of Renunciation, 81.
Instrument of Tollerance, 81.
Instrumental Band, 55, 56, 57, 156,
162, 164, 250.
International Exhibition, 151.
Interesting Despatches, 257.
Interesting Notes, 255.
In the Jouggs, 104.
Inverquiech. 133. 134.
Irons. Archie, 173, 187.
Iron Door Knocker, 262.
Iron Key. 262.
Iron Studs. 262.
Irvine, Jamie, 173.
Isla. River, 12, 134, 139, 185, 190,
Isle. The, 43, 120.
Isles, James, F.S.A., Scot., 69, 70,
78. 232, 255, 263.
Isles, William, 50.
Jackson's Inn, 18.
Jackson, John, 179.
James I.. 42, 83, 216.
James II., 83.
James IV., 216, 257.
James VI.. 92. 216.
James VII., 85, 87, 92.
James Street, 18, 21, 57, 110, 245,
James Street House, 254, 263.
James Street Magazine, 158.
James Street School, 110.
Jardine, Sir Henry, 209.
Jessie Street, 20, 110.
Johann Hasting, 80.
John Street, 19, 21, 67, 109, 110 249
Johnstone, Jimmy, 172.
Johnstone, Robbie, 179.
Johnstone, Tammas, 75.
Johnstone, Thomas, 75.
Johnstone, William, 148, 173.
Jouggs, The, 104, 241.
Justice of Peace, 52.
Keay, Duncan, 50.
Keay, Street, 21.
Keepers of the Signet, 87.
Keith, The, 14, 43, 120, 186, 188, 233
Kinclaven', 33, 132, 133, 236, 262.
Kinclaven, Castle of, 132.
Kidd. David, 75.
King's Remembrancer, 209.
Kinloch, 16, 68. 128, 131, 150, 151,
Kinloch House. 239.
Kinloch Manse. 239.
Kinpurnie, 13, 234.
Kirk, The. 195
Kirke of Blair, 37, 44, 84.
Kirkmichael. 236, 239, 242.
Kirriemuir. 12, 17, 236, 242.
Kleice Kirn, 186
Knockie, 11. 44, 235.
Knockie Road. 235.
Knockie Quarry, 235.
Knock-ma-har, 11, 15, 17, 20, 22, 37,
78, 132, 234.
Knock-ma-har. Castle of, 132.
Knox, Mr, 26.
Kynballoch, 218, 219.
Kynoch, James, 232.
Lady Lindsay's Castle, 133, 138.
Laird of Blair. 73, 85.
Laird, Jeems, 179.
Laird of Kinmonth, 217.
Laird. Sir William, 232, 264.
Lamont, Colour-Sergt., 163.
Lands of Blair, 33. 85.
Lansdowne Golf Course, 204.
Lansdowne, Marquis of, 139, 210.
Larg & Keir. 160.
Lauder, William, 57.
Lawson, John, 94.
Legends, 44, 141.
Leslie, James, 21, 75, 230.
Leslie of Kinrorie, 217.
Leslie, Mr, C.E., 64, 65, 189.
Leslie Street, 17, 19, 21, 67, 148, 150,
158, 202, 249.
Lethendy, 236, 237, 262.
Lethendy Tower, 84, 134, 241.
Letter from Chevalier, 254.
Lindsay, Col. William, 122.
Linnkeith House, 233.
"Lit.," The, 157.
Literary Societies, 157.
Little Blair, 33, 80.
Littleton of Rattray, 242.
Loch Blair, 34, 81, 141.
Loch Blair Castle, 135.
v Loch Benachally, 63, 64, 65, 189,
Loch Bog, 77, 192, 195.
Lochend of Blair, 116.
Lochy, The, 18, 24, 47, 146.
Loch of the Leys, 192, 239.
Loch Leven, 184, 185
Loch of the Lowes, 192, 240. .
Lochy Terrace, 18, 193.
Lodbrog, the Dane, 31, 33.
Lodge, St John, 157.
Logie House, 140, 240.
Lomonds, The, 18.
Long Service Medals, 163.
Loon Braes, 69.
Lord of the Isles, 36.
Lords of the Treasury, 85, 87.
Lord Provost of Perth, 61.
Lornty, The, 15, 21, 49, 64, 78, 131,
168. 190, 233, 235.
Lornty Cottage, 47, 234.
Lornty House, 234.
Low, Abram, 179.
Low, Isaac, 181, 186.
Low, Jacob, 230.
Low, Private, 164.
Lower Mill Street, 49, 172, 233.
Lowrie's, John, 171.
Luke & Company, 169, 170.
Lunan Burn, 190, 192.
Lunan, Dr C. S., 173.
Lunan, Dr Robert, 75, 226, 227.
Lyall, James Durward, 232.
Lynedoch, Lord, 74, 211, 214.
Lyndsay, Sir David, 36.
Magistrates, 60, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71,
73, 75, 225.
Malcolm Canmore, 33.
Malcolm IV., 243
Malcolm fllio Duncan, 80.
Malt Barns, 55.
Mann, Tammy, 175, 176.
Manchester Guardian, 62.
Manrent, Bond of, 37, 40.
Manufactures, 121, 165, 187.
Map of Scotland, 81.
Marlee, 170, 191, 227, 228, 230, 232,
Marlee Hotel, 239.
Marlee House, 239.
Marlee Loch, 13, 184, 185, 192, 198,
Market Cross, 82.
Marsh of Blair, 80.
Marshall, James, 98.
Mar Rebellion, 132.
Maryfleld, 20, 231, 235.
Masonic Hall, 151.
Mause, 127, 237, 238, 253.
Mause, Ghost of, 43
Mause, Mains of, 44.
Mayriggs Fossils, 23.
Meal Mill, 19
Mechanics' Institute, 18, 80, 158,
Meigle. 12, 98, 135, 194, 201, 237, 242.
Meikle Blair, 33. 80.
Meikleour, 14, 30, 47, 48, 58, 61, 63,
78, 139, 209, 237, 241, 252, 263.
Meikleour Arms, 140.
Meikleour Cross, 241.
Meikleour Square, 241.
Melfort, 87, 88.
Memorial Tablet, 93.
Mercate Cross, 18, 37, 82.
Mercate Gate. 39, 51.
Mercate Green, 193.
Mercers of Meikleour. 209.
Mercers, Sir Andrew, Emily Jane,
James, Sir Henry, Laurence,
Sir Laurence, Col. William, 209.
Methods of Husbandry, 126.
Middle Mause, 43, 77.
Millbank, 55, 69, 148, 229.
Mill Street, 21.
Millwright Works, 170, 176, 233.
Mills on the Ericht, 121, 167.
Ashbank, 166, 169.
Bramblebank, 162, 233.
Brooklinn, 168, 220, 233.
Lornty, 168, 234.
Meikle, 167, 169, 233.
Oakbank, 167, 220.
Miller, James, 174.
Miller, Jno. B., 69, 148.
Militia Act, 52.
Military Service, 50.
Milton of Clunie, 248.
Milton of Drumlochy, 77.
Mineral Springs, 121.
Mineral Well, 121.
Anderson, Robert, 263.
Baxter, Dr John, 97, 221.
Blair, Gilbert, 92.
Blaire, Thomas, 92.
Bowis, Robert, 263.
Burton, John, 98.
Butter, Laurence, 263.
Garment, Dr John, 99.
Cowans, ., 96.
Crumley, Thomas. 99.
Davis, F. W. 98, 200, 251.
Dobson, ., 100.
Dow, William, 93, 263.
Fraser, William, 93.
Foyer, J. W., 255.
Gray, James, 263.
Grant, Peter, 100.
Herdman, William, 162, 263.
Hutchinson, Robert D., 96.
Inch, Alex. S., 154.
Jardine, John, 209.
Johnstone, James, 90, 93, 114, 263.
Kemp, Robert, 93, 157.
Lyall, ., 100.
Lyon, James, 93, 194, 263.
Macdonald, Robert, 93.
Marshall, John, 98.
M'Crie, Charles G., 97.
M'Culloch, Alex., 263.
M'Rae, David, 157.
Malcolm, John, 99.
Mercer, James, 209.
Miller, D. K., 154.
Millar, George, 263.
Miller, John, 100.
M'Kay, James, 98.
Muir, William, 97.
Minniken, ., 98.
Ogilvy, Alex., 263.
Pringle, J. W., 154.
Ramsay, John, 92, 98.
Rattray, Silvester, 254.
Richardson, ., 98.
Ross, John, 92, 203, 204.
Smith, ., 94.
Stewart, Robert, 96.
Stewart, William, 92.
Tait, John, 100.
Taylor, Robert, 97.
Tennant, E. M., 100.
White, Malcolm, 97.
Willison, Alex. S., 96.
Mission House, 19
Mitchell, David, 148.
Mitchell Square, 21, 179.
Mitchell, Thomas, 21, 55, 75, 231.
Moir, James, 232.
Moncur, James, 232.
Mons Grampius, 12, 17, 26.
Montrose, 14, 42, 43, 136, 255, 256.
Moray, Bishop of, 84.
Mortimer, Roger, 80.
Mount Blair, 13, 234.
Mount Ericht, 140.
Mount Zion, 233.
Mowbray, Sir Robert, 103.
Muckle Mill, 49, 167, 169, 170 233
Muir of Blair, 14, 33. 34, 47, 49, 79,
80, 81, 82, 148, 175, 180, 204, 242.
Muir of Gormok, 77.
Muirton of Ardblair, 88, 236, 242,
Muirton Ponds, 200.
Municipal Buildings, 266.
Munro, Alex., 162
Murdoch, Alex., 161.
Murtoun. 88, 89.
Murthly, 92, 262, 263.
Murthly Castle, 135, 241, 252.
Murthly Stone, 23.
Mustard, William, 173.
Mydilbait, 88, 90.
Macadam, Professor, 64, 65, 66.
M'Alpin, Kenneth, 31, 130.
M'Alpin's Warriors, 14.
MacCombie, Family of, 81.
Macdonald Fish ways, 188.
Macdonald, George, 148.
Macdonald Hotel, 57.
Macdonald, J. A. R., 70.
Macdonald, Dr Robert. 93, 94, 96,
MacFarlane, Professor, 232.
MacFarlane, William, 230.
M'Gregor, John, 172.
M'Gregor's Hotel, 57.
M'Intosh, Donald, 252.
M'Intosh, Donald, miller, 259.
M'Intosh, James, farmer, 260.
M'Intosh, James, violin maker, 259,
M'Intosh, Hary, 176.
M'Intosh, Peter, 166, 169, 231.
M'Intosh, Robert, "Red Rob," 259.
M 'In tosh, William, 260.
M'Intyre, W. A., 194.
M 'In tyre & Co., 170.
Mackay, Mr (C. S. I.), 73.
Mackbeth. Judge of Gowrie, 80.
Makcomas, John, 81
Mackenzie, Sir A. Muir, 140.
Mackenzie, Colin, 179.
Maclachlan, John, 179.
M'Lachlan, Thomas, 161.
M'Laggan, Thomas, T. 153, 232.
Maclaren, Daniel, 172.
Maclaren's Hotel, 55.
MacLaren, Lieut. -Col. G. G., M.D.,
140, 231, 265.
Maclaren, James F., 231.
M'Levy, James, 262.
M'Nab's Ale House, 249.
M'Xab, James, 75.
M'Nab, John, 179.
Macpherson of Blairgowrie, 73, 221.
Macpherson of Belleville, 221.
Macpherson of Cluny, 221.
Macpherson of Glentruim, 221.
Macpherson of Noid (Nuide), 221.
Macpherson of Philadelphia, 221.
Macpherson of Ralia. 221.
Macpherson, Alan, 72.
Macpherson, Alan D., 73.
Macpherson, Allan, 19, 55, 66, 67,
68, 71, 72, 82, 162, 222, 255.
Macpherson, Col. Allan, 21, 49, 51,
82, 122, 139, 168. 222, 248, 257.
Macpherson Fountain, 19, 71, 223.
Macpherson, Mrs E., 71, 72, 73.
Macpherson. Patrick, 50.
Macpherson, William, 51, 53, 82,
91 222 253
M 'Ritchie,' D., F.S.A., Scot, 140.
M'Ritchie, John, 179.
Nairne, Lady, 209.
National Gallery, 213.
National Museum of Autiquities,
National Security Savings Bank,
Neilsonian Cauliflower, 244.
Neilson, Dr James, 66, 75, 155, 223.
Neilson, Robert, 244.
\ Neill, Bandmaster, 251.
Nelson, Robert, 263.
Nether Aird, 46. 64, 77. 253.
Nether Clayquhat, 254
News, Blairgowrie, 160.
Newtoun, 82, 83, 193, 206.
Newton of Blair, 38, 39, 81, 82, 84.
Newton Burn, 172.
Newton Castle, 14, 20, 21, 37, 42, 43,
47, 71, 136, 206. 211, 235, 236.
Newton House 128, 144, 249.
Newton Lane, 21.
Newton Street, 21, 159.
Newton Terrace, 18, 20, 97.
Newspaper, the First, 53.
New Schools. 110.
New Town Hall, 266.
Newtyle, 12, 168, 200, 201, 229.
Neylson, Henry, 89.
Nicholls, Piper. & Co., 264.
No Session, 103.
North Inch, 74, 214.
North of Scotland Bank, 148.
Oakbank, 19, 163, 167, 169, 220, 233,
Ochils, The, 13.
Ogilvy Arms, 19.
Ogilvy Arms Inn, 263.
Ogilvy, James, 19, 67, 68, 140, 171,
Old Rhyme, 176.
Old Spittal. 229.
Old AVorthies, 171.
Oliphant of Cask, 93, 130, 209.
Oliphant, Captain Blair, 200.
Oliphant. P. K. Blair, 200.
Opening of Railway, 53.
Operation, An Interesting, 248.
Operative Bodies, 59.
Orchar, Jamie, 176.
Ordnance Survey, 64.
Origin, 17, 115.
Origin of Street Names, 21.
Original Inhabitants, 76.
Orkney. Bishop of, 85.
Our Boys, 204.
Page, Thomas, 89.
Palace, The. 18.
Panton, John. 148, 149, 228, 229, 233.
Panton, William, farmer, 231.
Panton, William S., maltster, 20.
Panton, William, overseer, 228. '
Parish Burying Ground, 20, 46.
Parish Church, 16, 18, 20, 37, 51. 57,
66, 79, 84, 91, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97,
144, 158, 230, 233, 234, 253, 254,
Parish Church Literary Associa-
Parish Manse, 20, 42. 66, 79, 91, 122,
Parish School, 20, 67, 109, 110, 150,
220, 221, 225, 227, 228, 249, 262.
Parish Tokens, 90, 263.
Parkhead. 22, 48, 68, 232, 235, 254.
Parkhill, 229, 242.
Parkhill House, 139.
Patersoii, Corpl., 164.
Paterson, Sergt., 164.
Patrick, Count of Dunbar, 80.
P'easant Hen, 17.
Pedigree of Drummonds, 83.
Penketh, Ensign, 162, 163.
Pennant the Traveller, 137, 246.
Pennycook, John, 172,
Paroche Kirke. 14, 37, 39.
Persie, 96. 97, 237, 238, 261.
Perth. 11, 12, 17, 36, 45, 53, 61, 74,
90, 92, 98, 99, 128, 210, 214, 216,
217, 228, 229, 230, 236, 241, 255,
Perth Banking Company, 148.
Perth, Earl of, 85, 86, 87.
Perthshire Football, 204.
Perth Presbytery, 92, 93.
Perth Road, 236, 249.
Perth Savings Bank, 148.
Perthshire, 13, 43, 49. 61, 74, 82, 84
95, 138, 139, 204, 212, 241, 248.
Perthshire, Regiment (90th), 214.
Perth Street, 17, 18.
Peters, David, 173.
Peters, James, 230.
Peter the Jailer, 172.
Phillip de Walloun, 80.
Photography, 98, 150, 151, 158.
Picts, The, 30.
Picts, King of. 31.
Pipe Baud, 164, 251.
Pitcairn's Criminal Trials, 37.
Pitcarmik, 82. 230.
Pitlochrie, 237, 239.
Place of Repentance, 103.
Places of Interest, 236.
Planting of Trees. 67.
Plash Mill, 19, 170, 233.
Playfair, John, 50.
Police Act, 52.
Pope Gregory, XI., 35, 81.
Population, 107, 114, 115.
Poor Rates Established, 107.
Porter, Robbie, 179.
Portsmouth Times, 230.
Post Heaps, 173.
Post Office, 159, 178.
Post Reid, 173, 178.
Preaching Station, 94.
President, The, 195.
Press, The, 52, 159.
Prices of Labour, 117.
Prices of Provisions, 117.
Priest's House, 254, 255.
Prince Charlie, 14, 18, 47.
Prince Charlie's Well, 234.
Printing Introduced, 52, 231.
Privy Council, 92.
Proclamation of the Estates, 92.
Propagation of the Eel, 184.
Provincial Curling Match, 199.
Province of Strathmore, 200, 201.
Provosts, 70, 74, 75, 225.
Bridie, John, 75, 150.
Chalmers, James, 21, 75, 231.
Stewart, James, 75, 232.
Templeman, David, 75, 232.
Yeaman. James, 153
Public Fetes, 57, 58, 61.
Public Hall, 57, 58, 60, 70, 151, 156,
173, 201. 205.
Public Park, 69, 232, 266.
Public Schools, 18, 20, 66, 68, 96, 156.
Pullar, David, 81, 90.
Queen, The, 14, 52. 54, 56, 69 145
161, 162, 184, 213, 219, 237,' 245^
Queen Caroline, 208.
Queen Marie, 38.
Queen Mary's Summons, 38.
Queen of Scots, 38.
Queen's Hotel, 18, 57, 159, 227
Queen's Visits, 14, 52, 54.
Quoad Sacra Parish, 95.
Quoit Club, 178.
Rae Loch, 192, 239.
Railway Hotel. 19.
Railway Service, 14. 53, 168.
Railway Station. 17, 54, 55, 67 73
Raitt, William, 49.
Ramsay of Bamff. 61.
Ramsay, James, 82.
Ramsay, Sir James, 94.
Ramsay, Keith, 245.
Ramsay, Sir William, 53.
Randale, Donald, 89.
Rattray, 12, 15, 43, 50, 55. 65, 67, 68,
69, 70, 82. 122, 136, 148, 150, 162,
186, 188, 193, 199, 221, 225, 234,
237, 242, 252, 254, 256, 261, 262,
Rattray, Alanus de, 136.
Rattray Arms, 136.
Rattray, Bishop, 45, 83.
Rattray Churchyard, 215.
Rattray Curling Club, 200.
Rattray of Dalnoon, 218.
Rattray, Dr, 73.
Rattray Estates, 217.
Rattray, George, 84.
Rattray, James, 187.
Rattray, Sir J. Clerk, 74, 219, 258,
Rattray, John, of Coralbank, 162,
Rattray of Persie, 218.
Rattray Public School, 205.
Rattray of Rattray and Craighall,
Rattray, Silvester, 254.
Recollections of the Past, 171.
Rectory, The, 200.
Red Brae, 250.
Rede, John, 89.
Reekie Linn, 249.
Reformation, 92, 131.
Reform Street, 17, 54, 95, 160, 243,
Regality Court, 128.
Regiment, 90th, 74.
Register House, 81.
Reid, John, Ogilvy Arms Inn, 263.
Relics, 262, 263.
Religious Persuasions, 115.
Rental Book, 88, 185.
Rest and be Thankful, 11, 265.
Revue de deux Mondes, 63.
Rifle Corps, 56, 59.
Rifle Range, 161, 194.
Rivers, 119, 189, 190.
Roaring Game, 199.
Robb, D. C., 225. '
Robert I., 34, 80.
Robert II., 130.
Robert III., 35, 210.
Robert de Quinci, 80.
Robertson, Alex., Banker, 55, 147,
Robertson, Donald, 88.
Robertson, Duncan, 172.
Robertson, George, Bailie, 75.
Robertson, George, Weaver, 50.
Robertson, John, Porter, 264.
Robertson, J. L., 161.
Robertson, Moreover, 174.
Robertson, Miss, 263.
Robertson, Robert, banker, 147, 223.
Robertson, Robert, schoolmaster,
25, 110, 147, 254.'
Robertson, Thomas. 38.
Robertson, William, baker, 161,
Robertson, William (cycle), 201.
Robertson, William, 75, 174, 179.
Roger of St Andrews, 80.
Rollock, Andro, 41.
Rollock, James, 41.
Rollock, Robert, 218.
Roman Camp, 32, 140, 241.
Roman Coins, 77.
Roman Catholic School, 19, 112.
Roman Pot, 78, 262.
Roman Remains, 77, 78.
Rory Street, 54.
Rory, William, 38.
Rosemount, 22, 48, 68, 204, 262,
Rosemount House, 135. 235
Rosemount Station, 235, 243.
Rosemount Wood, 235.
Ross' Compendium, 53, 160, 231.
Ross, James, 53, 179, 231.
Rough Ford. The, 237.
Round the Golf Course, 235.
Round Knockmahar, 234.
Royal Arch Chapter, 157.
Royal Bank of Scotland, 148, 171,
Royal Caledonian Curling Club,
Royal Hotel, 16, 18, 20, 55, 59, 179,
Royal Infirmary, 14, 128, 207, 208.
Royal Insurance Society, 229.
Royal Route, 55, 237.
Royal Scotch Whisky, 264.
Royals, 21st, 54.
Russell, Earl, 14, 58, 59, 60, 61, 63.
Sabbath Breach, 106.
Sabbath Shooting Match, 107.
Saddle, The, 195.
Saint Loch, 192.
Saunders, D. H., 154.
Saunders, George, 165, 231.
Saunders, John, 162. 245.
Saunders, Leezie, 174.
School Boards, 66, 156. 228.
Schools, 106, 108, 109, 122.
James Street, 110.
New Public, 110.
Roman Catholic, 112.
William Street, 110.
Schoolmasters, 103, 108, 109, 110, 111,
Anderson, John, 109.
Badenach, Alex., 109.
Barbour, John, 110.
Bell, W. Hamilton, 111.
Binnie. ., 110.
Blair, Thomas. 109.
Burton, .. 111.
Buttar, ., 112.
Calderwood, D. S., 111.
Campbell, -., 112.
Douglas, James, 110.
Dow, William, 109.
Forbes, Peter, 109.
Geddes, John, 110.
Gelloch, William, 109.
Grant, P.. 112.
Haly, Andrew. 109.
Hislop, A., 110.
Hunter, John, 112.
Inch, John, 110.
Johnstone, James. 112.
Johnstone. Robert, 110, 254.
Kermock, David, 109.
Lothan, ., 111.
Lowson. D. S., 111.
M'Donald, A., 112.
Macdonald, James, 110.
Macfarlane, James, 112.
MacGlashan. Thomas, 109.
Malcolm. John, 110, 154.
Ogilvy, David, 109.
Oliphant, ., 109.
Rae, Patrick, 109.
Reid, John, 110.
Robertson, Robert, 110, 147.
Sinclair, Donald, 110.
Soutar, Thomas, 253.
Stoddart, Alex., 109.
Sturrock. Peter. 110, 147.
Wilkie, David, 110.
Wyllie, ., 112
Schoolmistresses, 111, 112.
Brodie, Amelia, 112.
Brodie, Jeanie, 112.
Mackie, Jeanie, 112.
Murray, 112, 263.
Scone, 12, 33. 35, 80, 81, 92, 215, 216.
Scone, Commendator of, 84.
Scottish Antiquarian Society, 78.
Scottish Midland Junction Rail-
Scotsman, The, 62, 230.
Scots, The, 34.
Scots, The King of, 31.
Scots Magazine, The, 208.
Scott, James, 51, 75.
Scott of Westflelds. 67.
Scott, Sir Walter, 14, 36, 138, 199.
Scrimgeour. Willie, 55.
Scutching Mill, 252.
Seals, 41. 83.
Seal of Commission, 70.
Seaton, Sergt., 162, 163.
See of Dunkeld, 99, 130.
Selling Aile, 101.
Severus, Emperor, 30.
Sewage System, 73.
Blair, James, 113.
Blair, John, !13.
Curr, William, 113.
Duncan, James, 113.
M'Lachlan, John, 113.
M'La'chlan, John (son of), 113,
M'Lachlan, John (son of), 113, 254.
Reid, Robert, 113.
Rodger. Walter, 113.
Sharp, James D., 148, 195.
Shearer, Messrs, 81.
Shearing on Sabbath. 101.
Shee. The. 187.
Shepherds, A. O. F., 160.
Sheriff Court, 95.
Sheriff Depute, 84.
Sheriff of Perth, 34, 38, 48, 49, 81,
Shirra Muir, 251.
Sidey, George, 162.
Sidlaw Hills, 11. 12, 13.
Sim, Saddler, 172.
Simpson, Sergt., 163, 250.
Situation, 91, 116.
Skermy Tree, 186.
Smiles* Samuel, LL.D., 264.
Smith, Archbishop, 99.
Smith, John, Painter, 160.
Smith, John, 151.
Smith Lament, 178.
Smith, Robert, 38, 40.
Blairgowrie and District Photo-
graphic Association, 150.
Dundee. Blairgowrie, and District
Constitutional Club, 152
Edinburgh Blairgowrie Club, 154.
Soil, 21, 116.
Solemn League, 42.
Soo, The. 195.
Soutar, David, 43.
Soutar of Mause, 43, 45.
Soutar of Netheraird, 253.
Soutar. Peter. 187.
Soutar, Thomas. 88, 89, 253.
Soutar, W. S., 148, 149, 162, 183.
South Free Church, 19, 20, 97, 255.
South Free School, 110.
Soveraine Lady, Our, 38.
Spate, The Great, 52.
Special Constables, 173.
Spens of Condy, 41.
Spittalfield. 193, 237, 241.
Spittal of Glenshee, 55, 238.
Stage Coach. 52, 230.
Stamp Office. 117.
Standard, The London, 199.
Standing Stones, 76.
Station Hotel, 18, 67.
Statistics, 114. 249.
Statistical Account, 93, 94, 98, 114.
Steed Stalls, 78
Stenton Craig, 32. 241.
Steps of Cally, 238.
Steven, Thomas, 55, 57, 59, 60, 69,
70, 75, 232.
Stewart, Baron of Grandtully, 135.
Stewart, James, 67, 68, 70, 74, 75,
Stewart, Thomas G., 155.
Stirling, 229, 232.
Stirling Castle. 92.
Stock, 115, 209.
Stone Axe, 262.
Stone Cup, 262.
Stone Seal. 262.
Stores, Scottish Prison, 232.
Stormont. 25, 84, 191, 253.
Stormont Inn, 239.
Stormont Loch, 13, 24, 34, 77, 192,
199, 200, 235, 236.
Stormont Lodge, 20, 234.
Stormont, Lord, 152.
Strachan, Geordie, 187.
Straiton, Robert. 50.
Strathardle, 99, 189, 229, 238, 239.
Strathmore, 11, 12, 33, 96, 124, 127,
139, 229., 235, 242, 248.
Stron Calie, 82.
Strone Brig, 250.
St Andrews, 92, 93, 97, 225, 226.
St Benedict, 243.
St Catherine's, 98.
St Crux Well, 240.
St Fink, 253.
St Marie's Abbey, 33, 80, 209.
St Marie's Monastery, 33.
St Mary's Church, 19, 95, 224.
St Mary's Parish, 95.
St Ninian, 31.
St Ninian, Well of, 18, 31.
St Ninians, 78.
St Ninians, Provost of, 98.
St Salvador's College, 92.
St Stephen's Church, 98, 99, 109.
St Stephen's School, 112.
St Stephen's Union, 158.
Struth, James, 231.
Suetonius Paulinus, 25.
Sunk Wells, 63.
Superior, The, 49, 66, 82, 248.
Sutherland Fencibles, The, 53.
Survey of Mons Grainpius, 30.
Swinton, John. 48, 49, 82.
Tacitus the Historian, 25.
Tamson, Johnnie, 173.
Tannage Street, 18, 21, 67.
Tay District Board, 187, 188,
Tay. River, 12. 13, 25, 43, 78, 128,
132, 135, 139, 185, 191, 240, 241.
Temperance Hotel, 19.
Templeman, Charles, 232.
Templeman, David, 75, 232.
Terminus Street, 17, 21.
Teuchat Knovve, The, 77.
Thorn, James, 69.
Thomson, John, 89.
Thorn, The. 230.
Tiend Sheaves, 88.
Tinder Box, 262.
Tod, David, 65.
Todd, William, 173.
Torrid one, 81.
Tower of Lethendy, 84, 134, 241.
Town Clerk, 223, 232, 246.
Town Council, 59, 72, 73, 225, 231.
Town Funds, 247.
Town Hall. 98, 156, 157.
Town House, 63. 82.
Town Park, 20.
Town Criers, 113.
Law, Francis, 113.
M'Lachlan, John, 113.
M'Lachlan, John (son of), 113
M'Lachlan, John (son of), 113
Reid' Alex., 113, 173.
Tron, The, 241.
Trotter, Charles, 99.
Tumuli, 76, 77.
Tullyduff, George, 38.
Tullyveolan, 14, 138, 160.
Tyrie, John, 18, 172, 173.
Tyrie, William, 248.
Union Bank, 18, 148.
Union Street, 17, 18.
Upper Allan Street, 18, 19, 20, 108.
Upper Mill Street, 19.
Upper Stormont, 239.
Urrie, General, 43.
Viconte de Mortain, 80.
Victoria Hotel, 19, 233.
Vikings. Danish, 32.
Violin Maker, A Local, 259.
Voluntary Constables, 178.
Volunteers, 18, 50, 56, 57, 59, 63, 98,
161, 163, 184, 230, 232, 250, 257.
Volunteer Ammunition, 162.
Volunteer Armoury, 161.
Volunteer Band, 164.
Volunteer Camps, 163.
Volunteer Dress, 162, 163.
Volunteer Drill Hall, 164, 205.
Volunteer Instructors, 163.
Volunteer Long Service Medals,
Volunteer Magazine, 197.
Volunteer Oath of Allegiance, 162.
Volunteer Reviews, 162, 163.
Volunteer Rifle Range, 161, 194.
Volunteer Subscription Lists, 161.
Volunteers of 1804, 50, 161, 257.
Waddell, Sandy, 173.
Walks and Drives, 233.
Wallace, Sir William, 33, 34, 133.
Walter, Justice of Scotland. 80.
Water Commission, 72, 73, 229.
Water Supply, 63.
Waterloo Heroes, 247.
" Wattery," 248.
Waulk Mill, 222.
Webster, J. L., 264.
Weddell, Alex., 152, 153.
Weighhouse, 179, 262.
Wellmeadow, 17, 18, 19, 58, 67, 71,
72, 145, 147, 172, 202, 222, 223,
233, 249, 263.
Welltown, 17, 48, 50, 73, 116, 162,
179, 180, 186, 193, 230, 235, 236.
Welltown of Bamff, 68.
Welltown Brownies, 179.
Welltown Road, 18, 166.
Westflelds, 187, 188, 189, 234.
Westflelds Flute Band, 55.
Westfields Spinning Company, 229.
Wester Bog, 251.
Wester Cally, 238.
Westerly Cairns, 77.
West Gormack, 132.
Western Bank of Scotland, 147.
Whisky Roadie, 19, 172, 173, 178.
White, Col.-Sergt., 163, 164.
White Loch, 13, 192.
Whitson, Bailie, 174.
Whitson, Captain C. Hill-, 139.
Whitson, Thomas, 75.
William de Cumyn, 80.
William of Glasgow, 80.
William the Lion, 33, 80, 136, 206,
William Street, 19, 110, 243.
William Street School, 110.
Wilson, Sergt. -Major, 163, 164.
Witness, The, 62.
Wolf pf Badenoch, 35.
Wood, 23, 89, 90, 121, 241.
Woodhead, 43, 45, 161, 162.
Woodhill, 99, 190, 238.
Woodlands, 47, 48. 235.
Wood Plough Socket, 262.
Wood Rafter, 262.
Wolseley, Lord, 74.
Working Men's Club, 158.
Yeaman, David, 50.
Yeaman, Provost, 153.
Ye Bailzies o' Blair, 144.
Young, James, 75, 161, 162.
Young, John, 247.
Young Men's Association, 203.
Young, William, 38.
Young Women's Literary, 158.
LIST OF SUBSCRIBERS.
ANDERSON, JAMES CHAPMAN, of Aikenhead.
ANDERSON, Rev. JAMES, Minister of Forteviot.
ANDERSON, Dr WILLIAM, Lynorne, New Rattray.
ANDERSON, DAVID, Jeweller, Allan Street, Blairgowrie.
ANDERSON, GEORGE, Bootmaker, 10 Reform Street, Blairgowrie.
AITKEN, JAMES, Pattern Maker, 10 Tay Street, Edinburgh.
AMBROSE, JOHN, Abbeyhill Public School, Edinburgh.
ABERCROMBY, JOHN, Millwright, Edenbank, Newton Street, Blairgowrie.
ANDERSON, GEORGE, Halifax Commercial Bank, Brighouse, Yorks.
BLAIR-CUNYNGHAME, R. J., of Cronan, 18 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh.
BARTY, J. W., LL.D., Solicitor, Dunblane.
BAXTER, JOHN S., 12 St Mary Street, Brechin.
BELL, W. HAMILTON, M.A., B.Sc., Headmaster, Public School, 1 George
BISSET, GEORGE S., Ellenbank, New Rattray.
BUTCHART, JOHN E., Litho. Writer, Reform Street, Dundee.
BROWN, GEORGE, Coal Merchant, Commercial Street, Blairgowrie.
BEVERIDGE, DAVID, Stone Carver, 40 Watson Crescent, Edinburgh.
V ^ BROWN, ALLAN, Butcher, High Street, Blairgowrie.
J*BAIN, ALEXANDER, Saddler, Bridgend, Blairgowrie.
t >BELL, ALEXANDER, Crown Inn, Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie.
BELL, JOHN, Baker, Balmoral Street, New Rattray.
>BLACK, R. ROBERTSON, Solicitor, Bank of Scotland, Blairgowrie.
BROWN, ALEXANDER, Bootmaker, 16 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie.
BROUGH, THOMAS, Joiner, Karsphairn Cottage, Blairgowrie.
BELL, JOSEPH, Plasterer, Allan Cottage, Blairgowrie.
B. J., Coupar Angus.
BEVERIDGE, THOMAS, Mason, 40 Watson Crescent, Edinburgh.
CADENHEAD, W. M., Stationmaster, Caledonian Railway, Blairgowrie.
CHALMERS, Rev. JOHN, 2 Gladstone Place, Stirling.
CRAIGIE, JOHN, Advocate, 9 Wemyss Place, Edinburgh.
^CXJNNISON, GEORGE, Burgh Surveyor, George Street, Blairgowrie.
CRAIG, THOMAS, Roselea, Perth Road, Blairgowrie.
CRAIGIE, ROBERT, Slater, High Street, Blairgowrie.
CULROSS, JAMES, Bootmaker, 6 Allan Street, Blairgowrie.
CLARK, MUNGO, Clothier, Forneth Villa, Blairgowrie.
\ CROCK ART, WILLIAM, Gunsmith, Parkside Villa, Blairgowrie.
CAMPBELL, DAVID, Bookseller, Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie.
CHRISTIE, ROBERT N., Cromwell Villa, Newton Street, Blairgowrie.
COLLIE, W. M., Watchmaker, High Street, Blairgowrie.
DUNCAN, G. S., F.S.A., Scot., Dunmore Villa, Newton Street, Blair-
DAVIE, WILLIAM, Woodbrae, Dunkeld.
DEWAR, JAMES, Dunkerton P. O., Iowa, U. S. A.
DUNCAN, ADAM R., Slater, Old Rattray.
DBUMMOND, WILLIAM, Public School Lodge, Blairgowrie.
DOIG, THOMAS, Joiner, New Rattray.
DONALD, GRAHAM, Newton Lane, Blairgowrie.
DUFF, WILLIAM, Butcher, Croft Lane, Blairgowrie.
DOUGLAS, D. B., Royal Bank, Pitt Street, Edinburgh.
DONALD, P. K., Painter, 26 Leslie Street, Blairgowrie.
DICK, JAMES, Westfield Cottage, New Rattray.
DUNCAN, A. B., Laurel Villa, New Rattray.
DUNCAN, THOMAS, Builder, Laurel Villa, New Rattray.
DRYERRE, HENRY, Bookseller, 10 High Street, Blairgowrie.
FINDLAY, JAMES, Architect, 33 Albert Square, Dundee.
FORD, JOHN L., Merchant, High Street, Blairgowrie.
FALCONER, W. D. M., James Street Cottage, Blairgowrie.
FELL, J. M.
FELL, Rev. WILLIAM P., Bridgend, Blairgowrie.
FELL, JOHN D., Butcher, Bridgend, Blairgowrie.
FELL, ALFRED M., Woodbine, New Rattray.
FLEMING, JAMES, Draper, 9 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie.
FARQUHARSON, CHARLES, Farmer, Bank of Lethendy.
FERGUSON, Mrs JOHN, Fintry Inn, Fintry, Stirlingshire.
GRIMOND, ALEXANDER D., of Glenericht.
GEEKIE, ROBERT, of Rosemount.
GUNN, ROBERT, Royal Hotel, Blairgowrie.
GRANT, WILLIAM, Chemist, High Street, Blairgowrie.
GRANT, GEORGE, Farmer, Tullyneddie, Clunie.
GREWAR, ADAM, Corsehill, Blairgowrie.
GILRUTH, Mrs, Alma Villa, Newton Street, Blairgowrie.
GORRIE, THOMAS C., High Street, New Rattray.
GRANT, W. J. BREWSTER, Architect. Bengarth, Blairgowrie.
HUNTER, Rev. JOHN, M.A., B.D., F.S.A., Scot., Minister of Rattray.
HENDRY, Rev. CHARLES, M.A., Free Church, Kirkcaldy.
HOOD, Dr THOMAS H. F., Ivybank, New Rattray.
HODGE, JAMES M., Solicitor, Blairgowrie.
HILL, ADAM, Builder, Edina Cottage, Emma Street, Blairgowrie.
HENDRY, KENNEDY, Forester, Craighall.
HODGE, WILLIAM, Provost of Rattray.
ISLES, JAMES, J.P., F.S.A., Scot., Wine Merchant, St Ninians, Blair-
INCH, Rev. ALEX. S., M.A., Free High Manse, Dumbarton.
KEAY, JAMES W., Fernbank, Emma Terrace, Blairgowrie.
KEMP, Rev. ROBERT, M.A., Minister of Blairgowrie.
KING, Rev. ANGUS, 25 Kelvinhaugh Street, Glasgow.
KINLOCH, SIR JOHN G. S., Bart., M.P., Kinloch House, Meigle.
KIDD, GEORGE P., Plumber, Croft House, Blairgowrie.
KIDD, ROBERT. Plumber, 1 High Street, Blairgowrie.
KIRKWOOD, WILLIAM, Ironmonger, The Cross, Blairgowrie.
KYDD, JAMES, 10 Garland Place, Dundee.
KIDD, Mrs J. T., Mains of Errol, Errol.
Low, Rev. GEORGE D., M.A., 27 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh.
LOCKHART, Mrs ROBERT A., Belleisle, 20. Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh.
LUNAN, Dr CHARLES S., High Street, Blairgowrie.
LUNAN, ROBERT, High Street, Blairgowrie,.
LOWE, ROBERT, Clerk of Works, Roselea, Blair.KOwrie.
LOWE, JAMES, C.E. and Architect, Roselea Cottage. Blairgowrie.
LAWSON, GEORGE, Horseshoer, Croft Lane. Blairgowrie.
LEITH, JAMES, Slater, Reform Street, Blairgowrie (2).
LAIRD, JAMES C.. Plumber, Emma Street. Blairgowrie.
Low, JAMES, Bookseller, High Street, Blairgowrie (2).
LEGGAT, JAMES, Joiner, Meikleour.
MACKENZIE, Sir ALEX. MUIR, Bart., Delvine House, Dunkeld.
MACPHERSOX, Mrs E., Blairgowrie House. Blairgowrie.
MACDONALD, Rev. P., B.D., 2 Lome Terrace, Abbeyhill, Edinburgh.
MACKINTOSH, ALEXANDER, Farr Lodge, Forfar.
MACRITCHIE, DAVID, C.A., F.S.A., Scot,, Easter Logie (2).
MACDONALD, ALEXANDER, Camden Place, Dundee.
MALCOLM. Rev. JOHN, St Stephen's, Bank Street, Blairgowrie.
MONCUR, WILLIAM, Ironmonger, Allan Street, Blairgowrie.
MACLACHLAN, JOHN, Albert Institute Free Library, Dundee (3).
MILLER. JOHN B., Solicitor, North of Scotland Bank, Blairgowrie.
MITCHELL, JAMES, Merchant, 34 Leslie Street, Blairgowrie.
MACLACHLAN, JOHN B., Saddler, Allan Street, Blairgowrie.
MACLAREN, Lieut. -Col. G. G., M.D., Falcon House, Blairgowrie.
MILNE, ALEX. C., Photographer, Hierh Street, Blairgowrie.
MENZIES, JOHN, Butcher, Reform Street, Blairgowrie.
MITCHELL, WILLIAM C., Architect, Essendy.
MORRISON, HEW, Public Library, Edinburgh.
MACLAREN, R. D. G., 37 Bruntsfield Gardens. Edinburgh.
MACLENNAN, D. S., Sanitary Inspector, Cedar Mount, Rattray.
MACFARLANE, JAMES, jun., Letter Carrier, Brown Street, Blairgowrie.
MILLER, Rev. WILLIAM G., Blairhill U. P. Church, Coatbridge.
MILLER, Rev. DAVID K., M.A., IT. P. Manse, Eyemouth.
MORRISON, Rev. J. H., M.A., Free Church Manse, Kirkmichael.
MILLER, Miss CHRISTINA, Music Teacher, Springbank, Newton Street,
MACDONALD, JOHN, Editor, "Forfar Review," Forfar.
MAC!NNES, Mrs A., Tullochcurran Farm, Kirkmichael.
MITCHELL, DAVID, Ardmhor, Hill Street, Blairgowrie.
M'LAREN, JOHN, Merchant, 65 High Street, Blairgowrie.
MONRO, GEORGE, Old Rattray.
MONCTJR, ALEX. H., Manufacturer, Dundee.
M'KENZIE, THOMAS, Draper, Perth Street, Blairgowrie.
MTTIR, Rev. WILLIAM, B.D., B.L., First Free Manse, Blairgowrie.
MILLS, W. B., Bookseller, "Observer Office," Kirriemuir.
MONCUR, JAMES, Westgarth, Cplinton, Edinburgh.
MONAIR, D. G., Reporter, Elmbank, Blairgowrie.
MOIR, JAMES, 20 Ann Street, Billhead, Glasgow.
MACFARLANE, GEORGE, Bootmaker, High Street, Blairgowrie.
MURRAY, W. A. M., Cabinetmaker, George Street, Blairgowrie.
MARSHALL, W. M., Milton Cottage, Ann Street.
M'RiTCHiE, DAVID, Joiner, Mitchell Square, Blairgowrie.
M'LAE, Miss J., 71 Watson Street, Dundee.
MACDONALD, GEORGE, jun., Joiner, Trades Lane, Coupar Angus.
M'LEVY, JAMES, Librarian, 14 Newton Street, Blairgowrie.
M'DOUGALL, JOHX, Butcher, 17 Perth Street, Blairgowrie.
MITCHELL, WILLIAM, Fish Merchant, Westflelds.
M'DONALD, JAMES M., Farmer, Welltown.
MACPHERSON, THOMAS, Solicitor, 3 Charlotte Street, Perth.
M'INTYRE, DOUGLAS WILLIAM, Blairview, Rattray.
MITCHELL, P. B., Retired Factor, 6 Union Street, Coupar Angus.
MECHANICS' INSTITUTE LIBRARY, High Street (J. B. Maclachlan, Con-
MACKAY, ROBERT, Architect, 23 Barossa Place, Perth.
NEILSON, ALEX. J. R., Inspector of Poor, Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie.
NELSON, J. SIDEY, Solicitor, Bank Buildings, Blairgowrie.
NELSON, ROBERT, Solicitor, Bank Buildings, Blairgowrie.
OGILVY, JAMES, Brewer, Mount Ericht, Rattray.
PANTON, WILLIAM, Maltster, Stormont Lodge, Blairgowrie (2).
PANTON, WILLIAM, The Feu, Newton Street, Blairgowrie.
PETRIE, J. D., Chemist, High Street, Blairgowrie.
RATTRAY, Lieut. -Gen. Sir JAMES CLERK, K.C.B., of Craighall, Rattray.
ROBERTSON, Dr J. ANDERSON, M.A., M.B., 6 St James Terrace, Billhead,
ROBERTSON, R. A., University, St Andrews.
RICHARDSON, JAMES, Baker. High Street, Blairgowrie.
REID, ANDREW, 17 Petershill Road, Springburn, Glasgow.
ROBERTSON, JOHN, Manufacturer, Elmslea, Dundee (4).
REID, JAMES, Allan House, Newton Street, Blairgowrie.
REID, ALEX., Lime Villa, Newton Street, Blairgowrie.
REID, JOHN, Ogilvy Arms Inn, Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie (4).
ROBERTSON, ROBERT H., Clothier, High Street, Blairgowrie.
REID, ALEXANDER, Enochdhu, Kirkmichael.
ROBERTSON, Miss, Apna Cottage, Blairgowrie.
ROBERTSON, ROBERT, Solicitor, Bank of Scotland, Blairgowrie (4).
ROBERTSON, ALEX. P., 2 and 6 Cathedral Street, Glasgow.
ROBERTSON, JAMES, " Liverpool Evening Express."
ROBERTSON, PATRICK, Merchant, 61 High Street, Blairgowrie.
ROBERTSON, WILLIAM, Engineer, 32 William Street, Blairgowrie.
ROBERTSON, W. T., Joiner, Victoria Place, Blairgowrie.
ROBERTSON, Miss, James Street House, Blairgowrie.
ROBERTSON, ALEX., Merchant, Post Office, Old Rattray.
ROBERTSON, W., Draper, Lenzie.
SMITH, JAMES A., Bishop of Dunkeld, 29 Magdalen Yard Road, Dundee.
SMITH, A. DAVIDSON, C.A., Secy. R. C. C. C., 4A York Place, Edinburgh.
STEWART, Miss MARGARET, 41 High Street, Blairgowrie.
STEWART, LADY GRAINGER, 17 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh.
SOMERVILLE, JAMES, Cabinetmaker, High Street, Blairgowrie.
STEVEN, WILLIAM, Joiner, Newton Place, Blairgowrie.
SCOTT, ROBERT J., Commercial Bank, Selkirk.
STEWART, Mrs, 20 Osnaburg Street, Forfar.
STEVEN, THOMAS, Joiner, Newton Place, Blairgowrie.
STEWART, WILLIAM, Merchant, Leslie Street, Blairgowrie.
SMAIL, ROBERT, Knoweside, Craigie, Perth.
SOUTAR, GEORGE, Moulder. Bankhead, Blairgowrie.
SHAW, DR P. W., High Street, Blairgowrie.
SMITH, JOHN, Painter, High Street, Blairgowrie.
STRACHAN, JAMES, Jeweller, Allan Street, Blairgowrie.
STEWART, JOHN, Merchant, Stanley Cottage, Blairgowrie.
SCOTT, CHARLES, Headmaster, Schoolhouse, Rattray.
STEWART, Rev. ROBERT, St Mary's Manse. Blairgowrie.
SHARP. JAMES D., Banker, Union Bank of Scotland, Blairgowrie.
STRAIN, WILLIAM, Daniel Stewart's College, Edinburgh.
STEWART, JOHN, Farmer, St Fink.
SMALL, THOMAS, Hagg Crescent, Johnstone, Renfrew.
STRAIN, GEORGE W. F., M.A., Public School, Coupar Angus.
STEVEN, JOHN, Merchant, 1 Reform Street, Blairgowrie. .
STEVEN, ALEXANDER, Hairdresser, 16 Allan Street, Blairgowrie.
SPALDING, DAVID, Joiner, Boat Brae, Rattray.
SANDEMAN PUBLIC LIBRARY, Perth. (Per John Christie, Bookseller,
32 St John Street.)
STIRTON, ADAM, Hostler, Queen's Hotel, Blairgowrie.
TEMPLEMAN, DAVID, Flaxspinner, Provost of Blairgowrie.
TEMPLEMAN, Dr CHARLES, M.D., West Bell Street, Dundee.
TYRIE, W. B., 23 Patrick Street, Cork.
TULLY, Rev. THOMAS, M.A., Free Church Manse, Rattray.
TERRACE, ANDREW, Manager, Gas Works House, Blairgowrie.
TENNANT, Rev. E. MARSHALL, Congregational Manse, Blairgowrie.
THOMSON, JAMES B., 10 Panmure Street, Dundee.
WHITSON, Capt. CHARLES HILL, of Parkhill, Rattray.
WIS'HART, ALEX. R., 14 Greenhill Terrace, Edinburgh.
WHITE, Rev. MALCOLM, M.A., Free South Manse, Blairgowrie.
WILSON, Miss JESSIE, 12 Newton Street. Blairgowrie.
WILSON, ROBERT C., 37 Hollybank Terrace, Edinburgh.
WYLLIE, GEORGE, Road Surveyor, Rosebank, Rattray.
WADDELL, FORBES, Manager, Gas Works, Forfar.
PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE
CARDS OR SLIPS FROM THIS POCKET
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO LIBRARY
MacDonald, John A.R.
The history of Blairgowrie